EDFL moves Part 2

There's alot of talk about glenroy but it must be said that craigiburn were insipid last Saturday.No doughting the difference in stock on the paddock but after 1/4 time it was a training drill for marby and craigiburn were the witches hats.From what I've seen atleast glenroy have a crack.

I agree Travis Jorgonson is the most talented player hands down.
Mikka James is also pretty freakish and exciting and so is Kade when he's up and running but in my opinion the best impact player in the league has got to be Dennis Bicer. I've seen him win games almost single handedly on many occasions over the years..

Who are the best impact players in the comp?
Theres a bloke at Marby Park number 25 Gareth Daley how does he go?????

you are kidding yourself even if we didn beat abers or avondale with our side last year we would of been within 5 goals and we prb spent under 30 grand so go spend another 60 on rubbish and still finish in bottom 3 just because you think A Grade sides are invicible the bottom sides are not as good as everyone leads on

Mate there is no way way known you would have finished anywhere but the bottem with that side, that was why all the blokes who had ever played with an a grade side bar general left, becauase they knew what was in store for them and knew that there would only be one result out of the season. There would have needed to be 6 or 7 new players in to be more than making up the numbers, just look what oak park has done to the b grade comp this year, no one has got near them and thay would have done the same to you blokes had you have been there with your full strength side, the good thing to come out of it is there wont be anymore conjecture about a or b as the b grade clubs now no what is needed to be an a grade side and the only team ive seen this year capeble of making that next step up{bar oak park} is pacco but they would still need to recruit more players to keep them selves of the bottem

with all the talk about glenroys uncompetitiveness in a grade this year also in the nfl thomastown have performed the same in a grade and the teams that are always in the lower end of the b grade ladder such as nthn saints moonee valley east keilor in the edfl and west heidelberg reservoir panton hill in the nfl i suggest that the edfl wrfl and the edfl merge to form a super comp of the northern and western suburbs. some of the pros would be that every team will be competitive thus attracting more supporters and sponsors and the cons would be more travel for players and the fact that the leagues would never let it happen and that some clubs would be against it. anyways i thought i would put my take on how it could be structured and before anybody bites my head off because i may have under or over estimated their club this is just a guess

DIVISION 1: Greenvale marby park northcote park keilor heidelberg nth heidelberg spotswood port colts bundoora

DIVISION 2: lalor strathmore albion west coburg douttas sunshine aberfeldie hoppers crossing craigieburn montmerency

DIVISION 3: Oak park west preston greensborough glenorden parkside avondale heights diamond creek macloed tullamrine eltham airport west

DIVISION 4: hadfield keilor park lower plenty fitzroy stars whittlesea nth footscray albanvale epping sunshine heights thomastown west footscray

DIVISION 5: braybrook roxburgh park sydenham jacana westmeadows laverton yarraville hurstbridge deer park watsonia mernda pakside(nfl)

DIVISION 6: reservoir west heidelberg nthn saints east keilor wyndamvale coburg districts south morang nth sunshine panton hill moonee valley

like i said just a rough guess as to what division sides should be in but would ensure all clubs would be competitive thus attracting players would be easier. and also maybe some of the clubs in the ammos might be intererested in joining such as nth and west brunswick werribee amateurs banyule ivanhoe old ess grammar fitzroy fc etc.

sick of my club getting a belting every week.....this way we would be playing agaist sides just like ours.

dont think pascoe vale taylors lakes and glenroy would be to happy with not having a league to play in?

You can't be too close Hero or you would know the truth. I repeat... Glenroy were given the opportunity to remain in B grade as the EDFL knew they were struggling with seniors as well as under 18's. The Glenroy President and another high ranking official met the EDFL board and insisted they remain in A grade. FACT..... Although it has never happened, the EDFL board has the power to over ride the promotion and relegation system if they see fit... another FACT..Also Oak Park offered to stay in A grade also a FACT...Glenroy has done a fair job in getting reserves and seniors to come up week after week despite the scoreboard , but it is the under 18 A grade comp. that is suffering especially when two clubs cannot field a side.
FACT: Glenroy asked to stay in B grade. Fact: Oak park did say they would stay up so glenroy could stay in B grade
FACT: the EDFL said NO.
i dont know where you got your sources from. and i know my sources wouldnt lie seeming they are apart of the committee at g'roy.

News out of Abers is that Van Riet had a major dummy-spit (again) last night and will not play out the rest of the season which is pretty poor considering there are only three games left in the home and away season. After his attitude during and following the Keilor match it's not surprising that Rioli dropped him.

with all the talk about glenroys uncompetitiveness in a grade this year also in the nfl thomastown have performed the same in a grade and the teams that are always in the lower end of the b grade ladder such as nthn saints moonee valley east keilor in the edfl and west heidelberg reservoir panton hill in the nfl i suggest that the edfl wrfl and the edfl merge to form a super comp of the northern and western suburbs. some of the pros would be that every team will be competitive thus attracting more supporters and sponsors and the cons would be more travel for players and the fact that the leagues would never let it happen and that some clubs would be against it. anyways i thought i would put my take on how it could be structured and before anybody bites my head off because i may have under or over estimated their club this is just a guess

DIVISION 1: Greenvale marby park northcote park keilor heidelberg nth heidelberg spotswood port colts bundoora

DIVISION 2: lalor strathmore albion west coburg douttas sunshine aberfeldie hoppers crossing craigieburn montmerency

DIVISION 3: Oak park west preston greensborough glenorden parkside avondale heights diamond creek macloed tullamrine eltham airport west

DIVISION 4: hadfield keilor park lower plenty fitzroy stars whittlesea nth footscray albanvale epping sunshine heights thomastown west footscray

DIVISION 5: braybrook roxburgh park sydenham jacana westmeadows laverton yarraville hurstbridge deer park watsonia mernda pakside(nfl)

DIVISION 6: reservoir west heidelberg nthn saints east keilor wyndamvale coburg districts south morang nth sunshine panton hill moonee valley

like i said just a rough guess as to what division sides should be in but would ensure all clubs would be competitive thus attracting players would be easier. and also maybe some of the clubs in the ammos might be intererested in joining such as nth and west brunswick werribee amateurs banyule ivanhoe old ess grammar fitzroy fc etc.

sick of my club getting a belting every week.....this way we would be playing agaist sides just like ours.

The problem with this situation is no one from the edfl or the nfl would wont to play against the rubbish from the wrfl. Fair enought they have some good footy clubs in spotty and port colts, but i've watched a few matches now and the league is feral!!! the players and supporters. Was it only a few years ago that glenorden did a drive by shooting on st albans after a game, fights every week, it's a rubble of a league!

I'm not guessing- I was reliably informed....he was a tall bloke, white hair about 60 years old- had an Aberfeldie scarf around his neck.....

That narrows it down haha. If i was to guess i would say he did it because they were talking but have not spoke to him so can't say. Obviously things get tense when your team is losing by that much. I do know that the relationship b/w the 2 clubs is good so hopefully they sorted it out later.

Joke of a comment earlier about Abers/Avondale spending. Basically the ladder would represent the spending of each club with a couple of minor excpetions.

Mate there is no way way known you would have finished anywhere but the bottem with that side, that was why all the blokes who had ever played with an a grade side bar general left, becauase they knew what was in store for them and knew that there would only be one result out of the season. There would have needed to be 6 or 7 new players in to be more than making up the numbers, just look what oak park has done to the b grade comp this year, no one has got near them and thay would have done the same to you blokes had you have been there with your full strength side, the good thing to come out of it is there wont be anymore conjecture about a or b as the b grade clubs now no what is needed to be an a grade side and the only team ive seen this year capeble of making that next step up{bar oak park} is pacco but they would still need to recruit more players to keep them selves of the bottem
fair enough we would of still been near bottom but of the 12 blokes we lost only 3 have been at A grade clubs Kent Campbell and Oggo who was leaving anway my problem is that all you abers avondale and cragieburn are not as good as you say they are cragieburn got smashed avondale have had a couple of floggings same as abers for the money they spend and to still get smashed i would rather be at glenroy with my mates all this crap that it would be an even comp if we weren in it what a load of shit

Look i think you may be right about the eveness of the comp as those three sides have definatley trailed off but they will be able to build on there squads next year, Craigieburn really have been the big dissapointment and this season really cant be viewed as anything but a disaster because i think they had a list that was capable of finals and a 200 point loss with the money they pay there players is unexceptable, abers again have not really improved and with avondale not going along very well and oak park coming back up most likley one of them will be in b grade pretty soon so youll be able to judge them then

I'd like to know who your sources are for this.
I think you guys are pretty spot on, a mate of mine at Oakers has told me they put in a couple of submissions to stay up players list new recruits,financials etc and were told basicially bad luck,Glenroy new what was coming Clemo and Pearson accepted it same as 94,ill prepared for the jump as oak park has proved this year a huge difference in grades watch for a new rule next year.for a league that continually sprukes how good it is it is fast becoming farcial all i can say is watch out to the abers,crazys,douttas and avondale next year one of you is going back .

Sorry, just to clarify. What you are saying is Oak Park put in submissions to stay up, and Glenroy (who I have been told did the same to stay in B- Grade) were essentially told by the EDFL bad luck and had no choice but to accept the decision?

At three quarter time and with Keilor leading by 120pts a number of Keilor supporters went over to listen to Dean Rioli. There was very few Aberfeldie supporters at the huddle and one of the Keilor people was identifiable in that he was wearing a KFC T shirt. he was confronted by a person wearing an Aberfeldie scarf (I was told later this was the Aberfeldie President) and told to F**k off to his own team. The president was accompanied by one of the Aberfeldie runners or waterboys (I'm not sure which but he was wearing a flouro vest) who repeated the abuse. The Keilor person responded with a probably inappropriate reply, but remained at the huddle. The confrontation continued as both parties left the ground at the end of the three quarter time break. I understand that that the Aberfeldie President would have been bitterly disappointed with their position at the time but I don't think there would be a match played where some of the opposition supporters go to listen to opposition coaches at the breaks. It's all part of local footy, but if senior club officials are going to react in this manner it's only a matter of time before we get front page headlines.
If a club is worrying about "spying" just get a few officals to hold a rope barrier around the playing group to distance spectators.

what is unacceptable is when you wear a keilor polo shirt and stand basically in the huddle with the players. he looked like he was there listening on behalf of the keilor coaching staff.

the bloke in qn was asked politely first to move away from the huddle. I notice you have left this out of your version.

he then he reacted like a goose and started being a smart ass. It was at this point he was told in no uncertain terms to move on.

when i have listened to other coaches i respect the fact it is not my huddle & remain at the back with supporters. this clown was closer to the coach than some of the players.

no one will stop people coming over to huddles but 99% of supporters are smart enough to stand at the back of the huddle when listening to an opposition coach. you dont get in with the players that is just ridculous.

there were 3 or 4 othe keilor blokes at the huddle who did the normal thing & stood at the back & no one said anything to them.

and the abuse the keilor bloked dished out was ridculous. including carrying on to players after the huddle had dispersed.

next time stand at the back like everyone else & RESPECT THE FACT IT IS AN OPPOSITION HUDDLE especially if you are dumb enough to be wearing a bright blue polo shirt from the other side. pretty simple.

would hate to have to use a rope because of one goose.

Sorry, just to clarify. What you are saying is Oak Park put in submissions to stay up, and Glenroy (who I have been told did the same to stay in B- Grade) were essentially told by the EDFL bad luck and had no choice but to accept the decision?

more or less that what happened between Glenroy and Oak Park

I can garauntee to all of you blokes to end this matter once and for all. At no stage did the Glenroy commitee ask to stay in B grade. They always intended to go up(Which has turned out to be a big mistake) but they never asked to stay. They underestimated the standard in A grade and how hard it would be to recruit with no money. The commitee was naive to think they would be competitive and not organised enough or forward thinking enough to sign their players up for 2 years. Basically they won a flag when no one expected them to. And to make it worse the players and coaches who got them there have had to pay for doing what was essentially a good job in 08 by having their arses kicked week in week out in 09.

Eagle one is 100% correct. The glenroy president and another committeeman told the edfl that they would CATEGORICALLY go up to A grade. It was a noble decision but a mistake. The decision by the board and coach not to recruit heavily has hurt them. Players left and and it has become an unfortunate situation for everyone. We flogged them this year but their players have to be commended.
Are you from this planet mate? which coach in their right mind would decide not to recruit. How do you recruit with no money? The coach is employed by the commitee, therefore he does what he is told. I am sure if he could have recruited he would have. The coach has been hung out to dry like the players. Maybe Glenroy might need not only new players next year but a new coach. I dont think many coaches would put up with the crap that has gone on there this year.

well someone sounding very much like THE COACH you are obviously in a better position than I am to make that call. But I state this, I feel for the players. It is not their fault the club has ended up in this situation. And what some of the other glenroy boys have been saying on here is right... the comp is not even, even if glenroy were in B grade. When 1st and 2nd are beating 6-7th by 20 goals no one should go around spruiking about what an even comp we have. It is not just Glenroy who has work to do. Aberfeldie has no credibility, Craigieburn are just a tease and Avondale are re-building after a big turnover of players.

what is unacceptable is when you wear a keilor polo shirt and stand basically in the huddle with the players. he looked like he was there listening on behalf of the keilor coaching staff.

the bloke in qn was asked politely first to move away from the huddle. I notice you have left this out of your version.

he then he reacted like a goose and started being a smart ass. It was at this point he was told in no uncertain terms to move on.

when i have listened to other coaches i respect the fact it is not my huddle & remain at the back with supporters. this clown was closer to the coach than some of the players.

no one will stop people coming over to huddles but 99% of supporters are smart enough to stand at the back of the huddle when listening to an opposition coach. you dont get in with the players that is just ridculous.

there were 3 or 4 othe keilor blokes at the huddle who did the normal thing & stood at the back & no one said anything to them.

and the abuse the keilor bloked dished out was ridculous. including carrying on to players after the huddle had dispersed.

next time stand at the back like everyone else & RESPECT THE FACT IT IS AN OPPOSITION HUDDLE especially if you are dumb enough to be wearing a bright blue polo shirt from the other side. pretty simple.

would hate to have to use a rope because of one goose.

I doubt Mick would send a spy to listen to Rioli's plans to rectify a 120 point 3/4 time deficit!

I think both parties have taken this too far so let it go. I noticed several Aberfeldie apparel clad supporters listening to Mick so fairs fair.

I doubt Mick would send a spy to listen to Rioli's plans to rectify a 120 point 3/4 time deficit!

I think both parties have taken this too far so let it go. I noticed several Aberfeldie apparel clad supporters listening to Mick so fairs fair.

I agree. I dont think anyone from either club would be particularly pleased with what happened.

Lets move on to some footy stuff.

Wasn't Mick's little spy that drives that terrible little chick's car thats seen at oppositions training sessions?

I coach Sunshine Heights in the WRFL. We won the Div 2 flag last season and have gone up to Div 1. I understand the position the Glenroy are in. The problem is what option did they have? If they chose to stay down I beleive that the same people that are bagging them on here for going up and getting flogged would be bagging them for staying down and calling them weak.

No win situation for them really.

Personally I would rather be at a club that went up, had a go and failed rather than one that took the easy option and stayed down.

I coach Sunshine Heights in the WRFL. We won the Div 2 flag last season and have gone up to Div 1. I understand the position the Glenroy are in. The problem is what option did they have? If they chose to stay down I beleive that the same people that are bagging them on here for going up and getting flogged would be bagging them for staying down and calling them weak.

No win situation for them really.

Personally I would rather be at a club that went up, had a go and failed rather than one that took the easy option and stayed down.

Well said best post on here for some time.

good to see he been seen at your club to.

Superb win by a gutsy Strathmore against Keilor today. Even allowing that Keilor had several good players out through injury, they for the most part appeared flat and somewhat lacsidaisical. They made a lot of skill errors and missed some sitters in front of goal, which is most un Keilor like.

Maybe they had trouble adapting to the unusually shaped ground on which none of them would have played before, or perhaps they had reconciled themselves to the likelyhood that no matter what they did they would be unable to get the double chance. Mick spoke to his players for a maximum of 30 seconds at the quarter time break. Perhaps someone from Keilor would be able to advise whether that is his normal approach, and that he leaves it largely to his assistants?

It must be said that the standard of the umpiring was apalling, and that given even a reasonable go the Mores would have won by 5-6 goals. I realise that there is nothing that says the numbers of frees paid have to be equal, or even close to be being equal. If a free is there it needs to be paid no matter what, but the consistency today was non existent.

I know that Teals are involved in sponsoring the umpires, but I had been unaware until now that there was a clause in the contract that stipulated Keilor must receive free kicks at the ratio of 3 to 1 against their opponents, including virtually every line ball decision.

Having said that Keilor are a very classy outfit with a canny and experienced coach, and it still would not surprise me to see them go all the way in September if they play up to their potential.

First week of finals already locked in

Major Semi - Greenvale vs Marby Park

Minor Semi - Keilor vs Strathmore

will keilor have a sook like last year when they wanted the main change rooms at Windy Hill and force their final to be played there???