Review Freo burn the dirty birds by 35 points in Derby LIX

I actually thought Brayshaw would win the medal tonight, he was a man on a mission and really led the boys as captain. He actually beat Serong in every statistic (except clearences) and was the highest rated player on ground. This past month he has been in top notch form.

Does Stone Cold Stats on 6PR - former Senior assistant at Brisbane (2020-23). Before then was at Freo/Swans and West Coast. All at times when then were either winning it all or close to it. Great insight to the game, well worth a listen.
Yep best “technical” insight of football media into AFL footy going.

compare it to the skin deep analysis you get from Kingy *and the likes in the rest of the v(AFL) media and theres no comparison

* would love to see one of those reaction vids on youtube of Kingy listening to one of stoneys podcasts, reckon it’d look something like this…

1722088812612.gif

I actually thought Brayshaw would win the medal tonight, he was a man on a mission and really led the boys as captain. He actually beat Serong in every statistic (except clearences) and was the highest rated player on ground. This past month he has been in top notch form.
he’s in better form than his AA year, last few games

What’s the deal with the Reid bashing? Some of the comments are way over the top.

He’s a 19 year old kid who has no on field support & is expected to carry his team. They don’t have the culture to pull him into line, so there are issues, but you can’t knock a kid who plays with confidence & swagger.

For me he’s a breath of fresh air as he’s being himself & it’s fun to watch. It’s just harder to watch when he plays well against us.

True...

We have Essendon at the MCG next. I don't think Freo has ever beaten Essendon at the MCG. We got close in the 1990s.

But yeah would be epic if we beat Essendon next week.
Mate, Essendon won’t be the challenge the Eagles were tonight. On today’s evidence they’ve waved the white flag.

What’s the deal with the Reid bashing? Some of the comments are way over the top.

He’s a 19 year old kid who has no on field support & is expected to carry his team. They don’t have the culture to pull him into line, so there are issues, but you can’t knock a kid who plays with confidence & swagger.

For me he’s a breath of fresh air as he’s being himself & it’s fun to watch. It’s just harder to watch when he plays well against us.
A cocky arrogant player that the media creams themselves over who plays for the cross town rivals? Why wouldn’t we hate him.

Side note, he burns his teammates too much by trying to shrug off as many tackles as possible. Ends up having to get a desperate handball away so he doesn’t get caught htb when he could’ve got a better disposal out one shrug earlier

Very happy with that. They're a strong, physical team with some A-Graders, prepared exclusively for this game and brought 200+ pressure for a half. We weathered and then destroyed them.

Major things noted from the game:
A) If teams don't pressure us at above 190/200 we cut them to shreds. As long as we are clinical, this will win us games.
B) Our handballing at times is superb and extremely skillful - occasionally over do it, but getting better. Mark Stone referred to our ability to 'shape' the ball on his show this week (form squares/triangles to play out of defence/stoppage/pressure) - could really see what he meant tonight, especially in the third.
C) Treacy is the best all round player in the AFL currently. Have no doubt he could be an AA KPD if he wanted. His awareness is unreal; shepherding Freddie's mark, holding off the man to allow Emmetts goal to run in instead of risking the mark, getting front on contact before running his man down for Emmett to score, finished off with the roost from 55. Got it all. The fact him and Logan Macdonald was even a discussion seems laughable now.
D) JOM is very valuable. Kicks straight, hard body and holds his tackles. Sure can be slow, but generally I reckon he's one of the first names down.
E) We laugh, but Bailey Williams gave a good account tonight - Geelong could do worse than ask the question.
F) Freddie kicked straight; like I said, watch out.
G) Serong - just consistently brilliant, never stops working and drives standards. So lucky to get him and Young in one draft.
H) Jordan Clarke; love his mongrel. Really got on top of Reid and got in his head. Brought the rest of the boys along for the ride. He's a campaigner and I love it.

That's about it; we're in good shape. Don't let ladder position fool you, that was a tough Eagles side that would've put away 2/3's of the comp playing like that. Sleep well, finals is pretty much assured now, would need to lose 3 out of the remaining 4 and that ain't happening. Got to push for a top 4 finish and then who knows? Dare to dream I guess.
Yeah Youngy's pressure in the middle turned things around.

Serong’s play catches the eye and is the flavour of the year. Andy has had a down year, but I also think that’s because he’s happily given up his rotation to fit Young into the mids and has been learning to play a more outside role. Just the ultimate team guy and since 2022, so underrated.

I don't like the over-the-top Reid bashing, but he could pull his head in a bit yeah? He was embarrassing himself tonight and the Coach/Captain did nothing to help him.

Best thing for him would be to ask for a trade at year's end and start fresh somewhere away from the West Australian. Tonight was always going to play out like it did.

A cocky arrogant player that the media creams themselves over who plays for the cross town rivals? Why wouldn’t we hate him.

Side note, he burns his teammates too much by trying to shrug off as many tackles as possible. Ends up having to get a desperate handball away so he doesn’t get caught htb when he could’ve got a better disposal out one shrug earlier
He is 19, like, I think we can give slightly better accounts of ourselves. Kid clearly has some growing up to do but that "excessive confidence" will annoyingly take him places. Was fun to watch him give away like 4 holding the balls though haha

Absolute garbage sorry, he did a few media focused little snaps, none of it was genuine and the bloke is a total shitbag.
Reid is scum, never shows any true respect to anyone, legitamtely reckons he has already won a Brownlow, and has multiple off field issues already as not even a 24 year old.

Reid lives for himself, always has and shows nothing but derision and deliberate soft off the ball hits and whinges when he doesn't get his way. He's scum morally, could win 27 Brownlows and will still be the same morally repugnant scum he was at victorian school level.

Jesus Christ you need help

Absolute garbage sorry, he did a few media focused little snaps, none of it was genuine and the bloke is a total shitbag.
Reid is scum, never shows any true respect to anyone, legitamtely reckons he has already won a Brownlow, and has multiple off field issues already as not even a 24 year old.

Reid lives for himself, always has and shows nothing but derision and deliberate soft off the ball hits and whinges when he doesn't get his way. He's scum morally, could win 27 Brownlows and will still be the same morally repugnant scum he was at victorian school level.
You’re unhinged.

That was just a purely fun game of footy, must have been electric in the 3rd being there. Flashback to the derby's of old with plenty of spite and two teams just going at it. If WC played with that intensity every week they'd give the 8 a push which just makes the win all the more juicy.

The loading up on this game from Schofield was hilarious, ****ing goober. Enjoy being an assistant for the rest of your career ya jackass.

I'm in awe of his ability, but tbh there's an element of "can dish it out but can't take it" about him. That's just youth though.

I don't like the over-the-top Reid bashing, but he could pull his head in a bit yeah? He was embarrassing himself tonight and the Coach/Captain did nothing to help him.

Best thing for him would be to ask for a trade at year's end and start fresh somewhere away from the West Australian. Tonight was always going to play out like it did.
Yeoy actually showed really good leadership and took him aside after he gave that goal away. But yeah, suspect in hindsight they might have wished they handled him a little differently from the start of the year.

Brayshaw was awesome but I did pick Serong :)

Review Freo burn the dirty birds by 35 points in Derby LIX