Garry Ablett Jnr

You clearly have zero understanding of what is impacting him from off-field.

He doesn't want out because the Suns have lost some football games, he wants out because he is concerned about immediate family members.
Cant be that bad if he only suggested geelong and isnt prepared to walk.

Life is full of shitty conflicts. He has an employer who is willing to support him through it with time off during the playing year.

He seems to think GC owe him something other than time off for family reasons and his agreed pay cheque.

Maybe stay with your mates next time and dont chase the money. Grown ups own their choices.

Well maybe he doesn't have any respect for Gold Coast they certainly haven't earned it from him, and it doesn't have to be Geelong the other option is he simply walks away from the game. The choice is truly up to the Gold Coast administration, get what you can from Geelong (which wont be much) or let him walk away which would free up a lot of cap space to play around with.
I think I'm in the opposite camp to most people on here in that I think Gold Coast have treated Ablett very poorly of late, since 2014 they have clearly been rushing him back into the team before he was fit and ready just to get hurt again and now he is basically being made a scapegoat for all Gold Coast ills, no wonder he wants to get the hell out of there.
None of us are in the inner circle so we are all just speculating. My observation is that's it's Gary who has treated the Sun's poorly. To me he looks a very selfish person and puts himself above what the team needs.

The Suns owe him nothing. I hear most club legends say that they owe the clubs. That playing for thier club is a privilege. Gary seems to think the other way.

Lol. Clearly.
so you think his injury management has just been tops, absolutely nothing wrong with it?

Yeah to me it's pretty clear, I'm not sure what your opinion is because you haven't actually said anything.

But if this is really all you have to add, then your not worth responding to because you're not actually arguing against anything I'm saying.

So let me get this straight.
Ablett requested a trade for family reasons.
Ablett says this may be his last year - a sob story to get a trade next year.
But he says he's happy at the Gold Coast.
Sorry Gaz, that doesn't make any sense.
You're not happy at the Gold Coast. Just say it.

Yeah not really buying the family excuse. Surely he's got a spare room in the mansion that his parents could come stay in. Plus the whole "I only want to be traded to Geelong or I'm going to retire!" is kind of shit, any Victorian club would take him.

You are conflating 2 entirely different issues. If Geelong were actually willing to offer up a fair price for Gaz, then they'd convince the Suns to give him up. You'll also note there are 9 other clubs in Victoria, but i notice he didn't say "Rocket, is there any chance I culd be traded to Victoria to be closer to Dad?" He explicitly said he wanted to go to Geelong.

So when that happened, my interest in Gary's off field troubles evapourated. He wants to be back, sure. But not enough to walk away from footy, ot to play at a victorian club that isn't Geelong.

I don't know how they would do it trade wise. Geelong certainly won't be giving up an arm and a leg for a 33 yr old who may only play one more season. This will be a unique situation or he will just retire.

For quite a while I've thought that the God complex imposed upon that footy club was counterproductive to team success. Whilst being the best small I've seen an entire career of, Carey the best overall, his current attitude is nothing but proof that's he's a toxic, selfish complete waste of money. It was only a year or so ago that he demanded a full footy wage of $1m with no marketing component. A year later and he's cracked the sads, shows no concern for anyone but himself and expects to be traded for whatever shitful picks that Geelong can package up. Well tough t***ies little master, you made your bed, show something resembling selflessness and tough it out.

Gary snr isn't in a good way and I think his mum is struggling too. I'm not 100% sure but those are the whispers.
What ever happened to Nathan Ablett? I think they've all suffered from their Dads lifestyle, including his daughter. He may have been a great player, but Ablett senior is very irresponsible, and has a lot to answer for.

I saw Gazza Snr. play as well as Jnr, Lockett, Dunstall, Leigh Matthews, etc. Senior is so far ahead of the pack it's not even funny. I pity those who love footy but never saw him play.

Gazza Senior was once asked if his son had surpassed him as a player. Senior's response: "They still call him 'Junior' don't they?" *chuckle*
Was waste of space Gary Ablett Senior better than:

Carey
Voss
Hird
Matthews
Rioli
Lockett
McLeod
Ricciuto
Franklin
Harvey
Tuck
Pavlich
Kelly

No.

He was as good as them, yes, but what a failure as a father, what a terrible clubman and what a bloody train wreck...

Carey
Voss
Hird
Matthews
Rioli
Lockett
McLeod
Ricciuto
Franklin
Harvey
Tuck
Pavlich
Kelly

No.

He was as good as them, yes, but what a failure as a father, what a terrible clubman and what a bloody train wreck...

No. He was better than all of those players.

Carey
Voss
Hird
Matthews
Rioli
Lockett
McLeod
Ricciuto
Franklin
Harvey
Tuck
Pavlich
Kelly

No.

There would be 3 or 4 in that list who would compete for Best in my book. 1 from 70s,80s,90s and 00s

No. He was better than all of those players.
No. They were all better players than him, and except for Carey, better citizens as well. I've also had the misfortune to serve him at work, a pig of a man who plays the "don't u know who I am" card.

I dont care if he rooted your mum. He's still the best player the game has ever seen. Your emotion clouds your judgement.

Retire or see out the contract. They should be the only 2 options. I am a huge Ablett fan but this stinks of taking my ball and going home.

I am not sure what the Suns really achieve by the attitude but if they do he will retire. Either way he won't stay at GC for next year.

Yep, value him as you would a FA based on his salary, compensation to GC would be a high 1st rounder at minimum.

The other price, that GAJ himself could pay, seems to be a year out of the game. McCarthy got to where he wanted eventually, but had to sit out a year of his career.

Anyway, GAJ has the most first of first world problems, don't think it's worth any of us a seconds more thought, que sera sera

No it wouldnt as FA compo picks are based on age and the size of contract. If ablett left at 34 at the end of 2018 it would be on 1-2 year low-mid $ deal which would get GC at best a 2nd/3rd compo pick and possibly no compo pick at all.

What ever happened to Nathan Ablett? I think they've all suffered from their Dads lifestyle, including his daughter. He may have been a great player, but Ablett senior is very irresponsible, and has a lot to answer for.

Nathan hated the spotlight

Easy for you to sit back and judge, but you have no idea what the family has gone through and why. Think you should get off your high horse and quit throwing rocks mate

Retire or see out the contract. They should be the only 2 options. I am a huge Ablett fan but this stinks of taking my ball and going home.
A little but I think the Suns have made and broken many promises. It's ****ing scandalous how mismanaged the whole enterprise is (thrown into even starker relief when you compare them to GWS). He should be playing in a side playing finals by now with the amount of talent and concessions they had.

Go home you're drunk.

No it wouldnt as FA compo picks are based on age and the size of contract. If ablett left at 34 at the end of 2018 it would be on 1-2 year low-mid $ deal which would get GC at best a 2nd/3rd compo pick and possibly no compo pick at all.
yes, but his contract is monumental so even with his age, he would get a single high pick imo, and I'm talking valuing him if he walked out today not end of 2018, this is assuming he cuts and runs early from GC.

Garry Ablett Jnr