Oppo Camp Former Freo player watch

So Rory Lobb (Colin Young client) is criticizing Justin Longmuir’s coaching abilities (also a Colin Young client)

You can’t make this s**t up.

Just prior to the Annual Members Meeting Peter Bell said - and repeated - that he was "a little disappointed with Rory Lobb's comments (re his coaching at Freo), given he actually had a career-best season with us".

Lobb is a bit of a sook and attention seeker as a player but his comments were beyond that if true. Hopefully he's been misquoted or his comments taken out of contact, otherwise the guy has come across as a complete knob of a person.

Top 10 best at each club for 2022 features 6 ex-Purple Players: Neale, Cerra, Collins, Hogan, Langdon and Hill.
A couple of questions for those who know footy better than I:
1. Are we top of the league for losing good players?
2. Of the six I feel like we got unders for losing all but Hill - we had a massive win with Hill. What do others think?

In addition, in 2022 we lost 2 of our top 10 - Logue and Lobb. Are we still perpetuating a lousy tradition?
Logue top 10??? Ahahahaaha.

Top 10 best at each club for 2022 features 6 ex-Purple Players: Neale, Cerra, Collins, Hogan, Langdon and Hill.
A couple of questions for those who know footy better than I:
1. Are we top of the league for losing good players?
2. Of the six I feel like we got unders for losing all but Hill - we had a massive win with Hill. What do others think?

In addition, in 2022 we lost 2 of our top 10 - Logue and Lobb. Are we still perpetuating a lousy tradition?

Imagine being in a league where Gold Coast and GWS have literally single handedly decided the last 4 premierships with the players they have lost to other clubs, and thinking we are anywhere close to those two

Former Dockers Darcy Tucker and Griffin Logue reveal why they left Fremantle to join North Melbourne​

Aaron KirbyThe West Australian
Thu, 29 December 2022 2:07AM

Former Docker Darcy Tucker has revealed not being valued at Fremantle forced his decision to head east with the writing on the wall for his time in Perth after a midseason chat with Peter Bell, as swingman Griffin Logue echoed his frustrations.
The pair, who were traded to North Melbourne for future draft selections, spoke on fellow former Fremantle player Tom Sheridan’s podcast, with both stating they didn’t feel appreciated with the Dockers making flippant decisions on their careers.
“Midway through the year, it was like the stars were aligning for me to get out of the place,” Tucker said.
“I did absolutely everything I could to prove I can play some f****** good footy, and I was in the midfield in that preseason as well.
undefined
“I felt like I could match it with the likes of our best midfielders at the club and play some really good footy and be a really good and valued member of the team.”
On the back of ripping his hamstring off the bone in 2020, Tucker suffered another minor soft tissue injury in the run into the first round after a blistering preseason.
“Since that minor hammy, they didn’t put me where I played my best footy which is frustrating because I know I can be really good value,” he said.
“I didn’t get that exposure in midfield from there, and then I just had a horror run with all sorts of s***.”
37b2d9a3990bc5e75a5fe796612c51866f22bc25.jpg

Darcy Tucker of the Dockers in action during the round 22 AFL match between the Fremantle Dockers and the West Coast Eagles at Optus Stadium on August 13, 2022 in Perth, Australia. 2022 Getty Images
In the round three western derby, the 108-gamer suffered an on-field seizure after an awkward tackle landed him on his neck.
From there, he had more minor niggles before breaking his hand and requiring surgery, but the 25-year-old said things changed after a chat with General Manager of Football Bell, triggered by his partner, Ellie, moving home to Victoria for a job.
“I went straight to Peter Bell and was transparent,” Tucker said.
“I said, ‘look, Ellie is moving to Melbourne, but that doesn’t mean I’m moving’. ‘I’m contracted next year, and I want to be a good player for this club’, and at that moment, I was staying as contracted.
3105b6f9456f4172d92ef9a72df14f06b09f65d5.jpg
Darcy Tucker has joined North Melbourne. No
“But from there, I hardly played again. I was just put in the WAFL, in and out as sub, and I was playing my best footy in the WAFL as well.
“I feel like I lost trust from the coaches. I was pigeonholed as a depth player.”
Tucker’s season ended in round 23 with a knee injury that ruled him out of playing a role in Fremantle’s first finals campaign since 2015.
Logue, who played forward and back at times throughout the year, said while he didn’t make his call to head east until the last possible moment and had a “fair few” sleepless nights, being on the fringes without a defined role was a deciding factor.
fd84e06e02e834522dd2f2f2809c1b8cf489a3ad.jpg

North Melbourne defender Griffin Logue and new coach Alastair Clarkson. No
“I reckon until a day before I made a call, I was still umming and ahhing,” he said.
“It’s the hardest decision, and it makes me uncomfortable even thinking about it now about how difficult that decision was.
“It wasn’t just wake up and make a choice. It’s not as easy as that.
“Once I spoke to (Alastair Clarkson), that was the last selling point.”
Logue signed a five-year deal worth around $500,000 a year at the Kangaroos, while Tucker sealed a three-season contract.

Former Dockers Darcy Tucker and Griffin Logue reveal why they left Fremantle to join North Melbourne​

Aaron KirbyThe West Australian
Thu, 29 December 2022 2:07AM

Former Docker Darcy Tucker has revealed not being valued at Fremantle forced his decision to head east with the writing on the wall for his time in Perth after a midseason chat with Peter Bell, as swingman Griffin Logue echoed his frustrations.
The pair, who were traded to North Melbourne for future draft selections, spoke on fellow former Fremantle player Tom Sheridan’s podcast, with both stating they didn’t feel appreciated with the Dockers making flippant decisions on their careers.
“Midway through the year, it was like the stars were aligning for me to get out of the place,” Tucker said.
“I did absolutely everything I could to prove I can play some f****** good footy, and I was in the midfield in that preseason as well.
undefined
“I felt like I could match it with the likes of our best midfielders at the club and play some really good footy and be a really good and valued member of the team.”
On the back of ripping his hamstring off the bone in 2020, Tucker suffered another minor soft tissue injury in the run into the first round after a blistering preseason.
“Since that minor hammy, they didn’t put me where I played my best footy which is frustrating because I know I can be really good value,” he said.
“I didn’t get that exposure in midfield from there, and then I just had a horror run with all sorts of s***.”
37b2d9a3990bc5e75a5fe796612c51866f22bc25.jpg

Darcy Tucker of the Dockers in action during the round 22 AFL match between the Fremantle Dockers and the West Coast Eagles at Optus Stadium on August 13, 2022 in Perth, Australia. 2022 Getty Images
In the round three western derby, the 108-gamer suffered an on-field seizure after an awkward tackle landed him on his neck.
From there, he had more minor niggles before breaking his hand and requiring surgery, but the 25-year-old said things changed after a chat with General Manager of Football Bell, triggered by his partner, Ellie, moving home to Victoria for a job.
“I went straight to Peter Bell and was transparent,” Tucker said.
“I said, ‘look, Ellie is moving to Melbourne, but that doesn’t mean I’m moving’. ‘I’m contracted next year, and I want to be a good player for this club’, and at that moment, I was staying as contracted.
3105b6f9456f4172d92ef9a72df14f06b09f65d5.jpg
Darcy Tucker has joined North Melbourne. No
“But from there, I hardly played again. I was just put in the WAFL, in and out as sub, and I was playing my best footy in the WAFL as well.
“I feel like I lost trust from the coaches. I was pigeonholed as a depth player.”
Tucker’s season ended in round 23 with a knee injury that ruled him out of playing a role in Fremantle’s first finals campaign since 2015.
Logue, who played forward and back at times throughout the year, said while he didn’t make his call to head east until the last possible moment and had a “fair few” sleepless nights, being on the fringes without a defined role was a deciding factor.
fd84e06e02e834522dd2f2f2809c1b8cf489a3ad.jpg

North Melbourne defender Griffin Logue and new coach Alastair Clarkson. No
“I reckon until a day before I made a call, I was still umming and ahhing,” he said.
“It’s the hardest decision, and it makes me uncomfortable even thinking about it now about how difficult that decision was.
“It wasn’t just wake up and make a choice. It’s not as easy as that.
“Once I spoke to (Alastair Clarkson), that was the last selling point.”
Logue signed a five-year deal worth around $500,000 a year at the Kangaroos, while Tucker sealed a three-season contract.
So Tucker thought he could match it with our best midfielders? Keep telling yourself that champ.Apart from slow to react and zero acceleration from a contest plus little awareness. Great WAFL player, bog average AFL player

I do wonder what would have happened if Tucker hadn't suffered that devastating hamstring injury. He was supremely fit, and on the precipice of making a serious claim for a spot in the middle. Football can be brutal. I really hope he can play his best footy for North. Good luck Tucker.

Griff, not so much. 😉

I’m happy for Griff that he got a good long term contract but not sure what the club was supposed to do, as a defender Pearce, Ryan and Cox were better thus 1st choice. As a forward, Tabs, Lobb, Amiss and Treacy probably all better as well. Want to guarantee your spot, be the best in your position. At North, he will be.

As for Tucker, not sure who he thinks should have been left out for him. I can’t name a midfielder last year that he should have got a game in front of.

Logues contract is only worth $500k a season? I though it was $700 plus.
Rhino said it was up to 800k a year.

Also this was all said on a poddy with Tommy Sheridan, so obviously darcy tucker is gonna be very transparent. I'm sure most players value themselves very highly. Don't think it's arrogance or anything. He obviously wanted to play good footy for this club, but at that point after the conversation then it's clear to the club that they should be prioritising their younger players over a guy who will probably move once his contract is done.

I think he'll do well for North tbh. I'm sure he thinks he can match it with our best mids on the surface but when it boils down to who he'd replace then I don't think he could give you an answer..

Can the West just die?

Soooo blatantly rip off quotes from Tom Sheridan's podcast (which we can all listen to) then put your article behind a paywall. I would hope Tommy's getting a cut if you cant be bothered actually interviewing the players themselves. Then there's the Luke Jackson goes to Bali article. OK so? JFC there is better referenced sports analysis on bigfooty.

Also this was all said on a poddy with Tommy Sheridan, so obviously darcy tucker is gonna be very transparent. I'm sure most players value themselves very highly. Don't think it's arrogance or anything. He obviously wanted to play good footy for this club, but at that point after the conversation then it's clear to the club that they should be prioritising their younger players over a guy who will probably move once his contract is done.

I think he'll do well for North tbh. I'm sure he thinks he can match it with our best mids on the surface but when it boils down to who he'd replace then I don't think he could give you an answer..
Why do you think Bell and co left him out after he told him his missus has already gone back to Vic? The writing was on the wall, he would of left at the end of his current contract for next to nothing, at least this way we got a NM 3rd rounder for him (probably around pick 38-40)

This!
There's probably 1000 guys across Australia that actually think they're good enough to play AFL, and in many respects they are in that they may be better at many facets of the game than guys currently getting regular games. There are many intangibles to how a team is selected based on balance, game style, coach preference etc.
I'd be surprised if Tucker said anything else. I'm sure Blakely feels the same

Can the West just die?

Soooo blatantly rip off quotes from Tom Sheridan's podcast (which we can all listen to) then put your article behind a paywall. I would hope Tommy's getting a cut if you cant be bothered actually interviewing the players themselves. Then there's the Luke Jackson goes to Bali article. OK so? JFC there is better referenced sports analysis on bigfooty.
The luke jackson one is crazy to me bc all he did was post a few pictures on instagram. I don't remember articles for any of our other guys holidays

I’m happy for Griff that he got a good long term contract but not sure what the club was supposed to do, as a defender Pearce, Ryan and Cox were better thus 1st choice. As a forward, Tabs, Lobb, Amiss and Treacy probably all better as well. Want to guarantee your spot, be the best in your position. At North, he will be.

As for Tucker, not sure who he thinks should have been left out for him. I can’t name a midfielder last year that he should have got a game in front of.
Tucker if he didn’t sign a 2 year contract would have been delisted. He was given heaps of chances. His game mins in AFL were solid but sometimes I had to check if he was playing and then he would pop up for a possession after being totally absent for two quarters. He probably wanted to play more midfield Centre but was well down the queue. We got essentially a third round pick for him (North F3 & F4 for Freo F3). He would have been a DFA if we signed him uk for 1 year in 2021.

Griff we should have signed up earlier in the year but is obviously behind Cox and Pearce for his preferred KPD role. He played some solid games on smalls at times but other times was exposed being a bit in between and going for the spoil as more of a KPD when the role of smaller/mid defender should have seen him minding the small defender out the back. So he was pigeonholed as KPD lock down. APearce plays that role as no. 1 and Hamling after his back half of WAFL 2022 and form between 2016-2019 is a more than capable back-up. We also selected a developing KPD with mid 2nd 2022. The club would have preferred to keep Griff and leaving him unsigned left door open. My understanding is the salary averages out to between $600k - $700k. Upfront $800k like Rhino said whilst lowering to $500k-$550k at other years in his long contract. No way we could pay a back-up KPD $650k pa.

As for the West. I would never buy that rubbish. They release early articles on all sorts of journal information without checking their facts and then need back track and send amended articles. They are purely after click bait.

Yeah, I think Tucker is/was certainly overating himself. Surely a club competing for a flag would've come a knocking off that was the case.
He can play footy, but he's B22 in a lesser team, like he was when we were down.

Oppo Camp Former Freo player watch