EDFL-Premier Division 2013

For sure but all of those sides had to dramatically up their spending upon making it to A grade/Premier div in order to become competitive, Sunbury on the other hand would be pushing for finals in the top division with their current side.

Sorry to chime in fellas, my opinion is "Premier Division" means just that. You have to be EDFL Premiers in B Grade to be promoted. So many EDFL clubs have worked very hard to win Premierships in B Grade to be promoted into Premier Div. Better to start off on the right foot imo.

IF a club wants to come across to our league surely they cannot dictate which division they choose to be a part of. They may lose some players but gain a few others if they were to be placed in B Grade-the same as every other club every year.:thumbsu:

Sorry to chime in fellas, my opinion is "Premier Division" means just that. You have to be EDFL Premiers in B Grade to be promoted. So many EDFL clubs have worked very hard to win Premierships in B Grade to be promoted into Premier Div. Better to start off on the right foot imo.

IF a club wants to come across to our league surely they cannot dictate which division they choose to be a part of. They may lose some players but gain a few others if they were to be placed in B Grade-the same as every other club every year.:thumbsu:
You make some very good points mate. :thumbsu:
I wasn't really thinking of things along those lines.

Sunbury is not/does not want into the comp, they have a lucrative deal to stay in their current comp part of the reason why they didn't come across. The EDFL want the constitution change for a club that plays in the Ammos and are at a bottom of a hill apparently want their juniors in the EDFL as they loose a lot of kids to the EDFL. The question is this change good for the comp when a lot of clubs are struggling for juniors that are within a 10-15 min drive and its not really in a growth area as stipulated in the current constitution

Interesting times @ the EDFL with an Extraordinary General Meeting being called for early October to amend a policy/Constitution to allow clubs to compete without seniors/juniors. The spin from the EDFL is that they want to even up the comp for clubs that are struggling for junior players.
But could the change be for a club in the local area who's seniors play in another competition who want their juniors to play in the comp even though they left the competition a few years ago.
Surely clubs in the area (and their are heaps) would not like this proposal as surely it would effect junior set ups. Interesting couple of weeks ahead.

Should be left as is imo, with the proviso that the club/clubs do eventually get a full tier of teams within a set period of time. This is what makes the EDFL such a strong competition...Otherwise it could turn out bad with some clubs dropping the ball on their junior programs which in effect would flow onto Seniors, which could be the demise of some clubs in the EDFL... Just my opinion

Aber
I heard that both fanning and mangan were on about 1500 a game. So you would have to imagine the quality of hislop, patak, cubilo, connors and johns would be around the same if not more. So 7 players at that figure is about 10 grand a week

Abers spend budget is approx $250,000 for the year. They came in well under this year as the high end players did not play every week. (T. Hislop, johns & Philips did not play a game)
Not sure where the figures of $400 - $500 k are coming from.

So does anyone think there will be another team beside Burnside coming in next season? If it isn't Sunbury who would it be? Tough to see St. Bernard's or Essendon Grammer leaving top flight Ammo's

Aber

Abers spend budget is approx $250,000 for the year. They came in well under this year as the high end players did not play every week. (T. Hislop, johns & Philips did not play a game)
Six of the premier division clubs would have been on a $250000 player budget (including coach who can cost between $20,000 and $50,000). Aberfeldie were by far the biggest spender. Don't forget that you also have "sign-ons" what can cost $5,000 to $15,000 each. If you think that Abers were on $250,000 less injuries you are way off the mark. They would have been around $500,000 for their 30 players on contract. As only 22 play, this would have meant that they paid about 75% of that which is around $370,000. With injuries, this may have come down to $340,000. Plus sign ons.
This is only an estimate but it is unrealistic to thing that with the class that they have in that side that they would have gone around on $250,000. Regarding rating their season, they were a top side no doubt but you can only measure it as a failure to win second semi so easily and to go down as they did. They were clearly outcoached which didn't help.

So does anyone think there will be another team beside Burnside coming in next season? If it isn't Sunbury who would it be? Tough to see St. Bernard's or Essendon Grammer leaving top flight Ammo's

Hard to say really. You would have to say that the league is keen to avoid a bye at all costs. Could any of the existing WRFL clubs move across?

Six of the premier division clubs would have been on a $250000 player budget (including coach who can cost between $20,000 and $50,000). Aberfeldie were by far the biggest spender. Don't forget that you also have "sign-ons" what can cost $5,000 to $15,000 each. If you think that Abers were on $250,000 less injuries you are way off the mark. They would have been around $500,000 for their 30 players on contract. As only 22 play, this would have meant that they paid about 75% of that which is around $370,000. With injuries, this may have come down to $340,000. Plus sign ons.
This is only an estimate but it is unrealistic to thing that with the class that they have in that side that they would have gone around on $250,000. Regarding rating their season, they were a top side no doubt but you can only measure it as a failure to win second semi so easily and to go down as they did. They were clearly outcoached which didn't help.

All fell apart from the bench. No mal standing there directing traffic resulted in mass confusion, whichever as clearly evident from the stands. You could see Johns fighting with the coaching panel when he was brought to the bench, and when you had both ruckmen on the pine and o'brien contesting the centre square bounce, it was not a good look.

Thou i believe Mal was Aber's best player last Saturday would the club have been better severed if he didn't play and just coached?

Thou need to tak into account late season injuries to Aber's, Fanning and Carven both didn't play, 2 ruckman for the club which means that Mal had to play which took him off the sidelines. Unless you have a really strong assistant really hard coaching and playing in the modern game.

Totally argee with the league wanting to avoid a bye local footy doesn't need it, who from the Western Region would or could come across? Coburg Distists have come and really they are just making up numbers currently, probably a 6-7 goal per game difference between the two leagues, don't want another club uncompetivite in the comp.

Thou i believe Mal was Aber's best player last Saturday would the club have been better severed if he didn't play and just coached?

Thou need to tak into account late season injuries to Aber's, Fanning and Carven both didn't play, 2 ruckman for the club which means that Mal had to play which took him off the sidelines. Unless you have a really strong assistant really hard coaching and playing in the modern game.

Totally argee with the league wanting to avoid a bye local footy doesn't need it, who from the Western Region would or could come across? Coburg Distists have come and really they are just making up numbers currently, probably a 6-7 goal per game difference between the two leagues, don't want another club uncompetivite in the comp.

Agree with you there Batman, injuries can't be avoided and there is no point in playing the what if game, but if mal could have spent the 120 minutes focusing on match ups and tactics, instead of having to mix that with chasing the ball, we MIGHT have seen a different result.

I wasn't saying that a WRFL club had to make up the numbers, I'm not entirely sure who could make up that number.

Although the EDFL would have to be happy with how well the 3 division structure has taken, a lot more competitive games, and the competition will only continue to get tighter

Haha, so what you are saying is your estimate of $500k is more accurate than shaghouli's estimate of $250k even though they are both just guesses because your estimate serves your bashing of Aberfeldie better.

Yeah Abers spend money, we tried not spending money for years and it doesn't work so we got with the times and spent. Haven't won a flag yet but its a hell of a lot more enjoyable turning up and having a crack rather than getting smashed by 30 goals as were three years ago.

Everyone else in the league with the means to spend does so. To suggest we spent significantly more than the likes of Greenvale, Strathmore and Airport West seems laughable and is just fueled by your desire to ridicule Aberfeldie.

Where are Doutta's going as a club? They are going to have to spend just as much as Aberfeldie and the rest to be competitive unfortunately.

EDFL has to defintly be happy witht the 3 divisions this year. They need to ensure that these new start up clubs go down the correct path in their development and are competivite in 2-3 season. Burnside hopefully use the growth area they are in to build a very strong junior base and develop the seniors to be a powerhouse in the league in the next 5-10 years.

Aber

You got to be joking mate.
Would like to have a sude bet on that one mate.
Easy over $350k.

You got to be joking mate.
Would like to have a sude bet on that one mate.
Easy over $350k.
Seems like lots of people know Abers books. Don't think any of you have any idea. Also what is promised is not always what is paid out!
GF - mistake leaving out Romanyk - did job on Gazzo. Cravin a big loss from team ( 4 years as one of best defenders in EDFL - also pinch hit ruck with his leap). Abers foward line TOO slow!
Interesting , it would appear the lower $ players most consistent - Danny c . Norden . Craven . Rush etc
Stick to playing the previous 3 years U18's next season. Not like a country club where good U18 end up at uni etc.

EDFL has to defintly be happy witht the 3 divisions this year. They need to ensure that these new start up clubs go down the correct path in their development and are competivite in 2-3 season. Burnside hopefully use the growth area they are in to build a very strong junior base and develop the seniors to be a powerhouse in the league in the next 5-10 years.

The league expected roxy and hillside to become powerhouses as well due to being in growth areas... Hasn't worked out that way... Could take burnside a long time to get out of div 3

I think you might find Hillside would admit they got it wrong at the start. Roxy isn't really a football area, if you look at the demographic of the area it doesn't jump out at you as a football area.

If Burnside do it right every chance they can be as strong as Keilor were in the mid-late 90's and Greenvale are, on the field, now.

I think you might find Hillside would admit they got it wrong at the start. Roxy isn't really a football area, if you look at the demographic of the area it doesn't jump out at you as a football area.

If Burnside do it right every chance they can be as strong as Keilor were in the mid-late 90's and Greenvale are, on the field, now.

Even if burnside to it correctly Will still take 20 years minimum to even be close to Greenvale... Greenvale are so good due to the people off field able to generate income from sponsors get grants for facilities etc Greenvale are where they are due to good management more than anything else

Start up clubs will take a long time to find their feet

Just to clear up my last comment was not a knock against Greenvale, Greenvale are arguablly the best ran non-professional club in the state and deserve everything that comes there way and is a huge credit to the people working down there both on and off field and in both Football and Cricket.

I'm not sure anyone took it as a slight. :thumbsu:
I think Grassbag was just saying that it took more than just being in a growth area to become a powerhouse.

Also, Roxy does produce some handy players, unfortunately for them though a number of them jump ship to Greenvale or Craigieburn to play in higher grades in their later years of junior Footy.

Haha, so what you are saying is your estimate of $500k is more accurate than shaghouli's estimate of $250k even though they are both just guesses because your estimate serves your bashing of Aberfeldie better.

Yeah Abers spend money, we tried not spending money for years and it doesn't work so we got with the times and spent. Haven't won a flag yet but its a hell of a lot more enjoyable turning up and having a crack rather than getting smashed by 30 goals as were three years ago.

Everyone else in the league with the means to spend does so. To suggest we spent significantly more than the likes of Greenvale, Strathmore and Airport West seems laughable and is just fueled by your desire to ridicule Aberfeldie.

Where are Doutta's going as a club? They are going to have to spend just as much as Aberfeldie and the rest to be competitive unfortunately.

Don't get so exciting and read the entire post!! I said $340,000 is the budget and it is not bashing Abers. The top 5 sides this year were on a player budget of $230,000 minimum. The $340,000 I suggest would also include coaching staff (anywhere between $30,000-$50,000). You are dreaming if you think that Abers are paying $250,000

Can anyone confirm or deny a rumour that the Abers boys had a fair punch on after losing the Grand Final?
I believe it happened late on the Sat night.