EDFL moves

Also heard rumors buzzing around Clifton Park on Saturday that former Aberfeldie junior and current SANFL star Kristian De Pasquale will be making an appearance at the club in current weeks and that Abers president John Larkins will be making him one of the biggest offers in EDFL history to return to the club for the 2009 season.

Word was John is keen to build on what he expects to be a much improved year for the club this year and bring some of the old Aberfeldie juniors having success elsewhere back to the club.

Kristian who? Who else is Big Johnny going to lure back? Jude Bolton maybe.......what about Brock McLean........Demons aren't travelling that hot at the moment.

Perhaps Doutta wont be down the bottom as all had them pegged for.

But - if youre pinning a revival on the likes of Philpoo and Barletta i'm sorry to say - HAND ON IT!!!!!

I don't think the boys from Cooper St will be putting their stocks solely on any individual this season, but sharing the load and playing a committed and team oriented style of football, which in my humble opinion will take a club further than some may think.

It sure will and can't wait for it

Firstly though this is what Oakers face this week

B: Palmer Sauter Towner
HB: Whichello Pilling Robbins
C: Tanner Broadbent Bassi
HF: Crawford Kinnear Ziros
F: Agresta Fletcher Brown
R: Kelly Laverde Ayres
I: Mickelwaite Buttigieg Karavis

Laverde to play his first ganme this week for the Lions!

Good news for Oakers with Laverde in..........he will hit their Half Back Flankers lace out all afternoon.

Kristian who? Who else is Big Johnny going to lure back? Jude Bolton maybe.......what about Brock McLean........Demons aren't travelling that hot at the moment.

Kristian De Pasquale. Two time Coburg B&F, One time Port Magpies B&F. Twice represented the VFL team against the SANFL. Also, I think he won the Fothergill-round medal for best young player in the VFL. He must only be around 25-26 so he has a little bit left in him. Abers junior who from all reports still loves the club.

The way sydney were trying to offload jude in the summer, Abers might have had a chance. Abers could beat Melbourne at the moment so Brock might be up for the challenge.

It sure will and can't wait for it

Firstly though this is what Oakers face this week

Laverde to play his first ganme this week for the Lions!
gee on sundays performance no problems for oakers with 7 qaulity players in this week includes raso,watters,vernon,gleeson,sapiano,argus,deagon tipping ten goal hiding for the mercenaries after maurice and the heights seconds served it up to them last week.

Kristian De Pasquale. Two time Coburg B&F, One time Port Magpies B&F. Twice represented the VFL team against the SANFL. Also, I think he won the Fothergill-round medal for best young player in the VFL. He must only be around 25-26 so he has a little bit left in him. Abers junior who from all reports still loves the club.

The way sydney were trying to offload jude in the summer, Abers might have had a chance. Abers could beat Melbourne at the moment so Brock might be up for the challenge.

Dipper is an out and out gun.

He would dominate the EDFL.

His family are great friends with the Larkins.

If he ever returned to Melbourne, unlikely at this stage, he would play at Abers!

That's a fair comment and point taken.

I will stress though that personally Douttas will struggle and i stand to be corrected and chance are i might be.

When you put Philpott up against a Sapiano or Bartletta against a L. Ryan - i'd say Oakers are more advanced!

I don't reckon Douttas will struggle this year, as much as it'd be great to see them in B Grade.

The comp is that even that there can be no definate statements made on relegation or finalists until after Round 9.

They are definately a better side than Round 1 suggested.

Greenvale and Strathmore aside - any of the other 8 teams could play finals or be playing B Grade next year.

I don't reckon Douttas will struggle this year, as much as it'd be great to see them in B Grade.

The comp is that even that there can be no definate statements made on relegation or finalists until after Round 9.

They are definately a better side than Round 1 suggested.

Greenvale and Strathmore aside - any of the other 8 teams could play finals or be playing B Grade next year.

I totally agree. I went to a couple of games over the weekend and saw two surprises. I didnt think Heights would get near Marby. Greenvale are the standouts again. Its a very even competition.

It will be interesting to see how abers go against Strathmore this week. It will be a good barometer to see how well they are going.

The De Pasquale's are good friends with the Larkins but I doubt that will have any effect on whether he plays for abers.

Perhaps Doutta wont be down the bottom as all had them pegged for.

But - if youre pinning a revival on the likes of Philpoo and Barletta i'm sorry to say - HAND ON IT!!!!!

I think you'll find that Philpott is doutta's only ruckman, and thats why it will be a relief to doutta when he returns. Having said that from the games i've seen, he is more than a handy player and if im right won their b&f last year. As for barletta he was the comp rookie of year not so long ago

by the look of this side oakers should make easy work of MP

Its a great comp this year so no side can afford to have atleast 3 or 4 players who should be in the 2s running around in their ones, depth is very important and by the looks of this side MP dont have it

they have close to one winner on each line so not enough at this stage in the year but not to forgot their first game was good and they are possibly coached by one of the best in the league so well drilled side

if they had someone down during the week to improve kicking skills then they might go alright for the year but with oakers toughness and top line players back they should win

He actually won the Fothergill-Round medal twice, he would be 27-28 now.

Most of the stuff posted about Kristian is true which for BF is surprising, however he is a man who has always sought to challenge himself at the highest level, so I would doubt entirely whether for the time being (around 27 y.o) he would go to the ammos or the edfl. so the vfl would still be his first port of call, and since he has been a dual b&f at coburg that would be his logical destination. Plus the fact that coburg will have more to spend on listed players next year with richmond improving their overall spending it would be logical. Any club that wants him will have to provide him a job equal to one that he has in adelaide as it is (podiatry for memory)

pegs would not have a smoking chance of getting him, as there is only 1-2 blokes still down there who have not left to chase the coin that he is mates with (biggs' boys) so if vfl wasnt the go the larkins connection would have to dig deep into his pockets, as abers would prolly have the pole position.

Most of the stuff posted about Kristian is true which for BF is surprising, however he is a man who has always sought to challenge himself at the highest level, so I would doubt entirely whether for the time being (around 27 y.o) he would go to the ammos or the edfl. so the vfl would still be his first port of call, and since he has been a dual b&f at coburg that would be his logical destination. Plus the fact that coburg will have more to spend on listed players next year with richmond improving their overall spending it would be logical. Any club that wants him will have to provide him a job equal to one that he has in adelaide as it is (podiatry for memory)

pegs would not have a smoking chance of getting him, as there is only 1-2 blokes still down there who have not left to chase the coin that he is mates with (biggs' boys) so if vfl wasnt the go the larkins connection would have to dig deep into his pockets, as abers would prolly have the pole position.

Don't know and have nothing against the bloke but who cares. The last page of posts have been about the same crap.

Don't tell me Abers are already starting to tell everyone how good they are going to be next year.
We all know they spruik early but this is ridiculous!!!!

I think you'll find that Philpott is doutta's only ruckman, and thats why it will be a relief to doutta when he returns. Having said that from the games i've seen, he is more than a handy player and if im right won their b&f last year. As for barletta he was the comp rookie of year not so long ago

Barletta could be a gun but it's been shown time and again his body can't stand up to A Grade footy, has missed more footy this decade than he's played I reckon, which is a fair effort for a young bloke. On top of that he tries to do to much when he gets the footy and doesn't go in hard enough when ball's in dispute. Tackles and chases hard though for a small bloke. Good clubman.

Could not get a game at cannons[u/18]
Won B/F at coburg when anyone could get a game
SA football not much better than metro football
No doubt he is a GOOD footballer but dont make him out a superstar.
Would find hard to get a game in any VFL side.

he wont be back!!!!!!!

by the look of this side oakers should make easy work of MP

Its a great comp this year so no side can afford to have atleast 3 or 4 players who should be in the 2s running around in their ones, depth is very important and by the looks of this side MP dont have it

they have close to one winner on each line so not enough at this stage in the year but not to forgot their first game was good and they are possibly coached by one of the best in the league so well drilled side

if they had someone down during the week to improve kicking skills then they might go alright for the year but with oakers toughness and top line players back they should win

Not a big fan of them but that looks like a pretty decent team on paper and even better when you add leigh Gray, Jack Scott, and Bailey

he wont be back!!!!!!!

Mate your kidding yourself.
Kristian played Cannons when could but was tied most of the year to school football. He not only won two B&Fs but also the best young player in the entire VFL. He was also rookie listed by the Tigers and only cut when he did he knee and needed a reconstruction. To say SANFL is any worse than VFL is a joke, some would say its better. About the only accurate thing you say is that he is unlikely to be back. Should he return he would be good few classes above the EDFL.

heard abers stil have five or so key players to come in! Has rioli played yet

You are right, Abers still have players of the calibre of Richard cole, mick egan, matt murray and randall rioli. They were also missing valuable players last week as well which is what makes Aberfeldies start to the season so impressive.

To the bloke who said SA football is not much better than metro football, have you actually watched an SANFL game. It is on par, if not better than the VFL.

Maybe your just a Marby supporter who doesnt like it when players cant be bought!

he wont be back!!!!!!!

You are a joke, obviously know nothing about football, slagging off a gun player and a gun bloke. Take your head out from your ass and actually watch a game or 2. SANFL is a bloody good standard, the bloke is a superstar and would be as good as any player in the EDFL. Look at the some of the blokes he beat to win those B&F's - Bicer, Randello, Briggs. etc..all play for the best team in the comp and all are absolute guns. And dont forget he won a Port Adelaide B&F you mug!!!

How many did Houli get? I missed the incident but it didnt sound that bad from what I have heard. He has been very good this year and he will be a big loss if he misses the strathmore game.