Favourite Beer

Anyway, back to beers that are actually beers....

In Dusseldorf at the moment and am loving the Kolsch and Altbier that they serve in this part of the world. Off to Belgium next to sample some of the best beers in the world. The Dutch beers from the other week weren't too shabby either. Not missing Aussie beers one bit!

I like heavier beers in general - I drink Coopers Sparkling Ale most of the time. In winter, I often make a black-and-tan with 2/3 Sparkling Ale, 1/3 Coopers Best Extra Stout :thumbsu:

If money is no object, I love Belgian Trappist beers, especially Chimay. All three flavours are great, but the Triple is my favorite.

Although it is hard to get, my favorite beer to drink in front of people (and it also tastes great) is Satan Beer. I have a Satan Beer glass that raises eyebrows in some company :)

For some reason Singha goes to really well. Doesn't taste that much better than what I drink here but is better for some reason.

I had a party on the weekend and supplied the beer and wine, my 18 year old son and I bought what we thought people would enjoy. We bought crownies, Becks, Little Creatures pale ale and James Squire golden ale (my current favorite). We then arranged each beer in its own esky and bought a slab of VB at the last minute on the advice of a friend. At the sunday morning clean up we tallied the empties and found that by far the most popular drink on the night was Becks followed by crown lager. There were 42 empty Becks stubbies, 20 crownies, 8 James Squire, 6 Little Creatures and 2 VB. We also cleaned up 15 bottles of red and 8 sparkling fizz.

There were 42 empty Becks stubbies, 20 crownies, 8 James Squire, 6 Little Creatures and 2 VB. We also cleaned up 15 bottles of red and 8 sparkling fizz.

Wow. You would have been loving that. I think it's probally cause beers like Becks and Crownies go down like water.

havent had a carlton cold for a while
used to drink them all the time because they were dirt cheap a couple years back
pretty bad beer but drinkable

loving james squire amber ale at the moment

yep for me its a toss up between golden ale and amber ale as the best jimmy squires

All are good drops I must say. Jimmy Squires were the clear winners at a local beerfest held in Currimundi up here on the Sunny Coast a few months back (the biggest lines for any bloody beer, took me half an hour at one stage). After that it was a toss-up between asahi and hollandis for mine that were the best. But Jimmy Squires Golden Ale gets my vote closely followed by the amber ale and probably hollandis.

yeh but i once had a jimmy squires pepperberry winter ale and struggled to get through 1 pint
that was rubbish

as much as people bag coldies i reckon they are a great beer for that price..

fantastic on a summers day:thumbsu:

Damn straight:thumbsu:

I usually pick my slabs up for $29 and sometimes $28

Cant beat it really. Maybe I havent ventured out enough to see whether thats true though, not much of a risk taker

Carlton Cold is so watered down it's a joke.

Definitely be Coopers Pale Ale for me. Good Beer, you can drink it all night, and no (or low, im not sure) preservatives, so not such a bad hangover.

The best beer I have ever had was from the Belgian Beer Cafe in Adelaide called Hoegaarden. Way too expensive to buy a carton of it though.

Imported beer from Dan Murphys is my go, just like trying different things I think.

The best beer I have ever had was from the Belgian Beer Cafe in Adelaide called Hoegaarden. Way too expensive to buy a carton of it though.

Imported beer from Dan Murphys is my go, just like trying different things I think.

yep i go there all the time great beer great oysters :thumbsu:

CoronaBeer2.jpg

lime.jpg