AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
that mite happend at your club mate , but not at glenroy. more players mite possibly leave but the spectators probably wont coz unlike your club most of them are loyal down at glenroy.Mate every club in the comp is having a go on saturdays how can you suscribe to the theory that being thumped every week by hundreds of points across your senior teams has some positives to come out of it ,all that will happen is more players will leave less spectators will watch and no-one will go back for a drink,if you thought Jacana was bad in B grade you are about to set some new records in Agrade that will break all others, my question to you as an insider is Who is to blame because its embarassing and the whole competition new this was coming.Enough about the Roys.
I ventured down to Marby's ground to have a look on Saturday morning as I'm moving in up that way and it's going to be my local.
Yeah the club's quite small but it actually looks like a footy club, not like these sterile pokie monoliths that seem to be popping up all over the place, where it's not about the feel of a footy club but simply how many people you can get in playing pokies and drinking overpriced schooners.
Give me cheap beers in a place with flags and plaques and honour boards, with an ordinary TV in the corner playing footy, over going into a "sports club" with maybe one corner dedicated to the footy club, trying to have a conversation over a $8 imported beer and trying to block out the infernal sounds of ****ing poker machines going off every two minutes.
I ventured down to Marby's ground to have a look on Saturday morning as I'm moving in up that way and it's going to be my local.
Yeah the club's quite small but it actually looks like a footy club, not like these sterile pokie monoliths that seem to be popping up all over the place, where it's not about the feel of a footy club but simply how many people you can get in playing pokies and drinking overpriced schooners.
Give me cheap beers in a place with flags and plaques and honour boards, with an ordinary TV in the corner playing footy, over going into a "sports club" with maybe one corner dedicated to the footy club, trying to have a conversation over a $8 imported beer and trying to block out the infernal sounds of ****ing poker machines going off every two minutes.
Hmmmm, seems the 'D' word has caused a little furore OR has a few people on edge because of the fallout associated with that culture. Interesting to see where this goes. No need for apologies Hagrid, everyone is entitled to their opinion even when it upsets the faithful.
I think every sane person knows that the drug comment was an absolute load of crap - nothing could be further from the truth and its an absolute insult to all the hard working people down at the club
Trying to buy Premierships is not the way to engender ongoing support.
quote]
Please tell me of one A Grade club that has won a flag that hasn't spent money? The perception out there is that Glenroy aren't spending money this year and people were calling for them to be sent back to B Grade (wrongly i might add).
Marby, as well as Keilor, GV, Strathmore, Abers, AH, Douttas, WC, Cragieburn and Glenroy ARE ALL SPENDING MONEY on senior players this year - some more than others, but i can GUARANTEE you one thing Marby do not spend anywhere near the coin that some keyboard heroes think we do
So can you declare the footy budget for us and clear the air once and for all?
We all know the market rate on quality footballers and on the quality & quantity that Marbi have recruited over the last 2 years alone sees the budget achievable only by the late Dick Pratt and Marbi it seems.
Very few clubs have the regular income to sustain this sort of wages bill hence the suspicion that when the money dries up...............so will the footy club.
We'll just have to let time be the judge of that then!
Gee Whiz, There alot of being said about Marby in the last few post. All I know is this week game Vs Greenvale will be a ripper.
Tips are
A Grade
Strathmore vs Aberfeldie
Craigieburn vs Avondale Heights
Keilor vs Doutta Stars
Maribyrnong Park vs Greenvale
West Coburg vs Glenroy Glenroy in a upset.
B Grade
Airport West vs Oak Park 1 vs 2.
Sydenham Hillside vs Northern Saints
Jacana vs Keilor Park
Roxburgh Park vs Pascoe Vale
Tullamarine vs Westmeadows
Hadfield vs Taylors Lakes
East Keilor vs Moonee Valley
And Go Marby!!!
Heights very dissappointed they couldn't hang on. Had Strathmore on their knees but couldn't quite knock them out in the 3rd and went too defensive in the last.
Bricksta and the boys played it low key all summer but after a narrow loss away to a much improved Crazyburn they have now smacked Wests who needed that win but came up way way short. Already a few rumblings down there.
A very fit young Jets side out ran Keilor. Clinnick reported twice in two seperate incidents. The last one apparently was a very ordinary inncident. He was sent off for the game after that
Any word on the tribunal results from this week?
Why is that Briksta, keen to see if TC is lining up against your boys this week?
It won't matter...........
Expecting a massive performance from Douttas this week, would be surprised if it wasn't close.
Why is that Briksta, keen to see if TC is lining up against your boys this week?
It won't matter...........
Hmmmm, seems the 'D' word has caused a little furore OR has a few people on edge because of the fallout associated with that culture. Interesting to see where this goes. No need for apologies Hagrid, everyone is entitled to their opinion even when it upsets the faithful.
However like some of the other top line clubs, for most people, the real insult is the absolutely obscene amount of money that Marby throws about and then they want to command respect from those within the local football community. Understand... you have to earn it! Trying to buy Premierships is not the way to engender ongoing support.
Just for the record, Marby in my opinion isn't that bad a club, and granted they DO have some genuinely great helpers who do work for them, BUT they seem to be despised because of their attitude and the way they do things. Fix that aspect and everything else will fall in to place.
Local footy don't you just love it?[/quote Im fairly sure that Marby people could not give a toss what you or anyone else think of them or there club.
If they have people inside there ranks who are prepared to fork out cash to buy players that is a very fortunate situation that they find themselves in,those people obviously have love and passion for the club and there contribution is monetary and they get joy out of doing this.