Preview Geelong V Brisbane Prelim Final Sat Oct 17 7 40 pm @ Gabba

We play attacking football like in the first half against the pies we win.

try to win this through precision hold and control football we lose.

basically we need to get the coach out of the way to win.

Geelong had a record differential in uncontested marks last week. So they actually cut them open with the control and precision game.

Whether that works again this week against a high pressure opponent is a totally different question.

But Geelong did not drift from their style, they just executed it better and Collingwood did not apply pressure befitting a final.

Geelong had a record differential in uncontested marks last week. So they actually cut them open with the control and precision game.

Whether that works again this week against a high pressure opponent is a totally different question.

But Geelong did not drift from their style, they just executed it better and Collingwood did not apply pressure befitting a final.

So, so true.

But it supposedly makes more sense to believe that Scott mostly tells them to play 'his' defensive game style every week. And then inexplicably just decides on a whim to occasionally tell them they can just go out and play 'their way'. You seriously could not make this stuff up.

Having said that, some here clearly do.

Please stop with the BS Seeds. I try to respect our difference of opinion but spouting this crap doesn't help.

Last night was Scott's gameplan, it's what we've tried to play all year.

Control the ball as a method of defence, split the zone, hold it just outside of our F50 so when we go forward, we can do so quickly and get it over the zone defence for an I50 mark, crumb or spoil to our advantage.

The whole gameplan is centred around exploiting the zone defence that teams setup 1 to 1.5 kicks in front of the ball. If you can keep the zone defence outside of the F50, then you get easy one on ones inside your F50 when you get it in quick.

Obviously every week is different. I really liked our first half ... and far from happy with some of our second half.... but the idea of icing the game was fair enough imo. It was lucky how ever that some loose balls , some poor passes really did not cost us .... it did show that even when we were the best part of 8 goals up , that playing chess footy ..can easily devolve into what looks a bit cute.

This week we play a side that has different methods , and the way we played against them last time worked well but may not this time. We have to really be aware of the long kicks into the forward packs that go over the back.

I hope all involved with the club gained some confidence and confirmation that we look so much better when when we have a more aggressive ball movement and we get it into our forward line quicker.

Have my doubts that will happen. Think our game will just have a normal finals intensity with both sides going about it the right way. Hard but fair.
But if want to see dirty, the game on Friday night will be the one.
Just watch the home side go after Dusty, Cotchin and Lynch like rabid dogs. Urged on the home crowd screaming for blood.
Yeah if you don't play that way very hard to just start, can only hope it's a dirty game on friday great watching

They've wanted Bews free to provide run all year, don't see them changing that now.

Agree. He's too error prone to be given jobs deep in defence as he often loses his feet and his kicking lacks precision.

He is getting played as a disruptor further up the ground to harry and create turnovers. His most effective kicks are the longer chaos balls back into the forward line.

Problems arise when he tries to hit up a forward with a pass. He's more likely to lace up the opposition with no Cats player within 20m.

Agree. He's too error prone to be given jobs deep in defence as he often loses his feet and his kicking lacks precision.

He is getting played as a disruptor further up the ground to harry and create turnovers. His most effective kicks are the longer chaos balls back into the forward line.

Problems arise when he tries to hit up a forward with a pass. He's more likely to lace up the opposition with no Cats player within 20m.
I like Bews when he plays the same role that Mackie used to, just running off half back and getting the ball moving forward. Sure his kicking doesn't hold a candle to Mackie's but he does make up for it in quickness and strength. Unless vs Betts he is a liability deep in defence.

I’m excited to have another opportunity at a prelim. Think we have been far more consistent this year than last year when we tapered off after a red hot start.

lots of people talk about fast and slow play. This is directly related to territory. We we too easy to score against from turnover, developed a slower approach from D50 to avoid this and it has worked. If we struggle to win clearance, stoppage and territory then we spend a lot of time in our back half. This makes us look like we only play slow.
If we were to bite off riskier, more central balls Brisbane will slice us up on turnover.

forward of halfway we do play on, give hands to players running past and usually prefer deep entries. Happy to go wide to create one on ones. Danger forward tends to increase our willingness to just bang it in. He has more mobility than Hawkins and actually crashes more packs.

the key for us at the Gabba is to have a strong performance around the footy and to have the ball live in our half. Parfitt, Stanley, Guthrie, Joel and Duncan will be absolutely crucial to allow Danger to play as much footy up forward as possible. Having danger forward allowed Hawkins and Rohan to lead up higher. They both took good contested marks on the wing, as danger did twice. This is crucial for keeping territory when we need a get out kick

simpson, miers will play high half to ensure we get some more support around the Ball.

meners and blics vital as hard running defensive wingers providing support to our defence.

The lions played heaps of deep, long balls into 50 against the tigers last week to good effect. Would love to see touhy go to rich as a defensive forward.

if we win in the middle, we will win the game. Crucial for us to start well, and encouragingly, we have ticked this off in both finals.

I think we go in unchanged, and we should go in with confidence.

would love to be talking to you all this time in a preview thread this time next week. Cheers

So, so true.

But it supposedly makes more sense to believe that Scott mostly tells them to play 'his' defensive game style every week. And then inexplicably just decides on a whim to occasionally tell them they can just go out and play 'their way'. You seriously could not make this stuff up.

Having said that, some here clearly do.

Yes but DazBroncos posted pregame direct quotes from Mathew Knights on K Rock ( which i enjoy reading each week just before the start of the game - either Knights /Enright or Scarlett - they interview pre game )

And Knights said amongst other things - they want to move the ball quicker ( and at training during the week they had placed a real emphasis on that ) and they didnt want to be timid

Obviously - you didnt read that mate

We played a lot more controlled, possession footy in the 3rd quarter and denied the Pies any chance of counter attack - that would have been a specific coaching direction. Clearly that tactic denied them any chance of winning and deflated them comprehensively. We then opened up in the last kicking 6 to 4 and take some offensive momentum into next week. :thumbsu:
That's a coaching triumph for Scott and the Coaching group.

I believe we know the right balance between the two contrasting styles and are able to execute as required , we didn't play a lot differently between Port and the Pies but we executed to perfection in one and converted poorly in the other. We've been a lot more attacking so far in the Finals.

First half V Pies was very similar to first half V Eagles - we moved the ball swiftly out of defence and took the angle kicks to unsettle their defence and create more open forward entries. We have a very good Eagles outfit completely off balance and if not for 3 horrendous turnovers and two horrible set shot misses would have won that comfortably.
I loved what I saw that night - minus the errors of course ;)

Lions will bring a lot more pressure , it remains to be seen if our style holds up against that let's hope it does .....

I’m excited to have another opportunity at a prelim. Think we have been far more consistent this year than last year when we tapered off after a red hot start.

lots of people talk about fast and slow play. This is directly related to territory. We we too easy to score against from turnover, developed a slower approach from D50 to avoid this and it has worked. If we struggle to win clearance, stoppage and territory then we spend a lot of time in our back half. This makes us look like we only play slow.
If we were to bite off riskier, more central balls Brisbane will slice us up on turnover.

forward of halfway we do play on, give hands to players running past and usually prefer deep entries. Happy to go wide to create one on ones. Danger forward tends to increase our willingness to just bang it in. He has more mobility than Hawkins and actually crashes more packs.

the key for us at the Gabba is to have a strong performance around the footy and to have the ball live in our half. Parfitt, Stanley, Guthrie, Joel and Duncan will be absolutely crucial to allow Danger to play as much footy up forward as possible. Having danger forward allowed Hawkins and Rohan to lead up higher. They both took good contested marks on the wing, as danger did twice. This is crucial for keeping territory when we need a get out kick

simpson, miers will play high half to ensure we get some more support around the Ball.

meners and blics vital as hard running defensive wingers providing support to our defence.

The lions played heaps of deep, long balls into 50 against the tigers last week to good effect. Would love to see touhy go to rich as a defensive forward.

if we win in the middle, we will win the game. Crucial for us to start well, and encouragingly, we have ticked this off in both finals.

I think we go in unchanged, and we should go in with confidence.

would love to be talking to you all this time in a preview thread this time next week. Cheers

A good and balanced read on how things stand. That will undoubtedly be ignored or dismissed as simplistic by the 'players good, coaching bad' acolytes on here.

Still, having those who want to pillory the coach call this kind of sensible analysis simplistic certainly does bring pots and kettles instantaneously to mind.

I like Bews when he plays the same role that Mackie used to, just running off half back and getting the ball moving forward. Sure his kicking doesn't hold a candle to Mackie's but he does make up for it in quickness and strength. Unless vs Betts he is a liability deep in defence.
[/QUOTEprobablyneeds to smother Cameron or
Probably safer to just keep him to smother Cameron or McCarthy, stay with them at all times. I don't have a crystal ball, but have a strong feeling the tall Lions forwards are going to choke in front of goal, when it isn't spoiled by the Cats.

You're border line trolling now