Geelong- the dark horse?

Theres plenty of reason and history to suggest Geelong will win the next 2 games i think they would be the key. Then they have west coast stkilda bulldogs and sydney, which they will probably start favourites in all but the eagles game. If they can sneak a week 1 home final or even the double chance then watch out i reckon.

Its hard to judge, they have been so good for so long you dont like writing them off and they keep teasing they still have it.

He didn't mention Adelaide, or a possible lack of Adelaide focus, but thanks for the very cool story.

Agreed, he didn't mention Adelaide. Then again, I didn't contradict or disagree with anything theRainbowGame said.

Since Adelaide are the opposition, and since there are only two teams involved in any one game, one would think it is a fairly major oversight to ignore Adelaide and fail to consider how Adelaide might be approaching the game.

The old bradbury call, always good. Cleary it's still a festering wound for Geelong supporters despite the fact that you've beaten us 8 times since. Don't worry mate, next Friday we'll snap the hold you have over us and things will go back to the way that they've always been - geelong being Hawthorn's bitch.

This sounds familiar, where have I heard it before?

Oh, that's right - by internet heroes on BigFooty ahead of each time we've played Hawthorn since round 1, 2009.

10 goal better side pffttt - haven't beaten them since 08. When that happens on more than one occasion then the chest beating can start. Some sides match up well against each other and these two sides do exactly that. For all the bluster though I don't think cats supporters would enjoy a gf against the hawks - its a healthy rivalry indeed

You kidding me? I'd love it. The chances of us making the Grand Final are shall we say remote.

Don't think anyone in the 5th-8th group would be keen to draw Geelong in week 1.

Teams 1-4 would be wary of them. But I really doubt they can win the flag without the ruck dominance that was a factor in their premiership wins.

Ruck dominance? That's at the bottom of the list of things that have been a problem this year. Midfield in general, clearances, chasing and tackling all just a little bit more important.

The old bradbury call, always good. Cleary it's still a festering wound for Geelong supporters despite the fact that you've beaten us 8 times since. Don't worry mate, next Friday we'll snap the hold you have over us and things will go back to the way that they've always been - geelong being Hawthorn's bitch.

Oh really?

Geelong vs Hawthorn - Played 149 Geelong 81 Hawthorn 67 Drawn 1

Always been your bitches? Stats don't seem to suggest that.

Cats have lost a few close ones this year. If not for those losses we would be in the top 2. Cats are only 2 games from being second..I get the feeling we are about to peak at the right end of the season. Chris Scott Brisbane team in their Premiership era always peaked late in the season. they were never the top side but knew when to turn it on. I feel the Cats will do the same.

LOL... Stkilda has lost 4 'close ones' (2 losses by 4 points, 1 loss by 8 points, 1 by 13 points)... If not for those, we would be 4th on the ladder on equal points with Hawthorn & Collingwood, but would have superior % than Collingwood... But, then again im a realist & know that being close is no cigar :cool:

Hawthorn supporters are like flathead, you can use anything as bait, even rubbish and they keep biting.

Could Geelong win the Premiership from 6th/7th?
people_say_no1.jpg

No they can't.

LOL... Stkilda has lost 4 'close ones' (2 losses by 4 points, 1 loss by 8 points, 1 by 13 points)... If not for those, we would be 4th on the ladder on equal points with Hawthorn & Collingwood, but would have superior % than Collingwood... But, then again im a realist & know that being close is no cigar :cool:
Ifs and buts dont count for much these days so its pointless highlighting close losses as the simple fact is you lost those games whether they were close or not which is why you are where you are on the ladder. You can mount an arguement for most sides with regards to close losses. Richmond and Nth Melb are another couple of sides who have had their fair share as well

Hawthorn supporters are like flathead, you can use anything as bait, even rubbish and they keep biting.

Lol. I saw the bait and the hook and i thought i would have a little nibble anyway cause i felt like a fight. To many flogs are trying to be diplomatic on big footy or having a bit each way on their teams.
F*** it i say. I'm a Hawthorn supporter and we will win the flag. Is that arrogance, probably, but when your team is flying, false modesty is for chumps.
Besides, we wouldn't be real hawthorn or geelong supporters if we didn't naturally bite at everything the other says (that probably applies to essendon supporters as well, and collingwood too, as they are tools that bite at everything).

Mate, aside from not having the double chance. I'd love nothing more than to face the cats and send them on their way first week. Nightmares of facing them? We are a 10 goal better side at the minute.

I'd say the Hawks are a 10-goal better team then us right now, but when we meet in 2 weeks, it won't be a blow-out, we rise against you guys and your players are yet to find a way to beat us.

I don't like saying we're a ten goal better side. You can say that against the absolute worst of the worst - GC, GWS, Melbourne and Dogs - but anyone else, especailly a side with the experience and hate against Hawthorn that they have, can rise up on the day and stun a side much higher on the ladder.

Cats won't win the flag though .

I must be the only person who thinks Geelong will wipe the floor with the crows.

Not really.

It's going to be wet and windy down at KP, Bartel is back, ditto J-Pod. I can't see Adelaide getting within 6 goals.

with that much experience and talent they can beat anyone on anygiven day, it will be extremely hard for them to win it from outside the 4 , but i dont think teams will be lining up to play them come september.. i personaly believe they have a better shot from outside the 4 than say the swans do inside top 4...and im a swans supporter

If Geelong play with the effort they showed against Essendon then this is what I expect to happen.

Interesting. It is not only about Geelong, you know, there are actually two teams involved. What would happen, do you think, if Adelaide played with the effort they showed against West Coast? Or even if they played with the same effort as in round 7?

http://finalsiren.com/MatchDetails.asp?GameID=5890&Code=7be072a2612a02ea8fdb62939aea491d

I'm still waiting (hoping, perhaps?) for Adelaide and Sydney to stumble.

Wishful thinking is always nice to indulge in I suppose, but it can often lead to a huge disappointment that more realistic thinking may have spared you.

I think Geelong will get up in a scrappy affair.
Adelaide haven't won at Skilled for a long time i think...

In years past Adelaide haven't been playing well at all for a long while. Geelong have been, obviously.

This year the form has been somewhat different to recent years, a little bit down for Geelong, and a massive improvement from the Crows.

Geelong- the dark horse?