Autopsy Essendon v Hawthorn

Rope-a-dope?

No, wait, that would be too arrogant from the back to back Premiers.
I would've thought you'd play silly buggers or rest players near the end of the regular season not at the start.

Three seconds lost from clock after centre bounce recall in Hawthorn’s two-point loss to Essendon

ESSENDON was literally saved by the bell in its two-point win over Essendon on Sunday, when the siren sounded as Luke Breust ran into an open goal.

However, the result could have been different had the Hawthorn speedster been afforded an extra second to drop the ball onto his boot and kick the goal.

Inspection of the final quarter has revealed three seconds went missing from the broadcast clock midway through the final term.

When field umpire Dean Margetts bounced the ball to resume play after Breust put the Hawks one goal in front during the final term, there was 14 minutes and 15 seconds on the clock.

But when Margetts was forced to recall the ball after it sailed out of the centre circle, the clocked kept ticking and three seconds disappeared.

This time was not recovered through the remainder of the game, however it was at no fault of the umpires or the timekeepers.

Under rule 10.5.2, in bouncing the ball Margetts recommenced the clock and under rule 10.5.3 he stopped the clock by blowing his whistle and raising his arm in the air.

Under rule 11.3.6 the field umpire has the ability to recall the bounce and throw it up if in his opinion the ruckman could not fairly contest for the ball, but there’s no account for time lost during this process.

Rule 10.5.1 stipulates when timekeepers can stop the clock and there appears no provision for this scenario.

There’s no doubt the luck of the bounce was with Essendon.

Admittedly a little frustrating but it could've easily have benefited us if the shoe was on the other foot.

It's certainly something that should be looked at (the rules - not this particular instance). Even well before this game I've thought it makes more sense that the clock doesn't start until the ball is touched by the players. Same goes for throw-ins.

You do realise that we have just won back to back flags without Frawley in the team yeah?

We lost for 3 reasons:
1. Essendon applied a lot of pressure to us from the opening bounce and instead of trying to match it we tried to absorb it and ride the match out. When we did respond with pressure of our own in the 3rd qtr we owned them.
2. We got complacent at the end when we were 16pts up and looked like the game was won. Credit to Essendon they surged again and we ran out of time to respond.
3. Luck and umpiring played a small role. The fact remains Bruest was running into an open goal when the siren sounded. Had the umpire saved a few seconds at various stoppages during the game we would all be having a chuckle right now how we crushed Essendon's dreams.

The good news is that this is not a personnel problem. It's about learning when to try to contain team and when to shift into a higher gear and match their intensity. Had that have been Sydney or Freo (or Geelong as we saw last week) we would never have been as flat footed as we were. In this sense I think we disrespected the opposition but I highly doubt we will make that same mistake again next time we meet.
The first half is one of those mysteries but I don't think we disrespected the opposition ( not their playing ability anyway ). They came out firing against the Swans and we would have expected them to come out firing again.

Dunno if it's been mentioned...

Apparently after we took the lead halfway through the last via a Breust goal, the umpires bounce at the centre was pretty bad and recalled for a second bounce. So what? Time continued to tick between the bounce and the whistle to recall, causing 3 or 4 seconds of game time to evaporate.

Just saying....

Does not excuse our team playing pocket billiards for 3 quarters though.

edit: yep it's been posted while I was typing...

Three seconds lost from clock after centre bounce recall in Hawthorn’s two-point loss to Essendon

ESSENDON was literally saved by the bell in its two-point win over Essendon on Sunday, when the siren sounded as Luke Breust ran into an open goal.

However, the result could have been different had the Hawthorn speedster been afforded an extra second to drop the ball onto his boot and kick the goal.

Inspection of the final quarter has revealed three seconds went missing from the broadcast clock midway through the final term.

When field umpire Dean Margetts bounced the ball to resume play after Breust put the Hawks one goal in front during the final term, there was 14 minutes and 15 seconds on the clock.

But when Margetts was forced to recall the ball after it sailed out of the centre circle, the clocked kept ticking and three seconds disappeared.

This time was not recovered through the remainder of the game, however it was at no fault of the umpires or the timekeepers.

Under rule 10.5.2, in bouncing the ball Margetts recommenced the clock and under rule 10.5.3 he stopped the clock by blowing his whistle and raising his arm in the air.

Under rule 11.3.6 the field umpire has the ability to recall the bounce and throw it up if in his opinion the ruckman could not fairly contest for the ball, but there’s no account for time lost during this process.

Rule 10.5.1 stipulates when timekeepers can stop the clock and there appears no provision for this scenario.

Sums up our day really.

Lets be frank.

Your understanding of the investigation was poor. Everytime you posted about it you were pulled apart for the little knowledge that you had.

That you still think there was no evidence highlights this fact.

Make no mistake, the outcome that "we will never know what the players were given" is the only stupid part of this investigation, and yet you've swallowed it whole.
Have you re-read what you just said. I never ever said any one was guilty or innocent . I said no one had come forward with absolute proof , and no one had one iota of hope of ever retrieving the truth, because the whole thing was botched. Whether there is a truth or a lie it can't be proved. Now the tribunal were about to hammer down on 34 players but found they had no evidence strong enough to do any thing against those 34 people.

In our society under fair rules and the law , that is what happens, when you cannot prove a point. Whether you suspect guilt or not , you cannot condemn and you cannot accuse others of guilt. OR DEFAME!!!!!

If you are so sure why not take the chance and call out any one of those individuals as cheats and demand they be banned because they took performance enhancing drugs , then you Echols can take the chance of being sued and perhaps you can prove the guilt of 1 or 34, I don't know, this is a hypothetical thing now. You won't do it because of what I have just said. BECAUSE YOU CAN'T. But someone might sue you , yep that can happen.

ASADA have a form of investigation where even without pure evidence they proceed with the you are assumed guilty prove your not.

If you take that to umpteenth degree, the accused may as well just be punished. Forget Essendon or football this is just common sense.

You now have just said to me my understanding of the whole case was poor. No my understanding of the case was absolutely on the spot, you see without having a go at you , all along through nearly two years no one would or could come out and tell the truth.
And as you just said it will never be known what was taken or what wasn't . But young fellow , if you can't get evidence because of people protecting themselves or lying or "maybe " telling the truth, with no one believing them, well you lose and ASADA and unprofessional AFL officials couldn't get strong evidence , whether it was true or false.

Now for the life of me what do you have against me and my opinion , I have not bragged about the result here ever , just stated what I always state.
you need proof. If you cannot see or understand that, and you may still be mad you didn't get your "hanging " my smart alec way I know of putting it.

Well I'm at wits end , once again you can't go offending or accusing people of being cheats you might get into trouble , and you are supposed to be an overseer , or one of the overseer moderators, but instead you jump on board against me for nothing but pointing out what I said may happen.

On this site too many of you are invisible and you say what you like , remember , defaming is against the law.

You should think before you throw some nasty comments at me . Or don't moderate , because you don't seem to know the depths of your so called responsibility. Actually I have to say I worry about what age you are, if your over 21 you should know better. For goodness sake mate.

Here you are again doing what I thought you and other moderators were supposed to keep an eye on.

They performance enhanced the clock

Anyone who still bags Rioli (and there are many of them out there) would do well to watch yesterday's game. I thought he was sensational.

Anyway, bad luck. Won't lie, I enjoyed that immensely, we haven't beaten you in a while so it's a nice change. But to come back into it as you did after looking pretty ordinary in the first half was no mean feat, either.

See you in Round 13.

Anyone who still bags Rioli (and there are many of them out there) would do well to watch yesterday's game. I thought he was sensational.

Anyway, bad luck. Won't lie, I enjoyed that immensely, we haven't beaten you in a while so it's a nice change. But to come back into it as you did after looking pretty ordinary in the first half was no mean feat, either.

See you in Round 13.

Yep - see you in round 13.

upload_2015-4-13_15-18-39.jpeg

Pretty sure just about everyone else we maybe should have picked as replacements for Mitch played for Box Hill on Saturday, and I don't think that was the game to bring Swiss back in.

As much as I hate watching us lose and play bad footy I'm not sure winning would have been much better, sure we would have the 4pts and at the end of the year we could look back at this game as the reason we miss top 2 (though one game is never the story) but I think if we had someone got away with that the pumping of the tires would have continued way more. Let the media talk about the bombers and swans and freo, let the Hawks get back to business.

I don't see the benefit of calling out kids that have played less than 50 games when we had plenty of other passengers for periods yesterday. From watching the game live all I can see is we were off the pace all day, second to the ball, not running hard both ways and disorganized and fumbly, whether that was a hangover from Geelong, pressure from Essendon, cockiness, half the team having a cold during the week or a combination of I don't know.

I was at the Richmond game in 2013 where we served up this same sort of game and the year turned out alright so I'm hoping Clarko and the boys can right the ship and go hunt the Doggies in Tassie this week.

I loved Poppy and Cyrils efforts this week, Poppy has no fear and certainly gives his all - 9 tackles, Sizzle is really starting to look fit and watching him in traffic or when the ball is in dispute is just amazing. Langers and Punky had down days but at least they did still tackle, same with Jed.

Smith ran his guts out all game just didn't have a great impact but our ball carriers didn't seem to be able to find a player in space all game we were very static.

See you in Round 13.

Any opposition supporter who mentions Cyril without the adjective "overrated" can't be all bad.
So, thanks for the contribution.

And, yes, it was wonderful to see a few sizzling runs and magic from the great one!

Have you re-read what you just said. I never ever said any one was guilty or innocent . I said no one had come forward with absolute proof , and no one had one iota of hope of ever retrieving the truth, because the whole thing was botched. Whether there is a truth or a lie it can't be proved. Now the tribunal were about to hammer down on 34 players but found they had no evidence strong enough to do any thing against those 34 people.

In our society under fair rules and the law , that is what happens, when you cannot prove a point. Whether you suspect guilt or not , you cannot condemn and you cannot accuse others of guilt. OR DEFAME!!!!!

If you are so sure why not take the chance and call out any one of those individuals as cheats and demand they be banned because they took performance enhancing drugs , then you Echols can take the chance of being sued and perhaps you can prove the guilt of 1 or 34, I don't know, this is a hypothetical thing now. You won't do it because of what I have just said. BECAUSE YOU CAN'T. But someone might sue you , yep that can happen.

ASADA have a form of investigation where even without pure evidence they proceed with the you are assumed guilty prove your not.

If you take that to umpteenth degree, the accused may as well just be punished. Forget Essendon or football this is just common sense.

You now have just said to me my understanding of the whole case was poor. No my understanding of the case was absolutely on the spot, you see without having a go at you , all along through nearly two years no one would or could come out and tell the truth.
And as you just said it will never be known what was taken or what wasn't . But young fellow , if you can't get evidence because of people protecting themselves or lying or "maybe " telling the truth, with no one believing them, well you lose and ASADA and unprofessional AFL officials couldn't get strong evidence , whether it was true or false.

Now for the life of me what do you have against me and my opinion , I have not bragged about the result here ever , just stated what I always state.
you need proof. If you cannot see or understand that, and you may still be mad you didn't get your "hanging " my smart alec way I know of putting it.

Well I'm at wits end , once again you can't go offending or accusing people of being cheats you might get into trouble , and you are supposed to be an overseer , or one of the overseer moderators, but instead you jump on board against me for nothing but pointing out what I said may happen.

On this site too many of you are invisible and you say what you like , remember , defaming is against the law.

You should think before you throw some nasty comments at me . Or don't moderate , because you don't seem to know the depths of your so called responsibility. Actually I have to say I worry about what age you are, if your over 21 you should know better. For goodness sake mate.

Here you are again doing what I thought you and other moderators were supposed to keep an eye on.
I've read your long-winded ramblings too many times.

Like I have said on the HTB, your understanding of the investigation was poor, and you've just run with "no one knows anything" for 2 years, despite numerous attempts by others to get you to comprehend what you were reading and what was being discussed.

ESSENDON was literally saved by the bell in its two-point win over Essendon on Sunday, when the siren sounded as Luke Breust

So this is the latest equalisation measure :thumbsdown:

As I stated in another thread, all 6 teams that played on the MCG in round 1 , for some reason all lost their games in round 2.

You do realise that we have just won back to back flags without Frawley in the team yeah?

We lost for 3 reasons:
1. Essendon applied a lot of pressure to us from the opening bounce and instead of trying to match it we tried to absorb it and ride the match out. When we did respond with pressure of our own in the 3rd qtr we owned them.
2. We got complacent at the end when we were 16pts up and looked like the game was won. Credit to Essendon they surged again and we ran out of time to respond.
3. Luck and umpiring played a small role. The fact remains Bruest was running into an open goal when the siren sounded. Had the umpire saved a few seconds at various stoppages during the game we would all be having a chuckle right now how we crushed Essendon's dreams.

The good news is that this is not a personnel problem. It's about learning when to try to contain team and when to shift into a higher gear and match their intensity. Had that have been Sydney or Freo (or Geelong as we saw last week) we would never have been as flat footed as we were. In this sense I think we disrespected the opposition but I highly doubt we will make that same mistake again next time we meet.

You do realize that we lost Frawley during the game which made us one player short if nothing else. I stand by my comments. I could not care less if you stand by yours.

As much as I hate watching us lose and play bad footy I'm not sure winning would have been much better, sure we would have the 4pts and at the end of the year we could look back at this game as the reason we miss top 2 (though one game is never the story)
I said the same about the Norf game last year.

We will just have to beat them this year :)

I'm sure a commentator said the mcg turf was hard... Just saying
I felt the ground just inside the boundary post game. Felt very hard to me for a grass surface but then I've only been on the MCG a couple times previously many years ago so it's not like I had a way to compare it. The players would be the best judges of that. Any in the AFL said anything about it?

By the way, any non Hawthorn people wish to gloat and troll this board they will be dealt with maximum prejudice. First and last warning.
---------------------
No gloating here buddy...just teeth gnashing cos now the bubble has burst the Hawks are gonna be even more mean and nasty....and I meant that in a good way....

Autopsy Essendon v Hawthorn