Coach Fages and the coaching group

Yeah, I figure our medical department are on the big bucks which is well deserving but I am still baffled why we can't afford Dew and did some cutbacks in coaching this offseason
It is odd. Pies coaching panel would have a few who are on the big bucks yet we got no namers who would dream of the compensation that a Leppa type would demand. We are either paying more than we should or we just can’t afford it. I think it’s more A than B as a 300-400k senior assistant equivalent salary is really not a huge lot for an AFL club. You would think AFL clubs would try to limit cost. Ur ting in the senior coaching ranks…. It’s just death by a thousands cuts if so.

You'd think lachie Neale would've asked Stuart Giles on their recent trip to the usa to throw some cash at the club. Im sure his family office could have diversified into Alternative investments in his asset allocation.... alternative being Stuart dew.

Reckon we should sack our entire coaching group and replace them with Lance Franklin, Gary Ablett Jr, Judd, Rance, Josh Kennedy and Josh Kennedy. Big names make the best coaches.

Prestigiacomo, Hoskin-Elliot, McDonald-Tipungwuti & Roberts-Thomson are bigger names we should hire them too.

Nah

Replace them with Mr Ripper, Specialbruce and Maverick
My dream team would be 3KZ is Football SizeMatters martinson Grasshopper17 - the most knowledgeable footy brains on here with Quigley and briztoon our expert recruiters and list management.

Mr Ripper would be the ground MC; before, during and after games would be a pleasurable experience on game day instead of the garbage we’re served up with by those incumbent imbeciles.

I’d be happy to hold the sign up with how long is left in quarters.

My dream team would be 3KZ is Football SizeMatters martinson Grasshopper17 - the most knowledgeable footy brains on here with Quigley and briztoon our expert recruiters and list management.

Mr Ripper would be the ground MC; before, during and after games would be a pleasurable experience on game day instead of the garbage we’re served up with by those incumbent imbeciles.

I’d be happy to hold the sign up with how long is left in quarters.
Only if I also get to pick the choons!

It is odd. Pies coaching panel would have a few who are on the big bucks yet we got no namers who would dream of the compensation that a Leppa type would demand. We are either paying more than we should or we just can’t afford it. I think it’s more A than B as a 300-400k senior assistant equivalent salary is really not a huge lot for an AFL club. You would think AFL clubs would try to limit cost. Ur ting in the senior coaching ranks…. It’s just death by a thousands cuts if so.
I would say it is more likely that we are staying within the Football department cap unlike Collingwood who are prepared to pay money outside the cap and just pay the fines associated with being over.
Because they can!

I would say it is more likely that we are staying within the Football department cap unlike Collingwood who are prepared to pay money outside the cap and just pay the fines associated with being over.
Because they can!
Player salaries are paid by the AFL
Is soft cap money funded by the AFL or by the Club...if it is the latter, we may well be operating below the soft cap maximum and more affluent clubs like Collingwood are paying the full cap that we cannot afford.

Player salaries are paid by the AFL
Is soft cap money funded by the AFL or by the Club...if it is the latter, we may well be operating below the soft cap maximum and more affluent clubs like Collingwood are paying the full cap that we cannot afford.
The "penalty" for going over the soft cap is you pay a fine commensurate with how much you go over. That's why it's "soft". We could be at the soft cap (and probably are to be honest, it's not that high for the running of a football club) but clubs like Collingwood and West Coast can choose to blow past it and just pay the fine.

Who pays the soft cap expenditures - the AFL or the Club?

The club.

BTW I believe your comment about players salaries being paid by the AFL is incorrect. The clubs pay the salaries, but the AFL's disbursement to each club covered the salary cap until recently - looking at the most recent figures, the cap is about $13m but the AFL only gives out $10-11m to several clubs.

Rookie salaries are counted under the soft cap, not under the TPP.

If you run with a full rookie list, you are pushing two players payments from the senior list (TPP) to under the soft cap.

That’s $85k per player, so $170k. That’s an assistant coach, or a couple membership employees, etc.

Would be interesting to know whether we are maxing out our soft cap expenditures or running unders. My guess is that a club like Collingwood would be spending the maximum allowable.

I think all teams would be at least at the soft cap - that's what the AFL intended when setting it at any rate.

It would also explain why people looking at other clubs found most had a similar number of staffers as we did, to their surprise. Collingwood is the exception.

Rookie salaries are counted under the soft cap, not under the TPP.

If you run with a full rookie list, you are pushing two players payments from the senior list (TPP) to under the soft cap.

That’s $85k per player, so $170k. That’s an assistant coach, or a couple membership employees, etc.
My interpretation is only the amounts outside the base payments go to football department soft cap.
EDIT: As briztoon pointed out i have it the wrong way around.
So, players like Brain & Michael won't have anything going to the soft cap.
However, McKenna would have been a different story in 2023.
I assume he might stay again as a rookie in 2024. Rookie list closes today so will know that by tomorrow.
So, each year it is a balancing act for the club to retain players and coaches/other staff under both caps.

Below from the AFL rules (Feb 2023) and then the base salary scale for rookies under the new CBA.

10.12 Payments to Rookie Players Outside Total Player Payments
(a)
Category A Rookies Any amount paid by a Club to a Player listed on its Category A Rookie List in excess of the base payment payable to a first year 41+ choice selection shall be included as Football Payments for the purposes of calculating the Club’s Total Player Payments.
(b)
Category B Rookies Subject to Rule 11, all payments made by a Club to a Player listed on its Rookie List are excluded as Football Payments for the purposes of calculating a Club’s Total Player Payments.

1698715036654.png
1698715870242.png

The club.

BTW I believe your comment about players salaries being paid by the AFL is incorrect. The clubs pay the salaries, but the AFL's disbursement to each club covered the salary cap until recently - looking at the most recent figures, the cap is about $13m but the AFL only gives out $10-11m to several clubs.
That is correct.
A link below from an article dated Feb 2023 for anyone interested.
Article also lists:
AFL’s 2023 distribution of variable funding, which sees clubs given money based on their financial need in an attempt to balance out the competition.
One paragraph from the article. It mentions "all of them" so that is in relation to the clubs mentioned being Essendon, Carlton, Adelaide, Freemantle & Geelong.

Essendon ($11-11.5 million) is the fifth least-funded club for 2023 with less than $1 million above the base distribution while Carlton, Adelaide, Fremantle and premiers Geelong ($11.5-12.5 million) will earn an extra million or so.

This means in total, around half of the competition will receive little to no extra funding. All of them will receive less than the annual salary cap figure.

At present i am having trouble finding the penalties under the soft cap via AFL "Rules" and the AFL "Regulations".
Lots of referring to things like "sanction 40 units" and referring to a "FDE Manual" which i can't find.

Recently Tom Browne (X) refers to a 200% luxury tax in relation to sacking Simpson and the penalty would be $7 million.
I found this video that was released in 2021 that explains the "soft cap" quite well.
The image below taken from the video is what they say will be the new AFL penalties in the future. So, after 2021.

This falls into line with the Tom Browne mention of a 200% tax at the higher end.

1698719977226.png

Coach Fages and the coaching group