EDFL Premier Discussion 2024

Grem

Gremlin, have you completely lost the plot? Deer Park are a serious contender and will be challenging for the premiership easily within 5 years if not in season 2024. EK are a fair way off still and personally see them not making top 4 in season 2024 which will be a drop from this year.
Your dreaming Ek has a better list by a mile unless deer park lucks out on a vfl buy weekend

Personally think Deer Park have more quality in there top 5-6 than EK mate. Goater, McKenzie, Dorgan
Probably only in the ruck with Dennis they are better.
EK appear to have trouble holding onto there best few like Coletta for example. But once you offer huge coin you know at some point someone else could roll up and offer bigger. So to me not a great recruiting strategy for longer term success. Also need to appoint a coach and stick with them through good & bad for a period of time. Once you recruit a player it’s then the coach who becomes the main bond with the player. Thoughts?

Same with a lot of clubs mate if the $$ stops. Deer Park pay huge $$ but so do other clubs. If they can afford it then best of luck to them I say. There are players who like to go to clubs who haven’t had success for a while and try and get them success. These are the good people willing to challenge themselves and build a club up. Brings a lot more joy I reckon..
You are wishing Best of Luck to Cheaters? That's the problem right there , blatant cheating is just accepted now and excused as "everyone is doing it". Local Footy is completely stuffed , very sad.

All premier clubs are cheating it’s just some more than others. You can’t stop it mate. But clubs that offer and can’t pay are the worse clubs ever.

Blame the spineless competition leaders for allowing this to happen,only they can rein them in from over spending the salary cap.
Every competition in Australia is struggling to keep a handle on salary caps. The points is the only way clubs can be kept under control.

They may as well scrap the salary caps as it’s a joke and no one has the expertise to really monitor it or investigate any breaches so why have it.

Every competition in Australia is struggling to keep a handle on salary caps. The points is the only way clubs can be kept under control.

They may as well scrap the salary caps as it’s a joke and no one has the expertise to really monitor it or investigate any breaches so why have it.
Agreed, scrap salary caps and lower the points 👍🏽

Blame the spineless competition leaders for allowing this to happen,only they can rein them in from over spending the salary cap.
How can you stop the brown paper bags full of cash? They are off the books. They usually come from a wealthy couple of individuals involved at the club, straight out of the atm and into the pockets of players and recruits. This simply cannot be stopped! Impossible. Even if players were to speak up which is doubtful as why would they when they are getting the cash, it would be one word against another with no proof. But that wont happen. The salary cap must be scrapped! It is actually creating a bigger gap between clubs as believe it or not there are still clubs out there that are sticking to the salary caps. As each year goes on those clubs are just being so disadvantaged and are being left behind, struggling badly to recruit quality players. The players are going to the clubs that pay bigger cash outside the cap and why wouldn't they? They are human. I know a number of clubs that are just constantly missing out on players over the last few years because they are operating within the cap.

Could not agree more. The points is the only system that can keep competition on an even keel.

Yeah I understand your points mate. But some clubs keeping within the cap might have spent overs in past years so they have done it also. It’s just some clubs managed it better and have kept doing it but at a slightly reduced rate.

Make points 35-37 per game and see who survives
Scrap the salary cap and let it be a free for all
But points 35-37 and see who wins
No way the points should be that low. Even at 44/46 points you still need to have at least 50% 1 pointers. Players should be allowed to go where they want and coaches have the scope to recruit and build. How would a club at the bottom and low on juniors ever rebuild with 35 points. Should be a sliding scale maybe and clubs with 3-4 junior sides have low points.
But the league (and a couple of clubs) should be held accountable as to what has become of this league and its spending.

Perhaps even limiting the number of junior sides per age group, similar to what occurs in Soccer.
For example Keilor has 20 odd junior sides, but keilor park has 1, yet they are less than 3km apart!

Ahh this old debate again… let’s penalise clubs for putting time, effort and money into having a strong junior program 🤣

I reckon we've been talking about this long before the claytons salary cap. It just keeps going around in circles and nobody is happy. I doubt anyone knows the real solution.

Yes mate, how do we stop kids playing where they want at the very young ages. Just won’t happen so maybe reduce there points as they have more junior participation, rego fees, volunteers etc

Well apart from points, what other solutions are out there?? Old debate or not, the Salary cap vs points is the same… perhaps we just do the same thing over and over…

Personally think Deer Park have more quality in there top 5-6 than EK mate. Goater, McKenzie, Dorgan
Probably only in the ruck with Dennis they are better.
EK appear to have trouble holding onto there best few like Coletta for example. But once you offer huge coin you know at some point someone else could roll up and offer bigger. So to me not a great recruiting strategy for longer term success. Also need to appoint a coach and stick with them through good & bad for a period of time. Once you recruit a player it’s then the coach who becomes the main bond with the player. Thoughts?
pat may be able to bond with the players but his game day coaching falls a little shot at level he needs a good tactical and game day assistant on the side with him then out his pride aside and listen to him

Yes mate, how do we stop kids playing where they want at the very young ages. Just won’t happen so maybe reduce there points as they have more junior participation, rego fees, volunteers etc
Rego feees gets paid straight to the League now

The only part that that goes to the clubs is the markup they put on top of what the league charges to

Was an attempt to stop the people that never pay their subs

Every club I’ve been involved in has had em

Rego feees gets paid straight to the League now

The only part that that goes to the clubs is the markup they put on top of what the league charges to

Was an attempt to stop the people that never pay their subs

Every club I’ve been involved in has had em
Yeah I’m aware the league get a small fee like $50 per player but my point is with 3-4 under 10/12s you get more registration fees into your account.

EDFL Premier Discussion 2024