EDFL Premier Division

This is the official and ONLY
Aberfeldie Club Theme Song:
Lyrics by Robert ('Chiko') Crowley written in 1964.

(Sung to the tune of the 'Peters Ice Cream' Ad from the 1960s)
"Come along and see the mighty Adam!
Don't you think it's a jolly good idea?2,3,4
You can't go wrong as long as it's Adam Houli,
Just watch me as I get right into gear 2,3,4
Without exaggeration, I'm the top player of the nation

I'll beat them in the rucks or with a pass, so,
Come along and see the mighty Adam
And knock the opposition on the grass!"

Stephen Tiller to Craigieburn? Can anyone shed any light on that rumour that was posted by Local Footy Scores on Twitter

That makes sense mate he is very good mates with Josh Young if Craigieburn still have money left don't be suprised if another Avondale teammate joins them after Christmas
Now BigFooty punters if this is true about Tiller does that reinstate them as flag favs? Auckmel can you rip the lid off yet? Or r u just taking it one preseason session at a time? It seems it's an arms race between Westy & The Eagles.

Auckmel dosnt leave much room for regulars who played this year at the burners or the under 18s that held their own any rumours on whos leavin

With all due respect the club went reasonably close to going down to div 2, which for a club of craigieburns size would be a farce.
How many have they added, half a dozen or so? It still leaves plenty of room for locals to nail down a spot, it just means that they'll need to work a little harder to do so.. which really can only be a good thing.

Avondale Heights' Stephen Tiller and Keilor's 2010 RS Reynolds Medal winner Rodney van Riet both confirmed at Deer Park.

Would have to think Avondale will drop a few places, not as many ins to cover the outs, and depth in the reserves/18s wouldn't cover much. Even with Rose/Galea in the forward-line, you still need good mids/defenders and other forward targets who receive less attention.

With all due respect the club went reasonably close to going down to div 2, which for a club of craigieburns size would be a farce.
How many have they added, half a dozen or so? It still leaves plenty of room for locals to nail down a spot, it just means that they'll need to work a little harder to do so.. which really can only be a good thing.

I thought that showed last night with three of the stand out trainers being three U18 kids who had clearly put it some hard yards over the last few weeks.

From my own POV, I would want my kid playing with the likes of the Cloke brothers, Young, Page and Courouzou as I think it will make him a much better player all while ensuring the club becomes more successful along the way.

Alas this is the wrong thread, so I will leave it at that.

Your right wring thread but interested with a few talented young 18s whi were the 3 and how many have turned out

This is the official and ONLY
Aberfeldie Club Theme Song:
Lyrics by Robert ('Chiko') Crowley written in 1964.

(Sung to the tune of the 'Peters Ice Cream' Ad from the 1960s)
"Come along and see the mighty Adam!
Don't you think it's a jolly good idea?2,3,4
You can't go wrong as long as it's Adam Houli,
Just watch me as I get right into gear 2,3,4
Without exaggeration, I'm the top player of the nation
I'll beat them in the rucks or with a pass, so,
Come along and see the mighty Adam
And knock the opposition on the grass!"

Post of the century!!

Getting a bit cynical as you get older Abers. Yes, I agree the forum can get bogged down at times with regurgitated chestnuts such as player payments. Perhaps that grates a bit more with you than most, as Abers are most frequently the target when that subject is raised?

However by and large I reckon most of the discussions on here are reasonable, relevant and informative. Yes, I know quantity of posts does not automatically translate to quality. However I much prefer reading this thread, even with its shortcomings than some of the other moribund and stagnant threads for other leagues.

Don't think too many people have ever actually believed "shags Houli" is Adam El Houli. Or at least, not for long anyway.

Mostly my comments were driven by the fact that I had to follow the league on here last year as I lived overseas all season and to say it gets frustrating wading through post on post of "he said she said so and so got $1,500 per game" whilst trying to find out who is playing well and who isn't is an understatement.

However since you raised it, I think what grates in regards to the topic of player payments and my club is that if you go back a few years when all Abers did was play the kids and get belted by 20 goals every week we got an undue amount of attention and criticism on on here for being rubbish despite the club trying to build in what seems to be acknowledged as the "right" way on here. The club then changed philosophies and started spending up on recruits to try and win and all of a sudden we are public enemy number one for overspending.

Damned if you do, damned if you don't when you're Aberfeldie it seems and have no idea why such an unsuccesful club at Senior level gets so much focus.

Looking forward to being back in town for what should be a cracker season and hopefully we can finally break the drought in 2015.

Yeah great for the four young fellas
Also great for edfl with touk miller Pete wright Jayden foster,all off the top of my head .
Anyway well done to all involved

Was just going to come back and say the same thing.

Mostly my comments were driven by the fact that I had to follow the league on here last year as I lived overseas all season and to say it gets frustrating wading through post on post of "he said she said so and so got $1,500 per game" whilst trying to find out who is playing well and who isn't is an understatement.

However since you raised it, I think what grates in regards to the topic of player payments and my club is that if you go back a few years when all Abers did was play the kids and get belted by 20 goals every week we got an undue amount of attention and criticism on on here for being rubbish despite the club trying to build in what seems to be acknowledged as the "right" way on here. The club then changed philosophies and started spending up on recruits to try and win and all of a sudden we are public enemy number one for overspending.

Damned if you do, damned if you don't when you're Aberfeldie it seems and have no idea why such an unsuccesful club at Senior level gets so much focus.

Looking forward to being back in town for what should be a cracker season and hopefully we can finally break the drought in 2015.
Hey 'Abers', not to sure if you are aware of the EDFL website, but if you had of visited the website last year whilst you were overseas you would have been clearly able to read who had been playing well and who hadn't been playing so well on a weekly basis without wading through post on post of topics you wished not too read.

This thread was created for people to express their opinions, right or wrong, for others to engage in a healthy debate.

You should be taking the positives out of living overseas last year, you didn't have to put yourself through the misery of your club losing another Grand Final in a season where they once again increased the total of outgoing funds for player payments to only get the same result as they did in 2013.

I'm not to sure if Aberfeldie FC is public enemy number one, however since you raised it they have certainly been on the end of some criticism on this thread re their recruiting policies for some time now.

You are right, they did cop some beltings in the 2000's when playing local home grown talent, but if the CLUB administration had of made a slight adjustment to their philosophies, they just may have been able to add some quality players to their playing list if they just had of taken the time and effort to shop at 'Dan Murphy's, were there is many gems to be found at a fraction of the price, it just takes a bit of patience, combined with extensive knowledge of the available product.

I'm sure most of the criticism levelled at the club in recent times has focused on the way they have gone about their recruiting, especially once the CLUB administration decided to change their philosophy re recruiting. The abundance of quality players they have been able to add to their playing list in recent years has mainly been acquired across the road at 'The Laurel', many from the top shelf, were everyone knows you have to pay top dollar, for a similar product that you may just be able to acquire elsewhere for a much reduced cost.

In most cases this philosophy is implemented by CLUB administrators in an attempt to mask inadequacies or limitations of the current administration and CLUB employees.

Aberfeldie FC certainly provides the environment where a CLUB structure that sorted, for some sort of middle ground, where supporters would be able to see a more enticing combination of both home grown talent and quality players acquired by the club which would certainly provide a sustainable environment where the club could challenge for the ultimate success for an extended period of time.

'YOU GET WHAT YOU PLAN FOR'

'INTERESTING TIMES AHEAD FOR SOME CLUBS'

Hey 'Abers', not to sure if you are aware of the EDFL website, but if you had of visited the website last year whilst you were overseas you would have been clearly able to read who had been playing well and who hadn't been playing so well on a weekly basis without wading through post on post of topics you wished not too read.

This thread was created for people to express their opinions, right or wrong, for others to engage in a healthy debate.

You should be taking the positives out of living overseas last year, you didn't have to put yourself through the misery of your club losing another Grand Final in a season where they once again increased the total of outgoing funds for player payments to only get the same result as they did in 2013.

I'm not to sure if Aberfeldie FC is public enemy number one, however since you raised it they have certainly been on the end of some criticism on this thread re their recruiting policies for some time now.

You are right, they did cop some beltings in the 2000's when playing local home grown talent, but if the CLUB administration had of made a slight adjustment to their philosophies, they just may have been able to add some quality players to their playing list if they just had of taken the time and effort to shop at 'Dan Murphy's, were there is many gems to be found at a fraction of the price, it just takes a bit of patience, combined with extensive knowledge of the available product.

I'm sure most of the criticism levelled at the club in recent times has focused on the way they have gone about their recruiting, especially once the CLUB administration decided to change their philosophy re recruiting. The abundance of quality players they have been able to add to their playing list in recent years has mainly been acquired across the road at 'The Laurel', many from the top shelf, were everyone knows you have to pay top dollar, for a similar product that you may just be able to acquire elsewhere for a much reduced cost.

In most cases this philosophy is implemented by CLUB administrators in an attempt to mask inadequacies or limitations of the current administration and CLUB employees.

Aberfeldie FC certainly provides the environment where a CLUB structure that sorted, for some sort of middle ground, where supporters would be able to see a more enticing combination of both home grown talent and quality players acquired by the club which would certainly provide a sustainable environment where the club could challenge for the ultimate success for an extended period of time.

Shadow Master, not going to lower myself to your smart arse cheap point scoring but a couple of comments.

Firstly, I think we all know that looking at the "best" on the EDFL website is hardly the same as reading some informed analysis on games, which amazingly we do get from time to time on here.

Also not sure why would I be glad that I missed my team play in a Grand Final? Yes we lost the last game but the "journey" through the season is what local footy is all about for mine.

But Shadow Master, I'm interested in why I should be so concerned how much people at the club want to tip in to fund player payments? My spend down at the club hasn't changed over the decade since I was legally allowed to purchase tinnies on the hill and I am getting to see a much more exciting side thanks to some others seemingly being willing to part with some cash so I am pretty happy with the result.

Sure, I liked it when my mates from juniors played ones and I would prefer if we could fill the side with home grown kids and win but clearly we tried that and not only does it not work because of the level of spending in this league but you get belted every week and everyone leaves anyway.

Your whole Dan Murphy's/Laurel crap was proven to be false at Aberfeldie anyway. In the seasons proceeding our rise up the ladder we recruited a number of blokes out of country leagues/VFL that were not "name" players but as someone who just watches the games its seems to me we just couldn't get enough blokes in to get the depth needed. I assume that likes of Hislop/Johns/Michael etc are recruited not just for their football/coaching ability but also their networks and ability to influence others to join. Some of our best players in the last few years like Fox and Zach Hislop appear to have come through these networks.

Anyway last post from me on the issue, I'm clogging up the thread with the very rubbish I'm against.

You're really quite happy with your Dan's/Laurel line aren't you?

Put up or shut up Shadow Master - honestly what have you achieved in your time in football? I'm sure some would be keen to know and then maybe people might take you seriously!

I'm sure many shop at Dan Murphy's purely for the "cheapies" but have no idea what they're buying too! Are you an expert on all alcohol products or simply a tight a*s who'd buy a Lindeman's Bin 50 type wine?

Personally I'd opt for a product like Wild Duck Creek Estate - might pay a bit but quality every day of the week!
I've used the point before that a Crown Lager might've been $3.70 10 years ago (at the Laurel) but probably $7.50 today.

Geez Tullamarine have been throwing $400 a week at U18 kids who haven't played senior footy yet - sign of the times mate and good on Tulla for thinking outside the square even if it doesn't pay off!

You need to get a lot right and have a lot go right to win premierships - our club has established a list over the last three/four years that has a great mix of talent (local and imported) and character.

I'll use Courtney Johns as an example - came to the club in 2012 as an "import" but will end up a lifelong Aberfeldie person. I couldn't give a stuff what Johnsy earns because he gives every cent back in spades!!!

Shadow Master, not going to lower myself to your smart arse cheap point scoring but a couple of comments.

Firstly, I think we all know that looking at the "best" on the EDFL website is hardly the same as reading some informed analysis on games, which amazingly we do get from time to time on here.

Also not sure why would I be glad that I missed my team play in a Grand Final? Yes we lost the last game but the "journey" through the season is what local footy is all about for mine.

But Shadow Master, I'm interested in why I should be so concerned how much people at the club want to tip in to fund player payments? My spend down at the club hasn't changed over the decade since I was legally allowed to purchase tinnies on the hill and I am getting to see a much more exciting side thanks to some others seemingly being willing to part with some cash so I am pretty happy with the result.

Sure, I liked it when my mates from juniors played ones and I would prefer if we could fill the side with home grown kids and win but clearly we tried that and not only does it not work because of the level of spending in this league but you get belted every week and everyone leaves anyway.

Your whole Dan Murphy's/Laurel crap was proven to be false at Aberfeldie anyway. In the seasons proceeding our rise up the ladder we recruited a number of blokes out of country leagues/VFL that were not "name" players but as someone who just watches the games its seems to me we just couldn't get enough blokes in to get the depth needed. I assume that likes of Hislop/Johns/Michael etc are recruited not just for their football/coaching ability but also their networks and ability to influence others to join. Some of our best players in the last few years like Fox and Zach Hislop appear to have come through these networks.

Anyway last post from me on the issue, I'm clogging up the thread with the very rubbish I'm against.

I just buy a slab at Dan Murphy's before the game, it's much cheaper to drink you're own beers rather than the $3.50 one's from the CLUB. YOU GET WHAT YOU PLAN FOR!

Put up or shut up Shadow Master - honestly what have you achieved in your time in football? I'm sure some would be keen to know and then maybe people might take you seriously!

I'm sure many shop at Dan Murphy's purely for the "cheapies" but have no idea what they're buying too! Are you an expert on all alcohol products or simply a tight a*s who'd buy a Lindeman's Bin 50 type wine?

Personally I'd opt for a product like Wild Duck Creek Estate - might pay a bit but quality every day of the week!
I've used the point before that a Crown Lager might've been $3.70 10 years ago (at the Laurel) but probably $7.50 today.

Geez Tullamarine have been throwing $400 a week at U18 kids who haven't played senior footy yet - sign of the times mate and good on Tulla for thinking outside the square even if it doesn't pay off!

You need to get a lot right and have a lot go right to win premierships - our club has established a list over the last three/four years that has a great mix of talent (local and imported) and character.

I'll use Courtney Johns as an example - came to the club in 2012 as an "import" but will end up a lifelong Aberfeldie person. I couldn't give a stuff what Johnsy earns because he gives every cent back in spades!!!
If l was johnsy & on 2k a game l would be a lifelong person at any club, l would do anything the club ask on that money
Also would he be at the club doing the same things on $500 a game?

If l was johnsy & on 2k a game l would be a lifelong person at any club, l would do anything the club ask on that money
Also would he be at the club doing the same things on $500 a game?

Here he is - Shadow Boxer's alias the Milk Bottle...

Didn't take long for one of you clowns to bite back - what is it they say about fish, barrels and guns?

Get a life!!

YOU GET WHAT YOU PLAN FOR.... IS A FLAWED STATEMENT

EDFL Premier Division