GFL Geelong Football League - 2010

OK lets be civil
Dont know what they have put in the water at the snake pit but starting to look ok on the field.
In saying that we have not played any of the top sides like Sth Barwon, Bell park etc.
The spotswood boys have made a huge impact Sablich Ibister Wilson etc and a couple of the local kids have stepped up from last year.
4 on the trot after not winning more than four games for the last 3 years is fantastic just hope the boys can keep it up

From what i saw of the cats in round 1 they mite just be a few bigger players away from Sth,Bell Park and St Marys. Have improved massively from last year like you said and hopefully they can keep Colac or St Joeys outta the finals this year:thumbsu:

I was at the game and agree whole heartedly.

The umpiring was dire.

Some of the decisions they made were "what the ****" like in their judgment.

It was made worse by identical plays being whistled and the decisions being completely opposite to each other. This is despite the calls being made only a short while after each other.

That young kid with the mop of curly hair had a shocker.

If you reckon the GFL umpires are dire mate, travel down the highway and watch a Hampden League game. Trust me you doing ok in the GFL. It's just the way their being coached mate

-I have long been impressed with Vermont. Along with those 15 flags, throw in about 10 League B&F winners. At their peak would have been good to watch them go toe-to-toe with Sth Barwon.
-I don't think it's the players that Grovey have I think it's their game style. They play a millionaire's game and their not good enough to do that.
-If u scroll back thru my posts, I said at the start of the season that West would not be world-beaters but teams would take them lightly at their own peril. They may not make finals but they will consistently be competitive and claim some good scalps. Coach Scott has recruited extremely well. They should have beaten Newtown(who won't be that good anyway) and had three big talls out against Grovey; Saunders, Scott, Boyd. Look forward to the return bout.
who at the top their power would win, south barwon the past 5 years, or north shore 95-2000???

Be a cracking match but South Barwon would get home. Heaps of awesome talent in that North Shore side but South would be too fit and fast and drilled for the Seagulls. This difference mainly due to the more professional nature of modern football and the extra time that now goes into it. Probably nothing else. On paper would be very similar. Take that North Shore side and adapt it to today's footy and it would be far too close to call.

I thought this was gfl chat?

If you were reading the tread instead of getting on your very high horse, we were comparing the GFL with other leagues, comparing umpires with other leagues. There is a big wide world out there Hugecat not just the GFL. I know it is a GFL Tread, but we have a thing coming up that is called Interleague. I suppose your one of these guys that thinks the GFL is untouchable

Seems to me outsiders are not welcome here
You do not know me, so to say I think the GFL is untouchable is a bit much
Seems that if you do not agree with a post then your comments are not welcome. And whats with the high horse comment ????????
I do not need to be abused because I did not get the gist of what was being discussed which is a simple mistake when I was looking for chat about the GFL and all I could see was comment about the WRFL.

Sorry I didnt know this was your forum. We were comparing the GFL to other leagues, what dont you understand ? Just dont worry to much about it mate, join in or totally dismiss our comments dont just bag the shit of us

If you reckon the GFL umpires are dire mate, travel down the highway and watch a Hampden League game. Trust me you doing ok in the GFL. It's just the way their being coached mate

The Hampden league though has less population to draw umpires from and they have to travel further to games.

Geelong is the 2nd largest city in Victoria and as such has a far bigger pool of people to potentially find umpires from.

This is from left field but...

An idea I always had in the back of my mind for umpires was to set up a program at barwon prison and offer it to younger less violent inmates to be taught how to be umpires.

Train them in rules and fitness during the week and give them a pass on game days to get out and umpire games.

Pretty sure people would be less likely to abuse an inmate than some 18 y/o kid.

It also means their whole week is deidcated to learning their craft instead of full time workers doing umpiring part time.

Would also build up their self esteem and hopefully turn their future around.

Soss I'm tipping onevoive is onevoice short of a spell check.

Despite your very thorough reply I thought you glossed over his accusation of the umpires "goading" the players. Can we hear some more on that please - your apparent very informed version from onespellcheck's is as wide as Port Phillip Bay

The Hampden league though has less population to draw umpires from and they have to travel further to games.

Geelong is the 2nd largest city in Victoria and as such has a far bigger pool of people to potentially find umpires from.

This is from left field but...

An idea I always had in the back of my mind for umpires was to set up a program at barwon prison and offer it to younger less violent inmates to be taught how to be umpires.

Train them in rules and fitness during the week and give them a pass on game days to get out and umpire games.

Pretty sure people would be less likely to abuse an inmate than some 18 y/o kid.

It also means their whole week is deidcated to learning their craft instead of full time workers doing umpiring part time.

Would also build up their self esteem and hopefully turn their future around.

Not sure that some of these fellows can handle pressure too well or they may not have landed themselves in the position that they find themselves in. But I like where your coming from, your thinking outside the square. We need to explore all areas of recruiting umpires into the GFL. Did you hear that HUGECAT (I am talking GFL). Maybe a few of us could get out on the park and have a crack at umpiring a kids game with them. They need some common sense GFL Footy people with them

If they can handle prison they can handle a bit of pressure and heckling.

Let's face it, given some of the umpires that are getting a gig now they couldn't be much worse.

And starting them off in the juniors would be a good stepping stone.

ok we get it, the umpiring is terrible but its terrible for everyone at some stage. the umpires are human and as im sure everyone would agree, they make mistakes aswell as that, everyone has a different view of things. granted the umpires arent always in the best position to make a call and have been known to pluck things out of thin air, but thats life, its not always a level playing field and there is very little we can do about it, people are always going to make mistakes and always have a different view of things

Correct Stevo:eek:nevoive was a typo on registration! Soss1 re umpires and goading young players lets just put it down to all professions having good and bad in their ranks. Yeah umpires make mistakes and this is to be expected but when they start firing players up then in my book they're not doing a good job. A good umpire has respect and rapport with players. If the kid swore then why wasn't he reported for abusing an umpire? And from what I heard the players saying as they walked up the race he was merely responding to inaccurate (goading ) comments made BY the umpire first. Anyway, done & dusted but i suspect we may have an umpire in our midst in young soss1. Yeah, agree Jai Thompson is a champ, Ro Pickett is a freak (if he can stay out of trouble) and did you notice young Jai Bolton played in the seniors for Leopold and did really well. Think it was his first senior game. Dunno if Leopold can make the finals but if they do it may just be Joeys spot they take going on form to date. hey it was interesting to see in the record that after their initial losses St Joeys are rolling out excuses about "paying the price for an interupted pre season" . Jesus, who didn't with the state of some of the grounds etc.

Grovedale footy club has done it again.. Already a laughing stock of GFL footy this latest stunt just proves how unprofessional this club really is.

A promosing young footballer aged 18 has been denied his debut in the 1's this week because the club thought it'd be memorable to bring in the 35 year old 2's coach because its his brothers 200th game.. Would any other GFL club bring an old bloke not up to 1's into the side just coz its his brothers milestone game??? Wouldn't think so..

Everyone always asksed why Grovey had great juniors but they always moved to other clubs once they finished under 18's.. Well when the club give 30-35year old blokes games in the 2's and leaves young blokes misssing out or sitting on the bench you can see why the club is a rabble.

Really thought the club had started to make great strides but this latest episode proves just how unprofessional and living in the past this club is

St joeys, interesting club with strange methods. Why did they announce the recruiting of the Carson Brothers the week before they were due to play in last years grand final ? Hope they fail

Come on Tim I thought you were a decent supporter, give the club a break, it's probably one of your mates younger brothers missing out is it? name who the kid is missing out?

It's a very special time for this family Nathan Martin plays his 200th, from what i understand there old man played a heap of games and Wes (the brother of) has probably played 100 + games aswell so i think its a great thing to do if it is just for this week, unless he plays well but i dont think his a dud who can't handle it, i think he will put up a good contest in the forward line.

And who's to say this won't be Nathan's last senior game? he might pull the pin and maybe that's why Wes is in for the special moment. Maybe they will retire together, wouldn't that be a good special time for the family? Think about these things Tim if you played more footy or were a loyal player with alot of games experience i'm sure you would understand the clubs decision.
Really thought the club had started to make great strides but this latest episode proves just how unprofessional and living in the past this club is

Come on Tim I thought you were a decent supporter, give the club a break, it's probably one of your mates younger brothers missing out is it? name who the kid is missing out?

It's a very special time for this family Nathan Martin plays his 200th, from what i understand there old man played a heap of games and Wes (the brother of) has probably played 100 + games aswell so i think its a great thing to do if it is just for this week, unless he plays well but i dont think his a dud who can't handle it, i think he will put up a good contest in the forward line.

And who's to say this won't be Nathan's last senior game? he might pull the pin and maybe that's why Wes is in for the special moment. Maybe they will retire together, wouldn't that be a good special time for the family? Think about these things Tim if you played more footy or were a loyal player with alot of games experience i'm sure you would understand the clubs decision.

I would have thought if it was true a kid was missing for this milestone game a REAL clubman would say let the kid have a game as it is in the best interests of the club.

There is no sentiment in footy these days shake and bake Wes had his time and had not played with his brother four at least five years to then put your hand up and deny the future of the club a senior game of footy is quite selfish there is a young bloke in the under18 who is ready to go and would not be out of place in the senior side. The club does not have the money to buy recruits and then they wonder why the local talent they produce decide to leave. Heres a hint decisions like these thats why and its Nathans day not his brothers or old mans. This is why the club has not made the finals since 97 and there is no doubt if they had of kept the talent from there junior sides they would not be where they are today

Well if your going to go with that theory mate maybe Anglesea could bring Christian Robertsons old man out of retirement seeing how its his 200th 2morow aswell???

If it was my brother playing his 200th there's no way id be playing with him if i wasnt up to it and Wes is not up to it. These older blokes hanging round till there late 30's playing 2's is killing the club as young blokes keep getting overlooked year after year, surely the young guys are the future of the club not, not some washed up 35 year olds??

Ive spoken to about 6 loyal supporters and they've all said the same thing.. Its a dead set joke. South Barwon would never do shit like this, but then again i spose thats why there one of country Victoria's strongest clubs whilst Grovey just accept mediocrity each year.

I would have thought if it was true a kid was missing for this milestone game a REAL clubman would say let the kid have a game as it is in the best interests of the club.

Second that Muttonchops this is the selfish attitude that has been round this club for way to long

Grovedale vs BELL PARK- 131 points
Colac vs ST MARYS-23 points
ST JOEYS vs West-34 points
Newtown vs LEOPOLD-7 points
LARA vs North Shore-76 points
SOUTH BARWON vs St Albans-65 points

Went and watched West v Joeys today. Bit of a blow out in the end but West were within 4 or 5 goals all day. Missed their three talls that didn't play but were outplayed for most of the day. Joeys however IMO are a bit off the pace with the top sides. They will do well to just make finals. Biggest shock for me was how slow they were. Caught with the footy a dozen or more times. Unsure who missed for them but couldn't see Street or Bauer. Safe to say Newtown's season is over after falling at home to Leopold. Eagles would be far from comfortable with where they're at I would think.

Good performance by the tiges yesterday against the dragons. Grovey suprised everyone in attentence by leading by a goal at 1/4 time. The 2nd quarter was more predictable with the dragons kicking 4 goals and holding Grovey scoreless to lead by 20 points at half time.

After half time the dragons came out playing some pretty slick footy and in the first 10 minutes the lead had stretched to 39 points and it looked like Grovey were going to be on the recieving end of a belting. In the last few minutes Grovey kicked 3 quick goals to bring the margain back to 20 points at 3/4 time.
Harvey Lang pulled a choco williams by bringing the huddle over to the clubrooms in an effort to inspire the lads and it seemed to work as Grovey slammed on 3 goals in 5 minutes to get within 1 point and were running all over the dragons. Unfortunately this is where it ended as Bell Park ran out 20 point winners.

Brave effort from the tiges but once again they just lack the cattle of other sides and yesterday they would've won in my opinion if they had a focal point up forward.