Review Freo burn the dirty birds by 35 points in Derby LIX

Pos
Someone needs to GIF Serong spinning through traffic. Pornhub worthy material. Him and Brayshaw brought us back into the contest when we looked down and out.

I liked Frederick today after a poor couple of weeks, apart from kicking straight he presented a lot better.

Emmett had little of it but made the most of it. Did get a goal late from a flop that Walters would've been proud of.

Neg
Chapman shit his dacks and got tunnel vision when an Eagle came within 5 metres of him. Half a dozen hospital handpasses, often when there was a wide open handpass the other side of him. I still think he's better than Hughes though.

Jackson's ruck work was ordinary and he needs marking lessons from Treacy.

Young I thought had a pretty average game, although he was on Harley tagging duty for a bit of it.

Hopefully Johnson comes back next week and that's the last we see of Aish at centre bounce. He wasn't great either.

The release timing of our handball & having that support player there is getting better every week. So often like early in the year you think, nope they’re overdoing it & are about to get closed down, but on most occasions someone is working to receive, overlap & continue to move it forward.

It’s great to watch that support, they’re a close bunch who are just working so hard for each other.

Concerned we got jumped again. Eerily similar to last derby where it didn’t feel right.

They cheat forwards of the ball and just happened to get it out.

Bank the 4 points.

I thought they were more physical in the first quarter, but second half we were very very physical at stoppages and in contests.

Some call outs:

Thought Young’s tackling in the middle was top notch, especially when it mattered.

Draper looked nervy early, but whilst he sometimes gets it wrong in the air, he links up and hits targets like a half back.

Loved the desire to take the game on through the middle even when we were down. Having Wagner, Clark, Walker and Chapman gives us lots of run, and with pace too.

Wagner probably a bit underrated for what he’s done since he came in.

Media bangs on about how we get our goals from turnover not clearance. If they ever learn to string two consecutive concepts together, they will know we get those turnovers based off having good field position, which we get from clearances.

They rested blokes and loaded up, threw their best punch and we still did 'em by 6 goals. As much as a said I wanted a 200 point win (for my own viewing pleasure), this is much better for the team. Given the run home of each team, I can't see us jumping Brisbane unless they slip a couple of times. I don't think we can get them on % and we're not likely to win all 4.

And they've done us a favour by not letting us get complacent for next week. The Bombers will get a massive bake in the media and we could be their GF as well. We should be ready for it.
We’ll be fired up to play on the G before finals.

Reid is a drongo flog, overpaid underachiever with unjustified arrogance onfield, and multiple off field issues, a bogan arrogant trash douche, still and always.

Pos
Someone needs to GIF Serong spinning through traffic. Pornhub worthy material. Him and Brayshaw brought us back into the contest when we looked down and out.

I liked Frederick today after a poor couple of weeks, apart from kicking straight he presented a lot better.

Emmett had little of it but made the most of it. Did get a goal late from a flop that Walters would've been proud of.

Neg
Chapman shit his dacks and got tunnel vision when an Eagle came within 5 metres of him. Half a dozen hospital handpasses, often when there was a wide open handpass the other side of him. I still think he's better than Hughes though.

Jackson's ruck work was ordinary and he needs marking lessons from Treacy.

Young I thought had a pretty average game, although he was on Harley tagging duty for a bit of it.

Hopefully Johnson comes back next week and that's the last we see of Aish at centre bounce. He wasn't great either.
Chapman thinks too fast. Hughes too slow. I know which I prefer.

We’ll be fired up to play on the G before finals.
You'd think so, but not sure we've earned that yet. We're still a "I'll believe it when I see it" team.

Reid is a drongo flog, overpaid underachiever with unjustified arrogance onfield, and multiple off field issues, a bogan arrogant trash douche, still and always.
Anchorman GIF

The release timing of our handball & having that support player there is getting better every week. So often like early in the year you think, nope they’re overdoing it & are about to get closed down, but on most occasions someone is working to receive, overlap & continue to move it forward.

It’s great to watch that support, they’re a close bunch who are just working so hard for each other.
And it’s very deliberate to get the ball centred and to get it to a forward on a good angle. Think that’s helped our goal kicking immensely the latter half of this year.

Derby’s have been like that since we’ve been in the comp, both ways. We even have retired players on record admitting as much.

Has there been a derby in the last 20 years that was a teams GF as much as this one was for WCE though? They rested players for it. They tried to rush McGovern through with a punctured lung. They went the biff all night. Spuds for the whole season turned into world beaters for 30 mins in the first half for them.

They can’t accuse us of that again after what they dished up this week.

Fair play to them they had me melting in the first half, but if you were a WC fan you’d have to wonder why they can fire up and play finals standard football for periods against us and then lie down against most other teams and not give a shit.
Because Reid chucks a hissy fit and they all implode around him.

Some of their dirt was disgusting, hence players going off constantly with bleeding heads.

Great 2nd half of footy.

I was all alone with about 10 Eagles supporters absolutely copping it.

They all disappeared at 3 qtr time.
Sounds like the flogs I had next to me.

Chirpy as all **** first half, crickets in the second.

Very happy with that. They're a strong, physical team with some A-Graders, prepared exclusively for this game and brought 200+ pressure for a half. We weathered and then destroyed them.

Major things noted from the game:
A) If teams don't pressure us at above 190/200 we cut them to shreds. As long as we are clinical, this will win us games.
B) Our handballing at times is superb and extremely skillful - occasionally over do it, but getting better. Mark Stone referred to our ability to 'shape' the ball on his show this week (form squares/triangles to play out of defence/stoppage/pressure) - could really see what he meant tonight, especially in the third.
C) Treacy is the best all round player in the AFL currently. Have no doubt he could be an AA KPD if he wanted. His awareness is unreal; shepherding Freddie's mark, holding off the man to allow Emmetts goal to run in instead of risking the mark, getting front on contact before running his man down for Emmett to score, finished off with the roost from 55. Got it all. The fact him and Logan Macdonald was even a discussion seems laughable now.
D) JOM is very valuable. Kicks straight, hard body and holds his tackles. Sure can be slow, but generally I reckon he's one of the first names down.
E) We laugh, but Bailey Williams gave a good account tonight - Geelong could do worse than ask the question.
F) Freddie kicked straight; like I said, watch out.
G) Serong - just consistently brilliant, never stops working and drives standards. So lucky to get him and Young in one draft.
H) Jordan Clarke; love his mongrel. Really got on top of Reid and got in his head. Brought the rest of the boys along for the ride. He's a campaigner and I love it.

That's about it; we're in good shape. Don't let ladder position fool you, that was a tough Eagles side that would've put away 2/3's of the comp playing like that. Sleep well, finals is pretty much assured now, would need to lose 3 out of the remaining 4 and that ain't happening. Got to push for a top 4 finish and then who knows? Dare to dream I guess.

If West Coast's future is as bleak as it looks, I can't see Harley sticking around for it. Not because he's desparate to get home or any of that (which might be true anyway), but because that dude is a winner. He might be a giant flog but many of the best are and he's going to hate playing in a team that sucks giant balls for half his career.

He can barely hold himself to together and he's only played 16 games.

I’m ready to call it - the corner has been turned.

We'll know by the end of the H&A.

Very happy with that. They're a strong, physical team with some A-Graders, prepared exclusively for this game and brought 200+ pressure for a half. We weathered and then destroyed them.

Major things noted from the game:
A) If teams don't pressure us at above 190/200 we cut them to shreds. As long as we are clinical, this will win us games.
B) Our handballing at times is superb and extremely skillful - occasionally over do it, but getting better. Mark Stone referred to our ability to 'shape' the ball on his show this week (form squares/triangles to play out of defence/stoppage/pressure) - could really see what he meant tonight, especially in the third.
C) Treacy is the best all round player in the AFL currently. Have no doubt he could be an AA KPD if he wanted. His awareness is unreal; shepherding Freddie's mark, holding off the man to allow Emmetts goal to run in instead of risking the mark, getting front on contact before running his man down for Emmett to score, finished off with the roost from 55. Got it all. The fact him and Logan Macdonald was even a discussion seems laughable now.
D) JOM is very valuable. Kicks straight, hard body and holds his tackles. Sure can be slow, but generally I reckon he's one of the first names down.
E) We laugh, but Bailey Williams gave a good account tonight - Geelong could do worse than ask the question.
F) Freddie kicked straight; like I said, watch out.
G) Serong - just consistently brilliant, never stops working and drives standards. So lucky to get him and Young in one draft.
H) Jordan Clarke; love his mongrel. Really got on top of Reid and got in his head. Brought the rest of the boys along for the ride. He's a campaigner and I love it.

That's about it; we're in good shape. Don't let ladder position fool you, that was a tough Eagles side that would've put away 2/3's of the comp playing like that. Sleep well, finals is pretty much assured now, would need to lose 3 out of the remaining 4 and that ain't happening. Got to push for a top 4 finish and then who knows? Dare to dream I guess.
How Dare You Greta GIF

Review Freo burn the dirty birds by 35 points in Derby LIX