Geelong- Can They Get Any Better?

They will need to if they plan on winning the premiership. They were not all that good tonight considering their aerial supremacy. Bulldogs midfield stopped in the second quarter.

I fear WCE and perhaps Sydney & Adelaide more.

Good post mate. :rolleyes:
Best offense and defense going round, number one for winning the contested footy, sitting two games clear on top of the ladder and we "need to improve."

If you're serious about us not being that good last night and not saying it with your tongue stuck firmly in your cheek then I suggest you have another look at the match because the brand of footy we played was about as good as it gets, especially in the first half.
Oh yeah, and the Doggies midfield stopped because they'd been run off their legs and completely smashed.

i think tonight this was them at their best... all their good players were playing like champions... i guess they can get better with NAblett and Hawkins to become power forwards of the game.... right now, they cannot get better cause they are at their best

I disagree. They have some important plyers to come into the side who were missing last night. Matthew Scarlett was a late withdrawal through flu. Nathan Ablett was absent through injury. Max Rooke is recovering from a hamstring injury. Steven King is in the VFL and starting to pick up some form. A spare ruckman.

Scarlett and Ablett are key position players: Full back and full forward. Max Rooke is a physically tough half back who would be in the first 18 let alone the 22. Rooke is versative and can be moved to the forward line where his is very capable at scoring goals. In the event that they could put all these players on the park, I would say "Yes, they can improve".

I think a few of our players have got improvement left in them, in particular Kelly. He was our best midfielder before he broke his leg and while he's shown glimpses of that form, he's yet to put a full game together. If he can get going, that could be the icing on the cake for our midfield as he's good in close and in space, and has got reasonable pace.

We can also add Rooke, Scarlett and Nathan Ablett to the team, not a bad trio to include.

They look very good and providing they don't have injuries, they should be able to keep up the momentum well into September

My favourite thing at the moment with the Cats is at that so many of the opposition coaches are saying their team played their worst game that night/day. Once or twice it is a coincidence, but when it keeps happening, perhaps it is pressure or the opponent that is making that so. But they say it like it isn't related to what the opposition was doing?

The past 2 weeks, possibly 3, we have kicked nearly the same amount of behinds as we have goals, and still won, twice by over 50 points. I would say that is where we could improve the most, with accuracy in front of goal.

I think a team can always get better. Didn't have Scarlo last night he always makes a difference. Rooke, N.Ablett and others like King are out of the side too. Put them into the side instead of say Byrnes, Hawkins (not in best side this year) and Blake. We look better. All the commentators and media guys say we lack a small crumbing forward and I have to agree.
You can always get better.

I think a team can always get better. Didn't have Scarlo last night he always makes a difference. Rooke, N.Ablett and others like King are out of the side too. Put them into the side instead of say Byrnes, Hawkins (not in best side this year) and Blake. We look better. All the commentators and media guys say we lack a small crumbing forward and I have to agree.
You can always get better.

I don't think that Monty is the man for the small crumming forward job. Any suggestings.? Could Stokes be the answer? He seems to know where the goals are.

You wouldn't think they can get a whole heap better, although there's always room for improvement.
On the other hand you wouldn't think it could all just suddenly fade away after such a promosing season (so far). Far more so than before.

I still think a full strength West Coast side would definitely give them a run for their money.
Would be a great game to see in the finals.

Geelong has always been plagued by inaccurate kicking in front of goal; after the first half of the season i thought we had improved a bit but the last three weeks have been pretty bad.

Do you reckon they may have peaked abit early? Surely they cannot keep this up for much longer.

Against Essendon and Collingwood we were a little bit flat. Bounced back against the Bulldogs with a massive opening half. The way they're going about their business, I don't think the players will slip in their concentration.

Cats are gone. Peaked way too soon.

Had a great run with injuries so far. But the GF is many, many games away. Injuries, ala the Swans early in the season, or West Coast at the moment will derail them.

They need to lose a couple of games, sooner rather than later.

I know this sounds (is) a very negative post, but I'm trying to be realistic. I'd love to see the Cats win a flag. I just honestly believed they've peaked far too soon.

Without a doubt Geelong can improve.

Rooke is perfect in that defensive forward role matching up on the tall play makers like H.Shaw, Goodes, or even Mcloud. Makes a big difference having his hardness in the side and has been a huge loss.

Defiantly we will improve with Scarlett back. Arguably the best fullback and possibly the best defender in the game, having a great season.

At this stage Nathan Ablett is significantly better than Hawkins. Nath has a bigger engine, much better below his knees, more accurate goal kicker and a better understanding of his role. Hawkins is really struggling with the fitness level required to play AFL footy.

The long shot though is King. He has not been anywhere near his 2002 form for sometime. If he gets anywhere near that it would significantly boost our performance in the ruck.

Cats are gone. Peaked way too soon.

Had a great run with injuries so far. But the GF is many, many games away. Injuries, ala the Swans early in the season, or West Coast at the moment will derail them.

They need to lose a couple of games, sooner rather than later.

I know this sounds (is) a very negative post, but I'm trying to be realistic. I'd love to see the Cats win a flag. I just honestly believed they've peaked far too soon.

Bet you were saying the same thing about your mob in 1995 too, weren't you? We're gone, peaked too early, need to lose, blah, blah, blah.

Why do we NEED to lose? That is the biggest load of crap I've ever heard. As long as we stick to our game plan, we'll be ok. As mentioned elsewhere in this thread, we were without Scarlett, N.Ablett, Rooke, King, Prismall and Varcoe, and lost Wojcinski halfway through the second quarter last night. At least five of those players would walk into our best 22, and the other two are handy back-ups for their positions. So we have had injuries this year. Unlike Sydney last year either, I don't think there has been one week this year we've gone in with an unchanged side from the week before.

As for peaking too early, I honestly believe we haven't peaked yet. We still have flat patches in games and make some shocking skill decisions at times. Just look at the two or three minutes before half time last night if you don't believe me. Where we have improved from previous years is our fitness. We are now running out games a lot better and pulling away from sides in the last quarter. I don't think we've played with our best 22 together in the one side once this year either. So yes, I think we can still get better.

They will need to if they plan on winning the premiership. They were not all that good tonight considering their aerial supremacy. Bulldogs midfield stopped in the second quarter.

I fear WCE and perhaps Sydney & Adelaide more.
AHAHAHAHAHA! That's gotta be the funniest joke I've heard in ages....
Oh wait, you're being serious aren't you?

WCE have lost at least their last 2 games and show no signs of coming back.

Sydney are hanging in the top 8 by the skin of their teeth and Adelaide aren't that much better. They've been hyping up wins over teams that haven't played well that much.

Bet you were saying the same thing about your mob in 1995 too, weren't you? We're gone, peaked too early, need to lose, blah, blah, blah.

Why do we NEED to lose? That is the biggest load of crap I've ever heard. As long as we stick to our game plan, we'll be ok. As mentioned elsewhere in this thread, we were without Scarlett, N.Ablett, Rooke, King, Prismall and Varcoe, and lost Wojcinski halfway through the second quarter last night. At least five of those players would walk into our best 22, and the other two are handy back-ups for their positions. So we have had injuries this year. Unlike Sydney last year either, I don't think there has been one week this year we've gone in with an unchanged side from the week before.

As for peaking too early, I honestly believe we haven't peaked yet. We still have flat patches in games and make some shocking skill decisions at times. Just look at the two or three minutes before half time last night if you don't believe me. Where we have improved from previous years is our fitness. We are now running out games a lot better and pulling away from sides in the last quarter. I don't think we've played with our best 22 together in the one side once this year either. So yes, I think we can still get better.
Yep. Couldn't agree more. I think we'll start dominating more towards the end of the year when we sort out the silly mistakes we make (ie. Ling standing around shouting at people while his tag runs away, missing easy marks etc.)

(in bursts).

Stokes often floats around the D50, is he a back pocket?
Ablett is definitely a better player playing through the midfield.
He is just as dangerous though as a small forward. Finds space where there is none.

Why do we have to lose???????
It took a coaching masterstroke,and a lot of luck to derail the bombers amazing season (rnd 22 vs the dogs)
GF was never a doubt

Same Same

Geelong- Can They Get Any Better?