Recruiting EFC Trade/Draft Talk II with F/A rules in OP - Billings for a fourth rounder the latest rumour

What do we do with the #1 pick?

• Use it

Votes: 73 47.4%
  • Trade it for multiple top 10 picks

Votes: 65 42.2%
  • Trade it for players

Votes: 3 1.9%
  • Trade it for players and first round picks

Votes: 13 8.4%

I agree. I think Daniel Rioli could be great up forward and would be a great pickup.
MarkG, the alias isn't fooling us.
IP check please mods? ;)

Can we have the draft tomorrow and be done with it? The wait is ruining my life.

Just rotten luck that the year we end up with two top 5 picks, we don't have any elite standouts players available at our pick, particularly a gun midfielder.

MarkG, the alias isn't fooling us.
IP check please mods? ;)

lol
I am actually a fan of both Daniel and Ben Rioli, mainly because I watched a few games this season from the Thunder....

I think they are both good, solid players ...

Daniel has a lot of potential ..(could be as good as Wingard some day)

But I don't know if Essendon will get him. Other clubs would be interested.

Ben is possibly seen as a risk because of his concussion issues and he wears a helmet these days, but he is a very measured and composed player.

lol
I am actually a fan of both Daniel and Ben Rioli, mainly because I watched a few games this season from the Thunder....

I think they are both good, solid players ...

Daniel has a lot of potential ..

But I don't know if Essendon will get him. Other clubs would be interested.

Ben is possibly seen as a risk because of his concussion issues and he wears a helmet these days, but he is a very measured and composed player.

Hold on, is this an informed opinion of Daniel Rioli?
Tell us a bit more of him, what makes you think he has AFL potential squire?

Can we have the draft tomorrow and be done with it? The wait is ruining my life.

Just rotten luck that the year we end up with two top 5 picks, we don't have any elite standouts players available at our pick, particularly a gun midfielder.

Darcy Parish.

The best mid in draft and the sneaky bastards Melbourne are going to take him.

There would be plenty of time for interviews and the like over the course of the whole season. I'd be surprised if they made more than 10 interviews from here until draft day.

The draft originally was at the end of October - It was pushed back to the end of November so students could finish their exams - Reckon it could have stayed at the end of October.

Im impartial to taking daniel rioli, he is very athletic but boy does he butcher the footy. If those are his highlights he has a shitload to work.
Agreed.. his one flaw is his occasional miskick. He would get murdered at AFL level unless he gets this out of his game.

BTW, Cyril was identical to this.. same kicking issue. But when pressure really came on, he never screwed up.

Not sure how you could test Daniel on this without drafting him first.

His raw talent is amazing (apart from this).

Forwards can get away with the occasional kicking flaw as long as they can kick a bag full. The backs pay heavily if they do the same.

Wait a second wait a second.

Weren't you the one telling me Carlton needed so much extra time to work out the number one pick and any suggestions they'd have it sorted out was silly?

Its beyond obvious that clubs organise their assessments around when the draft occurs - Whether that's in October or November or even in January.

found some good highlights of charlie curnow playing with the AIS Academy and his tac cup team from early in the year

Tried this but thread got shut down by Doss.

Apart from criticize other peoples thoughts, can you plz recommend the draftees we should get at 4,5,24,25?

There is a thread where we predict what players EFC will select in the draft - Though you can't select D.Rioli 6 times.

MarkG that video was TERRIBLE.

0:09 – has a friend closer to goal, in space, elects for a selfish kick in hope, misses everything, opponent marks in space.

0:16 – burns off his opponent, which looks great, then puts zero penetration on the kick, and it gets interception. That ball was Loopier than Cam.

0:30 – once again gets cut off with a poor kick, had space to run into in the pocket.

0:49 – WTF? Is he adopted? Rioli like? I am not watching 5 mins of this.

Interesting that the Irish boy Darragh Joyce, who attended the combine but unfortunately didn't win an international rookie contract, is a cousin of ex player Kevin Walsh.

Actually, you know what?
Daniel Rioli is actually Leroy Jetta, but with no vision or penetration on his kick.
He has no instinct, from what I have just seen. Would be better off with a Blake Hardwick, or a Nick Dodge.

Is it just me or are the highlight packages crap regarding kicking this year? On quite a few occasions they have the player kicking the ball to an opposition player :drunk:. The only memory a family member has of me in my juniors is winning a free kick only to turn it over 5 seconds later :cry:.
Was listening to Cal Twomey's draft podcast today, from the sounds of it there aren't really any excellent kicks of the ball in this draft, there's a few good ones but other than that not a lot.

What if the Rioli name is too much for Daniel; a burden that wears like an unhealed ulcer. He then goes on to develop an eating disorder and ends up like Dean Rioli. On second thought, probably not such a bad thing.

The only bio I know of Daniel is he doesn't have red hair but claims to be quicker than Cyril. Get him in!

Sorry Bipolar, different person.

Hell mate... look what all these idiots are posting. It's all made up. Right?

We want Lovell, we want Lovell......

Granted i only watched 1 minute worth, but literally everything he does goes to the opposition players.

Any truth to the "Francis wants to stay in Adelaide" rumour? Or does this always do the rounds with blokes not from VIC?

Aaron Francis grew up with three brothers, on a farm outside Loxton in country South Australia. The four boys were born within five years of each other and whenever they teamed up to play football, cricket or any other backyard ball game Aaron and Hayden made sure to take on Nathan and Levi together, the two middle kids against the biggest and the baby. "Hayden always made sure we were on the same team, and he always said to me that if I ended up going to an AFL team he wanted to go with me," Aaron said. "His team was the Lions, and he had a job as a butcher. His plan was for me to go up to Brisbane and for him to move up, too, and open up his own butcher's shop."

Hayden is the reason Aaron plays football, now. He's the first reason he's had for playing it, the person who has made the game feel like something more. It is a little over 12 months since his 18-year-old brother passed away, just a few days after being diagnosed with cancer, but it doesn't feel like nearly that long.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...s-football-20151104-gkqexq.html#ixzz3qWRPs5OD
Follow us: @theage on Twitter | theageAustralia on Facebook