EDFL Premier Discussion 2024

Anyone at this game two goals wow . Looks like quite a few players getting paid for doing sfa surely they aren’t that bad?
Looks like there VFL aligned players didn’t play local. Unfortunately GV have a lot of them and not sure it’s the way forward to stay consistently competitive. However on the other hand it’s a way to win a few games hence they had them to get over EK last week. I stand to be corrected though..

Looking at the team sheets there was 1 change from the EK game Farchione in for Baker Smith

Most likely middle of range Div 2 team.

I know this forum would be a lot quieter.

Will all sort out in the end. When Pat moves on they will be back where they belong and no one will care about them again.
What division you are in does not define a football club. If they would be in div 1 or 2 instead of Premier had Pat not come around then so be it. East Keilor were a strong proud club with a stack of LOYAL local players and supporters and hard working volunteers and committee members before Pat came in, and most importantly a fantastic culture! Who gives a s##t if they are in Premier now because a guy came in with a bucket load of cash and an endless list of mercenaries who could not care less about the club, and will be gone when the cash is done. It will end in tears for EK and hopefully there are enough of those good people left to pick the place up. There are plenty of div 1 and 2 clubs at both ends of the ladder that are strong clubs with fantastic culture that are not worse off than EK or any of the premier clubs just because they are not in Premier division. Hard to feel completely sorry for EK, somebody needs to take responsibility for allowing dictator Pat to completely take control of the club in every aspect and chase away so many good people. Will be interesting to see how the place recovers post Pat.

I spoke to Ruben Williams at Keilor game last weekend. Obviously he was aligned with East Keilor but because of points he couldn’t be guaranteed a game every week in seniors.

He said Pat was upfront and honest about the situation and rang a few clubs to see if anyone could fit him in with points.

I have never met Pat, but from what Ruben said he could not have been more supportive in finding him a new home at Keilor.

Being aligned with Werribee VFL they obviously want him playing seniors. See he played reserves last week and was named in seniors at Keilor this week.

Sometimes people love jumping on a bashing but in this case I think Pat deserves some kudos.
I call BS on this.
When you are the coach, the president, the list manager, the major sponsor you are not being held to account by anyone you do as you please.
Pat always has and continues to sign players irrelevant of the finances required or the points they carry with the she will be right philosophy and deal with it if its a problem when it happens.
Pat could have played Ruben Williams in the seniors in round 1 if he wanted / needed / cared about Ruben that badly

Just watched the APW VS DP game as I was unable to attend on the weekend. Great display of footy by both teams. Congratulations to DP on winning their first EDFL premier division game.

I'm looking forward to this weekends game against EK. A few old DP boys are running around at EK. Will be interesting to see how they go against the oldside on the old deck.

SWOOPINGTIME

Just watched the APW VS DP game as I was unable to attend on the weekend. Great display of footy by both teams. Congratulations to DP on winning their first EDFL premier division game.

I'm looking forward to this weekends game against EK. A few old DP boys are running around at EK. Will be interesting to see how they go against the oldside on the old deck.

SWOOPINGTIME
Was an interesting watch, great display a bit strong though IMO. Was a mistake riddled game for the most part, DP were too good and strong through the middle on the back of a dominant Greenhough in ruck. Majak looked really dangerous but they were very predictable going to him almost all entries, was a good contest him and Brereton.
APW midfield is struggling, Young looks unfit or uninterested and doesn’t work hard enough, Edwards got shown up again he’s just a bit slow around the ground and Hanson gets a lot of it but doesn’t do much with it. Gentile was very good again and always looked the most dangerous inside 50 but has FA help. Interesting that APW dropped young ruckman Cullen. Not much going right at moment and on paper the list looks stronger than the results, but who they beating ??

Deer Park’s depth is the worst in the competition, they don’t rotate and they carry at a minimum 4 or 5 players that struggle but imagine are one pointers. One fella looked too unfit to get through a reserves game, another spent 90% of time on the bench. But with Majak playing and few top end talent they should secure a couple more wins. Talk of them playing finals is delusional for anyone that’s seen them live.

Predictions after first month …

• Keilor’s to lose, don’t see anyone pushing them. Won’t lose a game.
  • Pacco or Abers to play off after a prelim.
  • Strathmore will be there and if full list available they won’t be an easy final for anyone, might be a bit off pace for now.
  • 5th spot wide open, good for the comp. Team with the most luck with injuries and momentum between EK, Greenvale and Douttas will snatch it.
  • IMO APW, Avondale and if injures hit then Deer Park too will fight out relegation.

Makes for a lot of big “double point” games, bring it on!

I call BS on this.
When you are the coach, the president, the list manager, the major sponsor you are not being held to account by anyone you do as you please.
Pat always has and continues to sign players irrelevant of the finances required or the points they carry with the she will be right philosophy and deal with it if its a problem when it happens.
Pat could have played Ruben Williams in the seniors in round 1 if he wanted / needed / cared about Ruben that badly
Agree plus why release him to an opposition club is also strange..

4 Rounds in and another season ahead with the same Top 4 pretty much set(EK changed that last year but how long did that last?) already and the only real interest is who will finish 5th(and the ongoings at EK) with Greenvale in that Mix but kept to 2 goals by Keilor on the weekend shows the Gap is only getting wider.

I love the fact the EDS took it to Strathmore without two of their key forwards (1 to VFL and 1 Injured) and also going down a player to a hamstring early in the third.

Strathmore certainly got pushed and I think other teams will go into games against the EDS with a different expectation to previous years.

***and yes I understand all teams have injuries and lose players to VFL, but for such a young team, it was a great game.

I love the fact the EDS took it to Strathmore without two of their key forwards (1 to VFL and 1 Injured) and also going down a player to a hamstring early in the third.

Strathmore certainly got pushed and I think other teams will go into games against the EDS with a different expectation to previous years.

***and yes I understand all teams have injuries and lose players to VFL, but for such a young team, it was a great game.
Hey mate , I agree with you, Admire what Doutta's are doing but at the end of the day no chocolates(like Avondale on Anzac Day).. I'm sure there will be some upsets along the way but I'm sick of the same 3(or 4) teams being the only realistic chance of playing in the GF. FFS , have a look at the ladder in the 2's and 18's, same sh*t, different season.
I'm the first to have a go at posters who have a whine but don't offer solutions, and I'll put my hand up and admit that unless they start zoning juniors there is no solution.. Suppose I'm just a frustrated EDFL person...

GV v EDS + EK v DP this week are huge games in contest of season. One of GV and Douttas will get to 3 wins and ahead of the ledger, one of EK/DP will remain on one win

No doubt it has become boring Premier, has been for a long time. Same 4 sides have been the strongest for over a decade. But imo the introduction of the top 5 is already proving to be a worthwhile and winning move. Should of been in place years ago like most other metro comps. Despite slow starts from the bottom 3 you could argue that the 6 remaining sides all have the talent and could all get it together and get on a run and challenge for that 5th spot. Regardless if they bomb out first week of finals is irrelevant, it creates far more interest for clubs, players and spectator's over the course of a long season, which can only be a good thing. The top 4 would of been set already

Agree Top 5 has created more interest but how pathetic it is when 6 teams dream for a footy season is to finish 5th?

I do understand what you're saying, but pathetic is a bit harsh. Not many clubs can be in the position to win a premiership, in any competition. Finals footy is the next best thing. It creates more interest and gives the rest of the teams something to play for all year long. Why not gives sides like EDS or Avondale for example, who have been battling away for years avoiding relegation, a potential opportunity to play finals. Great for those clubs players and supporters to get that opportunity. I think results have shown already that a 5th place could knock off 4th on there day. Just wanted to highlight i think it was well overdue.

EDS and AH have been battling away for years? Why? It’s all self inflicted, both sides consistently spent between 250k and 300k on senior football! Not 1$ on developing a junior pathway. Let them both get relegated and give 2 other clubs a chance.

From a Douttas perspective having a couple of wins and playing competitively every week at the moment is huge for the club and creates some long term hope. The longer the also rans can have a sniff of finals the clubs can thrive. Bloody hard in the middle of winter when you are waiting weeks on end to have a winning chance, and floggings in between are demoralising. Can’t be a bad thing. Right now Mores aren’t with the other 3 pace setters and a vulnerable.

EDS and AH have been battling away for years? Why? It’s all self inflicted, both sides consistently spent between 250k and 300k on senior football! Not 1$ on developing a junior pathway. Let them both get relegated and give 2 other clubs a chance.
The change of thinking finally occurred at EDS last seen under Prendegast, he was prepared to lose good footballers who weren’t great standard setters on or off field as well as invest heavily into the junior club. They aren’t paying anyone big money this season. These things take time but they are making progress. Depth will be the issue as the season plays out but right now they aren’t an easy team to beat.

I agree that not many teams can be in a position to win a premiership in any competition , my point is - In the EDFL Premier it is the same 3-4 clubs EVERY year who are in a position to win the premiership. Don't get me wrong, I am not having a go at those clubs as who could blame them for consolidating their strength.
Yeah it's great that Avo, DS, APW, GV,DP,EK have a chance to play finals but it really is a poor consolation, bit like giving little Johnny a ribbon for coming 4th at the school sports...

Any chance of the EDFL administration team updating clearances as it been since 16/04 since last update
No reason to go on their website.
No updates on transfers.
No tribunal results.
No umpire appointments.
Matchday results are through an external app.
Personally, most of the other stuff they put up I have zero interest in.

No reason to go on their website.
No updates on transfers.
No tribunal results.
No umpire appointments.
Matchday results are through an external app.
Personally, most of the other stuff they put up I have zero interest in.
Just come straight to the bigfooty forum for all you need to know about the EDFL.

SWOOPINGTIME

EDFL Premier Discussion 2024