Fevola: The Real Story

and here we go again, talking about a rumour. dont people get it, its illegal to come out and say this sort of stuff about anyone.....

no complaint, no charges, nothing, just inuendo and rumor and chinese whispers.at this stage.

illegal?

wtf are you on? Jesus H Christ, you highlighted the relevant word. It's not illegal to speculate on what happened on Brownlow. It's not like I'm making any definitive statements :rolleyes:

Unbelievable how transparent this is. The partisan nature of BF is a joke sometimes. All of a sudden, now that he plays for Brisbane, he's off limits as far as you're concerned?

Give me a break :rolleyes:

Wow Jeff, i have struck a nerve here !
Don't flatter yourself.

Posting fairy tales you're not prepared to back up and then claim "ooo I struck a nerve" the level of mindless response I was expecting.

You're not only a liar, you're a gutless coward.

Next time try and surprise me.

Getting quite hysterical there Jeffrey

The trading was to protect the organisation's interests.

As every other club in the land would have done

I guess you'd argue the same for organisations like the Catholic Church too?

Not surprising you'd think that.

Yes, because rape or sexual assault is what has occured here :rolleyes:

Not suprising you'd seek to equate something like that with what has actually happened

I can't imagine there's too many clubs that would knowingly not investigate claims of sexual assult/harrassment in the hope of moving a player on before they become public.

I can't think of one organisation in the country (other than a couple of churches) that would treat such allegations with a "protect our interests first" approach to such a claim. Actually I can't think of one that wouldn't have sacked him immediately!

If no complaint has been made - every club in the league mate.

You can't think of a responsible organisation in the country that wouldn't have immediately sacked someone on a rumour/allegation?

lol, at least try to keep the emotions in check mate and you might not look so silly ;)

Ho hum . . . St Kilda were completely transparent when those allegations were made.

Think really hard, what is the one big difference (debates about severity of alleged action aside) between Milne/Montagna and the Fevola case?

A COMPLAINT HAS NOT BEEN MADE

So they obviously felt the allegations had some substance, so rather than act on that, they tried to keep it silent and Fev silent by sending him away while they could strike up a deal.

How could they act on it without a complaint? Who says they wouldn't have if a complaint was made?

Rather than deal with THEIR problem, they sat on it and tried to pass of damaged goods without a second thought in regards to the victim.

The entire board should be sacked especially your pathetic excuse of a president.

More hysterics. Obviously the victim doesn't give a 2nd thought in regards to herself either :rolleyes:

If the AFL won't act without a complaint why should Carlton be held to a higher standard?

FWIW I agree Sticks was terrible at that press conference on Friday - but you're kidding yourself if you think other clubs would have gone about it exactly the same way ie. getting something from trading a player with off-field issues rather than sacking him outright. You'd have a half decent point if a complaint had been made, it hasn't.

Seriously, I don't know how many times it has to be said :confused:

PS - Your response to Corpuscles' quite accurate summation indicate why your opinions on this topic are to be taken with more than a grain of salt. Rebuttals like 'mind your own f***ing business' and '*******' sure do help to convince us all that you have no blind frothing dribbling hatred of all things Carlton, or even that you're capable of discussing this stuff in a calm and reasoned manner :thumbsu::rolleyes:

And you even finish off by telling him to get a grip? Funny stuff..

bourbons, can I ask, why do you think the police requested the tapes?

Why would they bother if they can only act when there's a complaint? Why would they waste their time? Was there anything else criminal alleged?

Carlton didn't investage an allegation of sexual assult by one of their players.

That in itself is so incredibly irresponsible regardless of a victim coming forward. There were other people at the Casino at the time. In fact I'd imagine it was rather packed. If there's no complaint, why do we know? Why was Neil Mitchell so certain that he was prepared to speak?

The ignorance and denials are quite a stretch even for Carlton supporters.

JD could you please enlighten everybody as to what Carlton should have done?

JD

You disappear /log out every time I arrive on BF?... enjoy your lunch!

The above post.. is the MOST PROFOUND... rebuttal to you in all this thread!

As a TROLL... you avoid it;)

ANSWER THAT question!

Or .....consider your arse reamed!!! or about to be!!!!:D

Luvz
Corp

Why would they bother if they can only act when there's a complaint? Why would they waste their time? Was there anything else criminal alleged?

As far as I know its related to responsible serving of alcohol and possible breaches by Crown. Still, maybe they also requested the tapes to check if there was anything on them Fevola could be charged for. If there was, how is it Carlton's fault Fev has not been charged?

Carlton didn't investage an allegation of sexual assult by one of their players.

That in itself is so incredibly irresponsible regardless of a victim coming forward. There were other people at the Casino at the time. In fact I'd imagine it was rather packed. If there's no complaint, why do we know? Why was Neil Mitchell so certain that he was prepared to speak?

How do you know it wasn't talked through (meetings before the B&F) and decided that with the information at hand it just wasn't going to be possible to do a proper investigation?

It was rather packed, yet no-one is willing to make a definitive statement on it, victim included. I'll admit I'm unsure of the absolute legalities of investigating something without a complaint (at least from a police perspective), but what kind of results do you think you would get from an investigation without so much as a statement by the victim?

And I repeat: why should Carlton be held to a higher standard than the AFL when it seems we all agree that they had the same info?

JD

You disappear /log out every time I arrive on BF?... enjoy your lunch!

The above post.. is the MOST PROFOUND... rebuttal to you in all this thread!

As a TROLL... you avoid it;)

ANSWER THAT question!

Or .....consider your arse reamed!!! or about to be!!!!:D

Luvz
Corp

Do you want a serious answer?

Fair dinkum. Grow up.

FWIW I thought I had answered the question and I have. Numerous times just not specifically quoting that post.

Is it really that hard to work out? I'd have that it was almost self-evident what any sensible club would have done in the circumstances even out of self-interest.

I'll indulge you even though I think you're doing nothing more than the usual shit-stirring.

Firstly, the morning after the Brownlow (assuming here they know nothing other than Fev just being Fev), have a press conference as early as possible and apologise to the AFL community and Gary Ablett for the disgraceful performance of one of their representatives.

Announce that you are immediately standing Fev down from all team activities including the B&F and in the coming days the match committee will discuss his future with the club.

So far so good.

The moment you get wind of this rumour, the whole situation changes. Personally I believed they knew the next morning, in fact I'm positive they did. For the purprose of this example though I'm prepared to conceed they didn't.

However you'd have to be as dumb as batshit to believe they didn't get wind of it in the coming days. I heard it, I heard Dermie and others make reference to it too in no subtle terms. We know at some point the HeraldSun told them and I can't imagine they waited until last Friday morning to inform them.

The moment you know there's an allegation you then come out and declare as such. i.e. you know about allegations more serious than previously thought and the club will work with the AFL to investigate. Any club with half a brain in the circumstances would since they'd know there's more to be gained in the PR war than any compensation you're going to get peddling such damaged goods. Even more so when you're a club that has recently been at the centre of allegations of paying off sexual assult and rape victims.

You would want to either have him cleared of any criminality or you'd want to be in a position to tear up the SOB's contract if you can't trade him. Either way he's out of your hair and your club comes out smelling of roses.

Putting self-interest aside for one moment, I'd expect anyone that got wind of such claims would want to know the truth. Wouldn't you?

If the truth is what they fear, then why reward the SOB? Why not tear up the contract & make sure he plays for nobody? Rewarding the prick is how he got where he is today.

Again, even from self-interest, why not adopt the attitude it's better he plays for no-one with no compensation to you than give a competitor a leg-up? Brisbane were the team that knocked Carlton from finals.

Sorry to waffle but I hope that answers your question?

I'm not a Carlton fan or a Fev apologist; but the simple answer to the above is that the victim's interests and requests are being respected.

If it was something very serious, I'm sure it'd be a different situation, but in this case, I think the girl involved doesn't want to go through the public and tabloid media crap that will inevitably follow if it's brought to light and treated as a criminal case.

Do you want a serious answer?

...nothing more than the usual shit-stirring.

Yes! SERIOUS! After all the effort you put in to stirring Carlton .. someone says 10000 posts I think they must be a "newbie"....and the best you can do is surmise and in your words "waffle".

But yet cricise Sticks for a less than ideal public response

Firstly, the morning after the Brownlow (assuming here they know nothing other than Fev just being Fev), have a press conference as early as possible and apologise to the AFL community and Gary Ablett for the disgraceful performance of one of their representatives.

FFS! There were heaps of media and Carlton people there ON THE SPOT!

Do you think AFL provided counselling on the "JD'ish speculation" that something happened?

Wouldn't such distress be noticed on the night?

What you are suggesting Carlton go off half cocked without consultation with AFL, player and HUN?

Didn't you say 100*....they ought investigate?

Announce that you are immediately standing Fev down from all team activities including the B&F and in the coming days the match committee will discuss his future with the club.

How do you know they didn't?... or Carlton didn't wait for Fev to do exactly that! Which HE did!

So far so good.

The moment you get wind of this rumour, the whole situation changes. Personally I believed they knew the next morning, in fact I'm positive they did. For the purprose of this example though I'm prepared to conceed they didn't.

Admit it you are a mumbling fool. Can't have it both ways!...then again in your case maybe:eek:? Spejeculation!!!

However you'd have to be as dumb as batshit to believe they didn't get wind of it in the coming days. I heard it, I heard Dermie and others make reference to it too in no subtle terms. We know at some point the HeraldSun told them and I can't imagine they waited until last Friday morning to inform them.

Again. Media were in great numbers at the AFL night of night events!

You are suggesting that even if a fraction of what happened THAT....no Carlton person noticed anything? There and Then,on the spot?

Fev's comment " I don't think I missed anyone":eek:

The moment you know there's an allegation you then come out and declare as such. i.e. you know about allegations more serious than previously thought and the club will work with the AFL to investigate. Any club with half a brain in the circumstances would since they'd know there's more to be gained in the PR war than any compensation you're going to get peddling such damaged goods. Even more so when you're a club that has recently been at the centre of allegations of paying off sexual assult and rape victims.

You would want to either have him cleared of any criminality or you'd want to be in a position to tear up the SOB's contract if you can't trade him. Either way he's out of your hair and your club comes out smelling of roses.

If you knew he was gone! The kindest responsible thing would be to work out with the AFL someway of limiting the impact on victim, Carlton and try to preserve players career!

And avoid a $1.4mill payout and legal case?

Seems like they did that!

Putting self-interest aside for one moment, I'd expect anyone that got wind of such claims would want to know the truth. Wouldn't you?

NO! None of your or my business!:D

If the truth is what they fear, then why reward the SOB? Why not tear up the contract & make sure he plays for nobody? Rewarding the prick is how he got where he is today.

Air tight contract payout.

AFL massive media fallout

Carlton (luv child) is even more public humiliation!

Again, even from self-interest, why not adopt the attitude it's better he plays for no-one with no compensation to you than give a competitor a leg-up? Brisbane were the team that knocked Carlton from finals.

CONTRACT!

Sorry to waffle but I hope that answers your question?

Pleased you showed the whole internet world ....your profane(sic)....... "waffle":thumbsu:

My reply in red:)

Corpuscles I am assuming you've never been responsible for employing people.

I can tell you if someone for our organisation was at a trade function and I received wind of a similiar type incident, I'd hire a private D if need be to protect my interests.

Any sane employer would want to know.

FWIW, I think the AFL are as equally if not as culpable in the result here.

I hope it comes back to bite them on the arse and I'd put money on the fact that it will. Maybe not over this incident but we know there'll be others.

Why don't you ring them and ask them?

Go see the Vic Police if you think there's an issue.

Im just curious why you seem hell bent on flooring Carlton for its shortcomings when these two were allegedly involved in a sexual assualt.

Were you so keen for answers?

Will you look into this case with as much verve?

You're just a vulture looking for a feed.

Corpuscles I am assuming you've never been responsible for employing people.

I can tell you if someone for our organisation was at a trade function and I received wind of a similiar type incident, I'd hire a private D if need be to protect my interests.

Any sane employer would want to know.

FWIW, I think the AFL are as equally if not as culpable in the result here.

I hope it comes back to bite them on the arse and I'd put money on the fact that it will. Maybe not over this incident but we know there'll be others.

JD

I agree the AFL took charge and ...& good on them!

To the young lady concerned I hope she has a blooming brilliant journalistic career! Hell knows ... she is well qualified ... coming up against the most insane baboon in the system!

She has handled this superbly!

Carlton ARE a disgrace...not for this..but the decade after decades of mis management.

But....They got this right.

Goodluck to fev:)...may he restore his wifes faith, and do justice to Vossy's bravery! ...and retire somehow eventually with some lasting positive Kudos!

I hate Carlton as much as any!.... but FFS have some balance and fairness in future:).... and don't just bang your monotone drum!

Hows that grip going?...got any new sprouts of wizdom?:D

Hey JeffDunne you're arguing on an internet forum. Stop trying to sound important, because you're not.

Im just curious why you seem hell bent on flooring Carlton for its shortcomings when these two were allegedly involved in a sexual assualt.

Were you so keen for answers?

Will you look into this case with as much verve?

You're just a vulture looking for a feed.

Go back and look at the facts in that case.

Hell, go back and look at the comments I made at the time.

We're not all simpletons that views every subject through the prism of team bias.

If any player did what those two were accussed of then I'd want them in jail. Who wouldn't?

Really the whole M&M issue has become so tired it's the troll of last resort.

Something remotely new? Something based in reality? Surprise me. :rolleyes:

So far so good.

lol, as early as possible the next morning eh? Without even finding out more about it/talking to other people.

Again, no club in the country would do that JD and I have trouble believing you're dumb enough to think otherwise.

With this kind of mindset, I pity your employees if you actually do have any. Of course an employer would want to know - whether they can gather sufficient evidence that what is being alleged actually happened, and realise this, is another story. But I guess you'd just put it all out there, lock, stock and barrel without attempting to confirm anything with anybody.

Its laughable mate

How were they going to work with the AFL if the AFL was not investigating?

For the 3rd of 4th time now: Why the hell should Carlton investigate without a complaint if the AFL won't?

Gee I dunno, maybe coz that would leave us with 0 return for an on-field superstar. Not to mention paying out his contract and stuffing up our salary cap for the next few years. You might see it as better to have some kind of warm fuzzy feeling in punishing a SOB and somehow be seen to be supporting a victim who has not even lodged a complaint - pretty sure footy clubs don't see it in those terms and I'm glad ours didn't.

Let me repeat before you fly into another shrill, hysterical high-and-mighty rant - if a complaint had been registered, different story.

We prefered to get something, anything, in a trade rather than nothing.

And to be honest thats a pretty bitter take on a situation like this - although I'm not suprised you'd be thinking this way after the Luke Ball fiasco

lol, as early as possible the next morning eh? Without even finding out more about it/talking to other people.

They were there - they saw it you knucklehead.

The response I was talking about was a reaction to what they would have known - what the entire AFL world knew at that point.

The toilet episode I said I was giving them the benefit of the doubt in not knowing that first up.

Fev being an embarrassing arseh*le, well we all saw that live.

It does amuse me how quickly you launch into denials. Do I really offend you that much?

According to some people out there the journo is not the real story and there is still something lurking in the back ground that is worse.

Something is not right in all of this, for the AFL and media to be so quiet is very, very odd. Womans groups are quiet, moral police are hardly demanding action. Flies in the face of what we normally see when an AFL or NRL player behaves badly.

I know nothing about how the legal system works on this.
But if they have tapes of what Fev did, and then do nothing about it, will they then be held responsible if Fev reoffends?
What I’m trying to get at here, if the allegations are true about Fev holding her down, then what would have happened if there was no-one around to help her.
How far was Fev prepared to go?
Isn’t it the AFL’s obligation to investigate this, to at least find out if Fev could be a risk of reoffending?
By the sounds of things, Fev was completely out of control, and I don’t think the AFL need video tapes to know this.
This sounds to me, is a lot worse than what Ben Cousins did and he was banned from playing for a year. Ok Ben was taking a banned substance, but he did not harm any one else while he was.
IMO this has to be taken further, if they have tapes to show what he did, then he should not be allowed to get away with this with a slap on the wrist.
The AFL should be telling the world that they are not going to put up with this behaviour no matter what, Look at it this way, if the reason they cannot do anything is because the victim will not press charges, then what is stopping clubs or individuals from paying victims to shut up.

According to some people out there the journo is not the real story and there is still something lurking in the back ground that is worse.

Something is not right in all of this, for the AFL and media to be so quiet is very, very odd. Womans groups are quiet, moral police are hardly demanding action. Flies in the face of what we normally see when an AFL or NRL player behaves badly.

I have to agree. I have been told that there were many other antics where the victims would prefer to just let the whole thing die down and kept quiet, and for the Fev to just depart Victoria. How much of this was NOT caught on film would be simply unbelievable, but most of those affected one way or another would probably prefer that Fev's Brownlow night was a nightmare that they can erase from the Hard Drive.

I just find it extraordinary that the shyte hit the fan just after the deal was sealed with Brisbane.

The HUN should not have said one word on her behalf, nnothing, nada. The information you say that is out there, is inuendo and rumour.Not one bit is substanited or fact at this point in time. No employer is allowed to speak for an employee in any matter, let alone on a rumour.

You say she doesnt want to pursue this, then so be it. Thats her decision, not her employers to come out in the media and talk about it.As he obviously doestnt agree with her decision. HUN are a disgrace as an employer. I bet she feel wonderful going to work,as do all other employees knowing that if the boss doesnt agree with them, he can and will go agsinst their wishes and do as he pleases.
Camp bell, You didn't answer the question,again! What did the HUN do? They protected her and said nothing until after the rumours became public. They then ran the story,which was mostly a critical piece about Fev. After all, they are a newspaper and they must report news,however they have done nothing that makes the situation worse for the woman concerned,in fact probably the opposite. I am sure she has none of the problems that you have with the HUN. Campbell,you have a huge misunderstanding of the situation and i just cant see where you are coming from. Their is cause to perhaps criticise Carlton,the AFL,even crown casino but not the HUN.

Fevola: The Real Story