EDFL moves

sloth6 said:
Did you watch the A reserves grand final? Would a West Coburg v North Coburg Saints at North Coburgs ground be a better standard than that.

Would North Coburg Saints, Jacana would beat Keilor reserves at Keilor. Keilor would absolutely flog em

I know a few players at keilor who would'nt come close to playin jacana one's

sloth6 said:
Did you watch the A reserves grand final? Would a West Coburg v North Coburg Saints at North Coburgs ground be a better standard than that.

Would North Coburg Saints, Jacana would beat Keilor reserves at Keilor. Keilor would absolutely flog em

100% disagree.
West Vs North this year was an extreamly high standard game.
Jacana also played some good football against a side called Cragieburn who will now play A grade. I believe it was about 9 points the differance in the end.

I am not saying that A grade reserves is poor standard but you are seriously underestimating the strength of the B grade competition.

sloth6 said:
This stuff about Ash Craig, who's going to Westmeadows, who's not has gone on long enough. I reckon at least 5 pages worth. Lets be honest, these blokes are being made out as though they are superstars, would they even get a game in A Grade?

Lets clear a few things up....

Frazier apparantly has signed at westy already
Dont know where the smiley talk came from but from what i hear the boys havent seen him anywhere near the club
Ash craig may have played at coburg but struggled, isnt in the top 50 in B grade. (what u think ash i mean littleman):)

Lets stop the talk of jacana and roxy until they win a few games, let them put some runs on the board then we can talk about them.

Most(nearly all) players in Jacanas side would struggle to fit into the top 21 at the clubs who finished in the 5 last year

Bad news about Jack Scott if its true, that now means both marbys talls (new recruit A Garbutt) have bung knees, one thing to do all this recruiting but without first use in the centre it will be useless.

oh and it was only heath day that played with westy though has since retired i hear, maybe they all leave the club cos it isnt going anywhere??

North Coburg got two players from Greenvale ressies at the start of last year and both were fringe senior players. Theres no way A reserves sides would flog B firsts sides, the players 10-22 in A grade ressies wouldn't be a match for the players 10-22 in B grade seniors

Hard Ball Get said:
100% disagree.
West Vs North this year was an extreamly high standard game.
Jacana also played some good football against a side called Cragieburn who will now play A grade. I believe it was about 9 points the differance in the end.

I am not saying that A grade reserves is poor standard but you are seriously underestimating the strength of the B grade competition.

have to agree with sloth, if you go by last year, a grade reserves sides oak park, keilor or abers for that matter would of taking care of every side outside the 5, and even though oak park won 3 in a row in the reserves, even a couple of the lower finalists wouldnt of beat keilor at keilor.
this year could be a whole lot different though, b grade has closed the gap, at least with top 6-7 teams being very solid sides. will def keep an eye on the results, marby are the favs but w.c a.w westy glenroy and a few others will serve it right up to them. theres no certainty in football

Bulldog1954 said:
North Coburg got two players from Greenvale ressies at the start of last year and both were fringe senior players. Theres no way A reserves sides would flog B firsts sides, the players 10-22 in A grade ressies wouldn't be a match for the players 10-22 in B grade seniors

greenvale reserves wouldnt get within 10 goals of the strathmore under /18, so that means crap

localfooty said:
2 b honest billy, i wasnt at that game last yr, so have not heard anything about it, but if its tru, its bad darts im afraid. but calling us scum like u did, just makes u as bad as whoeva it was that was saying it. oh well, neva mind, u have ur reasons and fair enuf. now can we get bak 2 the positive things that r gunna make this yr a BIG yr in EDFL B grade!

matty, have u worked out yet which clubs u r going to and wen with the footy show this yr.

Not yet Mate. I meet up with the League next week to draw them out of a hat.
I do hope all clubs promote the night for a bit of a get together and moraling time at thier own clubrooms. Most clubs had huge crowds and plenty of kids who enjoyed the evening.
The thing I loved was the FREE sausages in bread I was receiving every Monday night and then rocking up to Tuesday night training pretty bloated (as it has shown).
Hope all EDFL clubs once again support it. Still, can hear the roar Bicer got when filmed at G'vale and Rousakis got when filmed at W.C. Also, they loved Barclay at K.Park. - Funny enough all 3 are gone from there clubs for 2006.

son06 said:
have to agree with sloth, if you go by last year, a grade reserves sides oak park, keilor or abers for that matter would of taking care of every side outside the 5, and even though oak park won 3 in a row in the reserves, even a couple of the lower finalists wouldnt of beat keilor at keilor.
this year could be a whole lot different though, b grade has closed the gap, at least with top 6-7 teams being very solid sides. will def keep an eye on the results, marby are the favs but w.c a.w westy glenroy and a few others will serve it right up to them. theres no certainty in football

Disagree with Son and sloth. Seen and played both. Only played 2 A res matches at start of 2001 for M.V.
Last year all the B Grade teams would of beaten the A Reserve teams other than Haddy, Syd and maybe close between a few of the others against Oakers and Keilor. Thats it.
I thinks Oakers, Keilor and Strathmore (this year) two's would be fairly even with the bottom 4, but a team like Nth Coburg who finished 11th or 10th I think and has players like Luvara, Tarek, Ash Mills, Tsionakis, Brennan, Andrew Elliott, Fedele and Renato Nunziato would beat Keilor 2's and Oakers 2's by 5 goals. Paco struggled last year with many Ex Sunbury Premiership players also.
Just remember - EDFL Knows Football.....

Will disagree with alot of you blokes and especially the bloke who said that Ash Craig isnt in the top 50 in B grade. I honestley think alot of you blokes overate not just A grade but you really do place B grade alot higher than what it is.

Honestley the standard of EDFL B grade is absoloute rubbish, i would quicker have my money on Sunburys 2s or Gisbornes 2s to beat any side in the B grade this coming season (bar Marby). While A grade is a massive jump, the better sides wouldnt even wipe the bums if the bottom sides from DVFL and the Eastern, the difference in standard is quite noticable.

Ash Craig was a very good footballer at Coburg, struggled to get a game in the 1s but was captain of the 2s when the 2s where very strong. The way he departed was probably not the best way to go about things but the guy was still respected and everyone knew he could play. He was also a very very good footballer at the Cannons and would easily slot into the top 20.

cheers

tige19 said:
Will disagree with alot of you blokes and especially the bloke who said that Ash Craig isnt in the top 50 in B grade. I honestley think alot of you blokes overate not just A grade but you really do place B grade alot higher than what it is.

Honestley the standard of EDFL B grade is absoloute rubbish, i would quicker have my money on Sunburys 2s or Gisbornes 2s to beat any side in the B grade this coming season (bar Marby). While A grade is a massive jump, the better sides wouldnt even wipe the bums if the bottom sides from DVFL and the Eastern, the difference in standard is quite noticable.

Ash Craig was a very good footballer at Coburg, struggled to get a game in the 1s but was captain of the 2s when the 2s where very strong. The way he departed was probably not the best way to go about things but the guy was still respected and everyone knew he could play. He was also a very very good footballer at the Cannons and would easily slot into the top 20.

cheers

Mate, I agree with you and would say Ash Craig IS in the top 50. But, I think you are off the mark in regards to the standard.

I agree with the B Grade comment maybe 4 or 5 years ago (even maybe less) where a team like Glenroy (last years list) was nearly as good as their Premiership team in 96 if you compared lists, but they only fininshed 7th. THe standard from 2000 when W.Coburg won the flag compared to their side this year would not get 10 goals close. Marby's team last year and the Hts before would of flogged the B Grade winners from 5 or 6 years ago.
The same in A Grade. I played for M.Valley in 2004 and we had Minton -Connell, an inform J,McNamara, Harro, Bangit, Nick Aloi, J,Angelopolous, T.Kemp, W.Rabah, & a good young Lukey Ryan and we couldn't even get close. (6 wins-12) we finished, even though we were competitive. That list 5 years ago would of been top 2 or 3 in A Grade.
Harro coached the D.Stars to a flag in 2000 and last year reckoned his Valley side in 04 was just as good.
The money has actually gone past DV and is close to Eastern. Obviously, the standard then increases as it has dramatically in both Grades over the past 2 or 3.
Take a look at the B Grade lists mate. It is just the lower sides sometimes that can bring it to the level you may be assuming.

What are others opinions???

billy schwibbet said:
Ur kiddin a/reserves would not beat any b grade side, played in both

You rate B Grade way to highly. There is no way that Hadfield would've beaten Keilor twos in any match at any ground in the last five years! Tige19 is spot on.

Matthew Pillios said:
Mate, I agree with you and would say Ash Craig IS in the top 50. But, I think you are off the mark in regards to the standard.

I agree with the B Grade comment maybe 4 or 5 years ago (even maybe less) where a team like Glenroy (last years list) was nearly as good as their Premiership team in 96 if you compared lists, but they only fininshed 7th. THe standard from 2000 when W.Coburg won the flag compared to their side this year would not get 10 goals close. Marby's team last year and the Hts before would of flogged the B Grade winners from 5 or 6 years ago.
The same in A Grade. I played for M.Valley in 2004 and we had Minton -Connell, an inform J,McNamara, Harro, Bangit, Nick Aloi, J,Angelopolous, T.Kemp, W.Rabah, & a good young Lukey Ryan and we couldn't even get close. (6 wins-12) we finished, even though we were competitive. That list 5 years ago would of been top 2 or 3 in A Grade.
Harro coached the D.Stars to a flag in 2000 and last year reckoned his Valley side in 04 was just as good.
The money has actually gone past DV and is close to Eastern. Obviously, the standard then increases as it has dramatically in both Grades over the past 2 or 3.
Take a look at the B Grade lists mate. It is just the lower sides sometimes that can bring it to the level you may be assuming.

What are others opinions???

Matthew you give a very biased view because you are so top heavy when it comes to the EDFL. Last year i missed a full season with injury and got to see alot of EDFL games a few DV and a few EFL games, i also spent time watching mates play in the GV which would subsaquentley embarass the EDFL.

The EDFL i agree has improved but is way way way of the Eastern FL, the DV while probably not as strong as it has been is still a clear level or 2 above the EDFL. I do think though that the EDFL has all the tools and $$$ to be able to get to the level of the top leagues in Victoria, it also has a great area talent wise as well, i do however think you are a good 3-4 years growth away from being able to be mentioned in the same breath as EFL and even the DV.

cheers

Hard Ball Get said:
On the topic of grounds,
What are the grounds that everyone loves to play at and which ones do you hate?

Mine are
BEST:
Westmeadows - I always play well there, I dont know why
Pascoe Vale - Good size and shape

WORST:
Taylors Lakes - Clearly the worst in the league. Discraceful, Pot holes everywhere and always windy
Roxi - Windy and ordinary surface
Greenvale - To big and ordinary to play on

this wont go down well but Marby is the worst ground followed by west coburg and Rox Park.

son06 said:

I played against Sydenham Hillside last year in B grade and we flogged them, i have played a grade 2 and have no hesitation saying an A grade 2's side would beat SH, hadfield of last year. wouldn't say flog every side outside the top 5 but would beat the bottom few.

sloth6 said:
You rate B Grade way to highly. There is no way that Hadfield would've beaten Keilor twos in any match at any ground in the last five years! Tige19 is spot on.

First it was every team out of the 5 and now it is just Hadfield??
Keep back peddeling.
As someone has already said, the bottom 10-12 polayers in a senior B grade side would destroy the bottom 10-12 in a Reserve A grade side.

sloth6 said:

Son, you mis-read what I wrote. I did said they would beat Hadfield, Sydneham and be close with a few others. Read it again.

tige19 said:
Matthew you give a very biased view because you are so top heavy when it comes to the EDFL. Last year i missed a full season with injury and got to see alot of EDFL games a few DV and a few EFL games, i also spent time watching mates play in the GV which would subsaquentley embarass the EDFL.

The EDFL i agree has improved but is way way way of the Eastern FL, the DV while probably not as strong as it has been is still a clear level or 2 above the EDFL. I do think though that the EDFL has all the tools and $$$ to be able to get to the level of the top leagues in Victoria, it also has a great area talent wise as well, i do however think you are a good 3-4 years growth away from being able to be mentioned in the same breath as EFL and even the DV.

Also, you have M.Pappa, M.Martin, Rob Powell, S.Vass all playing B Grade from A Grade Diamond Valley last year and Justin Murphy, Ty Zantuck and Paul Greeman also playing B Grade. It surely can't be that weak. Add the A Grade Com winner Rabee Haoucher and probably a bloke who has kicked over 50 goals in A Grade over the past 4 or 5 years all in B Grade.

Look at the A Grade teams. Other than Craigieburn ALL have recruited Better than worse for 2006.
cheers

Everybody's opinion is different. Fair enough. I had Bicer and Bakoulas who trained 6 weeks at Heidelberg saying that they thought from what they had seen that their Greenvale 2004 team which was v.talented and would of taken H'Berg or been close.
Also, I remember a K.Park great telling me that Deam Brown who has been back and from to Bundoora noticed the huge increase in standard. Especially, last year.

Have a look at Strathmore's list this year; Names and history don't lie.
I agree that Eastern, Goulburn are the two best. Not as easy as you say though.

Hard Ball Get said:
First it was every team out of the 5 and now it is just Hadfield??
Keep back peddeling.
As someone has already said, the bottom 10-12 polayers in a senior B grade side would destroy the bottom 10-12 in a Reserve A grade side.

I was actually replying to Billy Schwibbet's post mate, he said NO a reserves team would beat ANY B Grade side. I was just merely providing an example for him.

That is just rubbish!

sloth6 said:
I was actually replying to Billy Schwibbet's post mate, he said NO a reserves team would beat ANY B Grade side. I was just merely providing an example for him.

That is just rubbish!

Cool mate. Keilors and Oakers last year would beat Syd and Hadfield (last year) and push a few of the others.

Good topic though.

Matthew Pillios said:
Everybody's opinion is different. Fair enough. I had Bicer and Bakoulas who trained 6 weeks at Heidelberg saying that they thought from what they had seen that their Greenvale 2004 team which was v.talented and would of taken H'Berg or been close.
Also, I remember a K.Park great telling me that Deam Brown who has been back and from to Bundoora noticed the huge increase in standard. Especially, last year.

Have a look at Strathmore's list this year; Names and history don't lie.
I agree that Eastern, Goulburn are the two best. Not as easy as you say though.

Very hard to compare when only training, when you actually play and compete against other teams can you honestley compare.

And dude i doubt you have seen much/if any at all GV footy so dont try and compare. GV is that far ahead of the EDFL that its hard to even think about comparing the 2 and the Eastern league is very very close to the GV so that shows how good that comp is.

Went to the EDFL GF and it was a great match between 2 very good sides, i also went to the GV GF and saw probably the best game of football for a local league (standard wise) that i have ever seen, was cleaner than a VFL match in the sense that it was free flowing and everyone and i mean everyone hit there targets. Should a Greenvale or Strathmoore play either of the GV GF teams they would have had there pants pulled down.

1. GV
2.EFL
3.Geelong/O&M
4.Mornington/DV
5.Murray
6.EDFL

tige19 said:

cheers

Your joking arent you, he struggled at the cannons and played a handful

of games! As for being in the top 50 in B grade, not a chance!

He is a good player and as he playing a coburg who didnt!

Matthew Pillios said:
Cool mate. Keilors and Oakers last year would beat Syd and Hadfield (last year) and push a few of the others.

Good topic though.

as much as my mate is gonna hate me for writing this, a nice bloke by the name of damien caulfield just happened to play in the 03 a grade reserves premiership side at oak park, was unlucky not to make the seniors. will be playing at glenroy this year as there chf i would imagine. my point is, which team outside the 5 are gonna stop him this year, the guy could light it up in a grade seniors. any b grade side would have them in there top 5 players. my point is the would of taken care of every1 outside the finals last year in b grade, they were that strong,
and people dont understand just how hard it is to beat keilor at keilor, its disgusting how hard it is, any person who has(twice in my career) would understand how enjoyable it feels when you do, if they dont get 6 goals advantage at home, will bare my arse in bourke st. they usually dont have weak links in there reserves side, although they won it last year and thought it wasnt one of there best sides.