GDFL Geelong and District Football League

Congrats to Belmont! I too jumped on the bandwagon a couple of weeks ago, and they have achieved what many thought not possible.

BUT!, I hope these rumours that are circulating, are not true.
It is alledged that at the end of last season, the Lions were heavy in debt, and the possibility was that they could fold. All GDFL clubs took a reduced share from the Buckley's dividend in order to help Belmont pay off their debt, and remain in the competition. To my knowledge, that money they received went towards paying for players (Haami, Tate etc) and to this day, still remain heavily in debt. Most clubs are rumoured to be displeased with this outcome.

But hey, they are now the best team in the comp!

My head hurts....

Why? Are you the guy that Skrobba hit?

What a joke! To the people who said that the umpire saw it, you are kidding yourself. There were people 10 metres from the incident that didn't see it. The umpire saw nothing and it wasn't until Belmont players and officials squealed before they knew that anything had even happened. If they had have seen it, he would have been issued with a red card then, not 10 minutes later when play resumed.

If the umpire didn't see it, they shouldn't rule on it. It should be left up to the league to have an investigation into the incident.

Ridiculous decision by the umpires.

Alot of trouble out at Nth Geelong. A player revolt has lead to the sacking of coach J Alford! Not too sure of the reasons why.

Mathisen won the b & f, followed by Fitzsimmons and Bryant.

Holzfeind won Corio's b & f.

Any more club results for Best and Fairests?

Why? Are you the guy that Skrobba hit?

What a joke! To the people who said that the umpire saw it, you are kidding yourself. There were people 10 metres from the incident that didn't see it. The umpire saw nothing and it wasn't until Belmont players and officials squealed before they knew that anything had even happened. If they had have seen it, he would have been issued with a red card then, not 10 minutes later when play resumed.

If the umpire didn't see it, they shouldn't rule on it. It should be left up to the league to have an investigation into the incident.

Ridiculous decision by the umpires.
Didn't see the alleged second incident (did he get reported as I am yet to hear) but saw the one in the 2nd quarter which was extremely doubtful. It was a late bump but it was shoulder to shoulder, a free kick at most and for mine a very average decision like the standard of umpiring for the day.

Belmont lead early, with east making a comeback just prior to half time to be 4 points up at the break, belmont fought it out with them to reduce the margin to 2 points at 3 quarter time. As the players were heading to the huddle that dirty wanka Scrobolak hit one of the belmont boys which was seen by police officers and umpiring officials who at the start of the quarter red carded scrobba (as he had already been sent off with a yellow earlier). East stilll managed to get a couple in the last to be 8 points up with 5 mins to go then some magic by danny warren and tom carson both kicking snapshot goals from nowhere took the lead and were able to hold on for those final minutes. Haami was best on field, kristan Jeffrey killed it as did Ash Bogan and guinan smashed O'Hara keeping him to 1 goal after last time he kicked 7.
Scrobolak has got the ass from East and will not be returning as coach or player next year. Good riddance.
Go Belmont Lions!!!
You ididot. As someone involved with East this is the last thing that we have thought of. He has been fantastic all year and was harshly treated on Saturday.

As stated earlier I didn't see the 2nd incident (have yet to speak to anyone who actually did) but was told he reacted to being squirted with water by pushing a player in the face and he got caught by the emergency or boundary umpire. Silly and costly but so be it.

I thought the first incident was crap. It looked like 2 big guys squaring off, a free kick at most for a late bump but definitely not any more.

In all a dissapointing day (more so for Skrobba) given we looked like we had it but you can only do so match with a man down before it catches up with you and unfortunately it caught up with us 2 minutes before the siren.

Congrats to Belmont I hope you enjoy it.

You tosser. You lost.
I am astounded by your attempts to justify a loss from an almost unlooseable position, (dare we say choke?) but further astounded by your blatant poor sportsmanship. Nobody like a sore looser.
In saying that, I am not a supporter of the degenerative abuse thrown about on this forum recently and wish not for it to continue. Let’s keep our focus on the footy and the fantastic game we were all privilege to witness.
But fair dinkunm. You tosser.
I dont even support them mate, was just there to watch a competitive game. Unfortunately it was ruined by a small man in white.
A choke? are you serious, with 17 on the ground for 45 mins of the game and to fail by 4 points, thats not a choke mate. A choke is when you are up by 8 goals in a semi final and lose that.
In the end all the Lions can say is that they are premiers, which i'm cool with. Better them than Bannockburn! But the fact is, they were handed it on a plate, and then only just got there. The better team on the day didn't win.

Here's the facts to East Geelong Vs Belmont:

Round 7, 2007 Belmont Lions Sports Club 14.5 (89) v East Geelong 11.10 (76)
Semi Final: Belmont Lions Sports Club 15.4 (94) v East Geelong 18.7 (115) St Albans ReserveBy half time Belmonts Adam Grant had a compound fracture, Danny Warren strained hamstring, Chris Canavan didn't play and Scott Pickkett KO'd in last quarter

Grand Final:ast Geelong 9.14 (68) v Belmont Lions Sports Club 11.6 (72) St Albans Reserve
Midfielder Bowen Anderson injured in first quarter unable to resume game and Sean Gallager fractured jaw in first quarter. You go on about having 17 players on field. Belmont played without half their bloody midfield and still won you moron! pull your head in and realise Belmont were a better side than East and deserved to win. Credit where credit is due

I was there and i saw what Skrobolak did at three quarter time.

It was one of the weakest lowest acts i have seen in football. He just belted the bloke and kept running. He got everything he deserved.

Well done Belmont, what a win one of the best grand final wins i have ever seen.

Anyone read the advertiser today. For those who haven't I have included the exert of interest.

Meanwhile, umpires made a crucial mistake by sending off East Geelong coach Adam Skrobalak for the entire final quarter of the GDFL grand final.
Geelong Football Umpires League director of umpires Steve Keating last night revealed that Skrobalak should have been allowed back on the field for the last eight minutes of the match.
Skrobalak was reported twice for striking during the nailbiting grand final and received a red card at three-quarter-time after his second alleged offence, which was detected by a boundary umpire and relayed to a field umpire.
Keating said the umpire concerned misinterpreted a rule concerning the boundary umpire's role in the order off rule and should have given Skrobalak a yellow card instead of a red card.
``What our blokes did was red card him on a second offence, which was reported by a boundary umpire, when that should have been a yellow card and 15 minutes off,'' he said.
``The VCFL rule clearly states that that wasn't right, so what our blokes have done is deny Skrobalak the last eight minutes of the game.''
Keating said he was disappointed by the mistake, which resulted from confusion over whether to apply AFL rules or VCFL rules to the incident. ``We're still waiting on the VCFL to clarify that but that's the way we read it. We're not apportioning blame or guilt but it was a match management error,'' he said.
``We've spoken to them for educational purposes and we're ensuring that it doesn't happen for the GFL grand final.''

You think they are dissapointed what about East Geelong and in particular Skrobolak. The 8 minutes could have made a real difference given that Belmont kicked a couple of goals in the last 5 minutes.

Anyone as others have said it is in the book so lets move onto 2008.

HEADLINES! Today's Addy, an umpire's advocate has come out and said that Skrobba should never have been "red carded", and that a second yellow was the correct decision.
He went on to say that East were robbed of 8 minutes of playing time for their coach.

I pose this question. Isn't 2 yellow cards in the same game a resultant rest of the game send off, or two 15 minute sinbins?

Anyone read the advertiser today. For those who haven't I have included the exert of interest.

Meanwhile, umpires made a crucial mistake by sending off East Geelong coach Adam Skrobalak for the entire final quarter of the GDFL grand final.
Geelong Football Umpires League director of umpires Steve Keating last night revealed that Skrobalak should have been allowed back on the field for the last eight minutes of the match.
Skrobalak was reported twice for striking during the nailbiting grand final and received a red card at three-quarter-time after his second alleged offence, which was detected by a boundary umpire and relayed to a field umpire.
Keating said the umpire concerned misinterpreted a rule concerning the boundary umpire's role in the order off rule and should have given Skrobalak a yellow card instead of a red card.
``What our blokes did was red card him on a second offence, which was reported by a boundary umpire, when that should have been a yellow card and 15 minutes off,'' he said.
``The VCFL rule clearly states that that wasn't right, so what our blokes have done is deny Skrobalak the last eight minutes of the game.''
Keating said he was disappointed by the mistake, which resulted from confusion over whether to apply AFL rules or VCFL rules to the incident. ``We're still waiting on the VCFL to clarify that but that's the way we read it. We're not apportioning blame or guilt but it was a match management error,'' he said.
``We've spoken to them for educational purposes and we're ensuring that it doesn't happen for the GFL grand final.''

You think they are dissapointed what about East Geelong and in particular Skrobolak. The 8 minutes could have made a real difference given that Belmont kicked a couple of goals in the last 5 minutes.

Anyone as others have said it is in the book so lets move onto 2008.

You beat me to it by 1 minute Drago!

I was under the impression that a red card was off for the rest of the game.

It was what he deserved ayway.

What an idiot. It cost his team a premiership. East would have won if Skrobolak was on the ground. Almost should have without him as well.

From what i hear he has been given the sack at East already. In fact was given his marching orders straight after the game. Comes from a pretty good source. Although i will be corrected if i am wrong.

No wonder Torquay got rid of him. If East have who would touch him.

But i also heard that he was coaching Moddewarre next year as well. Just a rumour though.

You fool, its the Belmont Lions for starters. I saw the game and they more than deserved thier flag.
If you saw the game you would know they didnt deserve their flag. You clown.
Hopefully the pansy umpire gets the chop for his game ruining act. Not only do we have petite little ****s controlling our game, but we have some that do not know the rules. If only umpires were normal people instead of useless geeks who try to fit somewhere in society.

Enjoy your tainted premiership, Belmont Cats.

You tosser....
East's tactics consisted of injuring Belmonts players. At quarter time Scrobolak congratulated the player that hit Gallager and reminded his team to keep hitting him so he would be sent off with the blood rule. Several times throughout the match East players tried to bring it to the attention of the umpires to get him sent off. East never deserved to win using "tainted" tactics like that. Get a clue

One of their players had just been king hit by the opposition coach for no reason. why wouldnt you want to get him sent off. You just cant do that and get away with it.

Of course I would want him sent off if I knew that there was no chance in hell that my team would've, could've or should've won the game with him on the field.

Weak.

One of their players had just been king hit by the opposition coach for no reason. why wouldnt you want to get him sent off. You just cant do that and get away with it.

It was number 50 wasn't it? Regardless of why he got hit, he deserved to be hit for being fat and slow. Hilarious when he tried to play on in front of goal and got tackled in the goal square. Imagine if Belmont had have lost by a couple of points. People would have been queuing up to king hit him all night long.

I was under the impression that a red card was off for the rest of the game.

It was what he deserved ayway.

What an idiot. It cost his team a premiership. East would have won if Skrobolak was on the ground. Almost should have without him as well.

From what i hear he has been given the sack at East already. In fact was given his marching orders straight after the game. Comes from a pretty good source. Although i will be corrected if i am wrong.

No wonder Torquay got rid of him. If East have who would touch him.

But i also heard that he was coaching Moddewarre next year as well. Just a rumour though.
Obviously not a Skrobolak fan Hulkster but as stated erlier the club has not sacked him and no he is not coaching Modewarre.

These are both good rumours though and have got around pretty fast as I have had a number of people tell me the same thing.

If he wants to coach East in 2008 he will.

You tosser....
East's tactics consisted of injuring Belmonts players. At quarter time Scrobolak congratulated the player that hit Gallager and reminded his team to keep hitting him so he would be sent off with the blood rule. Several times throughout the match East players tried to bring it to the attention of the umpires to get him sent off. East never deserved to win using "tainted" tactics like that. Get a clue
You idiot. Gallagher got his ass kicked by a close checking opponent. To even consider that that was mentioned at quarter time is ridiculous.

The game on Saturday was tough but it was a GF so what do you expect. All this crap about either side sniping the other is shit as I thought the game was played tough but fair. There were a couple of minor incidents and skirmishes and neither side was angels but I think this post is denegrating both teams.

east will never win any respect if their supporters continue to whinge about the umpires and what happened to skrobolak. a coach of a football team should know better.......could never imagine williams doing the same thing.