Geelong rorting the system

If it was just excessive alcohol consumption, then why would there not have been any AFL intervention in relation to an enquiry and subsequent punishment - particularly given his previous indiscretions ?

They have given multi week suspensions for dress ups at a private function - they even punished Toby Greene for being an innocent bystander.

If even a remote sniff of anything to harm the AFL brand comes into view they have their integrity unit put into full swing…

So doesn’t it seem strange to you they’d happily turn a blind eye to a player being so drunk that he required the paramedics and an ambulance and hospitalisation from his actions ‘in a public place’ ?

Nobody knows what happened … because there was no investigation. A simple investigation on the basis of bringing the game into disrepute tells us exactly what was in Stengle’s system and an appropriate punishment can be applied.

As you say, maybe it was just excessive alcohol (in a public place) which required paramedics and an ambulance - but if that was the case, then why no investigation and punishment for that sort of off-field behaviour?

Better off getting blind to the point of needing paramedic intervention in a public place than getting dressed up as a twin tower at a private function….

We can all believe what we want to believe… but it’s not really hard to decipher what the ‘most likely’ situation is here and why the AFL decided not to conduct a very simple investigation to find out what was in Stengle’s system.

Yes that’s exactly what I’m saying. Did he misbehave? Did he get into a fight? Did he piss or himself vomit all over a patron? Did he make a racist or public statement about a political issue? He was probably sitting in a corner and whatever he did do happened.

Again, stop making a ‘statement’ as though you know what happened mate.

The most likely situation, given that a player was at training the next day, and actually taking part, albeit on lighter duties, is that he was discharged from hospital from with a you’re free to go as you just drink too much piss explanation.

Most people who overdose on drugs don’t show up for work the next day, based on my understanding.

If it was just excessive alcohol consumption, then why would there not have been any AFL intervention in relation to an enquiry and subsequent punishment - particularly given his previous indiscretions ?

They have given multi week suspensions for dress ups at a private function - they even punished Toby Greene for being an innocent bystander.

If even a remote sniff of anything to harm the AFL brand comes into view they have their integrity unit put into full swing…

So doesn’t it seem strange to you they’d happily turn a blind eye to a player being so drunk that he required the paramedics and an ambulance and hospitalisation from his actions ‘in a public place’ ?

Nobody knows what happened … because there was no investigation. A simple investigation on the basis of bringing the game into disrepute tells us exactly what was in Stengle’s system and an appropriate punishment can be applied.

As you say, maybe it was just excessive alcohol (in a public place) which required paramedics and an ambulance - but if that was the case, then why no investigation and punishment for that sort of off-field behaviour?

Better off getting blind to the point of needing paramedic intervention in a public place than getting dressed up as a twin tower at a private function….

We can all believe what we want to believe… but it’s not really hard to decipher what the ‘most likely’ situation is here and why the AFL decided not to conduct a very simple investigation to find out what was in Stengle’s system.

So why wouldn't the AFL integrity unit get put into full swing for a player overdosing?
Doesn't it seem strange to you that they'd happily turn a blind eye to a player overdosing and requiring hospitalisation from his actions in a public place?

So why wouldn't the AFL integrity unit get put into full swing for a player overdosing?
Doesn't it seem strange to you that they'd happily turn a blind eye to a player overdosing and requiring hospitalisation from his actions in a public place?

He will just say that they turned a blind eye on that score because it happened to a cats player

But if you over dose you will be?

I don't know. But youngsters who might know tell me footballers take drugs rather than drink heavily because you recover for training & playing better from the drugs.

I am also not sure whether the term overdose correctly describes this type of situation. I presume some illicit drugs mixed with alcohol produce the state Stengle was found in, where possibly the same type & quantity of drugs without alcohol may not produce this reaction.

In any event, if the AFL are fair dinkum they are investigating the situation fully, especially considering the player has at least one known prior with drugs.

I was really proud of the club for not giving in to the baying masses and dealing with Stengle in the way they thought would work best. Sure he did something stupid but he only harmed himself.

But even if I thought it was the wrong decision getting to see these Richmond nutters go off their tree is priceless.

I want to know what other income streams Geelong players have compared to players at other clubs.
Couldn't list them all here, but a left field one that no one has Cotton-On'ed to yet is the 'give local club cash to pay recently retired player absurd amounts' rort. Before anyone chirps up, yes, it's been added to the list.

But even if I thought it was the wrong decision getting to see these Richmond nutters go off their tree is priceless.
They’ll still be banging on about it in years to come, just like they still bring up Tom Stewart / Prestia

GEELONG forward Gryan Miers has welcomed his club's "targeting" of star opposition players in the quest for sustained success.

Recent reports have linked Gold Coast gun and former No.1 pick Matt Rowell to the Cattery, including a meeting between Rowell and the Cats' top recruiting brass.

"He's one of the best players in the League, so it's pretty straightforward that our recruiting team are doing a great job," Miers told reporters after training on Wednesday.

"That's what everyone gets cut up about, is that we're targeting great players and we've targeted them in the past and end up getting them. But they'll keep doing that job and that is their job to do, just target the best.

"I actually don't know if we're going for him, but if we are, then good luck to him, good luck to us. If it happens, it will be exciting, and I hope we keep going after those big names.

"We touched on NFL before the press conference – Philadelphia did the same thing, they targeted the big names and now they're going to a Super Bowl. You don't want to sit on your heels and let others take the best players in the League.

"If we fail at getting these players, so be it, but we've got Jeremy Cameron and won a premiership with him, and we've had great success over the other players, we got 'Danger' 10 years ago.

"The only way to get better is by getting better players. And that makes the players like me at the team see those guys come in and go, 'I don't want them to steal my spot', so I'm trying to get a little better as well. All in all, it works with each other.

"'Danger' reckons he's got 10 years left, so 'Rowelly' might have to come and play half-forward with me," he finished with a wry smile.

Messi flipping the bird to the lovers of equalisation. Get better or GAGF...

Probably has an account trolling the bay as well.

I don't know. But youngsters who might know tell me footballers take drugs rather than drink heavily because you recover for training & playing better from the drugs.

I am also not sure whether the term overdose correctly describes this type of situation. I presume some illicit drugs mixed with alcohol produce the state Stengle was found in, where possibly the same type & quantity of drugs without alcohol may not produce this reaction.

In any event, if the AFL are fair dinkum they are investigating the situation fully, especially considering the player has at least one known prior with drugs.

He played down in Tassie in a day match — good game too — that's all day prep, travel, and play. Got back to Geelong late on a Saturday night and went out to catch up with friends, like the free and responsible adult he is.
Have you every been out when you're tired and haven't drunk enough to stay perked? that's when the need for a cheeky tactical is real. Stengle obliged — because: legend — and a hospitality staffer, who sort of had no choice — because: liquor licensing laws — disrupts the tactical and calls an ambo which over assisted Stengle in his quest for a quick nap. No biggy.

Geelong's recruiting approach.

1. Likes a player from another club.
  2. Does a deal with them behind the scenes.
  3. They act up at their current club.
  4. They get sanctioned.
  5. Then they get traded for a bag of chips to Geelong.
Am I right?, or am I right!

4. They get sanctioned.
Name the players that fit points 1 - 5 of that bill?

Dangerfield? NO. Smith? No. Was played out of position before doing an ACL. Tuohy? No. Carlton shafted him. Cameron? GWS desperately tried to keep him.

That leaves Stengle. He was sacked by the Crows before joining the Cats 2 years later. So, No.

Name the players that fit points 1 - 5 of that bill?

Dangerfield? NO. Smith? No. Was played out of position before doing an ACL. Tuohy? No. Carlton shafted him. Cameron? GWS desperately tried to keep him.

That leaves Stengle. He was sacked by the Crows before joining the Cats 2 years later. So, No.

Don'tyou mean Dangerfield? YES. Smith? YES.

The former was clearly playing against the wishes of his line coach Camporeale late on in his time at the Crows. And Smith has the obligatory drug strikes for a recruit Geelong is targetting.

4. They get sanctioned.

We call this the "Trojan Horse" play.

You found our playbook.

What on earth does that have to do with Geelong rorting the system?

Take it to the bay you obsessed clown.
If Noah Belta played for Geelong we'd have that covered up. Isn't that what the last 5 pages of Tyson Stengle angst is all about? Try keep the personal insults out of it instead of letting your emotions take over.

Geelong rorting the system

Write your reply...