GAMEDAY THREAD Carlton v Geelong

The doggies are meant to be potential grand finalists while we weren't even supposed to be in the finals at all.
Tue mate, but half their team should have been in hospital! You would think we had the flu the way we finished in the last quarter tonite.

probably lucky to not get beaten by more i think. we fell away, our last of the 4 entire goals we kicked in the 2nd half coming in the last minute or so. pretty poor no matter how it's talked up. our skills were poor for the last half but geelong snapped out of their rut in the 3rd and just eased away.

Only thing seperating the two teams was decision making ...our inside 50 forays were terrible ...some clangers but mostly just silly options ...this can be fixed.

I still think Walker is not up to it and needs to go back to the VFL to find some confidence and touch .

Our tackling is also an issue ..we just miss too many and it costs us on the scoreboard .

Good to see we didn't get blown away.

This was the real litmus test for our season and I think it showed where we're really at. Kruezer and Yarran back in and we might go marginally better, but at least we got to see close to our best effort against a team close to their best. Reckon we might go one better in the finals.

Hope O''Keefe gets a run next year and hope we get a good solid body before next season.

This was the real litmus test for our season and I think it showed where we're really at. Kruezer and Yarran back in and we might go marginally better, but at least we got to see close to our best effort against a team close to their best. Reckon we might go one better in the finals.

You're dead right, the loss of Kruezer has been massive.

Still, we are in the eight, no-one (except us true believers/romancing optimists) had us there,
so we move onto next week.

Had our chances and the scoreline didn't really do the game justice. Negatives for me were Walker again, he's just not in or best 22, Bower has gone backwards this season and was poor again tonight, what has gone wrong with Juddy's kicking this season.

Positives were Hendo again, Gibbs, Murphy, Carrots again and Waite.

geelong are far too big and a little too good. good game though, happy with the effort. Unfortantly collingwood are so far in front of everyone else, it aint funny.

shame about the 3rd. walker needs to step up. bower needs game time.

im a fan of robbo but christ he had a crap game!

cheers

Not terribly unhappy with that. So many good signs and in the end, it came down to inexperience and bigger bodies. A few times we took the panic option and that will be eliminated with experience. Got the frees early but had a few ordinary decisions against us in the second half.

Saw plenty to like .. now to do it for four quarters against quality opponents who are on their game.

We are not as far away as the doomsayers might think.

True indication on where the Blues are at,competitive Midfield,improving forwards,ordinary back half needs alot of work.Jamison needs to back himself he is just an old fashioned defender needs to take em on.Bower is clearly not a CHB . Get this right and look out.

Only thing seperating the two teams was decision making ...our inside 50 forays were terrible ...some clangers but mostly just silly options ...this can be fixed.

I still think Walker is not up to it and needs to go back to the VFL to find some confidence and touch .

Our tackling is also an issue ..we just miss too many and it costs us on the scoreboard .

Good to see we didn't get blown away.

A 42 point loss IS being blown away!! inside 10 points is an acceptable loss if there is such a thing. To be honest thought we had no chance at our graveyard tonight much prefer us at the mcg..

The junk time goals and the incredible number of forward-50 stuff-ups we made in the 3rd quarter, flattered the Cats. We had their measure in the 3rd and lacked the composure to put them away. They were panicking a little. No matter. This is also the first time I've seen the Cats ultraflood. No doubt everyone knows it's our weakness. Thought Duckwood was the best player out there tonight. Was great in congestion. It was an interesting game. I'd love to play them at the G in the finals. We had them covered for leg speed easily, and just lacked a little composure at crucial times. We can beat this mob, I know that. They know it too.

:)

We really need to work on our tackles. 48 tonight really isn't good enough. Happy that we gave it a crack at least. 3rd quarter killed us, we dominated the first 20 mins and had nothing to show for it. Our decision making was killing us and causing alot of anguish. Overall not upset about tonight

The junk time goals and the incredible number of forward-50 stuff-ups we made in the 3rd quarter, flattered the Cats. We had their measure in the 3rd and lacked the composure to put them away. They were panicking a little. No matter. This is also the first time I've seen the Cats ultraflood. No doubt everyone knows it's our weakness. Thought Duckwood was the best player out there tonight. Was great in congestion. It was an interesting game. I'd love to play them at the G in the finals. We had them covered for leg speed easily, and just lacked a little composure at crucial times. We can beat this mob, I know that. They know it too.

Yes whilst we had our chances in the 3rd quarter to be in the contest, be realistic we are still some way off Geelong when they come to play, if we played them in the finals they would be too strong for us .

We require some more players with improved skills which has been apparent for some time and we need to find a key position player as Bower has been exposed against bigger body forwards and all opposition clubs know this now.

Good game blues.

You definitely challenged us, I think your forward entries lost you the game - it made the difference for me.

Was at the game and laughed at the boos given to Milburn, definitely not forgotten ay?

We were competitive. I was proud of the effort even if we did fall away in the last. If only Garlett has held that mark and Grigg nailed that sitter...

Robinson and Garlett hurt us with sloppy disposal and bad decision making. Garlett just had an off day as he's usually much sharper but it's something Robbo will want to work out fast. He provides a lot otherwise.

Gibbs played probably his best game of the season for mine. Was so assured and classy every time he went near the footy. Looked back at his 09 best. Murphy likewise looked better than he has for the majority of the season.

Henderstar goes from strength to strength. :thumbsu:

Robbo and Garlett bombing unnecessarily when we could set up goals.
We really missed Yarran's and Lucas' poise and vision.

I'd back Yarran to hit the target more than Garlett with a field kick. Or at least put their defenders under pressure with a bullet.

The pressure and perceived pressure even got to our better players.

Houlihan has been a loss after he did the job on Enright in our win this year.

Houla has iced vital goals this year.

Still good to see Robinson hit the scoreboard in spite of his poor field kicking.

Our tackling is terrible again.

This is something that will improve due to effort and hard work, not talent.

We've dropped back to where we were three weeks ago after working hard to get a finals spot in the last two rounds.

I'm not happy with any loss, but I was expecting to be blown out of the water like the Dogs.

Our finishing and a few dropped sitters in the premiership quarter really let us down.

Walker needs to lift if he doesn't want to be overtaken by Davies, White, Tuohy and O'Keeffe next year.

Armfield is a gun and our most improved player.

Good game blues.

You definitely challenged us, I think your forward entries lost you the game - it made the difference for me.

Was at the game and laughed at the boos given to Milburn, definitely not forgotten ay?

Not until the day he retires !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was a disgraceful cowardly hit on SOS & what made it worse was the way he was clapping when he went to the bench that day in 2001 ........... TOSSER :mad:

Not until the day he retires !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was a disgraceful cowardly hit on SOS & what made it worse was the way he was clapping when he went to the bench that day in 2001 ........... TOSSER :mad:

Not arguing that mate, makes the game great when history and passion is displayed like that from opposition supporters

I remember Dean Solomon, after he hit Lingy very badly, getting ALOT of stick for it, and deservedly so.

Learnt a few things from this game....
- Cats are the best team in the comp at the moment by miles
- Our below average performance, is about 6 goals less than the Cats very best
- We have the Cats covered for leg speed, but lacked composure
- We can beat the Cats in a final. No question, especially at the G
- Hendo beat Scarlett last night. Will be a star. Thank You note to Vossy.
- Waite is pure talent
- Cats are starting to copy the Pies tactics against us, i.e ultraflooding our forward 50. First time they've done that.
- Davies is faster than Varcoe
- Selwood still ducks his head and the umps still fall for it
- Chapman and Ablett are great
- Kelly's ego is way more advanced than his footballing ability
- Pods will have a 3 week rest
- Hunt will have a 2 week rest
- Need Yarran
- Need Hampson
- Need AJ
- Jamo needs KP defender support badly
- Gibbs will be a superstar. Outrageously talented.
- MC too conservative - gotta play more than 4 specialist forwards
- Bower's confidence is shot
- Can't play Hadley at Subi

GAMEDAY THREAD Carlton v Geelong