danger_wood
- Sep 28, 2016
- AFL Club
- Geelong
Rumours rife that Craigieburn are in turmoil - can anyone confirm?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Rumours rife that Craigieburn are in turmoil - can anyone confirm?
Heard the unfortunate news of the president having a heart attack, then on top of that the reserves coach walked and a senior assistant walked. More recently have heard a massive rift between some leaders. Got to feel for Lance.Rumours rife that Craigieburn are in turmoil - can anyone confirm?
Let's hope they get the support they need and are competitive... I don't know about you other blokes but I am sick to death of this Comp being a race out of 4(Abers/Keilor/Mores/GVale) , possible 5(Pacco) Clubs...Heard the unfortunate news of the president having a heart attack, then on top of that the reserves coach walked and a senior assistant walked. More recently have heard a massive rift between some leaders. Got to feel for Lance.
That’s not good news. There President was a great bloke. Wish him a speedy recovery.Heard the unfortunate news of the president having a heart attack, then on top of that the reserves coach walked and a senior assistant walked. More recently have heard a massive rift between some leaders. Got to feel for Lance.
Allen Christiansen, Alex Rance, Wayne Carey come to mindHeard the unfortunate news of the president having a heart attack, then on top of that the reserves coach walked and a senior assistant walked. More recently have heard a massive rift between some leaders. Got to feel for Lance.
have heard they have lost a large contingent of their 2019 Premiership team and not much coming in. In an ideal world they would stay in Div.1 and EK play Premier. Won’t happen though
Not sure why Keillor agreed to play Westmeadows, given the score. Westmeadows would of seen what it takes to be one of the big boys but what did Keillor get out of it other than training drills.
I’m sorry but wouldn’t it be smart for him to improve his footy to help him at VFL level. To be honest it going to be hard for him to impress playing at Craigieburn this year if reports are right. Remember the same thing happen to him last time craigieburn were in premier.Why has Tye Browning left Craigieburn for ABERS. Is he on a VFL list and are these VFL clubs influencing players towards certain clubs? His a Craigieburn junior product who helped them achieve GF victory to go up to premier then deserts them. Don’t understand that especially being a young player. Craigieburn would have more cap space to pay him more so what’s the attraction! I don’t get it..
I can understand the reasoning but he's gone from being the big dog at Craigieburn to one of many at Abers, he'll have an easier time getting a kick but I doubt that he'll stand out any more.I’m sorry but wouldn’t it be smart for him to improve his footy to help him at VFL level. To be honest it going to be hard for him to impress playing at Craigieburn this year if reports are right. Remember the same thing happen to him last time craigieburn were in premier.
he made the smart decision for his football. Maybe he doesn’t play footy for money like some. If he plays well at Abers it’s going to get more attention then being in the best at craigieburn.
So on your theory any Very good players that play at clubs that will finish low on the ladder who have aspirations of playing higher(VFL) level should desert their club and head for a power club? If that's the case then the Sprit of Local Footy is well and truly DEADI’m sorry but wouldn’t it be smart for him to improve his footy to help him at VFL level. To be honest it going to be hard for him to impress playing at Craigieburn this year if reports are right. Remember the same thing happen to him last time craigieburn were in premier.
he made the smart decision for his football. Maybe he doesn’t play footy for money like some. If he plays well at Abers it’s going to get more attention then being in the best at craigieburn.
Totally agree with you also the tac level clubs also dicktate to the junior clubs where they want their players to play and regularly tell player form lower div clubs that to advance their footy they need to be [playing in a div one side .So on your theory any Very good players that play at clubs that will finish low on the ladder who have aspirations of playing higher(VFL) level should desert their club and head for a power club? If that's the case then the Sprit of Local Footy is well and truly DEAD
Now mate that’s an interesting one when your talking TAC cup footy players on the borderline and trying to push for selection. I do agree it’s better for them to be playing the best level junior footy you can. Go to a premier 18.5 team and test yourself against the Abers & Keilor’s to prove you have what it takes.Totally agree with you also the tac level clubs also dicktate to the junior clubs where they want their players to play and regularly tell player form lower div clubs that to advance their footy they need to be [playing in a div one side .
Sorry to disgree Turbo but west coburg played 5 boys in seniors on saturday from 2019 u17s team against Strathmore. They are getting there chances and moving forward with some club culture and not club swapping. who knows where it may end up?. BTW those boys were not disgraced against Strathmore a game played in 4 quarters of pouring rain. Even if juniors are not in premier comp it matters not for a boy with ability. places like West Coburg and Taylors lakes will push young guys coming through. the other day there was talk of Abers 19s winning flag in 2019. how many of those boys do you think will play premier seniors this year at Abers? Go to a club who will give you opportunities were your words. I think the opportunities for progress are not necessarily at premier level but elsewhere . yes players can return but that can mean a couple of wasted years.Now mate that’s an interesting one when your talking TAC cup footy players on the borderline and trying to push for selection. I do agree it’s better for them to be playing the best level junior footy you can. Go to a premier 18.5 team and test yourself against the Abers & Keilor’s to prove you have what it takes.
Don’t play for them play against them I say. And the other positive you gain is possibly being selected to play senior premier footy as a 17-18 year old. I would strongly advise that rather than play lower level footy if you have talent and aspirations. You can always return but if you don’t do it you will regret it.
Haven’t watched a hell of a lot of 18.5 footy but when Hillsides 18.5 were in premier (seniors in div1) and playing the likes of Keilor the standard is another level to playing div1 18.5.
It’s not the kids fault the clubs seniors are in say div1 or div2 so make the move. Go to a club who will give you opportunities and therefore go outside the top few of Abers, Keilor and Strathmore and head to Pacco, Avondale, Marby etc..
Just my views on that subject.
Cheers
Sorry Turbo old mate but I reckon you got it wrong the kids that are getting noticed from the lower div's have had all their development done by the home club and they have got the kid to where he is and at the level to be noticed , so they are doing something right to start off with . If the tac clubs want to take the kid then put in place programs with the home club to further develop the kids . This will help keep good kids at their home club and help build clubs talent up rather then just stripping them from lower div clubs to further the big premier clubs list .Now mate that’s an interesting one when your talking TAC cup footy players on the borderline and trying to push for selection. I do agree it’s better for them to be playing the best level junior footy you can. Go to a premier 18.5 team and test yourself against the Abers & Keilor’s to prove you have what it takes.
Don’t play for them play against them I say. And the other positive you gain is possibly being selected to play senior premier footy as a 17-18 year old. I would strongly advise that rather than play lower level footy if you have talent and aspirations. You can always return but if you don’t do it you will regret it.
Haven’t watched a hell of a lot of 18.5 footy but when Hillsides 18.5 were in premier (seniors in div1) and playing the likes of Keilor the standard is another level to playing div1 18.5.
It’s not the kids fault the clubs seniors are in say div1 or div2 so make the move. Go to a club who will give you opportunities and therefore go outside the top few of Abers, Keilor and Strathmore and head to Pacco, Avondale, Marby etc..
Just my views on that subject.
Cheers
AFL Victoria Salary CapKeilor won by 97 points over Shep Swans on Saturday. Pascoe Vale played Shep Bears in a close game but not sure who won.
Is anyone getting near Keilor this season ? Only injured or bad luck beats them
Very ordinary Turbo. Finished bottom of the GV in 2019.AFL Victoria Salary Cap
Shepp Swans are pretty ordinary thesedays. But still agree Keilor good unit. Browne and Veszpremi handy ins!
Keilor won by 97 points over Shep Swans on Saturday. Pascoe Vale played Shep Bears in a close game but not sure who won.
[/QUOTE
two weeks in a row massive wins for Keilor I hope they have some tougher games lined up before the season starts as its hard to take away much when you win that easily