EDFL Premier Division

Grand final week and Abers have not lost a game all year, will the grand final match will be a walk in the park for them?

Yes mate, Abers will win by plenty if it's played with 6 on 6 in the forward line. With respect to Greenvale, Abers are just to strong with the number of recruits they have.

Deefer, you are starting to sound very silly with your recent posts.

No worries all these players are contacting Keilor & Mick and saying I want to come to Keilor. Please give it a spell..

We all know Mick is the highest paid coach in the edfl by a good margin, and probably the highest paid in local footy. Not sure why you continually deny this. It was only a few years back some influential people at Keilor wanted to get another coach and a few players for the same money. They made a big play for Castello when he left Werribee.

Brown best ruck in comp. Top player and gets paid accordingly, and so he should.
Galea gun forward. But demands good money and not leaving Avondale due to his love of Keilor. As I said great pick up.

People are happy to throw stones at other clubs, but you guys are paying just as much as the rest of the clubs in the top bracket. So get real...
Disagree brown got a bath by deluca. His bigger stronger and more mobile. He could be the reason why Greenvale can cause an upset. He might be a smokey for the league medal. Umpires do love ruckman in this comp. I do know he missed a few which might hurt him in the long run

Yes mate , coverage starts at 2pm.
Watched Div 1 Sunday, bit scratchy but great sitting on the couch with a cold frothy. Terrific coverage for the competition

I didn't know this and often watch the ch31 footy show when I can. How did you come across this, as agree it's great for our league.

That is totally INCORRECT. Galea is not the type to "take a hefty reduction". Not that there's anything wrong with that, he is one of the best local players going around and the $$$'s are getting thrown at him, Keilor threw $1700 a game plus $5k sign on Sunday morning(that's straight from Galea's mouth). What these players like Galea need to realise is that at VFL disloyalty is accepted as players are just going through, either back from AFL or on their way up to AFL, but in local footy it's more important to be a good bloke than a good player. If you are a great player it's more important than ever to be a great Clubman, that's how you earn respect. What Galea needs most is a good mate to point him in the right direction, as I'm hearing a lot from people at Willy, Port and AH is that he is very immature and got no mates.

OK , enough of that , can the Jets cause an upset this week?

And latest I heard Caruso bros. to Abers
Here we go again. You use words like "not the type", " straight from Galea's mouth" and " I'm hearing from people" . You sound like a tabloid journo who uses the words " a source said" to justify the bullshit they are making up. Now everyone is entitled to an opinion but when $$ amounts are posted on a public forum and written as fact and their character is questioned just to add a bit of mayonnaise , well give me a spell . I hope you enjoy your Australian of the year ceremony. PS For those who don't know Dean Galea which are most of you , he isn't a bad bloke who had heaps of ex Williamstown and Port Melb team mates at his bucks day and wedding not so long ago.

Deefer, you are starting to sound very silly with your recent posts.

No worries all these players are contacting Keilor & Mick and saying I want to come to Keilor. Please give it a spell..

We all know Mick is the highest paid coach in the edfl by a good margin, and probably the highest paid in local footy. Not sure why you continually deny this. It was only a few years back some influential people at Keilor wanted to get another coach and a few players for the same money. They made a big play for Castello when he left Werribee.

Brown best ruck in comp. Top player and gets paid accordingly, and so he should.
Galea gun forward. But demands good money and not leaving Avondale due to his love of Keilor. As I said great pick up.

People are happy to throw stones at other clubs, but you guys are paying just as much as the rest of the clubs in the top bracket. So get real...
Show me where I have denied that Mick is the highest paid coach. Where have I criticized other clubs for their payment levels. Where have I denied any payment levels at Keilor? Reread my posts. Frankly, I don't know what Mick is getting paid, what Browne is getting paid, what Abers, GV, or Paco, are paying, and neither do you. I will not speculate, but you do constantly. What I want you to do is back up all these statements you continually make about payments without the slightest foundation or justification. And you cannot do it! Look back at your earlier statements about the AFL guys coming to Paco. Not there for the money, love the place is the gist. But when Galea wants to move, it is all about money. Has it ever occurred to you that he may have other motivations? I will give you one. Perhaps he wants to coach. Two years under Mick will give him good experience and look good on his CV. Your conclusion is "just moving for the money"!
Again I put it to you, were you at the contract discussions with Galea or any other players? No. Do all the club recruiting guys get on the phone after they sign a player "hey Turbo, we have just signed Joe Bloggs for $xxx and sign on fee"? No! Do you have copies of the annual reports from all the clubs from last year and extrapolated the expenditure for this year? No! So all your assertions of what clubs are paying, what players are getting paid are as valid as a three dollar note.
The only one sounding silly is you. Your most common retorts are "you have no idea" or "you don't know anything"! Hardly convincing arguments.

Turbo. If this is correct, are you going to have a crack at the league for allowing Geoff Brown from Abers to manage the combined team?

1- I said my opinion is I don't like the fact a club coach is coaching the rep side. I'm sure this is a forum for people's views. Think I'm closer to the truth than you as Galea going for coaching experience.. Very funny..

2- Keep in mind players from within the same league are allocated an extra point.
This post referring to them going to Abers is another rumour so let's see how it pans out. Don't think Abers will have much room for these players under the new points & salary rules. Do you??

Show me where I have denied that Mick is the highest paid coach. Where have I criticized other clubs for their payment levels. Where have I denied any payment levels at Keilor? Reread my posts. Frankly, I don't know what Mick is getting paid, what Browne is getting paid, what Abers, GV, or Paco, are paying, and neither do you. I will not speculate, but you do constantly. What I want you to do is back up all these statements you continually make about payments without the slightest foundation or justification. And you cannot do it! Look back at your earlier statements about the AFL guys coming to Paco. Not there for the money, love the place is the gist. But when Galea wants to move, it is all about money. Has it ever occurred to you that he may have other motivations? I will give you one. Perhaps he wants to coach. Two years under Mick will give him good experience and look good on his CV. Your conclusion is "just moving for the money"!
Again I put it to you, were you at the contract discussions with Galea or any other players? No. Do all the club recruiting guys get on the phone after they sign a player "hey Turbo, we have just signed Joe Bloggs for $xxx and sign on fee"? No! Do you have copies of the annual reports from all the clubs from last year and extrapolated the expenditure for this year? No! So all your assertions of what clubs are paying, what players are getting paid are as valid as a three dollar note.
The only one sounding silly is you. Your most common retorts are "you have no idea" or "you don't know anything"! Hardly convincing arguments.

Wow you are really getting into it yeah!!

Let me clear up one thing, this whole thing started because of some post from one of your own people after the final. I responded and then you jumped in. You say you read previous posts, but I think you read what you want to read.

Now this post. Didn't you say you know all club presidents and are in the know..

Let me say this again, I don't care what players get, if clubs have the finances to afford them, as long as the player gives you 100% commitment. I maybe disagree with a certain club going overboard on players, and some clubs not promoting juniors (if they are capable) and trying to create a mix of young & experience. But that's my opinion.

If there is ever a club who knows how to win when there backs are against it Greenvale are the team for me. This weekend could be a lot closer than some think.
2012 strath more finished undefeated and Greenvale beat them

2013 - abers pumped Greenvale in the first final 40 points and Greenvale made it happen in that grand final too.

What happens if abers lose. Will those blokes that have been there for a while pack it in and leave ? 3 years in a row they have been right up there and managed to lose there way when it mattered most. 2012 they were 9-0 and finished 11-7?

If there is ever a club who knows how to win when there backs are against it Greenvale are the team for me. This weekend could be a lot closer than some think.
2012 strath more finished undefeated and Greenvale beat them

2013 - abers pumped Greenvale in the first final 40 points and Greenvale made it happen in that grand final too.

What happens if abers lose. Will those blokes that have been there for a while pack it in and leave ? 3 years in a row they have been right up there and managed to lose there way when it mattered most. 2012 they were 9-0 and finished 11-7?
The difference to the last 3 years they have a coach who can coach

Abers are by far the best team in the EDFL and will win with a leg in the air this week. I hope its close but their first win for decades will be a blowout and Shags ect can carry on with with good grace from about 10 mins before half time.

They actually deserve to win. If they don't then gee wizz.

Hope the Curuso's don't get there. Puff promised us local talent but when the whips are cracking those guys are all out of the team and the big guns are in. What 4-5 locals playing in the two blues?

Abers by 60+

What about this week's winner and BOG. Not really going out on a limb here:

Winner: Abers by 47pts
BOG: Blackwell

Ok then if it is out on a limb you want. If Greenvale can put enough forward pressure on the half back line of Abers they can and will win the game. They have the coverage around the ground to match up well but need to stop the run. If anything Greenvale needs to watch their height in the forward line as they are the ones that have been caught out and too slow to chase giving Abers opportunities to set up from half back. A smaller faster forward line will help. The game will rest on the Maric brothers, Gazzo, Sardo, Brewer all working extra hard when in the forward line.

Winner: Greenvale 15 points
BOG: Brewer

F.Y.I... The EDFL Votecount/Presentation Night is being held this year after the Grand Final on Saturday September 26th.

Why not just keep it on a night leading up to the Premier Division Grand Final as per previous years? Doesn't make sense to me.

There was too much trouble from players that had been on the piss after grand finals. Lot of youth teams complained about the swearing and bad behaviour of players
Also players that won some awards didn't turn up cause they were drinking. Like last years goal kicking winners from divy 1

EDFL Premier Division