Ellis to follow in Hodge's footsteps?

Mojo

Jul 18, 2007
Beaumaris
Xav has been in our best the past two weeks. He has strikingly similiar characteristics to Hodge, who like Ellis played a majority of his early footy off half-back.

I was wondering if you were coach what position and role would you play Ellis?

What i think Mojo is saying, is how Ellis is used by Clarkson is similar to how Hodge started... down on the halfback flank... learn his craft, give him some time in the middle, but develop him as a general of the backline, the rock... and when we need him most, and as he gets better developed he will be thrown into the midfield more on a full time basis.

One thing i loved watching on the weekend is that even with a small build, he throws his body on the ball!

Will be a very good player for us but not in the same class as Hodge..

Yeah? Why?

Every time that Ellis gets the ball he looks as if he has as much time as he wants to do whatever he wants. He nearly never misses the target, can take a bump and when his number is up he can go in as hard as anyone. All this in the space of 22 games.

Quoting the AFL 2004 book, when Hodge was at 30 games. "A classy and versatile player who is starting to settle at this level after early injury problems. Missed early games with ankle and thumb concerns, but displayed the credentials of a No. 1 draft pick with some polished displays late in the season."

Sounds like Ellis, except that X hasn't been injured and is displaying those silky skills right now!

So, Love4Buddy, I'll raise you and call your bluff.

Great call Mojo_14 :thumbsu:

Ellis showed he can become elite in the future.

Give him some game time Clarko!

Even off the half back line.

I am very impressed with the X. His development and growth in stature appears to be going along at the same rate as Lukey boy when he started out in the brown and gold.

The huge difference is his build but that may change in time as he builds his upper body in the gym over summer.

And yes, what I like about him is he has simular pause to Sammy and Hodgey by having plenty of time for decision making. He will become one of those players who, uniquely, rarely wastes a possession.

Another ingredient in his football CV would be a premiership early in his career.

What i think Mojo is saying, is how Ellis is used by Clarkson is similar to how Hodge started... down on the halfback flank... learn his craft, give him some time in the middle, but develop him as a general of the backline, the rock... and when we need him most, and as he gets better developed he will be thrown into the midfield more on a full time basis.

One thing i loved watching on the weekend is that even with a small build, he throws his body on the ball!

Wish Youngy would take a leaf out of his book...

It was said prior to him being drafted that he was very similiar to Del Santo. I disagree with this - X is much harder at the ball than the down hill skier from St Kilda.

I liken X much more To Luke Power. Same type of build therefore once he adds a few more kg's -he should move into the midfield on a more permanent basis.

Like Hodge he is being eased into it unlike Luke Ball and Judd who were thrown in from day one.

Alot has been said re thta draft regarding Ball, Hodge and Judd but no-one can argue the fact that Hodge has been managed alot more carefully than his Ball and Judd who now begining to show a bit of wear and tear from playing in such a physical position. Well done to Scwabby on getting thsi aspect right - just wait till Hodge gets an injury free season, he will absolutely kill them !!!

Would be nice if he did follow in Hodge's footsteps, but hodge is a true leader, as much as I love Mitchell and Buddy, Hodge is the heart and sole of the club at the moment.

There is not a player I like watching more than hodge, he can do everything, can turn games from the middle, can settle the backline, can kick goals, flies the flag he is damaging in all aspects of the game.

If Ellis gets to be anywhere what Hodge is then I'll be very happy.

Hodge's value is underrated!

Go Hodge

Go Hawks!

Thats nothing along the lines of his comments... You just made this topic better though thank you.

It was pretty easy to understand tbf.

In the review of the melbourne game, many commentated on the fact that Xavier had been targeted and stood up well to the physical stuff.

He plays of half back and occasionally in the middle, and is clean with his hands and has a good footy brain.

I see many similar characteristics. Will never have the same build, but the way they look on the field and use the ball certainly has me excited.

they do walk and run the same :)

Wow.. shot down.

Well, I think they share similiar characteristics. Both have good footy heads, similiar skills, hard at the contest although Xav is a little lighter, Hodge played a lot of early games off half-back after both were drafted as midfielders, and both were touted as future leaders.

Pretty happy with Ellis this week. He looked to one of the player that stood up when the chips were down. Good signs he will only get better as he gets bigger and stronger

Yeah? Why?

Every time that Ellis gets the ball he looks as if he has as much time as he wants to do whatever he wants. He nearly never misses the target, can take a bump and when his number is up he can go in as hard as anyone. All this in the space of 22 games.

Quoting the AFL 2004 book, when Hodge was at 30 games. "A classy and versatile player who is starting to settle at this level after early injury problems. Missed early games with ankle and thumb concerns, but displayed the credentials of a No. 1 draft pick with some polished displays late in the season."

Sounds like Ellis, except that X hasn't been injured and is displaying those silky skills right now!

So, Love4Buddy, I'll raise you and call your bluff.

Great call Mojo_14 :thumbsu:

Call my bluff? What are you on about?

Ive been a massive wrap for Ellis all along, whilst other people who lack any sort of football knowledge have been whacking him for his early performances I have been one who has always thought Ellis is going to be a star, after watching him play a game at Box Hill early last year I thought he was all class and stated that he was the next Luke Power.. I just don't think he will ever be as good as Luke Hodge.. So not sure what your on about mate!

Call my bluff? What are you on about?

Ive been a massive wrap for Ellis all along, whilst other people who lack any sort of football knowledge have been whacking him for his early performances I have been one who has always thought Ellis is going to be a star, after watching him play a game at Box Hill early last year I thought he was all class and stated that he was the next Luke Power.. I just don't think he will ever be as good as Luke Hodge.. So not sure what your on about mate!

Just being funny.

So sit down, chill out, and try to relax.

Are you love4buddy and Main Man? The response was for love4buddy , as I quoted. Are you going around with two nicknames in the Hawthorn forum or just paranoid?

Hope so mate he is all class! love the way he's going about his footy at the moment & i see him as another great Midfielder! Has really stood up this year with his attack on the ball a high-light said it before still needs to hit the weights & then will be able to brake the tackles ala Sewell!

Just being funny.

So sit down, chill out, and try to relax.

Are you love4buddy and Main Man? The response was for love4buddy , as I quoted. Are you going around with two nicknames in the Hawthorn forum or just paranoid?

I'm Main Man, Love4 Buddy is my brothers profile, wasnt aware I was logged in under his name with my original post..

It was said prior to him being drafted that he was very similiar to Del Santo. I disagree with this - X is much harder at the ball than the down hill skier from St Kilda.

I liken X much more To Luke Power. Same type of build therefore once he adds a few more kg's -he should move into the midfield on a more permanent basis.

Like Hodge he is being eased into it unlike Luke Ball and Judd who were thrown in from day one.

Alot has been said re thta draft regarding Ball, Hodge and Judd but no-one can argue the fact that Hodge has been managed alot more carefully than his Ball and Judd who now begining to show a bit of wear and tear from playing in such a physical position. Well done to Scwabby on getting thsi aspect right - just wait till Hodge gets an injury free season, he will absolutely kill them !!!

Yeah nah. Let's not forget Bohdan's stop watch. :rolleyes:

Ellis to follow in Hodge's footsteps?