GFL Geelong Football League - 2010

He's already been playing vfl for the past couple seasons so why would he need to go play sanfl or wafl? And i wouldn't think playing in one of Australia's best local football comps is hardly a waste.

He is 20 yrs old he has the rest of his life 2 come back 2 the gfl. it is a waste melbourne metro leagues would shit on the gfl. Why not try and get on a rookie list at least and have a crack at playing afl.

I watch a bit of footy up in Melbourne and the Eastern footy league would be the only league on par with gfl. As i mentioned a few pages ago he probably would put his name up for the draft and by signing now with Grovey he's got it sorted out if he doesnt get rookie listed/drafted again.

Any word out of Leopold, how are they shaping for 2010?

Word im getting is that it was all his decision because he wasn't enjoying himself and he wanted to play with his mates at Grovedale. Would make sense as to why he isn't nominating for the draft and why he has signed with Grovedale already

Seens as though the Riccardi signing if official in the papers, what players (if any) will he bring to the club?

I watch a bit of footy up in Melbourne and the Eastern footy league would be the only league on par with gfl. As i mentioned a few pages ago he probably would put his name up for the draft and by signing now with Grovey he's got it sorted out if he doesnt get rookie listed/drafted again.
I agree the only league in melbourne anywhere near gfl is the eastern league

I think you'll find that with an average wage budget of around 150k, that the Essendon Football League has some handy footballers running around.

They have some very good footballers running around but the strength of the whole comp gets no where near the GFL in terms of overall quality. Yes some big names chase coin which GFL clubs cant match but GFL is alot stronger

Please....can we get away from the whole 'GFL is the best comp ever' argument. Noble Park, Vermont, Balwyn, Croydon would dominate any GFL side bar the Swans. EDFL - Strathmore, Greenvale et al all powerful clubs that would be top 3-4 in GFL. Need i go on?

Let's not kid ourselves. GFL is great footy but....

Please....can we get away from the whole 'GFL is the best comp ever' argument. Noble Park, Vermont, Balwyn, Croydon would dominate any GFL side bar the Swans. EDFL - Strathmore, Greenvale et al all powerful clubs that would be top 3-4 in GFL. Need i go on?

This whole which league is better argument is bullshit. Mate Noble Park didnt even make finals this year so that comment was rediculous. The top 3-4 sides from the major leagues across Vic would be as good as each other

south barwon doesnt exactly dominate every other side in the comp so how would these teams dominate all other sides except south...

its a pointless argument though, lets just say theyre even and move on...

iv heard that a few players are leaving st albans to play bellarine, can anyone tell me who? and what club are they going to?

Gday Kid, do you feel lonely, i want to know whats going on at Leopold also. Anybody out there?

i have something for you that could be worth investigating, coach aaron greaves' job was advertised in the paper on saturday and i couldnt see why he'd leave that gig unless it was for a full time coaching position at a higher level... stay tuned for more!

they have picked up hardy from port adelaide and some roberts guy from belmont with a couple more in the pipeline but if they lose greaves it will be a big loss imo...

i have something for you that could be worth investigating, coach aaron greaves' job was advertised in the paper on saturday and i couldnt see why he'd leave that gig unless it was for a full time coaching position at a higher level... stay tuned for more!

they have picked up hardy from port adelaide and some roberts guy from belmont with a couple more in the pipeline but if they lose greaves it will be a big loss imo...
Is that greaves day job, or for the coaching positon.

sorry should have specified, his day job was in the paper and is a good gig so i cant work out why he'd leave unless there was something like a falcons or geelong vfl on offer...

Well it looks like Garry Hocking is set for an AFL job, possibly at Nth Melbourne. So that would leave the Falcons job vacant. He was assisting Nathan Buckley this year with the Vic Country under 16's. Could that be it?

just had it confirmed he's picked up a job at the VIS that will not require him to leave leopold so false alarm guys sorry...

hocking will be confirmed as an afl assistant in the next couple of days and its expected that paul hood will take the reigns at highton reserve...

Leaving his job may not mean much, dont know? Leopold are having a team meeting tonight. May know more after that, would'nt have thought he would be looking elswhere to coach though.

Hardy or Luke Harder? not sure myself, if it is Harder he is only young. played in under 19s and reserves for port adelaide magpies in 2008. played 6 senior games and 10 reserves in 2009. Could be a good signing. Jake Roberts played for glenelg under 19s in 2008 for a few games, went back to Laharum in the Horsham @ District league. 2009 at uni in geelong and played at Belmont, goes ok, both would be about 20.