EDFL Premier Division 2016

Abers very lucky to hold on against a fast finishing Keilor! Even first quarter and it was all abers from then on until they either put the que in the rack to early or just ran out of puff as Keilor kicked the last 5 goals and was deep in there forward line when the final siren went! Reimers sitting on Browns head was as good a mark I've seen in local footy. allan dominated galea for most of the day and is surely the best Backman in the comp.
With some key players missing from Keilors side today along with the fact they only played 1 and a half quarters of good footy I think they should be reasonably confident of taking the 4 points next time they meet! They would have to be at there best no doubt but they are definitely capable of beating Abers
I thought Abers deserved there hard fought win in a game that was sensational to watch. If Keilor won that would have been an injustice. I've watched a bit of edfl footy now and over all the umpires are at best average. The first half today was the best umpiring I have seen so well done to the umpires. There second half was deplorable, somehow they proceeded to over umpire and attempt to get Keilor back into the game, It was a procession especially in front of the Keilor coaching box. Anyway that is a negative in what a truly fantastic game, the league would be stoked with the standard and intensity of the game. What I have seen there will be many upsets in the second half of the season there are imo 9 really competitive teams and this season will come down to on the day with many variables, exciting for sure.

Abers deserved to win they were dominate to team for 70% of the game but as I said before whether abers ran out of gas or took the foot off the pedal to early keilor dominated them the last 20 minutes of that game and it was nearly enough to steal it so to say it would have been an injustice or blaming the umpires is laughable! im sure both sides disagreed with the 50/50 calls that went against them but that's just part of the game!

Yet to respond on this Harris issue Turbs. Was told this morning he wouldn't be playing today and the club are fuming. Either you make shit up or the club feed you shit as they know you'll pass it on. Big win by your boys though.

Nah mate he could have played but not worth the risk on those ground conditions. I'm not sure what has happened to the ground as it was only redone a few years ago if my memory is correct. Very muddy in most parts, and there was huge water puddles over near the cricket nets. Water was 3" deep in that part of the ground. And the mud & puddles around near the clubrooms/food van.

On the game. It was played at a high tempo and very physical but fair contest. Arrowsmith had a defensive tag placed on him down back by young Forbes, (more a run with role) who ended up playing a ripping game. The first half was very close.

Then in the 3rd quarter McIntosh was involved in a scuffle and reported for striking and sent off. He seemed to be frustrated and just lost his cool, but it was right in front of the umpire and seen by all. Immediate following this scuffle there was an incident involving SM #19 in where he "appeared" to strike the same player who was on the ground. It erupted again with players remonstrating with SM #19. The game was stopped as the player who was hit didn't move for a while and was helped from the ground and an ambulance arrived at the Pacco bench. The player did appear to return very late in the game though. Bit of talk around the ground the incident was captured on video. Interesting to see how Strathmore handle this one!
Following this incident Pacco seemed to lift and be the more physical side and got on top and got 3 goals up. Little had a couple of shots on goal late in the 3rd but missed both and Pacco went in with a good lead and momentum.

The last quarter Pacco completely dominated with Strathmore appearing to becoming a bit undisciplined giving away frees and argueing with umpires. I guess for Strathmore this would be the only concern with appointing a coach from within. Yes he might be popular but can he control the playing group. Pacco were clearly the better side for the majority of the game and if they kicked straight it would have been a bigger margin.

It was man on man footy and a few good duels with Strathmore winning the hit outs but I thought Pacco rucks won around the ground. Pacco mids took the honours and there forwards competed well all game and looked dangerous. Overall a pretty good afternoon of footy considering the conditions, but I think we can now say there are 5 teams challenging for a finals spot.

Billy you have no idea. Why don't you provide something to the readers rather than just stalking my posts. Go back to div2 and enjoy another year of promise & hope with Tulla.

Agree totally with your summation. Went along as a neutral observer to watch the 2 best teams in the grade and wasn't disappointed. Top class match. Great fight back by Keilor in the last. 6 goals down and nearly pinched it. Having said that Abers were the better team for most of the day and thoroughly deserved their win, particularly as if anything they were very undermanned with injuries, particularly their tall timber. Mabon, Kefford and Johns just 3 of their outs.

You are spot on with your comments re the quality of umpiring, particularly in the 2nd half. I thought it was very disappointing. Would love to know the overall free kick count. Nothing to say that free kicks need to be equal. Umpires should pay them as they see them. However I would estimate conservatively that Keilor would have received at least 4 times as many free kicks as Aberfeldie. They got virtually every 50/50 decision in their favour. Detracted from an otherwise great match between 2 very strong teams.

So at the half way point of the season I think abers, keilor and greenvale will take the top 3 spots in that order and pascoe vale to take 4th at seasons end only variations I see is greenvale pinching 2nd from keilor and maybe douttas or Marby sneaking into the 4th ahead of paco but from what I've seen this year pascoe vale are the 4th best side
Abers still my prediction to take the flag and the side that finishes 2nd (keilor or greenvale) being the only chance to beat them in the grand final
Really can't see a side coming from 3rd or 4th to win it as it would take 3 weeks of nothing short of there best which pasco vale, douttas ect seem far to inconsistent to be able to achieve
What's everyone's else thoughts and predictions?

So at the half way point of the season I think abers, keilor and greenvale will take the top 3 spots in that order and pascoe vale to take 4th at seasons end only variations I see is greenvale pinching 2nd from keilor and maybe douttas or Marby sneaking into the 4th ahead of paco but from what I've seen this year pascoe vale are the 4th best side
Abers still my prediction to take the flag and the side that finishes 2nd (keilor or greenvale) being the only chance to beat them in the grand final
Really can't see a side coming from 3rd or 4th to win it as it would take 3 weeks of nothing short of there best which pasco vale, douttas ect seem far to inconsistent to be able to achieve
What's everyone's else thoughts and predictions?

Good summary and conversation blues. I think it will be Abers-Keilor-Greenvale-Pacco. Abers favorites for mine due to their depth of players. Stop Reimers and maybe you have a chance as he seems to be their main focal point this year. Not sure of the status of Mabon their ruckman. Agree with a previous poster in that Allan is the best backman going around.

I guess on there day Greenvale can challenge and if Pacco can get it all together they also can challenge but do seem to fall short against the top 3.

Douttas have been great this season and could also make it depending on if they can continue there good form and never underestimate Wallis.. Just think if every team has there best side on the park Douttas might lack 1-2 key talls come August if the weather improves. But either way your got to be impressed with how they have come back.

Hey Guys,
Long time reader, first time poster.
Just wondering how many young fellas there are playing premier division that still qualify to play under 18.5 or if there are any playing 18's pushing to play seniors?

Hey Guys,
Just wondering how many young fellas there are playing premier division that still qualify to play under 18.5 or if there are any playing 18's pushing to play seniors?

Jayden Ranno and Townsend both played for G'vale at the weekend.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

Here's another subject worth discussing..

How do EDFL grounds compare with other main leagues and country leagues?

I do understand cricket wickets can get a bit muddy but is there enough time & effort put into improving grounds standards. Questions like:
- Drainage?
- Can wickets be rolled to keep them compact?
- improve uptake and maintenance?

Strathmore's ground wasn't in good nick on Saturday. However yes Paccos ground can get muddy as well. However Strathmore's was recently redone about 3 years ago from memory.
From what I understand Keilors was probably the most recent ground to be redone and is holding up well I believe..
Greenvale also have issues yet they seem to be well looked after by council out there and have a district cricket club aligned to them.

The league standard and players coming into the EDFL is of high quality and only getting better, so it would be great to improve our grounds. I see there are new electronic scoreboards everywhere but what about the grounds and surrounds.

Btw- Strathmore's scoreboard is very good and I liked it. But is it in the best spot? It's on top of the clubrooms. What if your in the rooms having a drink. They always get a good crowd at home but now seem to have set up on the hill. That's great if it's not raining..

Lot of grounds are now Santa Ana couch... Warm season drought tolerant grass that goes dormant in the colder seasons hence the slightly yellow colour

Doesn't stand up to wet weather plus games and training when proper winter sets in with rain

I do understand cricket wickets can get a bit muddy but is there enough time & effort put into improving grounds standards. Questions like:
- Drainage?

Strathmore's ground wasn't in good nick on Saturday. However yes Paccos ground can get muddy as well. However Strathmore's was recently redone about 3 years ago from memory.
From what I understand Keilors was probably the most recent ground to be redone and is holding up well I believe..
Greenvale also have issues yet they seem to be well looked after by council out there and have a district cricket club aligned to them.

The league standard and players coming into the EDFL is of high quality and only getting better, so it would be great to improve our grounds. I see there are new electronic scoreboards everywhere but what about the grounds and surrounds.

Btw- Strathmore's scoreboard is very good and I liked it. But is it in the best spot? It's on top of the clubrooms. What if your in the rooms having a drink. They always get a good crowd at home but now seem to have set up on the hill. That's great if it's not raining..

Interesting thought Turbs, though I reckon it is difficult and unfair to compare conditions (aesthetics and drainage) of grounds in the EDFL with some country leagues. Many BFL grounds get fairly heavy although local government has thrown plenty of $$ at several grounds in the league. Lets face it Ballarat is wet in winter. The GVFL and O&MFL don't generally get anywhere near as much rainfall and local government has again played a role in financing improved drainage and turf condition. Grounds up north are generally harder although turf wicket areas remain the biggest problem in country leagues in terms of playing footy. Obviously drop in wickets aren't viable in the EDFL or anywhere else.

- Drainage?

Turbo I think Strathmores scoreboard is in the best place for viewing based on where the vast majority of supporters congregate. You cannot cater for every possible contingency. It was more like 6 years ago when Strathmores ground was done up. Have to admit it's not in Pristine condition though.

Whilst we are are talking about scoreboards I was wondering whether Keilor have any plans to upgrade theirs. Keilor is an affluent and very professional club. Surely they can do better than the antiquated and very difficult to read scoreboard which has been on offer for decades now.

It is located very low down with small lettering, and is frequently obscured by people standing/walking in front of it. Trying to make out the scores from the opposite side of the ground is extremely difficult. Reduced at times to looking up the scores on the phone.

- Drainage?

Why carnt clubs put the cricket wicket covers on the centre?

Turbo I think Strathmores scoreboard is in the best place for viewing based on where the vast majority of supporters congregate. You cannot cater for every possible contingency. It was more like 6 years ago when Strathmores ground was done up. Have to admit it's not in Pristine condition though.

Whilst we are are talking about scoreboards I was wondering whether Keilor have any plans to upgrade theirs. Keilor is an affluent and very professional club. Surely they can do better than the antiquated and very difficult to read scoreboard which has been on offer for decades now.

It is located very low down with small lettering, and is frequently obscured by people standing/walking in front of it. Trying to make out the scores from the opposite side of the ground is extremely difficult. Reduced at times to looking up the scores on the phone.

Cheers Stax. Fair points.

We pay enough taxes to surely get public grounds to better conditions. Governments go on about obesity levels so why don't they spend some $$ on improving facilities where families can take there kids for a kick without dealing with mud and puddles.
The unemployment rate is high so give someone a job to do some ground maintenance. Surely it's not to hard..

Regarding scoreboards you do have a good point as I'm sure they will get one shortly. I'm sure it will go in the far pocket nearest to the shops. I'm not sure why they don't hire one for home games as its the way to go now. They have enough sponsors and $$ to afford it.

Pacco hire one each home game and it's great and adds some atmosphere with the "panther roar". Think they are getting a permanent one next season..

PS: if I knew you weren't home on Sat I would have parked over your whole driveway this time. Lol.
You should have left me your house keys so I could have cleaned the mud off my shoes before I got into my car. Had to jump over mud and puddles to get into the rooms for a beer.

It seems the social rooms are going out but it would have been better going upwards for improved viewing..

Hey Guys,

EDS have chad sir jake Hobbs and Peter Ntalianis Brodie Meyers who have all played seniors Over the last 2 seasons that are still under 18 listed players.

It was more like 6 years ago when Strathmores ground was done up. Have to admit it's not in Pristine condition though.

A couple of factors at play here as I too am disappointed in the ground. A number of grounds I have seen in the last 12 months have a very light coloured drought resistant type grass (I'm no horticulturalist!) which is great in winter as well as summer. Greenvale, Craigieburn (Aitken) and Burnside are three examples. Burnside on Sunday was in terrific nick. Secondly, Lebanon Reserve is in a valley adjacent to the creek. I fear that it will always hold water for this reason.

EDS have chad sir jake Hobbs and Peter Ntalianis Brodie Meyers who have all played seniors Over the last 2 seasons that are still under 18 listed players.

EDS seem to be leading the way then, APW also have a few u18 listed players that I know of with Young, Tompkins as well as the U16 kid.

With the point system obviously clubs need strong juniors and u18's coming through, who are the best u18 players in the comp not playing TAC ?

McIntosh gets off his striking charge. His free to play against Douttas. The Pacco player must have helped him get off.. I guess McIntosh is usually a fair player so probably has a good record.

EDFL Premier Division 2016