EDFL U16 2016

I usually like your posts on other forums in here, but you are so wrong and now sound childish with the Keilor statement.

There is more to it. Hillside kid has been up for MULTIPLE tribinals this season, all for coward punches or off the ball shit. According to you, that's okay and it's a conspiracy that aids Keilor!!! It was actually 10 weeks for the coward punch and another week for the social media. Are we now condoning this kind of shit because it suits someones shit stirring agenda? There can NEVER be a defense for cowards punches, whether at footy or in life.

Fast and Loose 100% absolutely agree there is no room at any level in sport or social life for a coward punch/ hit behind play, just simply not on, given what you guys are saying re the severity of the injury, the boy might very well consider himself lucky he didn't get longer? No doubt the Abers boys season is finished
Do you guys know how he is recovering?

I usually like your posts on other forums in here, but you are so wrong and now sound childish with the Keilor statement.

There is more to it. Hillside kid has been up for MULTIPLE tribinals this season, all for coward punches or off the ball shit. According to you, that's okay and it's a conspiracy that aids Keilor!!! It was actually 10 weeks for the coward punch and another week for the social media. Are we now condoning this kind of shit because it suits someones shit stirring agenda? There can NEVER be a defense for cowards punches, whether at footy or in life.
I'm with you fastandloose. Don't these people watch the news. People die from these coward punches. It takes a very disturbed individual to smash someone from behind. Those who do it should hang their heads in shame no wonder they are called coward punches. Let's get back to talking about how good 99.8% of these young men can play our great game.

Fast and Loose 100% absolutely agree there is no room at any level in sport or social life for a coward punch/ hit behind play, just simply not on, given what you guys are saying re the severity of the injury, the boy might very well consider himself lucky he didn't get longer? No doubt the Abers boys season is finished
Do you guys know how he is recovering?

Pretty sure he is playing this week but did have to have surgery to get his nose re-set. Good news he is playing though

Let me clear something up NOW. I don't condone violence in any matter, least of all from behind. Yes kids at this age do seem to get into fights at times and been happening for years. But surely it should be stopped quickly by adults however some adults are worse than the kids themselves at some clubs. I never said I supported the "alleged" strike that we are talking about. All I said is I would like to hear some facts from both sides or was only 1 side or 1 player fighting? I also think 10 weeks is a big suspension for a junior player, compared to similar things that happen in senior footy however agree if guilty the suspension should be a number of weeks. I've been keeping a close watch on tribunal results and see a lot of kicking incidents at the lower ages yet most get off. Yes some are very young but teach them a lesson now so they learn from there mistakes.
Hope I've clear up my views on violence in today's world.

Let me clear something up NOW. I don't condone violence in any matter, least of all from behind. Yes kids at this age do seem to get into fights at times and been happening for years. But surely it should be stopped quickly by adults however some adults are worse than the kids themselves at some clubs. I never said I supported the "alleged" strike that we are talking about. All I said is I would like to hear some facts from both sides or was only 1 side or 1 player fighting? I also think 10 weeks is a big suspension for a junior player, compared to similar things that happen in senior footy however agree if guilty the suspension should be a number of weeks. I've been keeping a close watch on tribunal results and see a lot of kicking incidents at the lower ages yet most get off. Yes some are very young but teach them a lesson now so they learn from there mistakes.
Hope I've clear up my views on violence in today's world.
So which part of the multiple tribunal visits and suspensions this season not only for the same player, but the club as a whole, would indicate the adults are showing as positive role models? The club have appealed the length of suspension after admitting guilt. Which part of multiple suspensions make you think this coward is going to learn? 10 weeks is minimum that should be awarded at this age to act as deterrent.

Ok you seem to more involved in this than I thought by the sounds of it..Not sure the club has a bad history at the tribunal from what I've been reading on the EDFL site.
I've seen a couple of games of 16 div1 including a few Hillside games and I've never seen anything nasty occur. Yes maybe in the lower divisions it might flare up but not in div1.

Im just interested to read your views in that a kid was just punched from behind for no reason, just a random hit from no where! I do find that kind of strange in under16 div1 footy that a kid has just punched another player for nothing out of the blue.

If the kid that was unfortunately hit is back playing this week as reported on here, then that's great his back and his injury wasn't as bad as first reported on here, although severe by the sounds of it.

I'm going to leave it at that and I'm signing off, however I hope to contact a couple of people and find out what happened.

Ok you seem to more involved in this than I thought by the sounds of it..Not sure the club has a bad history at the tribunal from what I've been reading on the EDFL site.
I've seen a couple of games of 16 div1 including a few Hillside games and I've never seen anything nasty occur. Yes maybe in the lower divisions it might flare up but not in div1.

Im just interested to read your views in that a kid was just punched from behind for no reason, just a random hit from no where! I do find that kind of strange in under16 div1 footy that a kid has just punched another player for nothing out of the blue.

If the kid that was unfortunately hit is back playing this week as reported on here, then that's great his back and his injury wasn't as bad as first reported on here, although severe by the sounds of it.

I'm going to leave it at that and I'm signing off, however I hope to contact a couple of people and find out what happened.
I'm not close to it at all but do know a family that have been devastated by a cowards punch. I do know that the coward admitted the punch off the ball. Doesn't matter what has happened, if anything, a cowards punch off the ball is the worst dog act possible and needs to be stamped out. You'd maybe gain respect by admitting you're wrong.

Watched a very good Keilor v Abers game yesterday. Very even first half with Taylor and Barton showing drive and skill for Keilor whilst Evans looked dangerous every time Abers managed to get the ball fwd. Some very strange Abers positional changes gave Keilor the momentum in 3rd qtr and the game looked done. A 3 qtr time rev up got Abers back in and it was time for an important positional change for Keilor. Taylor dragged back to play as a 2nd man on Evans which invited Abers fwd and they deservedly took advantage and massively outplayed and outscored Keilor in 4th qtr. I don't think i've seen a fwd play as well against Keilor as Evans did yesterday. Barton BOG for me with his drive and penetrating kicks and he didn't deserve to be on a losing side.

Popped up to Taylors Lakes to watch the 1st half of the Hillside v Strathmore game. Pretty tight contest with Hillside a bit to good early but it seems Strathmore fought their way back. Hillside play a very attacking brand of footy however Strathmore were also pretty good. Young West nearly took a great hanger..

Has the league lost its way on a couple of things.
1- The Taylors Lakes ground is very ordinary with that sand covering the hard cricket wicket. It's never been one of the better grounds so big mistake. This is under 16 div1 so at least schedule it on a decent ground. There was limited food and the canteen was clearly struggling. No BBQ like most clubs put on.

2- The Hillside ruckman appeared to slip on the surface during the 1st ruck contest and has sustained a bad injury.

3- During the 2nd qrt a Hillside player punched a contested ball out of bounds at the clubroom end. It must have missed the points by a good 3 metres as I was standing right there. The goal umpire signalled a behind. Now the field umpire appeared to see it and spoke with the goal umpire but didn't over rule him. Maybe because he was older, who knows but that was quite bemusing and lucky the game wasn't decided by a point. In fact that particular umpire seemed to favour a few things over the next 2-3 minutes. Bit strange.. I not umpire bashing just expect the main umpire to take control and override the goal umpire in a div1 final.

Has the league lost its way on a couple of things.
1- The Taylors Lakes ground is very ordinary with that sand covering the hard cricket wicket. It's never been one of the better grounds so big mistake. This is under 16 div1 so at least schedule it on a decent ground. There was limited food and the canteen was clearly struggling. No BBQ like most clubs put on.

Was at Tullamarine on the weekend and it is in the best condition of any ground I have seen this year, especially those with turf wickets in the middle.

3- During the 2nd qrt a Hillside player punched a contested ball out of bounds at the clubroom end. It must have missed the points by a good 3 metres as I was standing right there. The goal umpire signalled a behind. Now the field umpire appeared to see it and spoke with the goal umpire but didn't over rule him. Maybe because he was older, who knows but that was quite bemusing and lucky the game wasn't decided by a point. In fact that particular umpire seemed to favour a few things over the next 2-3 minutes. Bit strange.. I not umpire bashing just expect the main umpire to take control and override the goal umpire in a div1 final.

The goal umpire has the final say. The field umpire can talk to him and suggest it may have been a point, but the goal umpire has the final call.

Watched a very good Keilor v Abers game yesterday. Very even first half with Taylor and Barton showing drive and skill for Keilor whilst Evans looked dangerous every time Abers managed to get the ball fwd. Some very strange Abers positional changes gave Keilor the momentum in 3rd qtr and the game looked done. A 3 qtr time rev up got Abers back in and it was time for an important positional change for Keilor. Taylor dragged back to play as a 2nd man on Evans which invited Abers fwd and they deservedly took advantage and massively outplayed and outscored Keilor in 4th qtr. I don't think i've seen a fwd play as well against Keilor as Evans did yesterday. Barton BOG for me with his drive and penetrating kicks and he didn't deserve to be on a losing side.

I was there also yesterday and saw a great fightback from Aberfeldie. Just a couple of points :
Glen Mantons kid looks like he can play a bit, but funny when he celebrated a goal in the 2nd, not one team mate went up to him to say well done.
Curtis - no 35 for Keilor is useful
Minton Connels kid was quiet yesterday.
Keilor ran out of puff in the last quarter and just couldnt defend against the breeze.
For what its worth, seems that Strathmore were unlucky yesterday, and should comfortably account for Aberfeldie next Sunday

Was at Tullamarine on the weekend and it is in the best condition of any ground I have seen this year, especially those with turf wickets in the middle.

The goal umpire has the final say. The field umpire can talk to him and suggest it may have been a point, but the goal umpire has the final call.

Cheers mate. Clubs pay for offical umpires and you get decisions like that. Bit disturbing. As I said I was standing on my own about 2 mts away. Imagine that decision if the scores were level near the end. The game would have ended in total embrassment.
Also there are off field officals from the league at finals so I only hope they saw it and raise it. I understand mistakes are made but this one wasn't even close!!

Cheers mate. Clubs pay for offical umpires and you get decisions like that. Bit disturbing. As I said I was standing on my own about 2 mts away. Imagine that decision if the scores were level near the end. The game would have ended in total embrassment.
Also there are off field officals from the league at finals so I only hope they saw it and raise it. I understand mistakes are made but this one wasn't even close!!

You reckon that's bad. Have a look at this from 4.15 onwards. Keep your eye on the goal umpire.
https://vzaar.com/videos/7696084

Had a look at the scores Fast and would be interested to know what the positional changes were that you found interesting from Abers in the 3rd qtr? Considering Keilor kicked 4 goals in the second qtr and only 2 in the 3rd. Maybe someone else who may have been there can give their thoughts as well. Sounds like you were in the Abers huddle at 3qtr time from the rev up comment which I find interesting. Having a look at some of your other posts Fast, it could be taken your not a fan of the way Abers are coached. Did he beat you for the job or something or am I simply looking into this too much?
Do agree with you however, re Strathmore looking most likely. Al be it a hiccup last game.

Had a look at the scores Fast and would be interested to know what the positional changes were that you found interesting from Abers in the 3rd qtr? Considering Keilor kicked 4 goals in the second qtr and only 2 in the 3rd. Maybe someone else who may have been there can give their thoughts as well. Sounds like you were in the Abers huddle at 3qtr time from the rev up comment which I find interesting. Having a look at some of your other posts Fast, it could be taken your not a fan of the way Abers are coached. Did he beat you for the job or something or am I simply looking into this too much?
Do agree with you however, re Strathmore looking most likely. Al be it a hiccup last game.

Think Fast follows Keilor. Seconds thoughts I'm not sure who he follows. Lol

Just researching this Evans boy and his kicked 50 goals but that's his first actual goal against a top 4 side. Plus he hasn't been named in the best all year. Footloose were does this kid play? Was he in any rep sides?

Definitely looking into it too much :). Didn't need to be near Abers huddle as could hear the Abers coach all game from other side of the ground. Welcome other opinions from the game. That's what we're all here for.

Tactical changes saw Evans start in mid then spend most of the qtr on the bench when he had Keilor backline troubled. Then 3 small Abers mids played fwd. Haven't checked the exact scoring but don't think Abers scored a point 3rd qtr.

Think Fast follows Keilor. Seconds thoughts I'm not sure who he follows. Lol

Just researching this Evans boy and his kicked 50 goals but that's his first actual goal against a top 4 side. Plus he hasn't been named in the best all year. Footloose were does this kid play? Was he in any rep sides?
I don't "follow" any team but regularly watch Keilor and Strathmore as i have connections with players from both sides. Means i can watch a game and be objective.

I watched Evans at Strathmore for a few years before he moved to Abers. He was playing EDFL rep when at Mores and think he was at Cannons whilst at Mores too. He played mainly ruck/half back when at Mores. I don't know what he's doing or how he's been going but i thought that was the best pressure and marking fwd role i've seen against Keilor all season. Keilor coach must have thought so too to have a Cannons player and arguably the teams best player, double team him in last qtr.

Abers never put up best and haven't done so for a few seasons now, so probably not best way to judge the kid.

I don't "follow" any team but regularly watch Keilor and Strathmore as i have connections with players from both sides. Means i can watch a game and be objective.

I watched Evans at Strathmore for a few years before he moved to Abers. He was playing EDFL rep when at Mores and think he was at Cannons whilst at Mores too. He played mainly ruck/half back when at Mores. I don't know what he's doing or how he's been going but i thought that was the best pressure and marking fwd role i've seen against Keilor all season. Keilor coach must have thought so too to have a Cannons player and arguably the teams best player, double team him in last qtr.

Abers never put up best and haven't done so for a few seasons now, so probably not best way to judge the kid.

I went and had a look at the Keilor v Abers game as well and yes was a pretty tight contest for the first 3 qtrs, which saw Abers get a very deserving win, they just managed to be a bit better for longer
Evans is a nice straight kick of the football and did take a few nice marks early and converted to his credit, Keilor looked to me to be in control at 3/4 time In the last qtr the Abers rucks clearly dominated the Keilor ruckman to get the ball going fwd, not sure why the blonde headed Keilor Ruckman went forward? add to that Tom Pound was very good across half back, Abers kept pounding the ball forward, they were aided by a stiff breeze which saw the footy carry over the back a couple of times for goals
I too initially thought it was odd that they played 35 Taylor loose behind the footy in the last qtr, I have since asked a couple of Keilor people why and apparently it wasnt to double team Evans, more that he was restricted by a corked thigh and couldnt run at full tilt, he had also dislocated finger earlier in the game
looking forward to this week the Strathmore v Abers game should be a beauty, if Evans reproduces a similar return form last week Abers might be a chance, will be interesting to see who from Abers will go to Rhylee West, that contest in itself could decide the game

I see Essendon vfl is fixtures to play Williamstown at WindyHill next Sunday. Coburg fixtures to play at home Saturday. Will grandfinal be at Coburg Sunday or Highgate? Please please please edfl. DO NOT have a div1 G/F at Highgate or Coburg. If it's a windy day it will an ugly spect oval on those size grounds. Even with wind, I'd rather watch it at Keilor. From U10s all the way through to U16s.

Yes I agree with you entirely but it almost certain to be at one of those grounds, Probably Highgate!
The EDFL fixture it at neutral ground that is gated so they can charge an entry fee per patron
They won't play it at Keilor as there is already one Keilor side through to the GF in Div 1
Not sure what other options they have?

Congrats to David Fruscalzo, Jack Evans and Tye Browning on being invited to the EDFL presentation night. Interesting that only the winner and runner up are normally the invites. So my tip is
1st Tye Browning

Equal 2nd
David Fruscalzo
Jack Evans

Not many to take votes off Tye. Top effort from David in the best team at the end of home and away to be placed. Also great effort for Jack as the leading goal kicker to be up there.
On another note, it sounds like the Cannons have had enough of thoughts outside football with both Jack Bytel and Tye Browning told they must cut their hair. Apparently touching of the hair seems to irk some fruit loop at Calder.
Sorry son, I know your the best 16 year old ever to pull on a boot. But I don't like the way you keep touching your hair.
Any wonder not one cannons player has been invited to this years combine. Fruit loops in charge.

Cracking day for a cracking game of footy. Close game all the way, played in the right spirit with both teams hard at ball. Devastated for Ben Reddick with what seems a serious knee injury. Didn't expect Strathmore to be as inaccurate and that's what ultimately cost them.

Congrats to David Fruscalzo, Jack Evans and Tye Browning on being invited to the EDFL presentation night. Interesting that only the winner and runner up are normally the invites. So my tip is
1st Tye Browning

Equal 2nd
David Fruscalzo
Jack Evans

Not many to take votes off Tye. Top effort from David in the best team at the end of home and away to be placed. Also great effort for Jack as the leading goal kicker to be up there.
On another note, it sounds like the Cannons have had enough of thoughts outside football with both Jack Bytel and Tye Browning told they must cut their hair. Apparently touching of the hair seems to irk some fruit loop at Calder.
Sorry son, I know your the best 16 year old ever to pull on a boot. But I don't like the way you keep touching your hair.
Any wonder not one cannons player has been invited to this years combine. Fruit loops in charge.
Well done to the 3 players. Browning would have missed a few games with Vic Metro which may cost him.

Turbo - looks like not being in teams best hasn't hurt Evans........

EDFL U16 2016