Coach Fages and the coaching group

The shots they showed of poor coaching were us committing horrendous turnovers for the most part.

Like Rayner winning the ball at half forward, hand balling backwards into the centre square to 4 giants half forwards - of course that presents a problem?

I don’t get how we have the best list but they are also all flaky who can’t be trusted. Because that’s the consensus view I see from the media.

The previews and coverage have been kinda unbelievable. This is a cats team that lost to St Kilda about a month ago to lose second spot, not the 2022 team which was all conquering. They faced an easier schedule, and took advantage of it.

I think the cats are the favourites definitely, and a large part of that is coaching, but the media chat this week has been very very weird.
The only way to fix this is to win. Or stop caring about it. One of the two. Ideally both.

This other load of BS he sprouts ,don't get beaten by what you know.

I can guarantee every club knows just about everything about any opposition team they face. They'd analyse it minutely.

So if you get beaten it's a living certainty you're going to get beaten by something you know.

Every team has a plan. Implementing it , having the cattle to do it , and what the opposition do are are the issues.

I just had a chance to what it. Ahhhhhhhh he is so so dumb. He was brained by robbo, ROBBO!

He's so conflicted in whatever agenda he has against Fages he's stopped making sense when challenged. He was incoherent.

I love Fages, and do not want to lose him. But we have to admit that tactically, we were completely out coached last night. We desperately need some tactical nouse in the coaching box.
We have no plan B. I hope Dew stays around and we can work out a few alternatives in the off season.

But for now… onwards and upwards! Life is good 😊

Nailed it - listen from about 45 minutes in for the analysis which has sort of been my criticism all year / for several years

I can’t listen to RoCo - his take has always been ‘gee, I just don’t know about Brisbane’ without anything more offered ever. Rocket at least offers some analysis.

I listened to this weeks and him and rocket were joking about hippy being rested from Tuesdays training as he was ‘unsighted in the game.’ Wouldn’t take more than 2 seconds to google the injury list from a few weeks ago to work out that Eric might be battling through a pretty significant injury!

Anyway here’s the most insightful thing RoCo has ever said:

I can’t listen to RoCo - his take has always been ‘gee, I just don’t know about Brisbane’ without anything more offered ever. Rocket at least offers some analysis.

I listened to this weeks and him and rocket were joking about hippy being rested from Tuesdays training as he was ‘unsighted in the game.’ Wouldn’t take more than 2 seconds to google the injury list from a few weeks ago to work out that Eric might be battling through a pretty significant injury!

Anyway here’s the most insightful thing RoCo has ever said:

I'll pay his comeback there lol :D

As for Kingy....yeah, well, whatever.....he's a footy analysis expert who has his own axe to grind at times.

I watched it and felt he gave an underwhelming assessment for whatever reason.

Ultimately, I'll stick fat with Fages, who said during the week (?) that we've won more games than anyone over the past 6 years, so we must do some things right - balance that against Kingy's "you can coach poorly and win" and you end up with a rather incongruous conclusion.

In finals, tactics, skills, execution all play a part and those can be coached and trained. What can't be coached in a week or over a season is the mental aspect, often defined by terms like grit, belief, will to win etc. And Robbo on Monday night opined that Fages might be the master of that aspect of coaching.

When you consider who Kingy played under in his premiership years, it is perhaps reasonable to conclude he doesn't have a capacity to rate or even acknowledge that aspect of footy.

Those football shows are usually scripted, so it was interesting to see Robbo get Kingy so riled up. Normally this would be to create controversy and lead to associated clicks, but this time I think King really lost his composure when he was spruiking a narrative that didn't hold up.

So Kingsley coached a team that was run over after having a big lead in week 1 of the finals and then was run over again the next week after having an even bigger lead. And King said he gave a masterclass in coaching! The man is delusional, trying to justify his prejudices by twisting the facts to suit his agenda. And then he turns his aggression on anyone who questions his stupidity. He failed as an assistant coach but makes a good living out of spouting meaningless stats and trying to sound like a tactical genius. Embarrassing to think he is looked upon as an expert.

I don’t think we get enough analysis on the lions which makes people think we don’t have tactics lol.

I mean our options down back at the moment are limited by the fact we have 3 best 23 backs injured. And Harris clearly impacts more for us when he’s not locking down a forward. That is Payne’s job and I back him in as fages clearly does. So kingy choosing that hill to die on is a bit typical of the lazy uneducated analysis you come to expect. I mean joe kicked 4.1 on the best defender in the game. The Coleman medalist kicked 5.1 lol. I’d say that’s about even considering Harris was freed up.

We obviously made a number of other moves around the ground on Saturday it’s just they don’t get spoken about.

Eg…Joe kept Taylor away from the contest which limited Taylor’s ability to impact. When we were doing that the commentators were critical of why Joe was playing so deep. Seemed to work out…and won us the game when Kai kicked it in to a genuine 1 on 1.

So Kingsley coached a team that was run over after having a big lead in week 1 of the finals and then was run over again the next week after having an even bigger lead. And King said he gave a masterclass in coaching! The man is delusional, trying to justify his prejudices by twisting the facts to suit his agenda. And then he turns his aggression on anyone who questions his stupidity. He failed as an assistant coach but makes a good living out of spouting meaningless stats and trying to sound like a tactical genius. Embarrassing to think he is looked upon as an expert.

I think Kingsley is a good coach. But to say it was a coaching masterclass when he let us win from 44 points down midway through the third and after giving up a big lead to Sydney the week before…all the while saying fages is a spud…it’s incoherent.

He has a genuine agenda against fages.

I don’t think we get enough analysis on the lions which makes people think we don’t have tactics lol.

I mean our options down back at the moment are limited by the fact we have 3 best 23 backs injured. And Harris clearly impacts more for us when he’s not locking down a forward. That is Payne’s job and I back him in as fages clearly does. So kingy choosing that hill to die on is a bit typical of the lazy uneducated analysis you come to expect. I mean joe kicked 4.1 on the best defender in the game. The Coleman medalist kicked 5.1 lol. I’d say that’s about even considering Harris was freed up.

We obviously made a number of other moves around the ground on Saturday it’s just they don’t get spoken about.

Eg…Joe kept Taylor away from the contest which limited Taylor’s ability to impact. When we were doing that the commentators were critical of why Joe was playing so deep. Seemed to work out…and won us the game when Kai kicked it in to a genuine 1 on 1.
There was literal recent evidence showing that trying to play Harris on Hogan was a waste of time from just a month ago.

I think Kingsley is a good coach. But to say it was a coaching masterclass when he let us win from 44 points down midway through the third and after giving up a big lead to Sydney the week before…all the while saying fages is a spud…it’s incoherent.

He has a genuine agenda against fages.

I think the half time criticism was pretty fair in some respects even if I didn’t agree with it. It’s the continuing critique after the match turned that has been ridiculous.

Pretty fair to say that Fages probably isn’t the most tactically astute coach. But they treat him like a make-a-wish kid who just gives motivational speeches sometimes.

I think the half time criticism was pretty fair in some respects even if I didn’t agree with it. It’s the continuing critique after the match turned that has been ridiculous.

Pretty fair to say that Fages probably isn’t the most tactically astute coach. But they treat him like a make-a-wish kid who just gives motivational speeches sometimes.

Agree. think first half was also partly down to basement performance levels on our end and how well gws were playing on the other. We had multiple of our A graders not playing well. Funnily enough it was our role players who were probably doing best.

One thing that is pretty obvious after all this is that Fages & Robbo must've made up after Fages was clearly avoiding the show earlier in the year. No way would Robbo have gone into bat for him like that if they were still not on speaking terms.

Very heavy Victorian bias in this and it didn't sound like either had really watched the lions play prior to finals. Mentions a lot of Cats players but doesn't talk through any of the lions players. David King may as well have joined in to help with the pre game analysis.
Referring to Zorko as wanting to "stat up" when he's sets up most of our attacking plays and managed to "stat up" enough to get in the All Australian team.
Talk of the lions not putting it together for 4 quarters is a pretty broad comment that applies to Sydney and Geelong over the 2nd half of the season.
Referencing the MCG record of the lions. The record really isn't relevant to the team that's playing this weekend. Over the past 2 years it's 1 win, 4 losses in our 5 games and 2 losses by a point, one by 4 and the biggest "blowout" was 25 points to the Hawks. We've had 423 points for, 432 against in that time.

Full segment with that flog King.

Per that video I posted yesterday with Lloyd and Clarkson, it’s one if the few times that Lloyd didn’t have weak people around him to support his axe against Brisbane and he literally had nowhere to go and was like a deer in the headlights when Clarkson refused to go along with Chris Scott is a masterful coach and Fages has no idea, similar when he was trying to bag Brisbane and again Clarkson was having none of it and backed us.

What a flog. If you swap the teams with last week's result he would have been fagan's coaching lost that.

Please please win this week.

If we win this week unfortunately they'll probably jump on our bandwagon.

Some of the criticisms of our tactics are fair enough . Good coaches who never quite managed to win flags have always copped heaps for poor tactics. Bob Rose , Wallace, Thomas, Eade , Lyon ,Buckley , the list goes on and on.

The high majority of media footy analysis is just overreaction to who's hot and who's not which is basically the fans of the former wanting to hear how good they are and the fans/haters of the latter wanting to know more about how crap they are.

If we win this week unfortunately they'll probably jump on our bandwagon.

Some of the criticisms of our tactics are fair enough . Good coaches who never quite managed to win flags have always copped heaps for poor tactics. Bob Rose , Wallace, Thomas, Eade , Lyon ,Buckley , the list goes on and on.

The high majority of media footy analysis is just overreaction to who's hot and who's not which is basically the fans of the former wanting to hear how good they are and the fans/haters of the latter wanting to know more about how crap they are.

Nah, if Sydney gets through it'll be minor premiers bandwagon that'll look attractive for them.

Kingy will be like - Longmire master coach, Heeney/Gulden/Warner awesome threesome, Grundy premiership ruck... aaarghh my head's going to explode !!

Coach Fages and the coaching group

Write your reply...