EDFL Premier Division

I think ths issue with Strathmore is that Lebanon reserve is simply too small for a club the size of Strathmore, and with the creek and Mascoma St bordering the ground there is no room to grow. They need to seriously start looking and planning for an alternative.

Cross Keys was muted a few years ago, but even that is probably too small. Perhaps relocating to Windy Hill could be an option, it works geographically and is only a handful of VFL games played there now. West Coburg were able to move to Coburg City Oval so surely Strathmore could work something similar at Windy Hill.

Spot on, it has everything to do with local government funding

Incidentally, construction of Strathmore's new change rooms begins very shortly

And I think it's closer to 10 flags ;)

4 flags since money was heavily involved.

Does the EDFL/VFL/AFL offer any real support in helping with lobbying the various Councils and Governments for ground and facility improvements?

Looking into the Fawkner Soccer Clubs facilities and ground compared to what Northern have is a perfect example where an organisation has it's lobbying stuff together while another is still rather amatuerish. If a Club could bring on board the Local, State and National Leagues in support of their application for funding to improve their ground and facilities it must help impress those who actually live in a world where they need to be impressed in order to approve anything.

I think that is the biggest issue with modern day clubs, they spend their money in the pursuit of premierships rather than sustainable infrastructure that could ultimately deliver sustained off field success. The safety of kids in surrounding areas is in question, yet you raise the query over $20-40k? that is one or two less players for one season. I would love to see a club draw a line in the sand and build infrastructure that will last a lot longer than the new $40k recruit.

I would love to see the EDFL create a rule in regards to standard of facilities. Marby bought 2-3 flags and have nothing to show for it. Strathmore have won 4 flags and have the worst away change rooms in the league. Do not get me started on Aberfeldie. I understand it has alot to do with council funding, but when clubs spend the way they do upwards of $300k recklessly and have nothing to show for it; it speaks volumes about the club.

Are you suggesting clubs save up the 200-300k to pay for renovations to there club rooms ?
What happens when clubs have no money to pay players ? They end up in bottom div.
Yep. Sounds like a good idea.
I think you will find that of the 3 clubs you mentioned, Marbi is the only one that has had major renovations.

Who do you follow by the way ??

Are you suggesting clubs save up the 200-300k to pay for renovations to there club rooms ?
What happens when clubs have no money to pay players ? They end up in bottom div.
Yep. Sounds like a good idea.
I think you will find that of the 3 clubs you mentioned, Marbi is the only one that has had major renovations.

Who do you follow by the way ??

I am suggesting to have a business model where consolidating premier division football should be the first aim, but $200k would ensure survival this year. Don't spend x amount because you have x amount. Do you think clubs like the Western Bulldogs spend their cap limits when they lack resources in other areas? spend $250k out of the $300k budget for 2 years whilst consolidating premier division positions. Renovate your club to an EDFL set standard and once your infrastructure is in place, than launch.

I use to support Airport West but then moved to the country for work. I don't neccessarily agree what they have done in the past either.

I am suggesting to have a business model where consolidating premier division football should be the first aim, but $200k would ensure survival this year. Don't spend x amount because you have x amount. Do you think clubs like the Western Bulldogs spend their cap limits when they lack resources in other areas? spend $250k out of the $300k budget for 2 years whilst consolidating premier division positions. Renovate your club to an EDFL set standard and once your infrastructure is in place, than launch.

I use to support Airport West but then moved to the country for work. I don't neccessarily agree what they have done in the past either.

That's easier said than done.
Most Edfl clubs bust a nut to get sponsors on board to be succesful and I'm sure any extra funds they have goes towards survival in there division or towards a tilt at a flag.
In theory its a good idea but i doubt any club would push for that rather than survival/success !!

$250k didn't ensure survival for Doutta's last year!

I think ths issue with Strathmore is that Lebanon reserve is simply too small for a club the size of Strathmore, and with the creek and Mascoma St bordering the ground there is no room to grow. They need to seriously start looking and planning for an alternative.

Cross Keys was muted a few years ago, but even that is probably too small. Perhaps relocating to Windy Hill could be an option, it works geographically and is only a handful of VFL games played there now. West Coburg were able to move to Coburg City Oval so surely Strathmore could work something similar at Windy Hill.

Actually they should have moved to Boeing Reserve instead of re doing the playing surface and now spending x on the rooms.
I do believe that was an option for them, benefits V Mascoma street.
2 Ovals, ample parking and space to extend.

$250k didn't ensure survival for Doutta's last year!

Bang, $250k is enough to compete with most teams in premier as long as you recruit smart. You will find Douttas recruited players that were found to be just below premier standard. Recruited a few from Sunbury but really only 1 stood up. All had good resumes and were paid well.

Let's be real here boys.
2014 - player payments >200k
Abers (300k+)
Strathmore (250k+)
Avondale (240k+)
Greenvale
Keilor
Airport West
Douttas

2015 - player payments >200k
Abers (350k+)
Strathmore (220k+)
Avondale (240k+)
Greenvale (220k+)
Keilor
Pacco (200k+)

#I will add 2 things,
- Keilor are pretty strict on what they offer players outside there top 5, however it's a fact there coach is the highest paid.
- You can argue about homegrown players coming back but rest assured they consider all offers first so don't come back just for the love of the club. Yes they might play for a bit less but it's still in the top bracket of player payments.

I'm sure we all have opinions on what clubs are paying but this is pretty much what everyone knows.

PS: it's probably higher again if you include coaches payments as "some" clubs would be paying anywhere between 20-40k for there coaching staff. I believe one coach is on around 60k and another 2 on between 20-25k.

We can argue all we like but this is reality and what you need to compete in premier. I personally don't have any problems with any club paying big money as its up to the club how they spend it as they do the hard work. My only issue (more related to clubs in lower divisions) is with clubs that promise and don't pay or go over their agreed budgets..

NOW I'm not going to mention players names and who gets what, as it's purely speculation, but clubs in premier pay good money.

Bang, $250k is enough to compete with most teams in premier as long as you recruit smart. You will find Douttas recruited players that were found to be just below premier standard. Recruited a few from Sunbury but really only 1 stood up. All had good resumes and were paid well.

Let's be real here boys.
Abers (300k+)
Strathmore (250k+)
Avondale (240k+)
Greenvale
Keilor
Airport West
Douttas

Abers (350k+)
Strathmore (220k+)
Avondale (240k+)
Greenvale (220k+)
Keilor
Pacco (200k+)

#I will add 2 things,
- Keilor are pretty strict on what they offer players outside there top 5, however it's a fact there coach is the highest paid.
- You can argue about homegrown players coming back but rest assured they consider all offers first so don't come back just for the love of the club. Yes they might play for a bit less but it's still in the top bracket of player payments.

I'm sure we all have opinions on what clubs are paying but this is pretty much what everyone knows.

PS: it's probably higher again if you include coaches payments as "some" clubs would be paying anywhere between 20-40k for there coaching staff. I believe one coach is on around 60k and another 2 on between 20-25k.

We can argue all we like but this is reality and what you need to compete in premier. I personally don't have any problems with any club paying big money as its up to the club how they spend it as they do the hard work. My only issue (more related to clubs in lower divisions) is with clubs that promise and don't pay or go over their agreed budgets..

NOW I'm not going to mention players names and who gets what, as it's purely speculation, but clubs in premier pay good money.
Your getting better and better every week turbo! Im amazed at how much you percieve to no about this compitition, ive never seen someone ramble on about so much crap on this big footy knowone comes close to you. And if you think pacco come in 6th in this years payments you are dillusional, even you couldnt possibly believe that

I do agree Turbo can bang on a bit, but he's providing conversation, we all have our opinions on its value.

Oh sorry Bissa, it's not in order of payments mate. Just an estimate so >200k is upwards of 200.
I put Pacco last as to keep the order list from 2014 that's all..

I think Sickoffthecrap understands it's some conversation and I've put budget minimums down to keep it respectful rather than maximum estimates..not sure anyone can dispute these min figures..

Pacco are paying money like everyone else having a crack. Yes they have exAFL but good on them for having a crack against the "heavyweights". Good players bring more supporters into all clubs. Abers would have enjoyed the estimated 1500 who attended the game against Pacco.

Keep up your good work Bissa. I'm big enough to accept a few words of criticism.,

The statement from the Northern Saints is something that everybody should read. The last paragraph is particularly pertinent....

The Northern Saints family would like to express our deepest and heartfelt thanks to the Avondale Heights Football Club for their care during the tragedy at the weekend. In particular we would like to praise the actions of all trainers, from both Clubs, who were in attendance at the game and who worked so diligently to provide Mo with the best care. Their actions in such difficult circumstances were truly remarkable and we will be forever grateful.

The Northern Saints would also like to extend our thanks to the EDFL, and all the Clubs and individuals who expressed their concern, gave their condolences and offered their assistance and support.

In particular the efforts of EDFL Board Member, Tanya Taylor should be praised. Tanya worked diligently to arrange counselling on the day for those affected, and remained at the Northern Saints in support until these sessions had been concluded.

Events such as these serve to highlight the camaraderie that exists within the EDFL. There exists now the opportunity to continue and build on this sense of unity, for all Clubs within the EDFL to work together, to foster better communication and deeper understandings and to focus on our similarities. We are after all family- a football family.

The statement from the Northern Saints is something that everybody should read. The last paragraph is particularly pertinent....

The Northern Saints family would like to express our deepest and heartfelt thanks to the Avondale Heights Football Club for their care during the tragedy at the weekend. In particular we would like to praise the actions of all trainers, from both Clubs, who were in attendance at the game and who worked so diligently to provide Mo with the best care. Their actions in such difficult circumstances were truly remarkable and we will be forever grateful.

The Northern Saints would also like to extend our thanks to the EDFL, and all the Clubs and individuals who expressed their concern, gave their condolences and offered their assistance and support.

In particular the efforts of EDFL Board Member, Tanya Taylor should be praised. Tanya worked diligently to arrange counselling on the day for those affected, and remained at the Northern Saints in support until these sessions had been concluded.

Events such as these serve to highlight the camaraderie that exists within the EDFL. There exists now the opportunity to continue and build on this sense of unity, for all Clubs within the EDFL to work together, to foster better communication and deeper understandings and to focus on our similarities. We are after all family- a football family.

Here, here! Who writes all there stuff? FB and website got some good articles etc. Heard one of the players was admitted to hospital for an emergency situation and underwent an operation as a result of a knock a couple of weeks ago. Is the guy alright, and what was the situation?

Hey there ItsallaboutMe, like your thinking but some people might think I have a double account as you are speaking my language..
Boeing reserve would have been good but I suppose a lot of history at Mascoma. Windy Hill is a good idea but not sure Essendon would allow it.

I know I will cop it but surely someone like Hille could whack up a small (non permanent structure) seating area on wheels that you could use without council permission. It would look good as well. If Hille isn't available maybe Bangfrom50 and I could whack something together but I will have to charge double time. Then again I will probably be left to do all the work as Bang might be an office guy.. Haha.

Let's be real here boys.
Abers (300k+)
Strathmore (250k+)
Avondale (240k+)
Greenvale
Keilor
Airport West
Douttas

Abers (350k+)
Strathmore (220k+)
Avondale (240k+)
Greenvale (220k+)
Keilor
Pacco (200k+)

#I will add 2 things,

Not even close with most of these figures !!!!

Big Footy is getting worse - a lot worse!!

Turbo, some of your rambles do generate discussion, my post is clearly buying into your ramble but comments like this need to be watered down unless you have some real facts.

I'm sure we all have opinions on what clubs are paying but this is pretty much what everyone knows. Disagree!

We can argue all we like but this is reality and what you need to compete in premier. Totally disagree!

Cmon Mick give me something.

On another subject is your side Marby in with a chance against Pacco next Sat. Marby travelling better than expectations you reckon?? Big game for them yeah!!

On form you would say they would have to be competitive, but my mail is that unfortunately the injury list keeps growing...

Northern Saints budget compared to Doutta Stars last year would be $100k less. Douttas did lose 5-6 games by under a goal and certainly were not the worst side in it. The sunbury egos just got the better of that side. In saying all that, that doutta stars side last year would be more than competitive in the lower half of the table this season.

$200-250k would ensure survival with a good junior program and role players , spread the $200k-$250k evenly with a solid amount of $500. Sides tend to overpay the big dogs and each club. Set some long term strategic goals and go from there. Access the market, assess what you need to beat the lower sides and get the right people in charge. Easier said then done.

Airport West seem to be consolidating funds this year and may be in a position to launch next year. I would be surprised if they are paying over $200k this season.

Big Footy is getting worse - a lot worse!!

Turbo, some of your rambles do generate discussion, my post is clearly buying into your ramble but comments like this need to be watered down unless you have some real facts.

I'm sure we all have opinions on what clubs are paying but this is pretty much what everyone knows. Disagree!

We can argue all we like but this is reality and what you need to compete in premier. Totally disagree!

So Puff what do you think a club needs to spend to be competitive in premier league and make the top 4 let alone have a real crack. I'm sure we would all like to know your thoughts. I'm NOT sure anything under 200k will get you there. 4 or 5 quality players will cost you close to half this..
I understand your a bit sensitive on this subject but let's be real..

PS: keep in mind the more "good" players you sign equals more sign on money so don't forget to include this..,

Any news on the EDFL investigation between Strathmore and Greenvale? Percentage could be a big player come finals time for the mores.

EDFL Premier Division