EDFL Premier Division 2016

Agree with all this. Just silly. Why is EDFL pushing this? The two leagues either side of the EDFL are going to be far less. Killing off volunteers and clubs let me tell you. Haddy will do it tough and have been for a few years even tho the won a flag, but not in a healthy state. But that's alright let's bring Coburg Districts in (No offence - good club), and see how it pans out...Well, clubs in the vicinity, this occasion Haddy are doing it tough with players, volunteers and money.

Coburg District were originally in the EDFL many many years ago

Yes for sure, but things were different back then. Kids didn't really have the choice as they do today with many other activities other than footy. Money didn't seem to be the issue it is today for clubs. Good luck to CD, not having a go at them, more the EDFL's infinite 'wisdom'.

Reported figure of $80k - If it wasn't already , the money to pay a local footy playing coach has gone officially mad

Sorry bang I reckon it's 100 grand no make 120..... I mean if we are just making figures up why not make it even larger 150 plus throw in a car.

Unless your chapman himself or Bruce Kent you have know idea....

There is know way they are paying him that much, but hey I know as much as you..... nothing

Sorry bang I reckon it's 100 grand no make 120..... I mean if we are just making figures up why not make it even larger 150 plus throw in a car.

Unless your chapman himself or Bruce Kent you have know idea....

There is know way they are paying him that much, but hey I know as much as you..... nothing
Wow $100,000 plus ..... He must have had a long successful coaching career to command such a figure..... But then again it is the millionaires

Chapman was on $60k at WD last year , don't think WD thought they got great value for money - so would assume on similar money
Would be better to remain non playing coach , hamstring is shot

and they were tossed out because they couldnt field the full compliment of juniors - Hadfield have lacked the foresight to obtain a quality coach rather they have over paid local players and settled be coached by locals - they need to have the balls to get a quality , named coach in and drive a quality program otherwise they will disappear

Chapman was on $60k at WD last year , don't think WD thought they got great value for money - so would assume on similar money
Would be better to remain non playing coach , hamstring is shot

If true then WD lost there way. No non playing coach in WRFL is worth that type of coin. Big mistake!!

However they do have a lot of homegrown kids so I guess they had spare cash. I reckon 60k was for him to play as well but he didn't play many games, BUT demanded the full payment.

What's he like as a person? I hope his not the type to take clubs to the cleaners..Hope GV did there homework..

M

Mighty Mick and Wallis both on $50k(although they both need to raise $20k of that themselves). There's 2 non playing coaches for you.
Chappy at WD - Understanding as loose as it was is that he would play, and to be fair , with him playing makes the side stronger so why wouldn't he play and have a Club First attitude? That was the problem at WD, he didn't embrace "Club first", they realized early on that Chappy saw himself as a coach 1st and foremost, then if he had to play he would consider that.... The Dude had never coached before and ended up not being very good at it....

Forgot about Mighty Mick and his deal of a lifetime. Far out I'm losing my way. Now retired from cricket I'm losing my way sitting at home drinking cans.. Bring on the footy season!! Lol

Mario bandera to Avondale heights! What do youse think??
Had applied for 5 other coaching gigs before this and obviously wasn't a suitable candidate. Dealt with him first hand for the last 3 years and let's hope he is bringing a PR team because what he has in football knowledge, he lacks in personal skills. Good luck!

Simply because the view of the market is these 3 will all have a greater impact
Didn't Hardingham get appointed, coached a couple of games then got the DCM due to the Essendon saga? So technically he isn't a first year coach. Easy Turbo have a can or 3 and cool your jets Lol

You are totally wrong ...... What is it with people that post such crap?

Funny I thought Contessa is still the coach and you made Hardingham co-coach so that you could slide half his enormous wage outside the salary cap.

Maybe the EDFL know its a shame.

Just what my mate at the pub said that was also a tram driver who's sister dated a Paccoe's players brother in law.

I thought Hardingham was made co coach for season 2016. Then was suspended so contessa took over. I'm sure he will have a great impact for Pacco this season, not just on the coaching side of things also playing. He is a much better player then Warren so he will have more impact in more games.

Very good post whisper... Beware of Tiger he is on the prowl

Funny I thought Contessa is still the coach and you made Hardingham co-coach so that you could slide half his enormous wage outside the salary cap.

Maybe the EDFL know its a shame.

Just what my mate at the pub said that was also a tram driver who's sister dated a Paccoe's players brother in law.

Yes technically your correct in they are both co-coaches like most playing coaches you need to split to job don't you. If Chappy is planning on playing then someone will need to help him as well. Grima the same..

Its Hardingham's first year as coach and rd1 will be his first offical game as coach, co coach whatever..

Cmon I did raise some discussion to keep the thread moving along..

Outback- I agree Hardingham will be a better player than Warren in the scheme of how footy is played in edfl, but gee Warren played well and was great around the club. Did everything he could for the club and was a very well liked person by players and supporters. Put up with some foul mouth idiots over the fence at times to, who had no idea on the game. Warren was a great attraction in our league but I just didn't see him take that elusive hanger. Lol

Co coach lol
Surely that's just code for payment outside salary cap
Any playing coach either assistant or senior coach can have 50% of their payment not counted in the salary cap. I would expect nearly every club to have a playing assistant coach this year , it is a legimate way to in fact pay above salary cap - just good planning and organisation

How many playing assistant coaches can a team have?

Sent from my D5833 using Tapatalk

How many playing assistant coaches can a team have?

The reduction for a playing coach is capped at $20,000 so the 50% reduction only applys to playing coaches on 40k or under. So if what someone on here posted about chapman getting 80k is correct 60k of that will count towards greenvales salary cap
If the playing coach is a co-coach then it's 25% capped at $10,000
clubs with multiple playing coaches/assistants ect are only entitled to have 1 of their salarys reduced to the cap

EDFL Premier Division 2016