• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL Premier Division

The difference is Fitzgerald is a proven VFL coach. Ghazi was terrible
FYI Ghazi coached Port Melbourne for 3 years . He had them in their first 2 years as a stand alone side making and winning a final in the second year. His first year in alignment with North finished fifth. That's not "terrible".

Trust me when I say he was terrible at port Melbourne. Spoken to quite a few players who played there under him. Never gave the kids a go. Always played the names players even though they couldn't get a kick. Probably did the same at Avondale

He gave Sam Dwyer, Toby Pinwill, Chris Cain, Robin Nahas , Tom Langford and many more their first tastes of senior football. Resurrected Ryan McMahon from the reserves and fought the fight for Josh Gibson when North wanted him in Ports reserves as a rookie. Did I mention a young Sam Pleming. You have probably spoken to guys who wernt up to it. As for Avondale , they are not exactly perrenial finalists are they ?

Truth be known , not that there's much of that spoken here, is that he has taken a hefty reduction to go to Keilor. Fact

I have tried hard to stay away but this post is utter nonsense Bully. You clearly have no idea!!!! Galea demands huge coin and the recent post by Bang was close to the mark.. I don't begrudge Galea if a club is willing to pay his asking price, as his one of the best full forwards going around outside VFL level.

Let me say whilst I'm back for a short time, that I'm hearing Keilor also might land the Caruso brothers in the coming days.

So why does this league let a "club" coach coach the interleague side. It's due to this reason that Mick contacts these interleague players as well as others. Pretty ordinary IMO.

Let me also point out that Galea wasn't close to many at Avondale and really only knew Ghazi and Rose from his Port days. His a bit of an unusual character but a damm good player. So not sure his letting his mates down. Guessing Avondale have resigned Rose and don't see the need to have 2 similar typed full forwards on good coin, keeping in mind Rose kicked 100 the year before Galea arrived. I'm gathering Avondale looking into there budget for 2016.

One last thing, I see since I left that BillyBlogs has found the need to come on the premier thread. Billy in your words stay in your own thread being Div1. However I do kind of agree with your last post regarding the saints.

I'm not sure how a lot of clubs in premier will cope with the points allocated (50 I believe) as well as the proposed salary cap of 225k. If I was to take a guess (as I can't say fact) I would say half of the premier teams would be over this figure already. Keeping in mind it includes coaches payments above 20k. There's 3 or 4 club coaches that would be over that I reckon. Some coaches probably deserve above 20k as its a demanding job and now even harder with this points system.

Ok that's my say, and I'm going to take another break as some of the discussions recently have turned to sh## since I left.. Lol

PS: is my spelling & grammar ok?? Haha

He gave Sam Dwyer, Toby Pinwill, Chris Cain, Robin Nahas , Tom Langford and many more their first tastes of senior football. Resurrected Ryan McMahon from the reserves and fought the fight for Josh Gibson when North wanted him in Ports reserves as a rookie. Did I mention a young Sam Pleming. You have probably spoken to guys who wernt up to it. As for Avondale , they are not exactly perrenial finalists are they ?
I'll think you'll find Dwyer played twos till Ayres took over. Pinwill and Cain in same boat. You'll find Langford left because of ghazi then returned a few years later under Ayres and was a good player.
Check your facts before u shoot your mouth off. Pleming was already a good VFL players at the northern blues. Rookie at Carlton for a season maybe 2. When he got cut came to Port. So I don't think he did much for his development. If you ask those players I'm sure they'll say it was Ayres who had a bigger influence then ghazi.

Cash is out of control in local leagues.

Want to watch real local grass roots footy, you might as well go down to division 2 or 3 at most local comps. I don't see the point in watching vfl as it's not quite local and not afl. Top flight metro leagues are going down the same path.

I'll think you'll find Dwyer played twos till Ayres took over. Pinwill and Cain in same boat. You'll find Langford left because of ghazi then returned a few years later under Ayres and was a good player.
Check your facts before u shoot your mouth off. Pleming was already a good VFL players at the northern blues. Rookie at Carlton for a season maybe 2. When he got cut came to Port. So I don't think he did much for his development. If you ask those players I'm sure they'll say it was Ayres who had a bigger influence then ghazi.
You say I'm shooting my mouth off when all I'm doing is defending someone who you possibly wouldn't be fit to carry his bags . All the guys I mentioned were straight out of Tac Cup. Toby Pinwill didn't play a senior game in his first year out under Gerard Fitzgerald . Sam Dwyer and Chris Cain played a number of senior games under Ghazi. Tom Langford played at Port in 07 , Ghazi's last year and in fact was left out of the reserves Grand Final side 2 weeks after Ghazi had left. Anyway keep on criticising I'm sure it makes you feel better.

If he is such a good coach then why did they sack him after taking the team from last to 6th?? The reason you'll find was they were worried about the mass exodus of players.

I have tried hard to stay away but this post is utter nonsense Bully. You clearly have no idea!!!! Galea demands huge coin and the recent post by Bang was close to the mark.. I don't begrudge Galea if a club is willing to pay his asking price, as his one of the best full forwards going around outside VFL level.

Let me say whilst I'm back for a short time, that I'm hearing Keilor also might land the Caruso brothers in the coming days.

So why does this league let a "club" coach coach the interleague side. It's due to this reason that Mick contacts these interleague players as well as others. Pretty ordinary IMO.

Let me also point out that Galea wasn't close to many at Avondale and really only knew Ghazi and Rose from his Port days. His a bit of an unusual character but a damm good player. So not sure his letting his mates down. Guessing Avondale have resigned Rose and don't see the need to have 2 similar typed full forwards on good coin, keeping in mind Rose kicked 100 the year before Galea arrived. I'm gathering Avondale looking into there budget for 2016.

One last thing, I see since I left that BillyBlogs has found the need to come on the premier thread. Billy in your words stay in your own thread being Div1. However I do kind of agree with your last post regarding the saints.

I'm not sure how a lot of clubs in premier will cope with the points allocated (50 I believe) as well as the proposed salary cap of 225k. If I was to take a guess (as I can't say fact) I would say half of the premier teams would be over this figure already. Keeping in mind it includes coaches payments above 20k. There's 3 or 4 club coaches that would be over that I reckon. Some coaches probably deserve above 20k as its a demanding job and now even harder with this points system.

Ok that's my say, and I'm going to take another break as some of the discussions recently have turned to sh## since I left.. Lol

PS: is my spelling & grammar ok?? Haha[/

You say Galea only knew Rose and Ghazi from his Port days!! Ghazi and Galea were never at Port together. Are you forgetting that Galea played at Williamstown for 5 Years with Cravino, Davies , Stretton , Grossman , Tanner , Rose and Cartelli. He was on his way to Keilor after leaving Port when Ghazi swayed him to Avondale with very good coin. Now you and others can keeping speculating as much as you want but he has family at Keilor and has knocked back substantial offers from clubs all over the state to play for far less than you rumour mongers would want to believe. And believe me I do "have an idea".

I wish to make a comment regarding Ghazi. His a decent respectful guy, and doesn't deserve to be criticised to this extent IMO. The guy might not be the perfect coach, but really who is outside AFL. Yes he might have made mistakes, but he would have done what he thought was best for the team I'm sure. It's takes a lot of effort and hard work to coach any local club, and he did recruit a lot of players to Avondale mostly through his own work. The guy was a respected footballer back in the day and won a Liston medal during the time when some good players where running around. He was only small but always put his head over the ball, which in those days sometimes took courage.

Wish him well for the future.

I wish to make a comment regarding Ghazi. His a decent respectful guy, and doesn't deserve to be criticised to this extent IMO. The guy might not be the perfect coach, but really who is outside AFL. Yes he might have made mistakes, but he would have done what he thought was best for the team I'm sure. It's takes a lot of effort and hard work to coach any local club, and he did recruit a lot of players to Avondale mostly through his own work. The guy was a respected footballer back in the day and won a Liston medal during the time when some good players where running around. He was only small but always put his head over the ball, which in those days sometimes took courage.

Wish him well for the future.
Good Work

If he is such a good coach then why did they sack him after taking the team from last to 6th?? The reason you'll find was they were worried about the mass exodus of players.
Most VFL lists turn over every 2 or 3 years anyway. Whilst the head coach has a big say in selection he does have a match committee. At Port Melbourne he had the likes of Peter Bedford, Bernie Quinlan , Peter Filandia and Troy West supporting him so your initial comment that Ghazi was "terrible" for the reasons you gave is naive. As another post stated coaching is a bloody tough gig and you obviously haven't done it or you wouldn't criticise someone who has for 15 years.

Cash is out of control in local leagues.

Want to watch real local grass roots footy, you might as well go down to division 2 or 3 at most local comps. I don't see the point in watching vfl as it's not quite local and not afl. Top flight metro leagues are going down the same path.

I disagree in part mate as premier standard is a top level of footy. The talent mixed with youth is some of the best footy going around and brings enjoyment to supporters. Yes certain players get paid well I agree, but if they give there all for there club then I don't have a problem with it.
I do agree there needs to be competitive competition which I guess is the points system, as the salary cap will not work. I'm not a great believer in the points system, but I suppose something needs to change going forward, as currently the gap between top and the rest is significant.

Cheers

Did not try hard enough obviously. The same question as before arises, how do you know that Bang is close to the mark? Did you sit in on the contract discussions......no again you are expressing your opinion without any foundation. I think the only one without any idea is you. Still waiting on your evidence that supports all your club payment claims and the evidence that supports your statement of McGaune/Browne combined salaries. Lastly, you are questioning Mick's integrity. Think about what you are saying for a change. Do you know who has made the first approach, Mick or the players involved? No you have no idea. There are a number of players in the comp that are impressed with his coaching and have expressed a desire to play under him.

PS, Work out that the spell checker will not veto words spelt correctly, but used incorrectly.

Off topic but from what I heard apparently Park side(wrfl) is coming too the edfl? Can somone please tell me why
Also besides Galea and the Caruso brothers does anyone know any other potential moves and what's going on with Avos coach
I hear David hale will retire if Hawks win the flag and will play with his mates at Pascoe vale. Along with hardingham who will play the whole season at Pascoe vale next year.

With all the rumours of where players are going next year , clubs are not to concerned about the points system coming in next year

Truth be known , not that there's much of that spoken here, is that he has taken a hefty reduction to go to Keilor. Fact
That is totally INCORRECT. Galea is not the type to "take a hefty reduction". Not that there's anything wrong with that, he is one of the best local players going around and the $$$'s are getting thrown at him, Keilor threw $1700 a game plus $5k sign on Sunday morning(that's straight from Galea's mouth). What these players like Galea need to realise is that at VFL disloyalty is accepted as players are just going through, either back from AFL or on their way up to AFL, but in local footy it's more important to be a good bloke than a good player. If you are a great player it's more important than ever to be a great Clubman, that's how you earn respect. What Galea needs most is a good mate to point him in the right direction, as I'm hearing a lot from people at Willy, Port and AH is that he is very immature and got no mates.

OK , enough of that , can the Jets cause an upset this week?

And latest I heard Caruso bros. to Abers

Did not try hard enough obviously. The same question as before arises, how do you know that Bang is close to the mark? Did you sit in on the contract discussions......no again you are expressing your opinion without any foundation. I think the only one without any idea is you. Still waiting on your evidence that supports all your club payment claims and the evidence that supports your statement of McGaune/Browne combined salaries. Lastly, you are questioning Mick's integrity. Think about what you are saying for a change. Do you know who has made the first approach, Mick or the players involved? No you have no idea. There are a number of players in the comp that are impressed with his coaching and have expressed a desire to play under him.

PS, Work out that the spell checker will not veto words spelt correctly, but used incorrectly.

Deefer, you are starting to sound very silly with your recent posts.

No worries all these players are contacting Keilor & Mick and saying I want to come to Keilor. Please give it a spell..

We all know Mick is the highest paid coach in the edfl by a good margin, and probably the highest paid in local footy. Not sure why you continually deny this. It was only a few years back some influential people at Keilor wanted to get another coach and a few players for the same money. They made a big play for Castello when he left Werribee.

Brown best ruck in comp. Top player and gets paid accordingly, and so he should.
Galea gun forward. But demands good money and not leaving Avondale due to his love of Keilor. As I said great pick up.

People are happy to throw stones at other clubs, but you guys are paying just as much as the rest of the clubs in the top bracket. So get real...

EDFL Premier Division