Review Fremantle Contest Another Game In South Australia

Bit harsh on Erasmus. Came into the game midway through the last in hottest part of the

His second HTB was not a free kick, the player bumped him and then he fired out a handball.

Not taking chances in the last hurt. Johnson doing a stupid check side when under no pressure. Banfield fluffing two shots at goal. Both should have been kicked to top of square. Johnson should have just straightened up for a regulation kick.

Hughes had a mare.

Biggest issue is our lack of goal scoring ability. As we’ve seen the past two games we’re not going to win kicking only 9 goals.

I hope this develops over the remainder of the year.

The sub has been dreadful the last 4 weeks. There’s no X factor.
Would’ve minded maybe a Simpson or Sturt next week.

Jom and Erasmus are accumulators
I thought they’d go for Simpson too - losing Freddy and loading up on even more inside mids in Erasmus and O’meara. We lacked that pace and finishing that Simpson has shown signs of. I can’t help but think that MC feels pressure to select Erasmus and O’Meara.. big recruit, high draft pick..
It was a high pressure game - mistakes on both sides and changes in momentum. Our forward entries may have been better than ports overall and we got out the back and in space forward a few times but lacked awareness, speed and class. Sturt is a loss - whether it be his body or mindset. Freddy’s hammys let him and us down too..
Switta’s goal may have almost iced the game.
And Serong.. he’d be so dirty about that last opportunity..
A note on Johnson and Erasmus:
With Johnson, it feels like he needs to learn to take the right option - the high percentage option - rather than attempt the spectacular that he is capable of. The shot at goal from the pocket tonight is a good example - he tried a freakin banana in the tiny window of time he had.
Erasmus is good overhead - took a ripper when he first came on, was stiff with one free and then was caught HTB from a hospital handpass.. it went downhill from there.
Both will be good players I reckon.
Having said this - still think they should have played Simpson as sub and kept Banfield further from the goals. Frustrating moments from the usual whipping boys but they had their good moments too.
Treacy was holding everything which shows how much can change in a week.
We’re looking a real team and with Darcy and Freddy not far off, we’re going to be doing better work in forward 50 ..

I thought they’d go for Simpson too - losing Freddy and loading up on even more inside mids in Erasmus and O’meara. We lacked that pace and finishing that Simpson has shown signs of. I can’t help but think that MC feels pressure to select Erasmus and O’Meara.. big recruit, high draft pick..
It was a high pressure game - mistakes on both sides and changes in momentum. Our forward entries may have been better than ports overall and we got out the back and in space forward a few times but lacked awareness, speed and class. Sturt is a loss - whether it be his body or mindset. Freddy’s hammys let him and us down too..
Switta’s goal may have almost iced the game.
And Serong.. he’d be so dirty about that last opportunity..
A note on Johnson and Erasmus:
With Johnson, it feels like he needs to learn to take the right option - the high percentage option - rather than attempt the spectacular that he is capable of. The shot at goal from the pocket tonight is a good example - he tried a freakin banana in the tiny window of time he had.
Erasmus is good overhead - took a ripper when he first came on, was stiff with one free and then was caught HTB from a hospital handpass.. it went downhill from there.
Both will be good players I reckon.
Having said this - still think they should have played Simpson as sub and kept Banfield further from the goals. Frustrating moments from the usual whipping boys but they had their good moments too.
Treacy was holding everything which shows how much can change in a week.
We’re looking a real team and with Darcy and Freddy not far off, we’re going to be doing better work in forward 50 ..
I thought Simpson didnt play at any level due to illness?

Sorry, I have only skimmed through a handful of the comments thus far just having come back from the match and haven't processed it all just yet. I'm just really gutted that as a Freo fan living in Adelaide the only games in which we've really had a chance over the last few seasons have been against the Crows. I go to the Port expecting to lose but have to go out of loyalty, stay to the end and wear the colours no matter what. These last two weeks have just left me feeling gutted. We've come so close and actually played excellent footy - its just so bittersweet. The team is clearly better now than in almost a decade I'm still generally optomistic. Just seeing such devastating losses live two weeks in a row against these two clubs in particular is.. not sure what word to use.

Alex Pearce is the best FB in the comp, Clark is suberb week in/week out now but Luke Ryan..Wow, the scoreboard without him and his intercepts tonight would have made the scoreboard very ugly. Heard many Port fans asking "who was that blonde-haired Freo defender?!" Generally heaping praise. He had a blinder and Treacy more than made up for last week, he was on track to having his best game for us - three goals in almost as many minutes and uncharacteristic (good) marking was a highlight. But yeah, Luke Ryan was our best. From what I could see Walker had some moments too and its great to have him back.

We'll get over this and get better. We missed Freddy's budding new chase and forward pressure and my God, Darcy cannot come back soon enough.

Onward and upward.

PS. To those that made the trip here to Adelaide, I'm sorry that your time here was soured and I commend your loyalty, commitment and heart. It was great meeting you.

Sorry, I have only skimmed through a handful of the comments thus far just having come back from the match and haven't processed it all just yet. I'm just really gutted that as an Freo fan living in Adelaide the only games in which we've really had a chance is against the Crows. I go to the Port matches out of loyalty expecting to lose but the last two weeks have just left me really gutted. We've come so close and actually played excellent footy - the team is clearly better than in almost a decade, so its bittersweet and I'm still generally positive. Just seeing such devastating losses live two weeks in a row against these two clubs particularly is.. not sure what word to use.

Alex Pearce is the best FB in the comp, Clark is suberb week in/week out and Luke Ryan..Wow, the scoreboard without him and his intercepts tonight would have made the scoreboard very ugly. Heard many Port fans asking "who was that blonde-haired Freo defender?! Generally giving praise". He had a blinder and Treacy more than made up for last week, he was on track to having his best game for us. Three goals in almost as many minutes and uncharacteristic marking was a highlight. But yeah, Luke Ryan was our best.

We'll get over this and get better. Darcy cannot come back soon enough, dear God.

Well summed up. I also feel gutted too. My depression has kicked in a bit. I'm feeling flat

Like I said 9 goals and we leave the door ajar.
Erasmus as sub is just dumb. He is a nervous starter.
No small/medium talls or even trying to fix that forward line.
Sure we can make finals and bow straight out.
I have no issues making finals and bow out in the 1st week.

8 times of finals out of 29 years or 9 times of finals out of 30 years. Take your pick.

I will be fuming if we finish 9th to 12th with this club this season. Worked too hard not to make finals.

Traecy in the 2nd quarter was immense.

the midfield did ok considering what they were up against.

I agree ethan hughes should be dropped.

Banfield was the tale of 2 ends. at one end he can be a use ful goal kicker. but I was upset when he got caught holding the ball in an open forward 50.

Can’t play Sonny anymore and we have nobody to replace him

Can’t knock the Boys efforts though

Realistically that’s all I wanted after last year’s debacle

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
Sort of wished we made a play for Tyler Brockman in last years trade period.

Some positives

Treacy wasn’t great q4 last week, comes out this week clean hands and I was so proud of him

Also Brayshaw last week wasted the ball i50, this week kicks his goal and perfect hit up to amiss

I’m hoping the serong miss lights his fire i50

And banfield, I’m not his biggest fan but he’s been great this year and he will learn from q4 too.

I hope Erasmus and Johnson also grow.

Walters and Taberner, well I think their bodies won’t let them compete on a level playing field.

Bit harsh on Erasmus. Came into the game midway through the last in hottest part of the

His second HTB was not a free kick, the player bumped him and then he fired out a handball.

Not taking chances in the last hurt. Johnson doing a stupid check side when under no pressure. Banfield fluffing two shots at goal. Both should have been kicked to top of square. Johnson should have just straightened up for a regulation kick.

Hughes had a mare.

Biggest issue is our lack of goal scoring ability. As we’ve seen the past two games we’re not going to win kicking only 9 goals.

I hope this develops over the remainder of the year.
That one was unbelievable. Not only did he handball it he wasn't even tackled. He went puce but bit his lip! If it'd had been Clark Port would have got three shots on goal for dissent.

Whilst there were many moments that contributed to our 2 losses in Adelaide really all it would have taken would have been for Amiss to be paid a free when he nearly had his head taken off last week and a free paid to Banfield when Butters ran through him and we win both of those.

Whilst Serong's miss is gong to get all the attention there were howlers from - Switta, Banfield, Johnson running into open goal. A pathetic set shot from O'Meara and I'm sure more I've missed.

I think we actually lost this game when there was no outlet kick for Ryan about 5 times in the last quarter. All it would have taken would have been a kick into the pocket, a switch or 2 and bring the ball out with some system and we win. Instead we had the dump kick and always at the side where Ratagolea was waiting.

Our bottom few players aren't good enough. Emmett lacks class, Hughes isn't smart enough, Banfield reverted to his worst tonight, Walters appears cooked (hopefully he hasn't fallen away completely but the end can come quickly), Switta is hopeless for the most part, O'Meara is basically useless, Johnson hasn't come on, Tabs is cooked.

The trouble is we don't have much to replace them. Obviously Darcy in so Jackson can free range, hopefully Chapman is ready to replace Hughes and Freddy back up forward but what to do about Johnson, O'meara and Erasmus?
I say give Brodie another chance and maybe Delean or Simpson if he's ready.
Erasmus give him a run of games and see if he's got it. He looks a bust to me but its too soon to say.

Not all doom and gloom. The team is playing very well and clearly we're back to a position where we can match it with the best.
Oh what I'd give for half the talent GWS or GC have waiting in the wings. We're just a few players off being complete.

Give me a Time Machine to bring back Pav, S Hill on a wing and Ballas up front. Maybe Peak Fyfe too. I reckon we're about this 3 players away from being good enough to win the whole thing.

Coz the season is over hey? Some people needs to give their heads a wobble, we lose a couple of games and apparently we need to lay down and give up?
It’s not over, we’re in it up to our eyeballs. The constant mothering of the team and results, I swear some posters are happy to be constantly looking forward to next season. They’re a big chance this year with around 6 other teams. Dropping games like this needs to stop and pulling posters up for saying so is annoying.

I think we actually lost this game when there was no outlet kick for Ryan about 5 times in the last quarter. All it would have taken would have been a kick into the pocket, a switch or 2 and bring the ball out with some system and we win. Instead we had the dump kick and always at the side where Ratagolea was waiting.
This more than anything today tbh.

It hits the ground in every forward line more than it is marked. Last week Curnow, who is pretty handy, didn't start marking them until later in the game.
I’m not entirely disagreeing because our small forwards couldn’t find a crumb if they were working in a bakery .

But good forwards like Curnow if they don’t take a clean mark quite often draw a free because they are so hard to play on

I’m adamant a forward line like this is what takes us to a flag

* ( Jackson )
Simpson * Mac-Donald Freddy
Switta Treacy. Amiss

Review Fremantle Contest Another Game In South Australia