L 7 Weeney
- Jul 13, 2012
- AFL Club
- Western Bulldogs
G'day mick Dundee. Saw jake reeves stunk it up on Saturday, apart from the 1st bounce down
What game were you watching, you peanut ?
PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
G'day mick Dundee. Saw jake reeves stunk it up on Saturday, apart from the 1st bounce down
Don't usually watch much EDFL but was walking around the Marby River on sat and stopped to watch two quarters of the Marby game. If Jake Reeves was the Marby ruckman then he far from stunk it up, in fact he was the dominant ruckman all day. As for the standard it was quite good and was very entertaining to watch.
Had to leave before the game finished, can anyone let me know who ended up winning?
Noble park gave avondale a real touch up, used to enjoy the way avondale went about it but they look to have recruited very poorly this year. Be extremely lucky to make the top 6 let alone the 4 IMO
Is it true new recruit Jack Kennedy kick 9 goals playing forward beside big browne's feetKeilor won very easily
If the summary you have given is correct, then Pacco are a title contender.Turbo or Ballmagnet
I got told by a bloke that Pacco beat Nth Heidelberg by 95 points and didn't have a heap of their best, I was told 6 to 8. Apparently Vespremi, Urquardt, Michael Ross, Daniel Harris, Randello, blokes called Lewis & Tydell (apparently walk up starts?) Kyle Hardingham from Essendon is having a kick with Pacco too? & Ben Ross just rolled around for a half.
Now is he pulling my leg here this can't be right, who is playing ducks and drakes here.
Nth Heidelberg won the B Grade NFL flag last year so first year up in NFL A grade so wouldn't be the best and he did admit they had 3 to 4 out too.? But if true are Pacco the real deal if not and he is pulling my leg he will be taking the piss out of me for ages.
Is he coaching anywhere this year? I hear his a good coach so would be good to hear his still involved somewhere.
Will his son get a senior game this year as I don't know him or seen him play..
This whole Ice in local footy thing has really shocked me, I am not sure if I am simply naive or that its a complete media beat up, or perhaps its only in regional towns. Does anyone from here know of it happening within the EDFL on gameday (please dont name players or clubs)
Yep thats what I figured, perhaps someone has reported that it has happened at one club and then the whole sport gets tarnished. The part about a player who was previously rubbish smoking ice and then winning the BNF seems completely ridiculous, and no doubt some impressionable 17 - 18 year old is reading it thinking I might try that to give me an edge and all of a sudden it will be a problem..Has anyone noticed the size of the herald sun has decreased. I'm guessing they are struggling for real stories. This was absolute rubbish. As young as 14 and taking straight before they run out, yeah no worries. Can you imagine someone going "hey boys I will meet you out there" and they go to the back of rooms or into a car just before they run out onto ground.
The journo should be sacked it's a disgrace.. Really gives local footy a bad wrap..
Has anyone noticed the size of the herald sun has decreased. I'm guessing they are struggling for real stories. This was absolute rubbish. As young as 14 and taking straight before they run out, yeah no worries. Can you imagine someone going "hey boys I will meet you out there" and they go to the back of rooms or into a car just before they run out onto ground.
The journo should be sacked it's a disgrace.. Really gives local footy a bad wrap..
Not the first beat up I've read regarding local footy... Club I was once involved in was in the herald Sun's crosshairs once they were reporting absolute lies about the club... Rang the paper to make a complaint but got nowhere
Has anyone noticed the size of the herald sun has decreased. I'm guessing they are struggling for real stories. This was absolute rubbish. As young as 14 and taking straight before they run out, yeah no worries. Can you imagine someone going "hey boys I will meet you out there" and they go to the back of rooms or into a car just before they run out onto ground.
Perhaps Ralph has embellished the pre-game glass barbie behaviour but if you think this problem hasn't infiltrated local sport, not just AFL, then your head is in the sand.
I genuinely don't think players smoking ice before a game is common but I wouldn't be surprised if it does happen.
I'm sure most have heard stories of player X taking something illegal before a game i.e. ecstasy or speed - I know I have heard some ripper stories over the years..
If it is true and coaching staff, club officials and players are aware it's happening and don't do anything or worse still encourage it and are part of it then life bans should apply.
Our football clubs are the places that provide many great social benefits, lifelong friendships, direction, possible career opportunities, networks, sense of belonging and above all fun. I don't see how smoking ice or taking any illegal drugs before training or competition ticks any one of those boxes.
There's no place for illegal drugs in sport performance and if you know it's happening you need to act on it....
March 21
Essendon Doutta Stars v Riddell (RDFL)
Northern Saints v Fitzroy (VAFA) at Gosch's Paddock
Maribyrnong Park v Spotswood (WRFL)
Noble Park (Eastern FL) v Avondale Heights
South Morang (Northern FL) v Roxburgh Park
Kyabram (GVFL) v Aberfeldie
Greenvale v Barwon Heads (Bellarine FL)
Greensborough (Northern FL) v West Coburg
Coburg Districts v East Keilor
Taylors Lakes v Diggers Rest (RDFL)
Oak Park v Diamond Creek
Strathmore v Beaumaris (VAFA)
Leopold (GFL) v Keilor
I'm guessing whoever is mentioned first that's where they'll be playing at.
Puff, like reading your opinions & thoughts. I don't disagree but I thought it was a bad article for local footy. As someone posted, might someone now try this? What will parents think?
It's just another kick in the guts for local footy vs soccer.
It is possible however someone is using this stuff (most likely in a lower league out the sticks somewhere) but don't think its like he said.
No local club would be happy about this..
any updates news on last week practice games for these clubs?
The Justin Sherman led Kyabram Bombers were impressive on the weekend - they were in front for most of the first half and then we kicked 2.10 in the third quarter to 0 and eventually won by 4 goals..
Great setup and hospitality by the Kyabram folk too...
Keilor won very easily
They will be competitive as always but not a title contender.what r the thoughts on keilor for 2015
preseason is good, they have recruited well, r they legitimate contenders or just will make up the numbers
Perhaps Ralph has embellished the pre-game glass barbie behaviour but if you think this problem hasn't infiltrated local sport, not just AFL, then your head is in the sand.
I genuinely don't think players smoking ice before a game is common but I wouldn't be surprised if it does happen.
I'm sure most have heard stories of player X taking something illegal before a game i.e. ecstasy or speed - I know I have heard some ripper stories over the years..
If it is true and coaching staff, club officials and players are aware it's happening and don't do anything or worse still encourage it and are part of it then life bans should apply.
Our football clubs are the places that provide many great social benefits, lifelong friendships, direction, possible career opportunities, networks, sense of belonging and above all fun. I don't see how smoking ice or taking any illegal drugs before training or competition ticks any one of those boxes.
There's no place for illegal drugs in sport performance and if you know it's happening you need to act on it....
Sorry to harp on about this but we have a serious problem.
Today the Deniliquin Police on their Facebook page had a post quoting recent stories Goodgolly referred to. They were almost pleading with clubs to step up and say enough is enough.they went on to say "no club is immune and they are aware that more than one local club has the ICE problem in their confines".
I hope that presidents and coaches take these articles into their rooms sit with their players and say "we do not condone the use of ICE or any other illicit substance as a performance enhancer or for personal use. We value the well being of you as not only our players but as our mates and would never want a win to come at the cost of your leading a healthy life".
Put that in male talk if that's too female but I really hope this timely opportunity is taken to step up to the plate as the police obviously want us to do.
I don't know who people are on here I'm just hoping even one person in a position to initiate a response does so. Sometimes you have to confront things head on.
Back on footy now.