Someone put me crook.
LoL
LoL
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Anyone see the umpiring exhibition at Abers v Keilor today???? I don't follow either of the teams that played,...WTF are they putting out on the field?????
Saw the first half only. Like you I don't follow either of the teams. Umpiring is a very tough gig, conditions were scrappy and 2 of the umpires were very young. I must say however that even taking those factors into account their performance was very ordinary. Keilor definetly gained the benefit of some very dubious decisions.
Was impressed with Keilor in the half that I saw. First 10 minutes they looked like they were going to be blown out of the park. They persisted however, played the conditions extremely well and were prepared to put their heads over the ball. They certainly deserved their half time lead. It would seem from the score line that they may have fallen away after half time, or probably Abers got their act together.
It's a general web radio problem due to the processing and servers it passes through. Best bet at the game of the week is a walkman because the web will always have a 30-odd second delay.
Hmmm, the only thing that fell away was the umpiring, Mick Mcguane would have to think seriously about contacting the advisors during the week...absolute discrace of what was a fantastic contest upto 10 minutes into the 3rd...and the gesture by the rather large umpire of giving the Mothers in front of me the bird at the centre bounce about 18 minutes into the last was testimony of what sort of display this guy served up. I f you can't cop a 60yr old women yelling out "you Cheat", give it away mate...stay at home and belt your wife and slap your kids!
Umpiring really did seem to go all Keilors way before half time and our way in the second half. We seem to get that fat bloke every other week and he is both a terrible umpire and a sook. What he was doing paying Keilor a free kick for a deliberate behind when the bloke was getting tackled we will never know.
Correct me if I'm wrong but the deliberate rushed behind rule doesn't apply at our level does it. That's my understanding but might be wrong!
Agree with comments on that umpire - seems to get more Abers games than any other club and has absolutely no idea, makes it up as he goes and gets sucked in quite easily and gives insipid lip when in question. Hopeless!!
Now forgive me for I need to get this off my chest, usually I don’t respond to a few keyboard warriors who take pot shots at umpires and simply ignore them however on this occasion feel I need to defend myself.
I believe I am the ‘fat umpire’ being referred to above, so I will freely admit the match on Saturday was not my best performance as I tore my calf in the first quarter and battled to move for the rest of the game, but still feel I umpired well enough and am more than comfortable with every key decision I made on the day.
Over the past 2 seasons I have been observed by our umpiring coaches in most games and currently have a decisional accuracy of a little over 95% amongst the top of all umpires, and last season was good enough to see me in the top 3 umpires and umpire the A grade grand final so I can say that I am comfortable to back in my own interpretation of a free kick over that of a few one eyed blokes who have had a few frothies on the sidelines.
The deliberate rushed behind was introduced at the start of the 2012 season, and that decision against Adam El Houli was about as clear cut as it gets. He was not under any immediate pressure and he deliberately knocked the ball 15 meters backwards through the points.. free kick every day of the week.
There were also 3 free kicks I paid against Keilor defenders who got caught one on one with bigger forwards in marking contests, the ball was coming in well and in all 3 contests the Keilor player was caught behind, the 2 I paid against Micka James were for holding and were clear free kicks, I paid another as the defender accidentally struck the forward in the face as he was attempting to spoil, so is a clear cut too high free kick. The fact that all 3 free kicks resulted in Aberfeldie goals is totally irrelevant as to if they were correct or not, and I am 100% confident they were correct.
Another correction by Puff, Saturdays game was only the 2nd game this year I have umpired Abers so perhaps you are confused.
Otto the 'bird salute' which you say was directed at 2 old ladies could not be further from the truth. It was directed at 2 old mates who think because they chose to spend their Saturdays standing in the rain that this somehow gives them a free reign to spend the afternoon verbally abusing an umpire calling him a fat kaarnt, cheat and a range of other vile obscenities. Should I have reacted, probably not as I usually just ignore this abuse and put it down to a few too many cans or another one eyed spectator with no idea of the rules but perhaps it was the cold rainy day that pushed me to react. And I have no idea what the ‘belt your wife & slap your kids’ comment is about but can only assume it is a pretty poor attempt at an insult.
Umpiring really did seem to go all Keilors way before half time and our way in the second half. We seem to get that fat bloke every other week and he is both a terrible umpire and a sook. What he was doing paying Keilor a free kick for a deliberate behind when the bloke was getting tackled we will never know.
Now forgive me for I need to get this off my chest, usually I don’t respond to a few keyboard warriors who take pot shots at umpires and simply ignore them however on this occasion feel I need to defend myself.
I believe I am the ‘fat umpire’ being referred to above, so I will freely admit the match on Saturday was not my best performance as I tore my calf in the first quarter and battled to move for the rest of the game, but still feel I umpired well enough and am more than comfortable with every key decision I made on the day.
Over the past 2 seasons I have been observed by our umpiring coaches in most games and currently have a decisional accuracy of a little over 95% amongst the top of all umpires, and last season was good enough to see me in the top 3 umpires and umpire the A grade grand final so I can say that I am comfortable to back in my own interpretation of a free kick over that of a few one eyed blokes who have had a few frothies on the sidelines.
The deliberate rushed behind was introduced at the start of the 2012 season, and that decision against Adam El Houli was about as clear cut as it gets. He was not under any immediate pressure and he deliberately knocked the ball 15 meters backwards through the points.. free kick every day of the week.
There were also 3 free kicks I paid against Keilor defenders who got caught one on one with bigger forwards in marking contests, the ball was coming in well and in all 3 contests the Keilor player was caught behind, the 2 I paid against Micka James were for holding and were clear free kicks, I paid another as the defender accidentally struck the forward in the face as he was attempting to spoil, so is a clear cut too high free kick. The fact that all 3 free kicks resulted in Aberfeldie goals is totally irrelevant as to if they were correct or not, and I am 100% confident they were correct.
Another correction by Puff, Saturdays game was only the 2nd game this year I have umpired Abers so perhaps you are confused.
Otto the 'bird salute' which you say was directed at 2 old ladies could not be further from the truth. It was directed at 2 old mates who think because they chose to spend their Saturdays standing in the rain that this somehow gives them a free reign to spend the afternoon verbally abusing an umpire calling him a fat kaarnt, cheat and a range of other vile obscenities. Should I have reacted, probably not as I usually just ignore this abuse and put it down to a few too many cans or another one eyed spectator with no idea of the rules but perhaps it was the cold rainy day that pushed me to react. And I have no idea what the ‘belt your wife & slap your kids’ comment is about but can only assume it is a pretty poor attempt at an insult.
Well done to the Large Umpire for posting his version of events. I reckon the standard of A-Grade umpires is excellent at present. Juniors not so good but they are mainly kids having a go.
Incidentally, I saw a deliberate rushed point paid in U14s Div 4 last week. It was there as the ball was kicked thru from 10m out but was surprised to see it.
Yeap good effort, very brave and honest, good stuff. Really shouldn't call you fat either, apologies for that, was a bit unfair.
We all get emotional about the umpires and do not always agree with the way you guys see the game. Consistency is probably the thing we all crave from umpires. However the bottom line is simple, no umpires no game! We spectators and players, need to keep that in mind and respect the job you all do.
You have earned my respect with your comments, keep up the work!
As for Mick Dundees comments about Keilor getting a good run, you are dreaming Mick!
No better or worse than other teams
For once I agree with Mick Dundee, Keilor usually gets a dream run with the umpires whenever I've seen them. Probably comes down to a style of play kind of thing,Now forgive me for I need to get this off my chest, usually I don’t respond to a few keyboard warriors who take pot shots at umpires and simply ignore them however on this occasion feel I need to defend myself.
We all get emotional about the umpires and do not always agree with the way you guys see the game. Consistency is probably the thing we all crave from umpires. However the bottom line is simple, no umpires no game! We spectators and players, need to keep that in mind and respect the job you all do.
You have earned my respect with your comments, keep up the work!
As for Mick Dundees comments about Keilor getting a good run, you are dreaming Mick!
No better or worse than other teams