Autopsy Forget rock bottom - Roos enter the event horizon vs Eagles

Leeds United Football club were just relegated from the Premier league a couple of months ago. Amid a massive downslide in form last season, dropping them into the relegation zone, their captain Liam Cooper, stood up in the middle of the dressing room after a defeat, and addressed the squad, with one, loud, pointed message.

"If you don't want to be here, then F*CK OFF".

it is now printed in the training ground change rooms.

I am hoping LDU has just screamed those exact words in the Optus Stadium changerooms.

Enough is enough. This club is on its absolute knees. This is rock bottom.

Exactly what I was thinking!! We need a leader like Coops.

What did Ratts have to say about this one?
First and third we’re shit.

Second and fourth we’re alright.

We keep getting ourselves into an ok position and not getting over the line.

It’s hard as a Full member living in the Country

It’s a day out of your weekend to sit through misery

So I reckon I’ve been to 3 games this year at a $300 membership

That’s $100 a game plus the sundries for the day

Do I do this for the next 3 years or drop back to the Country Membership in this time of cost of living?

Bit of a no brainer hey?
hell no! don’t waste your time.

i’m done with footy for the year. next game is in tassie and the two after that are on saturday. no point in wasting my time and leaving work early to go watch that crap. and the last game of the year is in tassie.

was looking at the wins we had and we only won by a combined margin of 6 points. a kick here that goes straight(eagles) and a free kick that could of potentially been paid given how the umpire was feeling that day and we could potentially be having a winless season.

we’ve gone backwards year after year. we went from beating west coast over there in 2021 when they were challenging for finals to the next year when we struggled to beat the eagles when they had 15 changes due to covid to this year beating them by a goal and now the loss today proves it.

Can the “We hAvE eNoUgh mIdFiEld taLeNt” brigade stop chirping now ?

Having one CB midfielder have over 20 touches isn’t good enough. This rebuild has started in the middle and I think long term Phillips will be fine. But anyone who thinks our mids are set and forget is kidding themselves. Draft pointy end mid talent until clubs are calling about them for trades because we can’t fit guns into our squad.

Not the only area for improvement obviously. Our medium defenders need work for sure. Another key back as well.
God that wasn’t good to watch apart from ldu, Curtis and sheez

Larkey getting beaten by Hurn is so sad.

Our whole team getting beaten by essentially a life support WCE outfit is so soul-destroying.

******* horrible. Some players played well but there are zero positives to take out of that game. ZERO.
Larkey was leading to the ball because Hurn was letting him and as Larkey would put his hands up Hurn would use his body to nudge him under the ball and take the mark..

After it happened the first couple of times I thought Larkey would stop his lead while the ball was in the air and let Hurn cannon into his back or at least stifle Hurns ability to push him under the ball, but alas not to be..

It's hard to imagine, in the context of how rare wins have been for us for the last four years, what it looks like to play so poorly and so uninspiringly that stealing a win would've felt hollow. No need to imagine any more - this was exactly that.

We showed up disinterested. One token effort to chase, tackle, shepherd or cut off an option, if we can be bothered, and that's seemingly a job well done for most of our squad - so where Eagles players worked to create options and run into space, our defenders looked up in bewilderment and ended up bombing long in vague hope. We jog from the first siren on, slip over and stare dumbfounded as play goes on around us, show so little awareness of what we're even trying to do that we zone off our opponents when the game is somehow still there for the taking...

Do people really think a priority pick or similar is going to help fix any of that? Winning is habitual, torching everything and trying to recreate the habit ex nihilo was never a sensible strategy - this result today is what we have to show for our years of supposed incremental development, four years or more in and we're still in reverse. Talent is important, but what we need most are standard-setters, people who bring their best all the time and except teammates to do the same - not a squad who pick and choose when they feel like bringing the effort, which is how we've been for at least the last three seasons, even our few wins over that period have largely come from sugar-rush confidence - nothing dependable that can be built upon. Today's "comebacks" were the same sort of empty fizz - not worth drawing any positive conclusions from at this stage.

No idea how there's still four rounds to go, the season has been interminably long. But it'd be nice, at a bare minimum, to see some grounds for thinking we aren't just going to go through the exact same cycle of despair once again next year.

3rd quarter, ball tapped down his throat but instantly tackled, zero impact otherwise on our clearances. Can't wait for the 4th quarter!

Onto the last.

Had a solid physical impact on a contest that moved the ball forward, his player got that one but LDU intercepts, good tackle, kick to Eagle, wins a good clearance to LDU, game over.

There is no evidence to suggest our clearances were poorer when Philips wasn't in there, it just isn't true. In fact I was surprised just how little his positioning and impact on the contest was.

Rose coloured glasses many have with Will, but we all have our favorites.

On what planet are the Match Committee living that they think Kayne Turner adds more than a fit and firing Hugh Greenwood. FFS be honest with yourselves.

Larkey was leading to the ball because Hurn was letting him and as Larkey would put his hands up Hurn would use his body to nudge him under the ball and take the mark..

After it happened the first couple of times I thought Larkey would stop his lead while the ball was in the air and let Hurn cannon into his back or at least stifle Hurns ability to push him under the ball, but alas not to be..
Derm was onto it from the off.

Our kicking to Larkey was woeful though, gave him no bloody chance kicking it so high.

Autopsy Forget rock bottom - Roos enter the event horizon vs Eagles