Oppo Camp Former Freo player watch

Yeah sadly. Even then he would be worth a lot at trade time and I back him in to get past it and be a gun.
I agree, the ACL seems to be a routine enough recovery nowadays just the season lost is the negative for the player. Would have still been thrilled to have Ben king at Freo.
Hogan trade was horrendous on so many levels.
It set Melbourne up to reach the top of the pile last year, and set us up to reach the top of every “Top 10 worst trades in AFL history” lists for the next 20 years or so.
Great work indeed.

To be fair to Hogan, he got hit by two things that transcend money and position (father's death and cancer) at an age where one would have been hard to deal with, let alone two, all the while under intense scrutiny and expectation.

I only did one of those (my father passed at a similar age), and I spent the next couple of years working hard and putting a brave face on all whilst drinking and crying myself to sleep most nights. I had the luxury of doing this surrounded by an incredibly supportive work environment, completely out of the limelight. I got through and understood I hadn't been making the best decisions for my health (physical and mental) or for the people around me. I shudder to think what I'd have to live with if I'd had a camera shoved in my face, so called friends leaking materials of me pissing around on the lash, and expected to propel a team in a footy mad, two-team town to success.

Don't get me wrong, it's gutting that the trade failed and, as a result, we missed out on Ben King. But then we wouldn't be adding Ben King to this side - we probably wouldn't have Serong and Young, Amiss and Johnson. There's no point in crying over it, or blaming Hogan for its failure. He simply couldn't handle the environment at the time and, by his own admission in the article, he lacked maturity and let himself and Freo down. He sounds like a guy reflecting on his failings, trying to be accountable and move on.

All we as supporters can ask is that when they get things wrong, the club reacts in the best way possible. Looking at the team sheet this year, I'd say they've gone OK and that I'm the most excited I've been in years. So good luck to Jesse, I hope he goes well on and off the field, except when he gets blanketed by our stellar defense of course.

My take on the Hogan thing was that it just didn't work out. Talking about "brands" is a bit off-putting though. Last player I heard doing that was James O'Connor in the rugby; he took 8 years and 6 clubs to grow out of it. You don't get that much space or time in the AFL.

Fyfe is all about his brand, don't see anything wrong with it

Look, Hogan’s mental health was/is a concern when he was at Fremantle.
However don’t downplay the fact that he was out on the town drinking and perhaps other. He made no recognition of the fact he needed to change and it probably took until he went to GWS to change that. Or mate not due Sydney don’t even care about AFL. Melbourne are laughing though. McDonald probably became a better forward. May came in. Jackson suits them more. Miraculously their forward line became better even when offloading Hogan and hardly playing Weideman

North Melbourne pulling a big offer to Ben Brown after he said "yeaaaah, not enough coin, yet" helped.

Look, Hogan’s mental health was/is a concern when he was at Fremantle.
However don’t downplay the fact that he was out on the town drinking and perhaps other. He made no recognition of the fact he needed to change and it probably took until he went to GWS to change that. Or mate not due Sydney don’t even care about AFL. Melbourne are laughing though. McDonald probably became a better forward. May came in. Jackson suits them more. Miraculously their forward line became better even when offloading Hogan and hardly playing Weideman
As do a large part of our list (and the general AFL), Jesse just couldn't get on the field due to injury and this stuff got blown up

Can't let that one through, it did not just 'blow up'. Plenty of players drink during the year, plenty of players party, 95% know when to call it a night, Hogan got himself sideways on the gear (coke and caps, not a cousins special) on multiple occasions out in public. I think he has every right to do that as well if it doesn't effect your everyday life but it clearly did. If you are suffering mental health issues, taking any form of mind altering drugs is escapism and a one way ticket to those issues flaring up.

I've said it before but Jesse gurns even when sober, this whole drug thing is blown up, watch the bloke out and about (harder to do now as he's over east) and he genuinely has mannerisms that make it seem like he's cooked 24/7 (mouth chewing/gurning)

From someone whose seen him out and about multiple times

But the thing is, the rumours have been spread and there's no putting the cat back in the bag now, opinions gave been made up, it was untenable that he stays.

I wonder if their talk about moving Neale out of the midfield rotation and more wing/forward is part of their future planning - I know he wasn't all that happy playing #2 behind Fyfe and now he will get to play #2/#3 behind guys who haven't even won a B&F let alone two brownlow medals.

His Football mortality and having a family may be creeping into his thought process. If he can lock a few more years that will probably do him I expect.

He is getting quite bashed up.

It's always sucky when one of your favourite players leaves the club.

Brisbane isn't a bad place to be. If he went to carlscum however.....
Yeah I quite like brizzy, except when they belt us....which is often these days.

I don't like how Neale left, but we were definitely under paying him, and by a lot, so I can understand it. Plus the culcha was pretty crook around that time too.

Love the part of Rayner and Zac Bailey being touted as future midfielders. Back to number 2 or 3 it is.
Yeah I quite like brizzy, except when they belt us....which is often these days.

I don't like how Neale left, but we were definitely under paying him, and by a lot, so I can understand it. Plus the culcha was pretty crook around that time too.
Eh. Wouldn’t made a difference had he stayed. Rebuilding by that time. Bradshaw, Cerra were there already.
Serong wouldn’t have debut or even drafted his first year at the club.

Have said it before and will say it again. Neale has no one to blame except himself and his manager, if he was being underpaid.
Don't think it's that black and white. Other factors like a bunch of bad trade ins which cost more than average cap space, timing, and disharmony all had a part in it. (Probably had Lobb lined up, even if we didn't get Hogan, which is an extra 750k a year out the cap that would have reduced their offer to Neale)

Oppo Camp Former Freo player watch