Coach Fages and the coaching group

They had only 2 on the bench you expect us to play better..
It not just a one off when another team gets a run on and beats our plan.
We just keep playing the same plan.

Except it clearly wasn't the same gameplan. We were taking a lot more risks and moving the ball on a lot more quickly

I agree, but its a very hard, ruthless decision that I doubt the club can make.

They know miles more about footy than me obviously, but given the personal relationships and what Fages has done for us, its a bold CEO/board that pulls the trigger.

Frankly, the only chance of change is probably Fages deciding to do it himself, and that probably requires us missing the 8 at minimum?
It would certainly take some balls from the board to make that call mate.

You’re probably right though it may simply be a decision that Fages would have to make himself for a change to be made. I reckon even if we made the 8 but got knocked out pretty cheaply he’d consider whether he’s got all he can out of the group.

Don't we have a smaller and cheaper coaching staff this year. We looked to save some money if I recall correctly.
Well yeah Stone & Adcock left and we brought in… no one? Dale Morris replaced Adcock as line coach but he was already on board in a development role. Suppose we replaced Morris with Daniel Lloyd in that development position. But overall technically 1 less coach from last years structure.

Yes that's right. I do remember blowing up at the time. Posting other teams coaching line ups v ours. Did some research as well and found our structure looked similar to all the northern teams. Big VIC clubs miles ahead in that regard.

Would like Murray Davis gone and replaced, although given his wife’s connection it’ll seem unlikely to happen.

We have really weak assistant coaches compared to the rest of the league.

Fagan has constantly said throughout his time at the club that if he thinks he is not the right fit for the club any longer he will walk away, IMO Fagan is an honourable man and would follow through with that if he thought it was for the betterment of the club.

FWIW I want him to stay, at the very least to the end of this season.

Yeah, certainly not calling for fages tO bE sACKeD n0W, its an end of the season conversation.

Also not saying Fagan should go he is a good people manager
He just gets out coached by tactical coaches often.
We needed to bring someone in to help.
Nope we got rid of a coach to save money

I’m of the same view particularly after hearing him in the off season. I just how his word is good because we need it to and there is no shame in anything he’s ever done for the club if he steps aside.

Nailing the next appointment will be the hard part.

Yeah Fagan will walk before he is pushed and I think he walks if we go crappy in the finals or don’t make them

GWS (and carlton) had 1 week more pre-season than us. Don't think its really a factor.
You are right , we are talking about professional well paid players here. There are no excuses. One week is no difference. Not in the 1st game when you are up by a mile and then loose. In my opinion there seems to be a lazy relaxed attitude. At some time they must be held accountable for their performances and it appears Fagan, rather than dropping players seems to me , is prepared to turn a blind eye and i am referring to Oscar and Berry and there are of course others. There needs to be some pride and at the moment there appears ,for some players , no pride at all or accountability.

Also not saying Fagan should go he is a good people manager
He just gets out coached by tactical coaches often.
We needed to bring someone in to help.
Nope we got rid of a coach to save money

I have been of the opinion that we need the same setup we had at Hawthorn. Fagan needs to play the role he played there, here and we need a coach with a tactical brain and toughness.

Even if Fagan goes as coach, doesn’t mean he isn’t useful elsewhere.

Where is Nobel?

I have been of the opinion that we need the same setup we had at Hawthorn. Fagan needs to play the role he played there, here and we need a coach with a tactical brain and toughness.

Even if Fagan goes as coach, doesn’t mean he isn’t useful elsewhere.

Where is Nobel?
When Fagan put his arm around Cam in tears after he attempted a silly around the body to win the game in his second year I thought to myself Barassi wouldn't have spoken to him for a week.

Just had a thought... maybe we are just not good enough and we have over achieved with the list we have, and massively over achieved in 2023 with nearly pulling off a miracle Premiership.

Maybe Fagan has done better with the list at his disposal than any other coach would have.

Certainly seems like it with the amount of anguish re the standard of a lot of our players on here... me included.

Just had a thought... maybe we are just not good enough and we have over achieved with the list we have, and massively over achieved in 2023 with nearly pulling off a miracle Premiership.

Maybe Fagan has done better with the list at his disposal than any other coach would have.

Certainly seems like it with the amount of anguish re the standard of a lot of our players on here... me included.
In the back of my mind I've always had the same niggling feeling.

And players we presumed were going to be guns are to date just average-good players.

We still should have pinched it last year. So many down on the day. But maybe that was the best they could do.

Lionsmaw- i was not able to reply. Your question who would i replace oscar with. I don’t think the lions have a talented ruck division. I am disappointed (the lions being in the premiership window did not go for Grundy). I would have traded oscar.

Also i am very upset we let Mcstay go. He would have been my preferred option. So i would say currently as a stop gap. Fort and if he does not perform the options are very limited next to none. Probably bring in Ryan who has played senior footy for hawthorn and rotate between Joe and Ryan.

Lionsmaw- i was not able to reply. Your question who would i replace oscar with. I don’t think the lions have a talented ruck division. I am disappointed (the lions being in the premiership window did not go for Grundy). I would have traded oscar.

Also i am very upset we let Mcstay go. He would have been my preferred option. So i would say currently as a stop gap. Fort and if he does not perform the options are very limited next to none. Probably bring in Ryan who has played senior footy for hawthorn and rotate between Joe and Ryan.
mcstay in the ruck would be madness

QUOTE— And I do not know , if you watch Lions games but heres my response to your statement,(by the way I watched that game and every Lions game )and McStay in the ruck was SIMPLY OUTSTANDING, that night in the ruck.There’s my answer to your statement.!!!! He was BRILLIANT, pity we did not keep him.

Quote from a newspaper.
Dan McStay produced one of his best games in Brisbane Lions colours in Thursday night’s Elimination Final win in a performance that will have Collingwood fans salivating.

McStay has long been touted as a trade target for Collingwood and has reportedly settled on terms to join the Magpies from 2023 as an unrestricted free agent.

He’s understood to join the Victorian club on a five-year deal worth up to $600,000 per season to add depth to Collingwood’s tall forward stocks.

That’s despite numerous question marks over the deal, with Kane Cornes, Garry Lyon and others suggesting the deal was ‘overs’ in recent months.

But the 27-year-old was superb in Brisbane’s two-point win over Richmond with 23 touches, six tackles, five marks, 10 hitouts and a goal after ruckman Oscar McInerney went down early in a showing that impressed David King.

“I don’t know if I’d be rushing a ruckman in. They got the most out of Dan McStay that I've seen for a long, long time,” the former Kangaroo told SEN’s Whateley.

“He had 23 disposals which is a personal best. The guy has played 160 games of footy and he has a PB after being thrown in the ruck when big Oscar went down.”

Coach Fages and the coaching group

Write your reply...