Fast Food

Depends what counts as 'fast food.' I'll buy my lunch every day at work - usually japanese, turkish toastie, some asian food, a bahn mi roll from the local vietnamese place. Nights I'll cook 2-3 times a week, eat out the rest of the week although generally not your stock standard fast food of maccas etc - grilld, japanese, zambreros are my staples.

Check out Dunkin Donuts new offering in the States. It's a breakfast sandwich in a glazed donut :eek:

I immediately thought of Elvis.

Absolutely. Very cheap too. British Columbia down to California is kind of a food bowl. Australia has more of an obesity problem I believe.
Ok. So lets say I was going to visit the US, it would be possible for me to maintain a healthy diet?

McDonalds doesnt count surely - foulest s*it in existance. My dog chews plastic with more nutritional value. If you are over 18 and eat this s*it then grow up

Gonna go and get a Quarter Pounder meal for lunch now, just for you.

I try to avoid fast food.

I had Red Rooster the other day and it was horrid.

Seems like the less you eat it the less tolerant of it you are. You get more sensitive to all the flavour enhancers and preservatives.

Hm well I manage a restaurant, so it's hard when you work from 12-1pm until 10pm or later not to just grab take-away, but I still manage to keep it to a minimum. Only McDonald's or so maybe once a fortnight if not less, and that's usually because I want a frappe and might get a chicken burger or something as well. Never really liked fast-food burgers, which means I'm never tempted by a Big Mac, Whopper or whatever people normally feel the need to purchase.
I'm pretty good at going to gym after work and supermarket on the way home, cooking a steak and vegetables or something before I sit down properly. I can get someone at work to make me something reasonably healthy to take home anyway, which I probably do a couple of times a week.
You just feel so much better when you aren't eating sh*t very often, plus no point flogging yourself at gym if you aren't going to put the right fuel in your body to recover.

I try to avoid fast food.

I had Red Rooster the other day and it was horrid.

Seems like the less you eat it the less tolerant of it you are. You get more sensitive to all the flavour enhancers and preservatives.
I reckon Red Rooster does the best burgers, rarely have it though, so maybe get more of an appreciation for it that way...

On the thread topic, I'm the typical Subway once a week for lunch/late dinner, and maybe something on the weekend (especially during footy season).

Ok. So lets say I was going to visit the US, it would be possible for me to maintain a healthy diet?

Yes it is possible but you need a base where you can do your own cooking. The supermarkets in NYC leave our supermarkets for dead. They're awesome.

edit: and you would actually need to do your own cooking. They put high fructose corn syrup in everything and you'll soon feel sick (i did)

Absolutely. Very cheap too. British Columbia down to California is kind of a food bowl. Australia has more of an obesity problem I believe.

When I was in the US, I found fresh food more expensive and processed/fast food cheaper (relatively speaking) than in Australia. Canada was a bit better.

All I know is, 90% of this thread don't seem to represent 90% of Australia, who eat a shitload of fast food every day.

I've cut it out massively this year, but still get sucked in on weekends. Sometimes it was a Grand Angus burger Saturday afternoon, Grill'd Sunday... and other times it's a dirty kebab at 3am.

All I know is, 90% of this thread don't seem to represent 90% of Australia, who eat a shitload of fast food every day.

I've cut it out massively this year, but still get sucked in on weekends. Sometimes it was a Grand Angus burger Saturday afternoon, Grill'd Sunday... and other times it's a dirty kebab at 3am.

Yeah well I think you can assume a fair percentage of BigFooty users have played a fair bit of sport in their lives, given their interest in a footy/sports forum. Probably means it is a slightly more healthy/active cross-section of Australian habits for the most part.

Wouldn't buy that for a minute to be honest.. You could argue that the fitter people in life would spend bugger all time on a forum, opting to be out doing something less sedentary.

And plus, there's no prerequisite to be fit/sporty/healthy just to be interested in a sport. I can't play footy to save myself yet I'm obsessed with watching it.

When I was in the US, I found fresh food more expensive and processed/fast food cheaper (relatively speaking) than in Australia. Canada was a bit better.

I haven't been to the States for a while to be honest. But I find fruit is pretty cheap here. Bananas for 50 cents a pound, mangos 65 cents each, pineapples for $2 and you can buy massive punnets of strawberries or blueberries for just a few dollars.

Fast Food