Rumour Future of the club (Bevo, board, assistant coaches, football department)

I don’t believe he’s being told to crash packs when the big boys are already there but he definitely isn’t being told not to if that makes sense?

This is the crux of the issue. Tbf, a few times this year I watched him closely with the usual F50 entry bombed in the air, and he does sometimes look to see who else is around him, and stayed down - isolated instances, but maybe the instruction is along the lines of "if you've got a run at it, go for it, but if you're out of position or too many of our talls are in the vicinity, stay down".

Agree he plays on instinct though, and I don't think we want that coached out of him - at least I don't. He's bobbed up with bags in games where our other forwards have struggled - although often in those games has been leading himself or the odd free for high contact. (And for all the vitriol from oppo supporters, one thing Weightman doesn't do is stop if collected high with no free - he goes back after the ball.)

I don’t believe he’s being told to crash packs when the big boys are already there but he definitely isn’t being told not to if that makes sense? We are in agreement that he just needs a better balance. He is super effective already and will be a 40 goal a year forward soon enough, but he can be an absolute elite small-medium forward if he makes gains in his defensive and ground ball work.
Ive said it many times in game day threads. He's a mini Aaron Naughton.

They both play on instinct or like a dog with a tennis ball. See ball... Catch ball.

Trying to get these two to do otherwise. Would be like telling a dog not to lick its balls.

Improvements in that side of his game would be great. The thing is that I suspect that it's always been a secondary to what brought him to the big show. Coaches may be able to find incremental improvement in this part of his game, but it's one that will always be built around his strengths as a medium mark and kick forward.
As for Spangher and his influence, at the end of the day we are all in the dark as to how he is viewed internally. You are spot on that our ball movement is the biggest issue for our forwards, nothing comes easy for them. But something that sticks out for me was a pre game interview Jamarra and Naughton were doing before the Tigers game. They both said they don’t worry about leading patterns or setup, if they see the ball, they just lead for it. This is the sort of stuff that I assume gets the supporters frustrated.
Of course, we'll never know. It's what makes the constant criticism so silly.

Their pre-game interview sounds like a misdirect or something they'd say to amuse themselves knowing how much work they've actually put into that aspect of their game.

Either way. It's an odd thing for them to say when their running patterns, and repeat leads were noticeably improved during the past season. This was especially the case with JUH who up until this year ws still reliant upon his underage advantage where he could jump and outreach his direct opponent. An advantage that the games elite backmen with their body positioning will not allow.

Much the same could be said of Rory Lobb. He's a guy who fully understands what a leading pattern is. It's just that much of his hard work went unrewarded. For the reasons Ive outlined. Its the midfield.

If Beveridge cannot sort out his midfield rotations with the quality he has at his disposal then the axe needs to fall on him.

And that needs to be sooner rather than later.

Just a thank you to Smiley and others who kept us updated 😊 over the past few weeks.
We heard about Matt Egan before the club announced it to the public.
PS please keep it coming.

Beveridge can coach. 2016 and 2021 prove that. The issue seems to be the hubris he displays in subsequent seasons. Besides 2016 and 2021 we have badly underperformed.

This is an ultra-competitive elite sporting code. Every year it evolves and gets more competitive. IMO it now more than ever takes a whole of footy department approach.

Hopefully, the footy department refresh currently underway turns things around. IMO 2024 is a watershed year for the club (i.e. remain a middle-of-the-road club, or become a true destination club).

I reckon the “flying for same ball” routine only happens a few times a game but it stands out in our post match memory as it looks bad.

What might be happening is that our forwards are blocking for each other so that one of them can take a mark only to get a bit carried away . Commentators often praise Marra for his ability to take a defender out of the way so Naughton can get a clear run.

I thought our forwards were pretty good last year . Accuracy was the main issue and I’m glad to see the club addressing this.

Beveridge can coach. 2016 and 2021 prove that. The issue seems to be the hubris he displays in subsequent seasons. Besides 2016 and 2021 we have badly underperformed.

This is an ultra-competitive elite sporting code. Every year it evolves and gets more competitive. IMO it now more than ever takes a whole of footy department approach.

Hopefully, the footy department refresh currently underway turns things around. IMO 2024 is a watershed year for the club (i.e. remain a middle-of-the-road club, or become a true destination club).
Craig McRae is basically doing what Bevo did in 2016 and 2021, that is build this aura around himself that he can will his players to perform beyond their capabilities. The last 40 mins of the 2021 sent Bevo to the edge and he hasn’t really come back from it in my view. If he can get this group to the pointy end of the season again I’ll tip my cap to him.

Just rewatched bevos rd 1 2022 press conference against tom morris, geez it's good. At the time I thought he was over the top but looking at it now he doesn't miss. Doesn't raise his voice, doesn't swear just hits him between the eyes
I’ve been critical of Bevo’s post match press conferences this year and one bizarre pre-match one as well. But I was behind him 110% round 1 2022 when he called out Tom Morris. Morris copped it, but it was on behalf of all flog journalists in our game, which there are many.

You are right as always, Spangler and webb are far more accomplished than Hansen and King, Corey, Gia and so on. Both have a great player and coaching resume.

At least you make me 😂
Weren't most of them there in 17 also? 18? 14? How do you explain those years?

The supposed influence of assistant coaches is probably the most overblown thing on this forum.

Never mind that the BF hive mind was complaining about those guys being dud assistant coaches at the time also haha.

No, he pretty much said he couldn’t do the coaching role justice due to ongoing knee issues.
Both are true. He did his knee again going down a slide with his kids. He did talk about how it affects being a development coach, however he got cut due to Covid and was moved into the coterie position.

I’ve been critical of Bevo’s post match press conferences this year and one bizarre pre-match one as well. But I was behind him 110% round 1 2022 when he called out Tom Morris. Morris copped it, but it was on behalf of all flog journalists in our game, which there are many.

Hear hear.

If I was Morris I would now be thanking Beveridge for helping give him the wake up call he obviously needed.

There are plenty campaigner journalists out there, so hopefully they keep getting called out.

When does day 1 of pre season training start?

We are cutting it fine not have the Head of Fitness locked away.

I would think the planning should be happening now for that.
Sounds like the old understudy did off season programs etc so not the end of the world, hopefully done in the next couple of weeks though

No, he pretty much said he couldn’t do the coaching role justice due to ongoing knee issues.

Both are true. He did his knee again going down a slide with his kids. He did talk about how it affects being a development coach, however he got cut due to Covid and was moved into the coterie position.
We got there in the end.

Just rewatched bevos rd 1 2022 press conference against tom morris, geez it's good. At the time I thought he was over the top but looking at it now he doesn't miss. Doesn't raise his voice, doesn't swear just hits him between the eyes

At the time I was a little critical of him, a poor result that night, his stupid handlebar moustache and he just looked so exhausted. I thought he was bordering unhinged territory but after looking deeper into it, Morris was a flog, deserved it and copped Bevo at the worst possible time lol.

Good, solid, experienced and diverse coaching group.

No excuses from here.
It’s reassuring seeing these recruits. If the issue really was the lack of support then we’ll do well next year and Bevo will be somewhat vindicated. If we struggle, then at least there shouldn’t be any lingering doubt around moving on from Grant and Bevo. Win-win

Agree.

So what are we gonna whinge about now? Could be a long off season.

Agree.

So what are we gonna whinge about now? Could be a long off season.

I still haven't finished with Robbie McComb !!!! This could take a while......

Rumour Future of the club (Bevo, board, assistant coaches, football department)