EDFL Premier Division 2016

I realise this is a highly charged time, but lets not sink to abusing one another as we debate the issue.
Agree Mel let's move on the player has been cited stood before the tribunal been given a massive suspension based on evidence provided by all parties and he needs to cop his whack... Case closed. Let's talk finals surely we all agree we are in for a cracking finals series

It's going to be hard not to talk about it mate as it's been suppressed for a long time and it may have robbed a bloke the opportunity to continue to play footy if he wanted to. Great to see a stiff suspension handed out and hopefully Simon recovers asap, plus players take note that this sort of shit has no place on the field.

Lets just keep it clean and yea, a big few weeks of footy to come, so lets focus on that too.

Case not closed yet, appeal lodged

forget the semantics of which club or how good a bloke he is the fact of the matter is the bloke he hit has a broken jaw in four places and may not be able to play again . there is no place in the modern game for player of this ilk. the bloke who was the attacker should be worried about police charges and being sued civilly if the player with the broken jaw is not able to play again

I do understand Keilor people defending their own in this incident. Some measured, while not condoning , while others more passionate citing specifics like 'six reports but only one week suspension'. It's the nature and tribalism of footy. But it doesn't make it right.

He has been found guilty and received 36 weeks for an act that can never been condoned! = 37 weeks and a life suspension. Appeal or not, surely the focus has to be on Clarke as the victim rather than worrying about the perpetrator.
End of story.

If there is an appeal on foot and those not involved do not know themselves what they are publishing on here is true, I would recommend that this website and those commenting avoid making possible defamatory remarks unless they know such comments to be true and factually correct - a tribunal finding of guilt is not proof that a 'coward' or any punch was delivered, and if you do not know that is true for sure perhaps it's best not to comment - just a common sense approach.

What colour is the moon in your world?
You people still don't understand.
To threaten people with lawyer speak just tells me where KFC stand on bullying and standover tactics.
I pity the poor kids that have to endure that environment.

What makes a player do this unspeakable act on a footy ground? And even worse if the club appeal the decision.. Take your punishment and man up!!
Keilor deserve everything they get. I know they think the league will support them as they usually get looked after but not any more. Haha.
They are more than happy to squeal when it's an opposition player "touching" one of their precious players. Now the shoes on the other foot they don't like it. Hope they go out in straight sets.

What makes a player do this unspeakable act on a footy ground? And even worse if the club appeal the decision.. Take your punishment and man up!!
Keilor deserve everything they get. I know they think the league will support them as they usually get looked after but not any more. Haha.
They are more than happy to squeal when it's an opposition player "touching" one of their precious players. Now the shoes on the other foot they don't like it. Hope they go out in straight sets.
The appeal would only be to cloud the water......if they can ..... for any other charges pending. Let's get on with the next 3 weeks of finals ..... The coward punching bloke doesn't deserve a mention any more ..... My tips Abers by 52 and Pacco by 24

If an accumulated 16 weeks equals life, why did he get 36 weeks. Surely the tribunal can just give a sentence of life "never to play again".
The reason why he got 36 weeks is that he must miss 2 years of footy before his life ban starts. But after a year or 2 out then u can lodge an appeal to play again. So it will be at least 3 years before he can play again if he ever is allowed. If he only gets 16 weeks then he could be back playing in say 18 months not 3 years.

If there is an appeal on foot and those not involved do not know themselves what they are publishing on here is true, I would recommend that this website and those commenting avoid making possible defamatory remarks unless they know such comments to be true and factually correct - a tribunal finding of guilt is not proof that a 'coward' or any punch was delivered, and if you do not know that is true for sure perhaps it's best not to comment - just a common sense approach.

Having just read the publish description of the incident in the Local Leader article (there for everyone to read), I'm more than content to point out:

1. The victim was trying to stop a fight between two players when the ball was at the other end of the ground.

2. The victim suffered a triple broken jaw which can only occur after severe force to the head from one side, usually a swinging roundhouse arm (I have drawn that inference).

3. The victim didn't see it coming (thankfully)

4. The victim will not play football ever again

5. The perpetrator has pleaded guilty

6. The appeal is on length of penlalty only, not culpability.

If anyone from KFC wishes to take issue with the above, fire away....

Moving on..
1 Abers vs 2 Keilor
Abers, when switched on, are a level above the rest. Well drilled and with talent all over the park, they'll be hard to beat.
Keilors ability to get forward in numbers could potentially cause a few headaches however.

3 Greenvale vs 4 Pacco
Interesting game as both sides got hold of eachother during the season,
both The Jets and Pacco have some tricky matchups so keeping Polizzi/Maric (and Wells/Rooster - if forward) quiet will go a long way to winning it for their side.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

This weeks games

Abers v Keilor

Should be a cracker really, and cant wait. The week off for the winner will be absolute gold and both sides will go all out to win this. Both sides have potent forward lines. I expect the emphasis from both sides to be on containing the opposition scoring rather than engage in a shootout, although the neutrals would love to see the shootout! Abers for mine have the stronger midfield and whilst Browne may get on top of Mabon Abers mids are good enough to at least halve the stoppages. Allan is the key for Abers, if he can take some intercept marks that allows Abers to get some drive from half back and get some clean entries. Abers to win by 24

Greenvale v Paco

Greenvale have definitely started to get something resembling their best side on the park. Paco have been consistent most of the year. Greenvale seem to bat a bit deeper where as Paco rely on their top end to get the job done, in saying that their top end is all class. I think this could be a high scoring affair for a final and really could go either way. Just wonder how much the missed footy will take a toll on the GV players late in an elimination final. Fort, Lower & Brewer are the key to the GV engine room and Deluca's availability could be enough to swing the contest GV's way. In saying all that the key to this contest for both sides is Luke Foster, a bonafide gun and if he's allowed to do as he pleases off half back that will go a long way to Paco getting the chocolates. Paco by 8

This weeks games

Abers v Keilor

Should be a cracker really, and cant wait. The week off for the winner will be absolute gold and both sides will go all out to win this. Both sides have potent forward lines. I expect the emphasis from both sides to be on containing the opposition scoring rather than engage in a shootout, although the neutrals would love to see the shootout! Abers for mine have the stronger midfield and whilst Browne may get on top of Mabon Abers mids are good enough to at least halve the stoppages. Allan is the key for Abers, if he can take some intercept marks that allows Abers to get some drive from half back and get some clean entries. Abers to win by 24

Greenvale v Paco

Greenvale have definitely started to get something resembling their best side on the park. Paco have been consistent most of the year. Greenvale seem to bat a bit deeper where as Paco rely on their top end to get the job done, in saying that their top end is all class. I think this could be a high scoring affair for a final and really could go either way. Just wonder how much the missed footy will take a toll on the GV players late in an elimination final. Fort, Lower & Brewer are the key to the GV engine room and Deluca's availability could be enough to swing the contest GV's way. In saying all that the key to this contest for both sides is Luke Foster, a bonafide gun and if he's allowed to do as he pleases off half back that will go a long way to Paco getting the chocolates. Paco by 8

Abers by 31 - too much class across the park especially in the mid-field.
Greenvale by 15. My selection is based on the recent inclusions for Greenvale as their side on paper last week (add Deluca) seemed to resemble the Jets at their strongest.

Both games should be crackers!

On another matter, noticed on EDS facebook that Wallis was announced last night as coach for 2017. Great stability for the club after what was a reasonably successful first year back into Premier.

I know we don't have (nor need) a Senior Thirds thread but worth noting the Senior Thirds Grand Final is on tonight at 7pm at Keilor.

For the second year in a row, Strathmore will actually be the 'Home' team against Keilor and shooting for back-to-back flags in the second year of this comp.

Good luck to both teams

Abers by 31 - too much class across the park especially in the mid-field.
Greenvale by 15. My selection is based on the recent inclusions for Greenvale as their side on paper last week (add Deluca) seemed to resemble the Jets at their strongest.

Both games should be crackers!

On another matter, noticed on EDS facebook that Wallis was announced last night as coach for 2017. Great stability for the club after what was a reasonably successful first year back into Premier.

EDS should be happy with there season no doubt. For a team coming up after promotion,what a year. What do you think they need to go a step further next season. Not much really! Obviously a ruckman, tall key defender and maybe a solid inside mid.

EDS, Marby Park and West Coburg would be happy with there seasons but with an once of luck could have played finals. Strathmore were disapointing and I guess we didn't know how Avondale would fare with a new coach.

With regards to next season if your judging talent in junior systems then Abers are again going to be the side to catch next season.

Points system - Personally I think a good idea would be if a junior out of under 19s doesn't play a senior game in 2 years at there home club they be a 1 point player if recruited within the same division. Need to create opportunities for younger players I reckon, as well as it gives other clubs with less talent coming through a chance to have a mix of young & older typed players. Thoughts??

Hey Stax or Star, any possibility of Strathmore spending some money on adding some facilities to the ground at Strathnaver. Both teams having to share the open baseball rooms would have to be one of the worse things I've seen, even if it's junior footy. However the surface is good. Lots of junior numbers at Strathmore so will they spend the money or save it for Firrito and Grima next season? Couple of handy recruits.. Haha

Hey Turbs

You mean Boeing. Strathnaver is off Mascoma St the other side of the creek to Therry and the home of Strathmore Split Soccer Club as well as hosting some junior (and Vets) cricket. Strathnaver has a great new elevated facility (up to $2M) but has no parking.

Boeing certainly has the space and there is a lot of work being done to commemorate Chris Lane. From a SFC point of view, we use the main oval for training as well as Junior 3rds and 4ths playing home games there. I think in all instances, it is up to council spend for the majority of capital works. Clubs can take the initiative and even try and raise funds but it is always going to be a drop in the ocean compared to local government spend. I think up until now, the Boeing precinct has been under utilised in winter, especially on the bottom ovals.

SFC don't have the senior player spend some here would make you believe but I'm flogging a dead horse there as many on here will tell you otherwise! We had record number of juniors in 2016 and that will grow again next year when we hope to max out every junior age group as well as add another girls team.

Given Todd and Alex Grima play at SFC, I suspect the pull for Narni will be strong. He was a confirmed starter last year before becoming an Essendon top up player but circumstances change so I am unsure if he will play at local level.

Hey Turbs

You mean Boeing. Strathnaver is off Mascoma St the other side of the creek to Therry and the home of Strathmore Split Soccer Club as well as hosting some junior (and Vets) cricket. Strathnaver has a great new elevated facility (up to $2M) but has no parking.

Boeing certainly has the space and there is a lot of work being done to commemorate Chris Lane. From a SFC point of view, we use the main oval for training as well as Junior 3rds and 4ths playing home games there. I think in all instances, it is up to council spend for the majority of capital works. Clubs can take the initiative and even try and raise funds but it is always going to be a drop in the ocean compared to local government spend. I think up until now, the Boeing precinct has been under utilised in winter, especially on the bottom ovals.

SFC don't have the senior player spend some here would make you believe but I'm flogging a dead horse there as many on here will tell you otherwise! We had record number of juniors in 2016 and that will grow again next year when we hope to max out every junior age group as well as add another girls team.

Given Todd and Alex Grima play at SFC, I suspect the pull for Narni will be strong. He was a confirmed starter last year before becoming an Essendon top up player but circumstances change so I am unsure if he will play at local level.

Thanks Star, good reply as usual mate. Yeah sorry Boeing Res is correct.

I have heard SFC have close to 100 kids in bottom ages ( 4 sides) which will put you in good stead for points in years to come. It's difficult for other nearby clubs to compete with SFC juniors. I know they turned away 20odd kids as well. I understand SFC has somewhat of a good name in that area as well as the house prices are high so people have money. However does this make it an even playing field with points when SFC have double the teams of say Pacco, Oak Park etc. Its an interesting one to make a fair unbiased decision don't you think.

PS: I'm not at all criticising SFC but more about what do AFL vic want with regards to equalisation amongst clubs going forward..

Thanks Star, good reply as usual mate. Yeah sorry Boeing Res is correct.

I have heard SFC have close to 100 kids in bottom ages ( 4 sides) which will put you in good stead for points in years to come. It's difficult for other nearby clubs to compete with SFC juniors. I know they turned away 20odd kids as well. I understand SFC has somewhat of a good name in that area as well as the house prices are high so people have money. However does this make it an even playing field with points when SFC have double the teams of say Pacco, Oak Park etc. Its an interesting one to make a fair unbiased decision don't you think.

PS: I'm not at all criticising SFC but more about what do AFL vic want with regards to equalisation amongst clubs going forward..

It is absolutely a tough one. As a community football club we have an obligation to facilitate AFL football to as many local kids as we can. It starts at the bottom and many 7 to 10 years olds just want to play with their mates. Geographically SFC has a large 'catchment' area and I have heard arguments about creating boundaries etc but we have also seen kids that missed out at SFC turn away from the game altogether rather than go to the next closest club. I think our first priority is to try and get as many kids involved as possible. Clubs such as Strathmore but I suspect Abers, Keilor and maybe Marby? are pretty much maxed out at U10 level.

You're 100% right re points but all clubs need to focus on juniors irrespective. SFC have gone hard on getting the junior system right in the last few years. If the kids come through the Seniors will take care of themselves!

It is absolutely a tough one. As a community football club we have an obligation to facilitate AFL football to as many local kids as we can. It starts at the bottom and many 7 to 10 years olds just want to play with their mates. Geographically SFC has a large 'catchment' area and I have heard arguments about creating boundaries etc but we have also seen kids that missed out at SFC turn away from the game altogether rather than go to the next closest club. I think our first priority is to try and get as many kids involved as possible. Clubs such as Strathmore but I suspect Abers, Keilor and maybe Marby? are pretty much maxed out at U10 level.

You're 100% right re points but all clubs need to focus on juniors irrespective. SFC have gone hard on getting the junior system right in the last few years. If the kids come through the Seniors will take care of themselves!

Agree with you on this one. Agree kids (and parents) will follow friends and SFC do have a good system in how they decide on who gets a spot on their playing list of say 96 kids. I do like how they stick to their system/rules like some other clubs. Agree we must not turn kids off the sport but I often see 4 junior teams become 2 teams by the 17 & 19 age groups. So that's 48 kids list along the way for whatever reasons.

I'm not sure if the right way but I do think the AFL need to put more resources into junior footy at the grassroots not just Auskick. I remember when the local AFL club came out to clubs as well as had clubs attend their facilities and really think they should do that again. How good would it be to train at Essendons training facility and have a pie night there, or have a Jobe Watson / Hurley attend clubs more frequently not just send younger players out once per year.

I also think facilities play a big part in where parents are attracted to. Nice ground and clubrooms do help attract people. But getting back to young junior numbers schools seem to be where most come from as per playing with friends.

Good conversation mate but it's not an easy fix to even the playing field.. Remember good Junior numbers bring in $$ through membership, supporters and possible sponsors..
Let's say a membership is $300. The difference between 2 & 4 teams in each age group is 6k per age group. So it's approx 30k for under 9s to 17s that without 19 and thirds. I know 30k is not total profit on a membership but I reckon it's value is higher when you include functions etc.

EDS should be happy with there season no doubt. For a team coming up after promotion,what a year. What do you think they need to go a step further next season. Not much really! Obviously a ruckman, tall key defender and maybe a solid inside mid.

EDS, Marby Park and West Coburg would be happy with there seasons but with an once of luck could have played finals. Strathmore were disapointing and I guess we didn't know how Avondale would fare with a new coach.

With regards to next season if your judging talent in junior systems then Abers are again going to be the side to catch next season.

Points system - Personally I think a good idea would be if a junior out of under 19s doesn't play a senior game in 2 years at there home club they be a 1 point player if recruited within the same division. Need to create opportunities for younger players I reckon, as well as it gives other clubs with less talent coming through a chance to have a mix of young & older typed players. Thoughts??
Turbo - agree with the idea of allowing Under 19's to move clubs if not getting game time at their own clubs, on minimal points. Seen kids at a struggling club this year who could have played a Senior game or 3, but for the points meaning they were left in 18's. I'm not against the points system, I have seen it work in other Leagues over a long period of time, but there are certainly some footballers who are worse off under it, and the young blokes who are second stringers are certainly 1 of those.

If an accumulated 16 weeks equals life, why did he get 36 weeks. Surely the tribunal can just give a sentence of life "never to play again".
Correct 16 weeks total is de-reg'd. The tribunal must set a number of weeks though. They can't just say "life"

Rumour is the investigator in this 1 is an ex-cop and has done his due diligence. He investigated a big matter last year where 2 players from the club i was involved in both received life sentences. The club tried to defend them but this investigator is red hot, our delegate said he's very good at his job basically if this guy gets you in the gun your gone. Our blokes lied for obvious reasons and got destroyed.

Having just read the publish description of the incident in the Local Leader article (there for everyone to read), I'm more than content to point out:

1. The victim was trying to stop a fight between two players when the ball was at the other end of the ground.

2. The victim suffered a triple broken jaw which can only occur after severe force to the head from one side, usually a swinging roundhouse arm (I have drawn that inference).

3. The victim didn't see it coming (thankfully)

4. The victim will not play football ever again

5. The perpetrator has pleaded guilty

6. The appeal is on length of penlalty only, not culpability.

If anyone from KFC wishes to take issue with the above, fire away....

Somebody from KFC told me they're appealing the finding and sanction. Ridiculous seeings it says he pled guilty. How do you change it to not guilty in the appeal? Sounds ridiculous if true

EDFL Premier Division 2016