GFL Geelong Football League - 2010

Brummie, as someone who has an interest in St Albans I think your comments are a little inflammatory. Noone doubts the Saints ability to spend heaps of $ on players, sadly the problem therein lies that they often don't recruit the right sort of players to the club (see recent history Potter, Niklaus, Watts). You've opened both yourself and the club up to massive criticism here, something that St Albans get without needing any more.

I do however question why everyone is so concerned about so called 'big-money' being thrown around by St Albans. I would think 11 other sides are doing almost exactly the same thing this time of year and none of them get the airtime that St Albans get. South Barwon poached (and Newtown tried desperately to) McFarlane from St Albans for very good coin. Not a whisper. If it had happened the other way, there would be a veritable poo-storm on this forum.

All clubs spend money, some with more success than others. That's local footy.

well said OTP

Brummie, as someone who has an interest in St Albans I think your comments are a little inflammatory. Noone doubts the Saints ability to spend heaps of $ on players, sadly the problem therein lies that they often don't recruit the right sort of players to the club (see recent history Potter, Niklaus, Watts). You've opened both yourself and the club up to massive criticism here, something that St Albans get without needing any more.

I do however question why everyone is so concerned about so called 'big-money' being thrown around by St Albans. I would think 11 other sides are doing almost exactly the same thing this time of year and none of them get the airtime that St Albans get. South Barwon poached (and Newtown tried desperately to) McFarlane from St Albans for very good coin. Not a whisper. If it had happened the other way, there would be a veritable poo-storm on this forum.

All clubs spend money, some with more success than others. That's local footy.
a few times renwick watts has been mentioned as a bad recruit, but why?
he spent 3/4 of last season injured and then he still wasnt 100% fully fit the last part so they played him in the 2's so he still played at least some footy for the year and to boost the 2's chance of making the grand final.

Right O you blokes, enough of the Super Saints and the Grovey Tigers.
What else is happening around the league.
Movers & Shakers?
Anyone looking for rapid rise or quick decline?

a few times renwick watts has been mentioned as a bad recruit, but why?
he spent 3/4 of last season injured and then he still wasnt 100% fully fit the last part so they played him in the 2's so he still played at least some footy for the year and to boost the 2's chance of making the grand final.

Never been any good anyway. Possibly one of the most over-rated players to have been in the GFL in the past 5 years.

has anyone else heard that ben lavars had a falling out with st marys and is leaving the club, he has been talking with Bell park and a contract is being drawn up.

was talking to a mate of ben's today, he had been talking to him last week, said that he was signed up at St Mary's and had some role for next year. Assuming assistant or fitness maybe.

Right O you blokes, enough of the Super Saints and the Grovey Tigers.
What else is happening around the league.
Movers & Shakers?
Anyone looking for rapid rise or quick decline?

would it seem feasable for St. Albans & Newcomb to merge ?? to me it kinda makes sense. What does everybody else reckon

It would be a sad day, but might be the reckoning

It's the K Sheedy in me, sorry mate. More a St. Albans takeover I reckon. I have a couple of mates at Newcomb & they're in more shit than a Hoppers Crossing duck. Might be a nice gesture.

Replying to your own posts:eek:

This is ridiculous, what would Newcomb bring? No Juniors, No Money, next to no Netballers and they wouldn't have more than 2 blokes that would get a game in the St Albans reserves.

Great idea knucklehead:rolleyes:

Replying to your own posts:eek:

This is ridiculous, what would Newcomb bring? No Juniors, No Money, next to no Netballers and they wouldn't have more than 2 blokes that would get a game in the St Albans reserves.

Great idea knucklehead:rolleyes:

is that you david hayes? ;)

benny's best mate told me about the falling out! and i was hanging out with him last night and he said that ben has'nt signed anything yet. I know that benny was pretty close to going to bell park when he came from werribee, and he has a couple of really good mates there to.

heard from reliable sources that David Johnson is about to sign on as Bell Park Assistant for a year to get in some experience b4 heading to the Gold Coast. And that Kane Tenance is also on the verge of joining him if Johnson signs and no one picks him up in the draft!!

I thought Bell Park had closed up their cheque book this year.
Gee whiz that would cost them some serious coin if they recruit ex AFL players.

I thought Bell Park had closed up their cheque book this year.
Gee whiz that would cost them some serious coin if they recruit ex AFL players.

The guy i no from north shore said the word around the club was they were takin to jonson as well and were a good chance to get him. A bit of money still to be spent out their way is what he was saying. Can anyone else confim this.

Ben Raidme should go well on the Gold coast.
Heard St Marys signed strong backman from Shepp. Matt Hebbard. St Marys creeping along quietly with Clarke, Hebbard...are they losing any players?

Is it true that Graham & Barrett have left Bell Park for QLD?

yes it is and was posted on here some time ago...

they are in talks with johnson but i'd imagine a few clubs would be! he is definately not over the line but will let everyone know if it happens...

hadnt heard anything about tenace but you are right, getting both of them would be a costly exercise...

can confirm ben raidme close to signing with the gold coast

Surely your having us on here. Im not denying he is a very good footballer at a local level and had 1 or 2 alright games at VFL, but if you or the Gold Coast think he will have an impact on the big stage you got to have a GHLAY. Won't happen.