FT WA Black 13.15.93 - 6.2.38 WA Gold

My bests for each team

Best WA Black: J.Western, S.Page, T.Brockman, H.Chapman, C.Johnson
Best WA Gold: I.Winder, C.McPartland, L.McDonald, D.Grainger-Barras

Quick thoughts:

For the WA Blacks:
Joel Western was everywhere, liked the look of Ugle in the last quarter for WA Black. Sandon Page was dangerous up forward kicking 4.1, Logan Guelfi started on fire in the first kicking 1.3. Tyler Brockman was very good as well.

For the Golds:
Grainger-Barras as usual reads the ball well, got some good spoils in and took a ripper mark.
Logan McDonald kicked 2 goals,one from the boundary from 45-50m out. Could have had 3-4. Worked hard up the ground as the ball was barely getting down there after half-time. Had about 10 disposals, 5 marks, 2 goals.

FT WA Black 13.15.93 - 6.2.38 WA Gold

My bests for each team

Best WA Black: J.Western, S.Page, T.Brockman, H.Chapman, C.Johnson
Best WA Gold: I.Winder, C.McPartland, L.McDonald, D.Grainger-Barras

Quick thoughts:

For the WA Blacks:
Joel Western was everywhere, liked the look of Ugle in the last quarter for WA Black. Sandon Page was dangerous up forward kicking 4.1, Logan Guelfi started on fire in the first kicking 1.3. Tyler Brockman was very good as well.

For the Golds:
Grainger-Barras as usual reads the ball well, got some good spoils in and took a ripper mark.
Logan McDonald kicked 2 goals,one from the boundary from 45-50m out. Could have had 3-4. Worked hard up the ground as the ball was barely getting down there after half-time. Had about 10 disposals, 5 marks, 2 goals.
Was this game streamed anywhere giantroo?

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk

Elite kicking is overrated for an inside mid, not many of the best inside mids in the comp are elite kicks. The better kicks are used on the outside, half back and half forward. Robertson was atleast elite by hand and he had other elite qualities that made up for the kicking and I still think Brisbane got a bargain.
Watched the North Launy vs Clarence game today, Geezus Ollie Davis is tough bugger in and around the clearances, his tackling is some of the best I've ever seen at any level. Where do you see his draft range and where do you think he sits with the other pure midfielders in this draft?

Someone just pointed out to me that ford isn’t in twomeys top 40 (top 25 and next 15 lists) and I’m gobsmacked.
Even Zavier Maher. As I’ve said before anything after 10 is speculative from him because recruiters aren’t going to talk up their gems. Hence Georgiades, Philp and Dow last year. Even Pickett didn’t get a look until he found out he was invited to draft night. Clubs will actually be happy he isn’t talking up certain guys they rate highly.

giantroo I was impressed by Shannon Neale, Ugle, DGB, Western, Brockman, Matt Johnson (2021) and Page obviously 4 goals

I reserve judgement on Brockman and Page as their teams were just so dominant and on the end of some handy work up the field.

That work done mostly by Western and Ugle from what I saw (Only watched last half*)

I will be interested to see where Western goes number wise. At 172cm I'm not sure what his endurance/running numbers are like. I think he gets beyond pick 40.

I'd be interested to see some of the numbers of the inside mids for black side.

Shannon Neale super impressive I think he will climb. A 202cm, 86kg that can run 51 sec 400m is getting close to Buddy Franklin territory. Is he a key Fwd or a Ruck. Like all these big guys take time.

I'm always hesitant to grab defenders early in the draft ie top 10. DGB looks every bit better than F.Macasey. However he did see alot of footy his way today but halved every contest.

eDPS, early thoughts on the WA All stars game or do I have to wait?
My notes from the game should come out tomorrow I think

Watched the North Launy vs Clarence game today, Geezus Ollie Davis is tough bugger in and around the clearances, his tackling is some of the best I've ever seen at any level. Where do you see his draft range and where do you think he sits with the other pure midfielders in this draft?
I have him in the 3rd round onwards, he doesn’t do a lot for me would be more for a club to add some solid midfield depth.
Any comments on Michael Mallard? big lad that has been dominating junior rucks.
He is a big lad with good skills and smarts but lacks in the athletic department so I don’t like his chances of being taken this year

My notes from the WA all stars game

Did Ugle only play in the last half? Or limited game time early

Impressed by his last quarter

Shannon neales last quarter also impressive once he got the middle time. Really impressed by his skills and decision making for such a big guy.

Also Keanu Haddow limited time aswell? Did he just come on in the last quarter? Showed a bit as a small/medium defender. Unsure if he has the footy smarts to play as a deep defender

Nice work. Quite a bit of debate on our board about Lane v Neale? Who would you take and why between the two?
Any chance either falls to rookie draft?
It’s a tough one, Neale has been played forward to help develop his marking and just making him a more well rounded footballer. I think he needs a few years to develop his forward craft and I think he would be a very good project player for a club but hard to tell his range. Lane has had a very good month and has developed in his own right, like how he competes at ground level and his contested marking has improved as the year has gone on. On upside and versatility you take Neale but if you want a more reliable ruck option it’s hard to go past Lane who is right up in calculations to be the best ruck in this draft.

Would love to see Neale vs Laine in the ruck for a full game next Saturday
Nice in theory but Lane would absolutely destroy him. Neale has heaps of potential but his ruck work is miles off being able to take it up to Lane atm.

Having said that if they can do that and then shift Western on the opposite team to Lane that might help make him a bit less costly for us come draft day.

Nice in theory but Lane would absolutely destroy him. Neale has heaps of potential but his ruck work is miles off being able to take it up to Lane atm.

Having said that if they can do that and then shift Western on the opposite team to Lane that might help make him a bit less costly for us come draft day.

His tap work is but a late comer to footy. His other work looks very tidy for a guy his size.

I rate both. I think I'd take Neale with his upside though. Both would need 4 years on an AFL list. Key fwd harder position than ruck in the big league.

I feel tap works the easiest thing to work on. He definitely has the ability to run and jump and looks like the body aswell.

No doubt at 2nd level Neale probably spends half his time Key fwd and Ruck in the 2s for 4 years. Whereas Lane in the sole ruck spot.

Anyone ideas on what Geelong will do in the draft?
Get back to me after the trade period as you may trade all your high picks away haha But seriously I think this is a great year to look at local talent with a few nice players from Geelong Falcons to look out for.

nothing. 18 year olds don’t fit their 30 plus players. Keep drafting Higgins brad ( no 26 brad too old ) keep in that window ala hawthorn. Not long before a big fall
Yeh well I'm hoping they start bringing in young players into the team theres some good players waiting to get a shot so hopefully next year they do