Geelong v Essendon 89 Prelim.

off the cuff

Rookie
Jun 6, 2006
in a saucepan
Went to a garage sale on the weekend - low and behold,among the crap was a Name-a-game VHS copy of the Geelong v Essendon prelim in 89.
Took it home wacked it on - it was absolute picture perfect for its age - in superb condition.
So i transfered it to DVD - so i will never lose its quality.
Ablett was just brilliant that day.

Anyway if anyone wants a copy PM - i dont want money,just a swap of maybe a game that i dont have.

Cheers.

Makes you wonder why they were selling it ???

The obvious is to say they barracked for the Dons but in that case why would they buy it in the first case.

And if they barracked for the mighty catters then the mrs obviously put it with the junk by mistake.

Im tipping the male of that household is filthy at the moment.....

Mate, I was 17 in 89. My whole family and alot of my my mates follow Essendon. I made my way out to Waverly from Werribee on the train with a bunch of Essendon supporters after they'd won the first final against us, and I was copping shit. And it was a long ride.

I remember God kicking 8, and getting the train back home was one of the best feelings you will ever have!

Apart from last years GF, this is the only game I have on video. It's brilliant.

I watched the game from the second row behind the southern goals as a 16 year old - haven't forgotten it.

PM me about a copy of that DVD :D

I saw the best football ever played by one man that day. And that mans name is Gary Ablett. Noone has ever played the game at a higher level than he did that day. Just sublime.

I also saw the best crowd punch ons I've ever seen at a game that day too. Went on and off from before half time in the ressies to half way through the last quarter of the seniors. I swear you've never seen so many punters (and cops) hit the deck in one afternoon!

That day is one of my great footy memories. Went with my old man, and before the game we walked past the great Micky Turner who said "g'day mate" to my Dad. Genius. Remember being very nervous because the Dons had destroyed us two weeks earlier. And then Ablett just took over. Good times!:thumbsu:

I also have the '89 grandfinal and am gonna get the '93 essendon game where Ablett kicked 14 goals, and probably the 89 finals match against Melbourne, so If I can get this Torrent going then I could do all of them.

Geelong v Essendon 89 Prelim.