Game Day thread v Freo

in the first half the bombers were all over the dockers from the defensive line to the centre however their decision making when going into the forward was shocking! i agree with rotations in the midfield, however rotating the forward line over and over again, provides 1. no stability to those who play there 2. does not determine who are the main forwards that the midfiekders are to kick to and who the forwards amongst themselves are the key targets........too many times it appears we have monfries/williams/davey etc etc playing the main leading target...who are the crummers aka darren bewick???

Pissed to the max today. I have no idea why Knights put Hille in the forward line, left Ryder vulnerable to the might of the giant. Still filthy at the way we played and how we somehow ran out of steam in the last quarter. Havnt had such a sinking feeling in a while.

Off the negatives, but there was 3 positives:

1. Gumby :thumbsu: - was happy for him to do well and enjoyed that contested mark
2. Zaharakis- showed class today
3. Howlett- Many people want him out but he was gun today

Pissed to the max today. I have no idea why Knights put Hille in the forward line, left Ryder vulnerable to the might of the giant.

are you serious?

Did you not notice the way Ryder was jumping all over Sandilands? Sure, Sandi still had a massive influence, but Knights was trying to expose him with Ryders athleticism, & I don't have a problem with that

are you serious?

Did you not notice the way Ryder was jumping all over Sandilands? Sure, Sandi still had a massive influence, but Knights was trying to expose him with Ryders athleticism, & I don't have a problem with that
Maybe your right, thats just my opinion on the match from watching it live

Hille had a knee reco last year and has missed heaps of football so I suppose we can excuse his lack of form in the first few games of the season. Ryder has looked out of sorts so far this year and doesn't really seem to have a defined role. He is much better than a second string ruckman and we all know it.

Other than that Gumbleton played well but we were outclassed by a very promising and up and coming Fremantle side with a lot of promise about them. They exposed us down back on the rebound quite a few times and Sandilands finally has some decent clearance winners in the centre to assist his great tap work

we were killed today by direct turnovers whilst delivering into the forward line. I've rarely been so angry as I was at the game with our stupid turnovers

Watched the game with an Essendon friend and the most frustrating thing was how many turnovers they had by hand, they would clear it out of defence reach the centre area and instead of going long to the hot spot they would go for that extra handball and lose possesion.No height in fwd line hurts.

I also watched the game with a Bomber friend and we were both amazed at how lazy Williams looked today. I hope for your sake he starts to show something soon...but gees he was half arsed today:confused:

What I'd have given to see Lloydy running up the corridor taking outstretched marks on the lead, throwing the grass up and slotting through goals with simplicity and ease. We needed him today. We needed a leader up there.

Your side looked better with Riemers and Neagle in. Who would make way IF they came back in? Myers and Davey?

Gumbleton looked good, as akward as his kicking action is it came off the boot alot better today. Zaharakis was as good as last week, Monfries not so much.

McVeigh was good (hoping he has second week blues [pardon the pun] when he plays us)

Ryder and Hille a bit off, should be pumped up after 0-2 start though.

I like Winderlich's game, needs to be given more of the ball

That's what i took without extensive knowledge of your side

Hope Dempsey gets suspended and Stanton comes in under a fitness cloud next week :p

What I'd have given to see Lloydy running up the corridor taking outstretched marks on the lead, throwing the grass up and slotting through goals with simplicity and ease. We needed him today. We needed a leader up there.
For sure. We got it up there a fair bit in the first few quarters but there was just no big targets.

Watched the game with an Essendon friend and the most frustrating thing was how many turnovers they had by hand, they would clear it out of defence reach the centre area and instead of going long to the hot spot they would go for that extra handball and lose possesion.No height in fwd line hurts.

for me the bigger issue was the direct turnovers from kicks, typically into the forward line.

I seriously lost count of how many times we kicked it directly to a ****ing Freo player.

It was the death of us today, no doubt

Our pressure was fantastic again today.

Been a feature of our season, your side wont be the first to come unstuck.

Can't think of many positives team wise but the negatives are easy.

Skills today were woeful even when not under pressure.

How an opposition can kick in every time with a 55 metre kick to a guy 10 metres clear who runs it out the backline like a training drill is beyond me. Most sides have a decent zone making it at least a bit difficult to get it out.

Kicking sideways instead of getting it into the forward line quickly plays straight into the opposition who flood back.

No fitness - incl the nab cup we have been run over the top of convincingly 3 games in a row. Perhaps Knights didn't want to change things as they went ok for half a game so why change. Last weeks similar comments nearly made me puke. "Things worked for 2 1/2 quarters so we stuck to it" What a load of crap - good/99% of coaches actually adapt and change a s the game goes on. Most try slow it down defensively after 2 or 3 goals in a row not worry about it for 9 goals.

When we did go forward bombing to Freemantles advantage 2 vs 1 etc.

Far too loose on the opposition. Freemantle would move the ball from one end to the other without an Essendon player being within 10 metres of their men.

No body stood up when it mattered to try and make a stand.

Knights once again failed to stop the oppositions game style or even slow it.

Can't believe it,
Just watched Knights saying we just wanted to "kick , kick, kick". That's the one thing we didn't do!!!!
What game was this guy watching?????

Williams for a first round pick yet passed up on Barlow who was training with us????
Remember the posters who bagged the guy who dared ask the question after Freo's first NAB cup game???
You Einsteins belong with Knights.

If the Coach can't figure out how to change the game plan when it isn't working then please, coach country footy. Blind Freddy could see Freo have learnt the zone after last week and with McPhee on board to confirm all Essendon do is attempt to play through the corridor it didn't take a mathematician to add up 1+1.

Lloyd was pushed out the door to make way for Gumbleton and Neagle yet it took one week for Knights to drop that plan but not his game structure. I challenge Jonathan Brown to kick goals with the slow delivery our forwards have to persevere with.

As for defensive pressure let's look at that. Sandilands was always going to win the ruck but what do we do, play wide and loose - and when a player can take 4/5 bounces down the wing and bounce a goal through you might as well go home.

Now you can bag me for not being a believer but the proof is there to see. It's a fool who denies the obvious.

Just some thoughts:

- I went to the game and noticed that we are a very skinny team. All across the board Freo have much bigger bodies. This is bad.

- McVeigh, Welsh, Slattery, Dyson, Williams, Prismall, Davey... all friggen useless. Very disappointing!

- Gumbleton, with 50+ games under his belt and more muscle, look out! Only positive today for mine. Took a fantastic mark early on and nearly killed himself.

- All pre-season we were told that the players had become fitter, stronger, more mature etc. Today showed me that NOTHING has changed from last year. Once again we have lost to a team we should have beaten, we played with no heart. Once again we send off a legend with the shittest possible performance. I thought the Hird/Sheedy farewell game v Richmond was bad...

- Sandilands did what he liked. The biggest bastard in the league was ruck roving like a demon and our guys just watched.

- It's one game, but today was shattering. We had a lot to play for and showed absolutely nothing. Our senior players were simply not good enough.

I love this club but today's performance was a spit in the face to the supporters and Lloyd. Freo in Melbourne should be a win every time. :thumbsdown:

I'm not usually so negative like this, but today was that bad and I needed to vent.

That is all.

Frustration level was very high today when watching the match. I commented to my mate that this is the worse we've played since we had the losing streak in 2008. The turnovers in the middle of the ground cost us dearly as did our poor movement into the forward line and don't get me started with our kicking at goal and our fumbling :)confused:). Hurley and/or Neagle were sorely missed today and I can see them adding something when they come back.

Ryder and Hille were smacked up today, but Sandilands has taken his game to a whole new level. They've still got something to offer and Hille's last half was a stark improvement to the first. It's going to be interesting to see how Geelong combat him next week. Ottens size and strength could nullify his effectiveness somewhat as well as the best clearance players in the comp.

Some of the match-ups were not good, particularly in the last half. Dyson on Haselby was a clear mismatch given that Haselby is great overhead for his size and is a good inside player - perfect match up for Hocking. Slattery was always going to struggle with Ballantyne's pace, Dyson would have been a better match up. One better than that would have been Houli...

Given how Zaka and Monfries have come on, Davey should be dropped. Howlett was magnificent for a half, but dropped out of it after that. He obviously needs some fitness, but he keeps doing enough to persist with.

Knights need to seriously think about the team picked to carry out our team plans. At the moment, the balance just does not seem right. We need an outlet marking option from the backline as we don't have one atm. Hurley as a roaming forward may be the option.

Game Day thread v Freo