Hard to win flags when you are the 5th or 6th best side in the comp.
Their only competition comes from Fremantle
Hard to win flags when you are the 5th or 6th best side in the comp.
What about the Hawkers?Their only competition comes from Fremantle
What about the Hawkers?
Their only competition comes from Fremantle
Well that’s great because I’m 100 per cent certain I didn’t - largely because I didn’t.
Yes ‘all’ our 9 home games are at home. All 9 of them. All 9 of our 11 home games are at GMHBA
Melbourne. Because the AFL won't allow us to play all our home games at our home ground. For example in a few weeks time we host the Tiggies at the Mighty MCG.Where are the other ones and why aren’t they there?
Cattle say low…In the box seat to win the 2022 premiership thanks to Melbourne self imploding from within.
I didn’t show you we are the best.
I showed you that you are wrong. You made a claim, you couldn’t back it up, and I showed you unequivicolly
What, because every one of us can beat you black and blue in a debate?
You, no one else, you, made the claim that we keep making the top four ahead of more deserving teams because we play games at home.
You, no one else, got schooled on it and shown in scientifically undeniable terms that it was utter bullshit, and you’re clueless as to where to go next.
Are you ok?
Still traumatic after Rd6 2007?
That “facts” you’ve given don’t actually prove the point. Do you not think a 92% win rate is abnormally high? Premiership teams don’t have that win rate on their home grounds yet you do without being a top 4 quality team in finals. Doesn’t this seem strange to you given you also have the most unique ground in the AFL? Idk why you can’t put 2 and 2 together. Stating facts about being a good away team means nothing to this argument.
Also what’s really ironic is that you claim to be the “stats” guy yet when we compare players you don’t like using them and you give me shit when I cite them and say they mean nothing.
No what you are doing is shooting down any suggestions that the cats have an advantage in anyway during the H&A season because it looks bad, so far I’ve heard:
- no we are not too slow or old
- our home ground doesn’t give us an edge
- game plan is not the issue
- our finals record is not bad.
- it’s not Chris Scott’s coaching that is the issue
- “We’ve lost finals just cause we played better teams” wow man great insight, the question is WHY you lost them. You’ve contributed absolutely nothing to this thread and are the most one eyed supporter I’ve ever come across you cannot criticise anything about your club, it’s so sad. Can you actually answer the topic of this thread ffs?
That's when we lose. We've won three on the trot so now the mental giants have to find something else Geelong-related to sook about for the time being. Bless their hearts.I thought this thread was about how old and slow Geelong was? Everyone’s talking about other stuff!
Here I’ll get it on track!
Hey, how old are those Geelong players that team has now! So old! And slow!
I reckon I could out run some of them!
imagine the scenesProbably win it this year.
In the box seat to win the 2022 premiership thanks to Melbourne self imploding from within.
We may be old. But I think we’ll be up there again.
Only issue is our midfield. Currently Melbourne, Fremantle, Brisbane, Sydney and maybe St Kilda are better then us. Hard to see us winning the flag.
We may be old. But I think we’ll be up there again.
Only issue is our midfield. Currently Melbourne, Fremantle, Brisbane, Sydney and maybe St Kilda are better then us. Hard to see us winning the flag.
I'd add Carlton in there (notwithstanding their current injury issues). Great recruiting last year has improved their midfield out of sight. I've been nervous playing them for the last 10 years. Even when they weren't that good, they'd seem to lift against us. Good match-ups for them I guess.
But back to the actual topic, yes - we are old. So far this year we've fielded either the oldest or second oldest team each week (Richmond has had older teams on 3 occasions I think). We are trending younger as the year goes on although getting Danger back will bump us up again. Looking forward to seeing the average age decrease when we see more of Neale, Knevitt (I think huge potential), Dempsey, and of course getting Holmes back from injury. Really pleased Stephens is getting a good run at it. Building slowly but steadily.
Slower? A bit of a myth I think, perhaps borne out of our previous chip/mark game style. This year, there have been times we've moved the ball as fast as any team going around. Picking the time to go and the time to hold is crucial. But, slower? I don't buy it.
Season by season- Geelong on MCG in finals, relative to H&A season
2007- Achieved par. Easily best H&A, dominated GF. But scraped through vs MCG tenant in prelim.
2008- Underachieved. Best team all year. Lost GF to MCG tenant who finished 4 wins behind them.
2009- Very very slight overachievement. Finished 2nd. Won very tight GF against Marvel tenant (1st).
2010- Underachieved. Finished 2nd. Lost tight qualifying final against Marvel tenant (3rd). Lost prelim convincingly vs MCG tenant (1st).
2011- Over achieved. Finished 2nd. Won finals on MCG vs MCG tenants. Dominant finals.
2012- Under achieved. Lost EF to lower ranked interstate team.
2013- about par. Lost very tight prelim to higher ranked opponent. Ironically in that position after losing at KP.
2014- Underachieved. Finished 3rd. Lost comfortably to 2nd. Then lost semi final to lower ranked opponent (Marvel team)
2015 N/A
2016- Underachieved. Won QF vs 3rd. But lost prelim against interstate opponent by 37. Opponent lost GF following week. Geelong missed GF comfortably despite finishing 2nd.
2017- Underachieved. Finished 2nd, got thumped by MCG opponent (3rd). Won convincingly in SF but ended up missing GF again after finishing top 2, and another disappointing showing on the MCG
2018- Slight underachievement. Lost EF by 29 from 8th (13-9) vs 5th.(14-8 MCG tenant)
2019- Underachieved. Minor premiers. Missed GF again after losing to 3rd and 4th (both MCG tenants)
Geelong has underachieved on the G in finals.
Why is a matter for speculation. Maybe their game plan or personell simply aren't suited- or aren't capable- of raising themselves in finals intensity footy.
But I do think the idea that ground shape is completely irrelevant fails the pub test.
Consider other ball sports with moving players- soccer, nfl, rugby, rugby league, basketball. How many of those sports have pitches with vast discrepancy in size like KP vs MCG?
Consider: how the players spread and the angles they employ moving out from stoppages, leading patterns of forwards, moving the ball down the ground, retaining possession effectively at end of game. Defensive zone strategies. All these things will differ according to ground shape
I haven't heard any argument convincing me that a 20% difference in ground width (compared to where they've played most of their home games) would not have an impact on an AFL team.