EDFL moves Part 2

Dissapointing to hear that Glenroy have lost yet another player.
Would have thought that they would gain players moving into A grade???
Apparently Tom Delaney has left to play for Spotswood. Havent seen or heard of him but apparently played on the ball and wing for them last year. The RoyBoys are filthy on him, which is fair enough being so close to the season.

Mernda FC Div 2 NFL are looking for a practice match for March 21st. Would suit B grade club!?!?

Please PM if interested. Thanks.

Went along to a Sportsmans Night the boys from Buckely put on Friday night and was without doubt the best Sportsmans Night i have attended in 10 years anywhere.
They had a quality panel assembled including:
  • Jim Hird
  • Brendan Fevola
  • Leigh Colbert
  • Stan Alves
  • Dean Laidley
and a comedion who's name escapes me, but warmed the crowd up beautifully. The whole night was expertly steered by the coach John Barnes and the mixed audience of 250+ were thoroughly entertained.

The new committee can take a bow for putting together a magnificent night and kicking off the year in a most positive manner.

Dissapointing to hear that Glenroy have lost yet another player.
Would have thought that they would gain players moving into A grade???
Apparently Tom Delaney has left to play for Spotswood. Havent seen or heard of him but apparently played on the ball and wing for them last year. The RoyBoys are filthy on him, which is fair enough being so close to the season.

How many players is that now that they have lost?

Went along to a Sportsmans Night the boys from Buckely put on Friday night and was without doubt the best Sportsmans Night i have attended in 10 years anywhere.

• Jim Hird
  • Brendan Fevola
  • Leigh Colbert
  • Stan Alves
  • Dean Laidley
and a comedion who's name escapes me, but warmed the crowd up beautifully. The whole night was expertly steered by the coach John Barnes and the mixed audience of 250+ were thoroughly entertained.

And did Barnes attempt to talk Hird out of retirement and playing for the Stars in 2009 as I hear they are in need of quality players, especially those taller than 6ft?

• Jim Hird
  • Brendan Fevola
  • Leigh Colbert
  • Stan Alves
  • Dean Laidley

And did Barnes attempt to talk Hird out of retirement and playing for the Stars in 2009 as I hear they are in need of quality players, especially those taller than 6ft?

No, but Stan Alves is keen to line up on the wing.......................

that is probably greenvale's best chance of wiining the flag this year if he does. his nose is big enough to use in the ruck contests, then he can use his fantastic fitness base to cover all the ground that he usually does.

would love to see a randello v brodie holland match up...2 real big engines going at it.

randello would run holland into the ground

heard Greenvale have picked up a very handy player that didn't make the Werribee cut, young midfielder with a good young body and plenty of pace, may be also bringing with him a 6"4 tall bloke with massive engine and talent to burn, good pickups.

randello would run holland into the ground

heard Greenvale have picked up a very handy player that didn't make the Werribee cut, young midfielder with a good young body and plenty of pace, may be also bringing with him a 6"4 tall bloke with massive engine and talent to burn, good pickups.

Names???

Have just noticed Eric Kuret has lodged to clearance to play at balranald, so another big name gone from greenvale. Does anyone know how many players greenvale have lost and who they have picked up?
And on the western region footy website brendon hollow has put in transfer papers to go back to D.S, so some good news there.

Have just noticed Eric Kuret has lodged to clearance to play at balranald, so another big name gone from greenvale. Does anyone know how many players greenvale have lost and who they have picked up?
And on the western region footy website brendon hollow has put in transfer papers to go back to D.S, so some good news there.

Abers training has been really good. Some great recruits with Barham, Matt Lucas returning after last season and a stack of Under 18 Premiership players. It will be great to beat the over paying Doutta Stars who always claim to not spend much, but no doubt just waste it & mis manage it.
Looking forward to Doutta Stars BF fans trying to make up that Greenvale, Strathmore & Marby spend much more and they spend nothing. Please......

Abers training has been really good. Some great recruits with Barham, Matt Lucas returning after last season and a stack of Under 18 Premiership players. It will be great to beat the over paying Doutta Stars who always claim to not spend much, but no doubt just waste it & mis manage it.
Looking forward to Doutta Stars BF fans trying to make up that Greenvale, Strathmore & Marby spend much more and they spend nothing. Please......

STOP Begging...

you guys are pre season premiers every season, serious no one wants to listen to your dribble...

Drove past Abers last night, gee they looked very good again for the coming season, i think if they played a game now they would win by at least 10 goals, good numbers, good drills by dean, very confident the boys...

Abers training has been really good. Some great recruits with Barham, Matt Lucas returning after last season and a stack of Under 18 Premiership players.

Can someone please tell me how Matt Lucas is returning to the club when he has never played there before? Looks like he has just been transferred there from Tooleybuc.

And there is not a stack of U18 premiership players.. more like a small handful. Appears like only three or four would make the senior side; the rest definately in the magoos!

G'day guys. Thought i'd put my 2bobs worth in. Firstly, Tom Delaney has a history of letting people down and i wouldnt think he will play to many games in Spotswoods 1's. Mango obviously is getting on peoples nerves down there and needs an old friend to hold his hand.
Secondly, for what it's worth. Having played in E.D.F.L and W.R.F.L, can honestly say although they are 2 different styles of footy, i think the E.D.F.L is far better quality, and amazes me why players getting to the end of their career in E.D.F.L don't swithch across to earn a little more money.
Thirdly, this so-called rivalry between Abers and Douttas. I played at Abers for a few years and was there when the people who run the club went from footy people to buisness people who thought they new footy and can best sum up the difference between the two clubs like this: I would have no troubles what so ever with my son playing at Abers. They have one of the best Junior set up's going around. However, once he reached an age to play senior footy, i would strongly suggest he look elsewhere. There is a reason that Douttas have won so many 'A' grade flags and Abers have only won 1 'A'grade flag. When it comes to the crunch (i.e must win game) Douttas seem to have the balls. Good luck to Dean this year and i hope for the clubs sake that when the time comes, a line is drawn in the sand and a new breed of player comes out of abers.

I realise that no matter what i say and others from D.S. you think that we spend heaps and thats fair enough,but ill say it anyway i wish we had money as i wish we had alot of things that are needed for us to be back in the finals but we unfortunately dont have the money of some other clubs and never will and thats a fact of life and no excuse.

I still believe that with what we have or should have if that makes sense we should be alot better then we are,i would say that a couple of years back when we were going well we would have spent around the $100 K and last year would have been around $80-$90 K and regardles of what GV or Marby or whoever spends i think with aroud $100 K you should be able to field a competitve side in A Grade.

Not having a hell of a lot to do with the club this season but it seems that things started a little slow but are getting better and that a half decent side will be out there each week.It looks like we are taking a step forward which makes me happy but i guess we will soon see ;)

THE DREBSTER

I realise that no matter what i say and others from D.S. you think that we spend heaps and thats fair enough,but ill say it anyway i wish we had money as i wish we had alot of things that are needed for us to be back in the finals but we unfortunately dont have the money of some other clubs and never will and thats a fact of life and no excuse.

I still believe that with what we have or should have if that makes sense we should be alot better then we are,i would say that a couple of years back when we were going well we would have spent around the $100 K and last year would have been around $80-$90 K and regardles of what GV or Marby or whoever spends i think with aroud $100 K you should be able to field a competitve side in A Grade.

Not having a hell of a lot to do with the club this season but it seems that things started a little slow but are getting better and that a half decent side will be out there each week.It looks like we are taking a step forward which makes me happy but i guess we will soon see ;)

THE DREBSTER
abers,douttas,avondale,west coburg,glenroy are all playing for the bottom five or six. the reason for that is that they spend all there time and effort defending there ordinary clubs on these rumour mill sights. heads out of ass time and build your club, stop complainig about the fortunate situation of other clubs. Your clubs have been to the top before and should have some idea whats required to continually be at that standard. my idea of a super league with four top teams from each competiton in metro melb would eliminate all squabbles regarding fairness to spending on players. money is everything in park fotball (that hurts me saying that) but thats life. northcote park football club in the mid 90's are a great example of what comes around goes around. reality kick in recent years and there bloody confused. thats my sunday dribble,see you next week

Any word on how Craigieburn are looking for this year?
On paper it looks like they have picked up a fair few handy recruits.....

G'day guys. Thought i'd put my 2bobs worth in. Firstly, Tom Delaney has a history of letting people down and i wouldnt think he will play to many games in Spotswoods 1's. Mango obviously is getting on peoples nerves down there and needs an old friend to hold his hand.
Secondly, for what it's worth. Having played in E.D.F.L and W.R.F.L, can honestly say although they are 2 different styles of footy, i think the E.D.F.L is far better quality, and amazes me why players getting to the end of their career in E.D.F.L don't swithch across to earn a little more money.
Thirdly, this so-called rivalry between Abers and Douttas. I played at Abers for a few years and was there when the people who run the club went from footy people to buisness people who thought they new footy and can best sum up the difference between the two clubs like this: I would have no troubles what so ever with my son playing at Abers. They have one of the best Junior set up's going around. However, once he reached an age to play senior footy, i would strongly suggest he look elsewhere. There is a reason that Douttas have won so many 'A' grade flags and Abers have only won 1 'A'grade flag. When it comes to the crunch (i.e must win game) Douttas seem to have the balls. Good luck to Dean this year and i hope for the clubs sake that when the time comes, a line is drawn in the sand and a new breed of player comes out of abers.

Your 2 bob would be much better served buying a raffle ticket from one of the many volunteers you so easily criticise.

Any word on how Craigieburn are looking for this year?
On paper it looks like they have picked up a fair few handy recruits.....

Should fight it out with Keilor, Greenvale, Marbi and Sthmore for a spot in the 4. Then there will be a gap between the rest. Big home ground advantage for the Eagles.

Noticed no clearance for Shep yet from Abers - does this mean he is staying put? hopefuly for Abers sake he is.

A month to go and you would think most clearances are done and dusted by now???/

Hate to disappoint you but our Kangaroo buddies have informed us that Sheppard has indeed been training with the Oakers.... just a matter of time my friend.

not here to ruin you and ur glee at letting abers know that sheps wont be playing for them this year, but i do know the coach and his assistants quite well, and plenty more of oak park people for that matter, and they tell me sheps is still a work in progress, there still semi confident he will join them, but as for training with them they tell me that is not the case at all.
If they do get him, very confident they will finish on top at the end of the home and away, and will be very hard to beat come finals time, but as we all know, in finals, u only have to be bad 1 day to ruin ur whole year.
If they dont get him, would still think it will take a pretty good side to roll them.