Geelong rorting the system

Our next RORT sorted already. We've clocked AFL and are now it's puppet master.

Along with the official appointment of McCabe, current Director Lyndsay Sharp becomes Vice President of the Geelong Football Club.

With more than 35 years’ experience in journalism, marketing and public relations, Sharp is a well-known local in the region with businesses Jack Rabbit Vineyard, Flying Brick Cider Co, Leura Park Estate and Curlewis Golf Club.

She is also a former Board Member of Visit Victoria and has been a Director on Geelong's board since December 2021.

"I’m thrilled to be appointed to Vice President of the Geelong Football Club, a well-respected organisation that has the community at the centre of its DNA," Sharp said

Free booze and golf for the boys sorted.

Along with the official appointment of McCabe, current Director Lyndsay Sharp becomes Vice President of the Geelong Football Club.

With more than 35 years’ experience in journalism, marketing and public relations, Sharp is a well-known local in the region with businesses Jack Rabbit Vineyard, Flying Brick Cider Co, Leura Park Estate and Curlewis Golf Club.

Uh oh! Must be a key cog in the #GeelongMediaMafia

Notice how its always MCG tenant fanbases that piss and moan about this stuff while everyone else stays silent?

The insecurities are off the chart.
Little old Geelong stirring up the rusted on "Big 4" fanbases because someone else dare cut into their entitled piece of the pie that they've hogged forever.

Those clubs only held the VFL/AFL hostage with talent zoning and father/son bullshit for eons...when one of the "other Vic clubs" rises through the ranks to be successful they will point fingers and do anything they can to deny healthy competition.

I mean just look at this whinge for example

Tigers fans constantly invading Cats threads to sook.

Pies never playing at Kardinia

Imagine just for a second that ANY other professional team sports competition around the World didn't make the biggest clubs travel any and everywhere to play. How pissweak is that! If you want to be the best you should want to win anywhere at any time. And lets not point the finger too much on salary caps, especially when we know every single team in the comp is doing what they can to win.

It is a business first

Last edited by a moderator:
You wished for that drug culture?

What a truly bizarre thing to do, but I fail to see the comparison.

I didn't wish for shit.

But everyone wanted to stick the boots into WC for "our" problem. Not many people wanted to admit the reality that drugs are rife in the AFL and still are.

I would LOL if Geelong got done for cheating Carlton style but am under no illusions that Geelong are bad and 17 other clubs are squeaky clean.

I didn't wish for shit.

But everyone wanted to stick the boots into WC for "our" problem. Not many people wanted to admit the reality that drugs are rife in the AFL and still are.

I would LOL if Geelong got done for cheating Carlton style but am under no illusions that Geelong are bad and 17 other clubs are squeaky clean.
"Bit like the 2000s drug culture, be careful what you wish for"

I'm sure you tried to make a point there, but really got muddled up along the way.

Notice how its always MCG tenant fanbases that piss and moan about this stuff while everyone else stays silent?

Little old Geelong stirring up the rusted on "Big 4" fanbases because someone else dare cut into their entitled piece of the pie that they've hogged forever.

Those clubs only held the VFL/AFL hostage with talent zoning and father/son bullshit for eons...when one of the "other Vic clubs" rises through the ranks to be successful they will point fingers and do anything they can to deny healthy competition.

Imagine just for a second that ANY other professional team sports competition around the World didn't make the biggest clubs travel any and everywhere to play. How pissweak is that! If you want to be the best you should want to win anywhere at any time. And lets not point the finger too much on salary caps, especially when we know every single team in the comp is doing what they can to win.

It is a business first

You got huge on the peptides before anyone knew what was going and got a bit of a dynasty going. Got rules changed to make it easier for you to compete. You are now in the boutique ground cycle of inflated ladder position and then found out finals.

It is a business first
Interstate supporters hate us because #VICBIAS
Small Melbourne clubs hate us because they think we're a big Vic club now and we have our own home ground while they sold out
Big Melbourne clubs hate us because a bumpkin club routinely outperforms them and we have our own home ground while they sold out

tenor.gif

You got huge on the peptides before anyone knew what was going and got a bit of a dynasty going. Got rules changed to make it easier for you to compete. You are now in the boutique ground cycle of inflated ladder position and then found out finals.
Found out in finals? The years we've finished 3rd or 4th we've generally been knocked out in prelims as you would expect. One year we made a GF from those positions.

A couple of seasons we finished top 4 and lost QFs to MCG tenants. That's just called playing an away final as the home team.

Given Geelong's strategy of not wanting to bottom out, they probably need to target more ready made players than drafting kids.

They've got some big fish along the way like Jeremy Cameron (which the cats paid a high price for) and Dangerfield.

They've also had a few average players that were unwanted but came to be serviceable, like Menegola, Rohan, Isaac Smith and Jared Rivers.

But where they really rorted the system was getting Crameri, Blease, Henderson, Stephenson, Higgins, Dahlhaus.

So yeah, they get some A graders. But geez they get all the other letters as well.
Those who complain are jealous and envious of how the team is managed.

You would never see Geelong have to offload stars a la Collingwood because of cap pressure, because the Cats don’t get into that position in the first place. Dangerfield could have gone to another club on double what Geelong was offering. Isaac Smith was offered a superior contract by Melbourne.

As Joel Selwood said you don’t choose Geelong for the money. And that’s what whiners in this thread can’t understand. “If it’s not money then there must be underhanded land deals!” No, it’s the culture. It’s something new players like Tyson Stengle noticed when they first joined the Cats. The club doesn’t run your life 24/7, and they treat you like adults not kids.

Those who complain are jealous and envious of how the team is managed.

You would never see Geelong have to offload stars a la Collingwood because of cap pressure, because the Cats don’t get into that position in the first place. Dangerfield could have gone to another club on double what Geelong was offering. Isaac Smith was offered a superior contract by Melbourne.

As Joel Selwood said you don’t choose Geelong for the money. And that’s what whiners in this thread can’t understand. “If it’s not money then there must be underhanded land deals!” No, it’s the culture. It’s something new players like Tyson Stengle noticed when they first joined the Cats. The club doesn’t run your life 24/7, and they treat you like adults not kids.
Lol

It was not long ago that the asterixes could not attract b grade talent down to Geelong

Now all of a sudden there are land deals and bingo everyone is taking unders

You are spot on regarding the culture , a culture of rorting the system through underhand out of the salary cap payments for coaches players from sponsors

Evidence is clear

Lol

It was not long ago that the asterixes could not attract b grade talent down to Geelong

You are spot on regarding the culture , a culture of rorting the system through underhand out of the salary cap payments for coaches players from sponsors

Evidence is clear
Actually Geelong turned things around to the tune of 3 premierships this century before they attracted ready made high end talent or became a destination club. Ottens came in but others such as Colbert left.

Free Agency came at the right time, with Geelong proven to be a successfully run football club that would not be bottoming out.

That's when a stack of decent (sometimes awful) mature players - with the occasional gun - were traded in or acquired via free agency. Good experiences of the first ones, even without premierships, opened the eyes of the others.

Lol

Evidence is clear

It's pretty funny isn't it?
We are not only meant to believe sentinent players with time limited careers are taking massive unders to play for the Cats, we're meant to believe their agents, whose entire business model relies on maximising client returns from which they get their cut, will just push them in the direction of low paying Geelong for the sheer joy of seeing that happy smile on a players face every morning.
And Frank Costa was ruthless enough and smart enough to fight off the Calabrian mafia, yet apparently Frank couldn't and ethically wouldn't design a legacy system to pay players off the books that would escape the detection of the wokerati at AFL House? I mean really?

Yeah we cart it around with us and manage to have a better travelling record than all other teams in the comp by doing that. That’s how we inflate our home and away record. By bringing KP with us to home and away games.

Lol

Evidence is clear

Still haven’t mastered that word, have you.

What’s an Asterix, if it isn’t a French comic book?

they may as well give up the act considering footy is slowly dying.. or do they actually think their players are natural?

Geelong rorting the system